Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Grantham University

Fax: (816) 595-5757 View Additional Phone Numbers 16025 W 113th St, Lenexa, KS 66219 http://www.grantham.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Post secondary education


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Grantham University meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Grantham University include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 28 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 13
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 28

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Grantham University
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 25, 2007 Business started: 05/27/1951 in LA Business started locally: 04/01/2014 Business incorporated 03/06/2015 in KS
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Joseph C. McGrath, President Ms. Karan Krna, Vice President of Compliance Edward L. Sammarco, VP of Finance
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph C. McGrath, President
Business Category

SCHOOLS-ACADEMIC-COLLEGES & UNIVERSITIES. SCHOOLS-BUSINESS & VOCATIONAL


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Grantham has been stealing for quite some time and using 2 years worth of financial aid. They have not issued my money and each time it's time to issue the money they throw a hold on the account and come up with issues as to why my money hasn't been refunded when I've asked months in advance and they do this each time. As long as they get their part they're not worried about the students. They also never respond and I have to keep emailing and calling and no one tells me anything. I'm fed up with how Grantham are doing people and handing business. We will be in debt forever just how they have handled the loans and fasfa. I don't think that it's fair to anyone. I have a family to two care of and I can't spend all of my money when I've been cheated by Grantham. The school is not like any normal schools. The should be banned from accepting students because too many people are having the same type of issues with this school. It's not fair. I would like for someone to resolve this issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the matter to be forgiven and taken off of my hands as well as have Grantham pay the money they have stolen back. It's not fair that I should have to go in debt because of their greed. I shouldn't have to deal with this school anymore. When I stated they were using two years worth of fasfa they tried to go into the ledger and make changes. They have been cheating people for a long time. That's not fair to anyone. I want this debt erased and I don't want to deal with this schooL

Business Response:

 

***** ****** began attending Grantham University in July 2014 and has used federal student aid funds the entire time she has been at Grantham.  After reviewing her account, we have determined that the amount of her financial aid disbursements have been consistent and processed within regulatory timelines and university policies. There have been no delays in processing her refunds, all were processed timely and in accordance with federal regulations and university policies. Our review of her account shows no discrepancies.  All charges and refunds are accurate. We see no reason to write off or erase her debt.  Ms. ****** still has the responsibility to repay her student loans. 
 
Ms. ****** did not raise any of these concerns during her time at Grantham University.  The Ombudsman did not receive any notification that she was having issues communicating with the Financial Aid department.  A review of her record does indicate that she mentioned something to her Student Advisor recently who in turn contacted Financial Aid for her. Our Financial Aid department has attempted to contact Ms. ****** telephonically but her number was not in service. 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed as Assumed Answered]

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

You guys are no good as well. I have plenty of emails to show and prove that I've contacted the financial aid department on several occasions and no one reached out to me. But you know what keep it. God has something for you ALL. 

Regards,

***** ******

5/6/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a student at Grantham University. I started my last term in fall (November) 2015. Due to personal reason, I had to withdraw from classes. I informed my instructors and they were able to withdraw me from my courses. During my term, Grantham had been in the process of processing my financial aid. I completed all required form online in a timely fashion and was in contact with the appropriate parties via email to confirm that I was all set to go for the term, as far as financial aid was concerned. They processed my financial aid late and didn't complete the process until after my withdraw. They now claim that I owe the full cost of the term. I have had to do this once before in my 4 years with the school and had the same problem. When they audited my account, they realized that it was an error in their processing time and the matter was taken care of. I contacted the ombudsman's office to help resolve this problem, as the auditor I worked with previously had been promoted and I couldn't get help from anyone else. After presenting my evidence, Grantham accepted fault but is still trying to charge me 50% of the total. I shouldn't be forced to pay for their error. Now I am unable to continue my education or transfer to another school until this is resolved. I am also unable to complete my Bachelor's and receive a promotion with my employer. Please help me in resolving this matter.

Desired Settlement: Grantham University has a terrible financial aid department and I regularly go through problems with their processing. It is never timely. I would like for them to pay the full cost of the term, as it was their error, and have the hold on my student/financial aid account and transcripts released.

