BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 19/02/2010

Auction Export

Phone: (416) 900-3303Fax: (416) 900-3303

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
11/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a vehicle at a particular price but a higher price was communicated to me. i requested for analysis which wasn't tendered.
I purchased a 2005 **** ******** S vehicle with VIN#:2FMZAXXXXXBAXXXXX at a Buy now Price of $950 and other services fees of $605 on 3rd November 2014.I checked the shipment from Ontario Canada to Contonuo Benin Republic which was $1650.Same day, agent whose mail signature appeared as "Sales Manager"wrote me a mail that Shipment of my purchase to Nigeria is $2660, thereafter following mails took place.
ME:"Hi,I wish to ship this vehicle to Contonuo, Benin Republic.Kindly recalculate the estimate and I also wish to view the Driver's side of the vehicle which was not displayed on your website".

AUCTION EXPORT SALES MANAGER **** ** REPLIED: "Hello Sir,Ground transportation: $1050
Ocean transportation to Benin: $1650
We do not have any additional pictures of this vehicle. Please let us know what would you like to do with your purchase".
I WROTE AGAIN: "Hello,Can you please list the actions and corresponding amount".

AUCTION EXPORT **** * REPLIED: "Hello Sir,What do you mean?"

I WROTE AGAIN:"Buy Now Price.....?
Auction Feess....?
*******.................?
*******.................?
*******.................?
Shipment.........?

Total.............?

So that i will know the amount to transfer because I only have 420$ with you guys.

AUCTION EXPORT **** *. REPLIED: "Hello Sir,
All prices are disclosed on the listing and shipping price I have sent you in my previous email".

I WROTE AGAIN
"Okay,I can't find it. Can you please resend, an analysis of the purchase and shipment amount to Contonuo, Benin Republic.

Could you believe this guy voided sending this analysis to me. I started suspecting the transaction to be fraudulent, then i requested for invoice. When he sent the invoice shipping has been inflated with $1070, I wrote to him that this was the reason i demanded for the analysis which he refused to tendered. That is how the issues started, he is now threatening to Charge me of $400 if i cancel the transaction while i have signed the invoice. How can he penalize me when I have not signed the invoice. Secondly, when I registered with auctioexport.com I requested for my agent to go conduct physical inspection on the vehicles of my interest which was rejected as not an etiquette of their but along the invoice sent was a direction to fill a release form that will hand the vehicle over to someone. So I don't really get all these things, I need your assistance in two ways:

1. Kindly help me find out if this transaction legitimate and sourced from auctionexport.com
Because i don't see why a Sales manager with genuine intentions will be asked for payment analysis with all modesty and yet refuses to tender it.

2. If after your investigation and this transaction is truly sourced from auctionexport.com, then the right thing should be done concerning the inflated shipping price.

Thanks.

******* *******
auctionexport dealer #:XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Kindly investigated if this transaction is authentic from auctionexport.com because **** *. actions and responses to my modest mails sends fraud and scam alert.
secondly, if the transaction is found genuine correction on shipment inflated price should be made and pending when this is resolved there should be "NO penalty charges on my account".
Thank you

Business Response
Hello,

Please note that customer quoted himself that our sales representative precisely informed the customer that there is a ground transportation fee of 1050$ and Ocean transportation fee of 1650$, also he specifically mentioned that there are additional fees that he should check on the website. We have a fee calculator on every car on our website. Also on the shipping page it clearly explains how shipping works and that it consists of ground and ocean transportation.
After all the explanations were done to the customer customer sent us an email, for some reason he did not mentioned this email in the complain.

EMAIL SUBJECT: Re: 2005 **** ******** S VIN 2FMZAXXXXXBAXXXXX
EMAIL TEXT: I by this mail confirm purchase of subject vehicle.
Thanks



Consumer Response
I asked for verification if the transaction was actually routed from Auction Export and for a review of the shipment charge, but as it stands if actually the transaction is from Auction Export let Auction Export do what they think is right because I will not purchase the vehicle at its present total cost.

Thanks for your assistance.
******* *******

Final Business Response
Hello, sir,

I do not quite understand your inquiry. The transaction in question was indeed authorized by Auction Export. You committed to buy a car on Auction Export and we sent you an invoice. If you want to cancel your purchase please refer to our cancellation policy, which is available on our terms and conditions page.

Thank you!

