BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 30/12/2011

Carstar Automotive Canada Inc.

Phone: (800) 665-2264Fax: (905) 388-11241460 Stone Church Road East, HamiltonON L8W 3V3 Send email to Carstar Automotive Canada Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 30/12/2011

BBB has determined that Carstar Automotive Canada Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Carstar Automotive Canada Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Carstar Automotive Canada Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Carstar did not fix what they said had been fixed and then the part that had been paid for was not installed in the car nor was I made aware of this.
The repair was both mechanical and bodily. Before permission was given to Carstar they advised the firs issue had already been fixed which I found ironic as I had not given them permission as of that time. In any case upon hearing this I agreed to just have them complete he started job as hey had done the estimate and found the issues. They were suppose to buff the car which was not done as such had to take the car back to get that completed. Once the car was delivered to my house the noise that was supposedly fixed was immediately realized. The gentleman who delivered the car and with whom my initial communication was engaged denied ever discussing the noise. I asked him to contact **** who was the mechanic who advised the noise had been fixed and the car was now good to go. **** confirmed to the delivery and initial point of contact that indeed he thought the noise had been fixed. Based on that confirmation, the said individual took the car back to fix the noise. After almost two weeks of keeping the car the story had now changed, where the noise was attributed to a wear and tear. They now asked me to go outside and pay for another estimate, to which I obviously opposed since I had already paid for their service and from what they had initially said was a wrong estimate. I asked them to simply fix the issue to which hey refused. There was a back noise that I had inquired of them, which they had said was a wheel bearing. I paid for the part and they covered the labour but I still demanded they fix the noise at the front. As if that was not enough when their estimate who had been booked 3 times and never showed up until the mater was escalated showed up, we discovered there was a part that I had paid for and they ordered but never put in the car. As per their best practice they were suppose to advise me accordingly but that did not happen. I was never advised the part they put in was an old broken part and that hey would fix it after receiving the part. 7 months after I discover this was the issue. I ask them to fix the part that was ever put in plus the noise issue and they decline. I then immediately get a call from the franchise owner who offers to fix the noise issue for free but I would have to buy the part to which again, I answered "NO". The franchise owner ends he call with, should you change your mind let *** ***** know and we will proceed. In any case a couple of days latter I receive a letter that the offer had been rescinded and I should come and pick up the part or they will mail it to me. While all of this is going on I had received 2 calls from their customer service department who had been made aware of the situation and promised they would have someone call me back to take care of this situation. I never hear from them or from anyone for about 3 months. I follow up with a call to head office, that was when *** and he president got involved. While this is going on as well, they send a letter to my insurance company that the repair is complete and that the noise at the front is not related to the accident. I wonder why this diagnosis was not brought to the forefront at the initial estimation.

Desired Settlement
I simply want them to deliver on their promise which is to fix what they said had been fixed, as well to put the part that they had me pay for and they did not install nor was brought to my attention.

Business Response
CARSTAR Mississauga has agreed to install the Inner Splash Shield. They are waiting customer to contact the store to make arrangements for installation.

However, the licensed technician at the CARSTAR Mississauga and an ***** representative has determined that the damage to the CV Joints is not from the collision but from normal wear and tear of the vehicle.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I need Carstar to advise me on the noise at the front that they had initially said had been fixed. If in fact what they are saying is true that the noise is a wear and tear, why did they not tell me that initially and advised me that the noise which was part of the accident had been fixed. What noise at the front then was fixed?
My car was brought to them to do a proper estimate and so if they are telling me that the initial estimate was wrong then they should pay any vendor of choice for me to take the car to for a proper estimate. I should not be the one to consume that cost. The agreement in coming to them was for a right and accurate estimate. If the wear and tear they NOW keep referring to was so obvious, then they should have never missed it.
Also, why was I not informed or advised that the part that had been put in the car was the old broken part. Why was there not any attempt on their part to communicate this to me after almost 6 months of this happening. I also want to know the reason for Carstar making me a below standard offer and taking it back without reason. The only resolution, I seek is to have Carstar fix both those issues.

Final Business Response
CARSTAR Mississauga has tried to reach the customer and left voice-mail messages.

CARSTAR Mississauga has agreed to install the Inner Splash Shield. The customer is advised to contact the CARSTAR Mississauga to make arrangements for the installation of the Inner Splash Shield.

CARSTAR Mississauga is not responsible for the repair to the CV joints as the customer's insurance provider has determined the damage to the CV joints was caused by wear and tear and not a result of the collision. The customer is advised to address the issue with the CV joints with their insurance provider.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
THEY HAVE MADE NO ATTEMPT TO REACH ME AT ALL AND MY PHONE RECORDS WILL PROVE THAT. MY INSURNACE COMPANY HAS GIVEN ME A TOKEN FOR THE HEADACHE CARSTAR HAS CAUSED BUT CARSTAR ITSELF HAS DONE NOTHING. THE ISSUE BETWEEN CARSTAR AND I IS CERTAINLY NOT SOLVED. A PERSON BY THE NAME OF *** CALLED ME ONCE AND I RETURNED HIS CALL TWICE. HE NEVER RETURNED ANY OF MY RETURNED CALLS TO HIM.

03/27/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 17/10/2011Business started: 14/11/1994
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sam Mercanti (President & CEO) M. J. Marshall (VP Finance)
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Carstar Automotive Canada Inc.

1460 Stone Church Road East

Hamilton, ON L8W 3V3

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1460 Stone Church Road East 

    Hamilton, ON L8W 3V3(800) 665-2264
    Fax: (905) 388-1124

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Mid-Western and Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Carstar Automotive Canada Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.