Business Response:

As Ms. ******* states, she contacted me in March 2016 to complain about financial aid.  After much research, I found that in fall of 2015 there were communications between Ms. ******* and her Financial Aid Officer regarding her financial aid.  The Financial Aid Officer was not as diligent in following up with Ms. ******* as she could have been.  Ms. ******* states that she submitted all the necessary paperwork online via our financial aid portal in a timely fashion but we are unable to document that the requested documentation was received.  Ms. *******’s statement that “Grantham accepted fault…” is false.  Because we feel that the customer service of our Financial Aid Officer could have been better, we offered to reduce her balance by one-half, which we subsequently did (see email dated 3/21/16) and instructed her to contact the Business Office to set up a payment plan for the remaining balance.  Once she sets up a payment plan she will be able to return to school at Grantham University.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed as Assumed Answered]

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: as it was stated, I did everything I could possibly do to get the financial aid processed in a timely fashion. They should be able to see the financial aid portal on the back end. I would not have access to this. As this has happened previously and they were able to see that, they should have access to this information. I will not accept this as a viable option because I am being asked to pay amounts that would have been covered by my financial aid and would have to endure financial hardship for their mistake.

Regards,

****** *******

4/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/6/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two years ago I contacted this school to see about furthering my education. I went back and forth in email with a representative named ***** ***** to obtain information. I completed a school application and provided my high school transcripts. The school advertised to military, and that they had shorter programs and were less costly. Once I went through the paperwork trail and their tuition was revealed to me I declined any enrollments or financial assistance from them as well as from the government FAFSA application (separate entity) that I had completed. I informed Miss ***** their schedule would not work for me and that their tuition was highly overpriced. She has contacted me every day for the last two years trying to solicit there school. I've blocked her number and formerly written to her and the school asking for the soliciting to stop. It is harassment at this point and I do feel taken advantage of being a military spouse. My local college is a quarter of the cost they are trying to sell to the military.

Desired Settlement: Please have her stop calling me and any others from the University.

Business Response:

I regret that Ms. ***** has had an unpleasant experience.  We have noted the phone number ###-###-#### as Do Not Contact in our system and will no longer attempt to contact anyone at that number.  At this time, I'm unable to say what happened to Ms. *****'s previous written request for Grantham to stop contacting her but can confirm that all attempts will stop immediately.  If Ms. ***** has any further issues, she can contact me at ******************** or the Ombudsman at ***********************

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** *****




















7/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
7/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I asked my student advisor for a disbursement schedule and they will not provide they are giving me very vague responses to something I feel I'm entitled to. I also asked when my refund will be on my card and they all give me what the law is

Desired Settlement: Give me a copy of my disbursement schedual and tell me when I what day I will see money on my card

Business Response: Ms. ******* received approximately $1,300 on her card on 6/15/2015.  She has received all of her aid for this academic year and will be contacted by the Financial Aid department sometime in September 2015 to be repackaged for the new academic year.  Ms. ******* spoke to **** in the financial aid department this morning and he relayed this same information to her.  We believe she may have asked the Student Advisors for her disbursement schedule rather than someone in Financial Aid but nonetheless, we now believe all of her questions have been answered.  She may contact the financial aid office or the Ombudsman (**********************) at anytime if she has further questions.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Anytine, I ask questions to my financial aid officer ****** she only gives my the staffed by law info. "By law we have 14 days to give you a refund. Until we are on better terms I feel like this message should stay to make others aware of the vauge information they give. While other students have a time frame when they will have their disbursements schedule I'm stuck with estimations. You guys refer me to staff that no longer work their and I sit and wait for a response for two weeks and still nothing, then I finally get told from a woman in the business office **** ****** quit. I know my resources and I use them there is no mistakes who I communicate with its you guys.



Regards,

******** *******





























Business Response:

Because we cannot guarantee when each student will receive their refunds, the Financial Aid Department is trained to give a standard response to everyone.  If we were to tell students an earlier date and they don't receive their refunds, they would be more upset.  We are not trying to be vague.  But this does show me there is an opportunity for further training at the University and we will defiinitely do so. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Well if you, look on your ******** site a student posted he recieved a disbursement schedule from his financial advisor, if you guys did not want students to recieve this you should not have given it to one student. You guys are unorganized and it's pretty sad. Only way to reach out and get any response, not just from me but from a handful of students is through ********. I get people all the time send me private messages, to see if they are getting the same information as me. Point blank, it's sad. Get it together. 