08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company did not refund my deposit
August 13th, 2013. I made deposit $1000 to the company by wire transfer.
February 4th, 2014. I sent them e-mail requesting refund. They replied the same day asking the reason of refund request and my phone number.
February 5th, 2014. I answered that my plans changed and I am not going to buy car in the nearest future and need money for personal reason. And provided my phone number though they had all my contact details.
February 10th, 2014. 5 days passed, no any feedback. I sent them e-mail reminding about my refund request. They answered that I need to sent request by e-mail (that was exactly what I did 5 days ago) and offer me their help in searching a car to buy. I replied that I am not going to buy a car and I sent refund request 5 day ago and did not receive clear response yet. They replied with question if I sent my request to another e-mail. Why I need to send it to that e-mail if they already have received my request 5 days ago and did nothing about it besides offering their pushy service with car search. How many e-mails I need to send request to so they could start processing it?
Middle of July, 2014. I logged in to their website and found that they have added button "Request Refund". I decided to try to return my money one more time. I clicked the button and filled in a form with my bank account details.
July 18th, 2014. I got a phone call. They asked me the reason of my refund request and offer me help to find a good vehicle. I answered that I do not want to buy a vehicle and I just want to get my money back. After that they sent me e-mail with the same question. I replied with the same answer.
July 22nd, 2014. 4 days passed, no any feedback. I contacted them by online chat and asked if they started processing my request. They answered that my request is waiting for management approval. I asked how long time it will take. They offered me to sent this question by e-mail.
July 23rd, 2014. They sent me e-mail requesting to specify intermediary bank in US. I replied with this information to their contact e-mail.
July 26th, 2014. The sent me e-mail with the same request once again. I replied with this information to different e-mail asking to forward this info to the correct person.
August 5th, 2014. 9 days passed, no any feedback.
Conclusion: Around 6 months passed since I started requesting refund. All this time the company keeps my money and shows no intention to return it.

Desired Settlement
Refund

Business Response
We did sent him an email that he provided us with the wrong bank wire instructions, and specifically request from him his intermediary bank information in USA since refund is being done in US Dollars. PLEASE ASK CUSTOMER TO ATTEND TO OUR EMAIL AND SEND US THE INTERMEDIARY BANK IN USA IN ORDER FOR US TO SEND HIM HIS REFUND.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I already specified in my complaint that I received emails with request of intermediary bank information two times and both times I replied as soon as possible.
Probably they found my response in their mailboxes because I finally received my refund at August 8th.
Thanks to all.

05/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The car my representative got for me via auction export was sold as "run and drive" but delivered to me in Nigeria as "non-runner"
purchase date:1/27/2014
VIN *****************
LOT NO:********
PAYMENT METHOD:BANK WIRE
car:2007*************
payment amount:$7500(total)purchase price:$6,600,auction export fee:$295 paper work fee:$50 Auction buyer fee:$555

Desired Settlement
To get the vehicle running,replaced or give me a refund

Business Response
Hello, sir

Please note that this car was purchased not by you. Person who bought it from us is our buyer for a long time and he knows everything about the auctions and the cars that he buying on these auctions. All cars on our website are sold as is, and this particular car was listed by the auction as flooded car ( water damage). On a further notice if you go to our website and click on RUN AND DRIVE logo it will explain to you what it means, basically it means that when the car arrived at the auction it could start and move on D gear, however since its a flooded car there is always a chance that it will not be drivable after. ********* ***** bought this car and he paid for this car, so you have to deal directly with him not with us. Thank you!

03/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company has had my money for one year. I asked them a week ago to refund it to ******** in New York and they refuse to confirm my instructions.
I made a deposit in March 2013 of US$400 with Auction Export. For personal reasons I need the money with some urgency and I need it in my bank account with ******** in New York as I have made very clear to Auction Export. I do not want the money refunded to any other account except my bank account with ******** in New York. Otherwise I will not receive the money where I need it.
Auction Express repeatedly refuses to give me a straight answer. You get one of their operators on the line and the ask you to "wait a minute" Hours later nothing.
They still have not confirmed that they have sent the money according to my instructions.

Nothing else is satisfactory to me.

Desired Settlement
I want my money in full in my bank account with ******** in New York without any further delay whatsoever.
Bank Name: ******** N.A.
ABA#: ***********
Account#: **********
Account Name: ****************
This is a matter of the utmost urgency.

Business Response
Hello,

please note that according to our company policy we can only refund money that were made by credit card to the same credit card. Which we did. What customer is asking to do is to take his Money that came from credit card in Brazil and transfer it to New York, USA. This considered a money laundry and we will NEVER do it. From outside we did everything by rules, customer requested a refund we have processed it. Customer already has his money on the debit/credit card he was using. Also it is very suspicious that customer complaining that much about this, because if he used his credit/debit card to buy a car from our company how come he can not use the same card in New York. Anyways his refund was processed on march 10 an amount of 385$ was refunded through our credit card merchant ******.

11/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Auctions, Internet Auction Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.