Regards,

******** *******





























2/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
1/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello My name is ******* ****** I have been a student at this University since 2012 and I am a Junior although it has been difficult for me at times as a returning married adult with kids I tried to maintain, but this has been extremely difficult due to the lack of response from this University staff on behalf of my student financial aid money vanishing and the school is not and has not explained what happened to my financial aid that I was approved for to cover the cost of my October classes and books. Due to non payment of these classes I was dropped from my upcoming classes that started in December 3rd due to nonpayment of my October classes although I have multiple emails stating I was approved for financial aid to cover Octobers classes and books as well as my award letters. I have been ignored, disconnected by phone you name it and no one can explain to me what is going on I am starting to have regrets about attending a school with poor communication skills with their students I need to know why my classes are not paid for after promises they would and I know I qualified for book grants and financial aid. I am currently sitting in limbo waiting for someone to explain and fix the situation because currently I am unable to attend school and I want to Graduate this has been very frustrating dealing with this since August of 2014 and it is January 2015 I am still being ignored and I am tired of emailing and calling and getting no where thanks.

Desired Settlement: Please fix my financial aid account and apply my financial aid that I was approved for way back in September,October and pay for my classes, books, and send me my refund please. Get back in school I want to Graduate Please!!!!!!!!!!

Business Response:

A Financial Aid Manager with Granatham University contacted Ms. ****** on 1/14/2015 via telephone.  As a result of that conversation, we understand that Ms. ******'s concerns have been addressed and resolved to her satisfaction.  She should be prepared to return to school in February 2015.  We regret Ms. ******'s frustration and the poor customer service that she received.  If she experiences further difficulties, we encourage her to contact the University's Ombudsman at **********************.

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Someone contacted me from the school and informed me they were working on my situation but I feel to some extent the school is giving me the run around since my time is run out with BBB (14 days) . My refund that I'm due has not posted to my student MRS Grantham card although it has been the amount of days they claim and this is left over money after they have paid for my October classes of 2014 which is the classes they say have been taking care of. The new classes that I'm suppose to start in February are not posted on my student site yet but the price for those classes are the ones for October are still showing. 

Regards,

******* ******





























Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

# ******** as of today thanks Mr ****** you can consider my status as resolved I no longer need any assistance from BBB thank you you can close my complaint account as resolved!!

Regards,

******* ******




















12/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been enrolled in this University since October 2014 and I have yet to receive me financial aid funds. The school has been holding my funds and continuously adding all kinds of fees to my account. Something just do not feel right about this school and not to my surprise I find all kinds of complaints on them. They are ripping people off. They are basically taking federal funds. In the end you never see the refund that is due to you because they keep it, the degrees are worthless because it is nationally accredited and you are stuck with a bill.

Desired Settlement: Release me my loan funds or return it to the department of education.

Business Response:

We have reviewed Ms. *******'s account with the Financial Aid department and Business Office.  She should be receiving her disbursement in the next 3 business days.  This has been communicated to the student and I as the Ombudsman have given her my contact information directly so she can contact me if she has any further questions or concerns. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

********** *******

















11/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is my first online school attending. I just school on July 2,2014 and was told my refund check would be issued 30 days after school. When August 4,2014 reached, I was then told the 13th of August. Of course, that date arrived and now it's on or before the 27 of August. I was also told no later than August 25th. The time frames variety each time I reach an employee of Grantham University. I am wondering is this fraud with all the cyber crime in the U.S. I feel helpless not living in the same town and not being able to see someone face to face. I need answers on this matter. I have yet to receive any funds my pell grant or student loans. It's about to be 8 weeks of attending this school and nothing. I am not sure if this school keeps students money and commit fraud or not. I will say one employee ***** ********* was very patience and respond to me in a timely matter but of course his hands are tied so I understand. Everyone else gave me the run around. This is my next attempt. Can you all please help me get answers and this resolved? I have never had problems with my other school is was just a 2 year college and I had to transfer to a university. Thanks in advance

Desired Settlement: 3,942.40

Business Response:

October 6, 2014


**** ******

Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City

8080 Ward Parkway, Suite 401

Kansas City, MO  64114

 

RE:  Complaint Number: ********

Dear Mr. ******:

 

I would like to apologize to you for the delay in sending you this response to the notice you sent to ***** ******, the Vice President of Compliance, at Grantham University regarding a complaint you received from a Grantham student. The complaint numbered ******** was made by a Grantham student, ******** *******.  

 

The Ombudsman’s Office at Grantham had been working closely with this student and in fact had seen to it that the student’s concerns were addressed in late August.  And, as you know there are privacy laws that restrict what information I can provide you in regards to this student's complaint. The federal law named  the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) does not allow an employee of an institution of higher education to  provide information about any college or university student to a third party without the student's prior written consent.  An exception to that law allows student information to be provided if the state where the institution of higher education is located has a law that expressly allows the release of such information.  There is not a Kansas law or regulation that does allow for the release of information from a student’s education records without the student’s prior consent, however.   

 

 In the investigation that I conducted I determined that employees of Grantham University followed Grantham policies and procedures in working with this student.   While Grantham staff members had provided information to Ms. ******* previously we are also sending additional information to her as a result of this complaint in order to make certain that no question was left unanswered.

 

 I cannot tell you more about either the investigation or potential resolution since neither federal nor state law allow a disclosure of a student’s record to a third party without that student providing prior, written consent.  If you have further questions I will be limited in my response due to the FERPA requirements already mentioned.  If there is additional follow up that is needed I would like to be as helpful as I can given the limitations I have outlined.

  

**** ** ******

Ombudsman

 

 

10/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 5-18-2014To whom it may concern:I need assistance from the BBB, I was taking online courses through Grantham University, and I withdrew from the course I was enrolled in, and also completely withdrew from the school on April 26, 2014.After I withdrew from the school, and being that the term for the course I was enrolled in was not completed, I was due a refund of $300 plus dollars; I truly believe that they owed me more than the $300 plus dollars at the time I withdrew, because we were just entering into the 4th week of courses and they refund by percentage of course work completed; they issued a refund to my bank account in the amount of $265.30 instead of the correct amount that was due to me.I did not make an issue over the refund amount due, because I was fed up with dealing with their financial aid office, and the Business office staff. They started to do spiteful things regarding the disbursement of my financial aid loans from the school, and all I wanted to do was be refunded for the course, and be done with their school. They became even more spiteful towards me, because I had complained to FED loans, and also the Department of Education regarding what they were doing regarding the disbursement of my financial aid. The reason I am writing the BBB, is that I would like to see if you can assist me in getting the refund balance owed to me of $65.00, which the Business office at Grantham kept back from me.I should not have owed the school anything else at the time of withdrawal; prior to the term beginning, they had taken out all of the fees that were due for taking the course, and attending their school.I put $65.00 as what is owed to me, because for sure I know that they kept at least this amount back, and this was verified when I called the school after they deposited the funds into my bank account.But I would like for them to recalculate my full refund, because at the time I withdrew, I feel that they should have owed me more for the course than what they had initially given me refund credit for. And if they do not refund to me what they kept back from me, although I owed them nothing further at the time of withdrawal; I would like for you to add my complaint to your site, so that other prospective students can beware.School ID *********Thank you,**** ******, *********************

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the funds due me that Granthams business office staff maliciously withheld back from me.

Business Response:

May 23, 2014

 

**** ******

Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City

8080 Ward Parkway, Suite 401

Kansas City, MO  64114

 

 

RE:  Complaint Number: ********

 

Dear Mr. ******

 

The correspondence that you have sent via electronic mail is in regards to a complaint made by a Grantham University student, **** ******.   You should know that I am restricted by a federal law, the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) in what I can tell you or provide you in this letter unless there is a Kansas law or regulation that does allow for the release of information from a student’s education records without the student’s prior consent.  

 I researched Kansas statutes and regulations to find an applicable law that would allow me to release this student’s education records to you. While that type of law would satisfy section 99.35(a) (2) of FERPA, it does not appear that such a Kansas statute or regulation exists.  

 In the investigation that I have conducted I have determined that employees of Grantham University followed Grantham policies and procedures and the clear direction set out in the Student Catalog in working with this student on this billing issue.  While the manager of the Business Office has already consulted with this student on this matter prior to the receipt of the BBB complaint, I have written to the student to invite her to have one more discussion about this matter.   

 I cannot tell you more about either the investigation  since neither federal nor state law allow a disclosure of a student’s record to a third party without that student providing prior, written consent.  If you have further questions I will be limited in my response due to the FERPA requirements already mentioned.  If there is additional follow up that is needed I would like to be as helpful as I can given the limitations I have outlined.

 

Sincerely,

 

**** ** ******

*********

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: ********
5-27-2014

I am rejecting this response because:

You are not being told the truth, they are being evasive because they know that I am correct, as stated being spiteful, they kept back money that I did not owe to them. and this person Mr. ******* did not tell you the truth, last term the financial aid, and business office out of spite did not dispurse the funds that I was supposed to use for the term that I was enrolled in, and I had to contact the Department of Education and Fed Loans of what they were doing, so they finally decided to released the funds that I needed to use for the term I was in, and the upcoming term. Out of spite they released the funds after the 8 week term I was in prior to April 2nd. ended, normally they should release funds within the first month after a course begins. they wated till my course was completely finished before they released loan funds to me.  This made it difficult for me, because one tearm finished, and another one was just about to begin within days.

This made it difficult for me to prepare  for the upcoming term beginning April 2, 2014; I needed to get a computer because Windows XP was no longer going to be supported by Microsoft after April 8, 2014, and I needed to get the newest Microsoft Office program, which is totally different from what I had been using.

I started the course  on April 2nd,  and from the start  I was somewhat behind, I had to explain to my teacher the issues I was having learning the new operating system, and the new Microsoft Office software at the same time I was trying to complete my school work using this new sturff.  Luckily the teacher understood what I was up against, because he stated that he was having an issue with the operating system also.

I was told by one of the agencies that I had called that the financial aid office had the funds to disperse to me since November 2013, so nothing should have been held up for 8 weeks, and worse till the end when the term had finished. Mr. *******, doesn't know what he is talking about the manager of the business office, (********) I tried repeatedly to call and speak to her, and she would not talk to me, I left her message, after message, after message, after message, and she did not call me back after any of my messages, I even asked employees of the business office, and including my student advisor, I asked them all to have the business manager to call me back and she would not, she knew exactly  what was going on as far as my loan funds being withheld, I left her many messages stating what was going on.

They are trying to cover up, providing my grades to the BBB has nothing to do with this, this is not what they are being asked, I don't owe them a dime, they owed me over $300 dollars as a refund when I withdrew from their school,  the financial aids office had already made all of the adjustments to my account that they needed to, the business office had to only release the balance refund funds to me, and I want the balance due me, if they do not refund it, as stated in my original complaint, I want you to post my complaint on your website along with your other complaints, so that other prospective students can read about my experience dealing with Grantham's financial aid, and business office personnel, all of a sudden today I see an e-mail from * ****** the school so called compliance officer, I don't have anything to say to her, ask her to not contact me again, all communication comes to the BBB, and the BBB can contact me, during the many weeks that I had constantly called the school, seeking anyone there to assist me with the unjustness that the financial aid, and especially the business office was doing to me, where was

* ****** then?

All I want is for them to refund the balance due to me, or just go right ahead and add my complaint to your website.

 

 

Regards,

****




























Business Response: **** ******

Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City
8080 Ward Parkway, Suite 401
Kansas City, MO   64114

Dear Mr. ******,

This is my second letter to you regarding this complaint from Grantham student, **** ******.  While Ms. ****** still has not provided Grantham with a signed release form letting us provide you with information about her student records, including her financial records, I am going to do my best to provide you with an explanation of what next steps Grantham University will be taking to resolve the underlying complaint made by Ms. ******.

******** *****, Manager of the Business Office of Grantham University and I will call Ms. ****** at a time of her choosing to discuss her continuing complaint and her rejection of my last reply to the BBB about the complaint that she lodged.  I hope that through that conversation we will come to an agreement about a final resolution to the concerns that Ms. ****** has. 

Please let me know if you have other concerns or questions.

Sincerely,

**** ** ******
*********
Grantham University

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The person responding back to you from Grantham is not from the *********'s office, and there is no reason the BBB needs my school records, they have nothing to do with this complaint, this complaint is not about school records, my school records don't need to be publicized on the BBB website, because my complaint is about the money that Grantham stole from me when I withdrew from the school; they were being spiteful and took funds from me that I did not owe to the school, AND THAT IS ALL THAT I WANT BACK from them.

Also, the staff at Grantham University needs to fix the withdrawl date that they are reporting for me to Fed loans, and also they need to update the NSLD database, I found out yesterday that they are again malicioulsy reporting my withdrawal date from their school as February 2014, and that is not true, I withdrew from Grantham April 26, 2014, and I would like for them to send you hard copy proof that they have corrected this information also, in writing on their letterhead, and the BBB can forward this letter to me.

At this point they are trying to play games, and neither I, nor the BBB has time for their stupidity and games, they know exactly what they need to do.

And as stated previously, if they do not return my money, I want my experience with Grantham publicized on your website, warning future students when they look up the credibility of this school.



Regards,

**** ******





























6/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a student at Grantham University for 5 years now and have experienced few problems, and even then those problems were small. However, recently I have switched from using US Army tuition assistance to money from a federal pell grant award. This is where the problems, and miscommunication began. I was informed initially I received just over $5,000 in federal pell grant money for my schooling. However, after altering my schedule to fit my Military lifestyle and withdrawing from classes which hadn't started yet my award amount was altered, a total of four times now. It was in the middle of Grantham representatives telling me many different stories about how much I was awarded that I chose to write the president and several other faculty members. This was mainly due to the fact that I signed a student agreement before starting my current three classes which ran from April 2nd 2014 to May 28th 2014 which stated I was not responsible for those classes financially and that they were covered under a federal pell grant award. Yet, I received an email a couple weeks ago by my student advisor stating I owed Grantham well over $1,000 for tuition. Once I inquired into the exact itemized reason for this amount being owed and how come I had signed a student agreement stating I would owe nothing I started to receive several different explanations from my student advisor, the chief of financial aid, and others giving me different reasons and different monetary amounts I was being told I am responsible for. To this day my account has not been updated to reflect how much I owe Grantham, and more specifically an itemized reason for the amount. The most recent change to my circumstance has resulted in more than half of my financial aid award from a pell grant being taken away from me, yet I still do not know why or what my current balance is after this recent change.

Desired Settlement: As an active duty US Army soldier living abroad with my family I deal with enough financial and other stress daily. I want someone from Grantham to give me an itemized receipt explaining my exact financial aid award, why it has changed so many times, and what I owe or they owe me. I am hoping this will help before I take the next step and start a congressional investigation on my situation with my congressman back in the states. No one will give me straight answers.

Business Response:

 

Complaint Number: ********

Dear Mr. ******:

The correspondence that you sent to ***** ****, Vice President of Compliance at Grantham University, via electronic mail was in regards to a complaint made by a Grantham student, ****** *******.    I am restricted by a federal law, the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) in what I can tell you or provide you in this letter unless there is a Kansas law or regulation that does allow for the release of information from a student’s education records without the student’s prior consent.  

I researched Kansas statutes and regulations to find an applicable law that would allow me to release information from this student’s education records to you. While that type of law would satisfy the exception portion of the FERPA law that allows an institution of higher education to provide student record information to a third party, there is not such a Kansas statute or regulation.    

In the investigation that I conducted I determined that employees of Grantham University followed Grantham policies and procedures in working with this student.   While Grantham staff members had provided information to Mr. ******* previously we sent additional information to him as a result of this complaint in order to make certain that no question was left unanswered.

 I cannot tell you more about either the investigation or potential resolution since neither federal nor state law allow a disclosure of a student’s record to a third party without that student providing prior, written consent.  If you have further questions I will be limited in my response due to the FERPA requirements already mentioned.  If there is additional follow up that is needed I would like to be as helpful as I can given the limitations I have outlined.

Sincerely,

**** ** ******

*********

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *******











5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I do not know what else to do. I regret filling this compliant but feel helpless as to what to do. For 3 months I have been trying to get them to post my military severely injured scholarships to my last two terms with no luck. I have been receiving the scholarship every term than all of the sudden they stop posting. I am very grateful for the scholarship but I keep being ignored. I have spoken to more than 10 people with promises of this being resolved with no luck. I was told to complete a form which I did and still ignored,

Desired Settlement: Please post military injured scholarship for previous term and current term please.

Business Response: Federal law (the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA)) protects student academic and financial records from disclosure to third-parties without the student's express written permission. Grantham University has not received such permission from the student/complainant, and, therefore, cannot provide details of the student's particular situation in this response. However, after reviewing all the student's Grantham University records, it appears that Grantham has now correctly processed all of this student's academic and business matters. At this time, Grantham University believes it has correctly fulfilled its obligations to this student and considers this matter closed. Sincerely, ***** L. **** Vice President of Compliance

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** *******




















4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been enrolled in the school since 2012 and the academic side of the school is great. But the financial side is horrible. I get financial aid and I was supposed to be issued a refund on the debit card that the school sent to me. With this debit card came instruction to activate the card and if there were to ever be a refund on my account that it would be automatically transferred to that debit card. Unless I contacted the business office to state that I wanted to change this by getting a paper check or auto debit to my personal account the funds would automatically go to the debit card they provided. I was supposed to be issued a refund to this debit card before the new year of 2014 and every time I contacted the business office they told me it was on the way. It is not the 14th Day of January and I have yet to get the money. I contacted the business office today and they informed me that there is a new policy for activating the debit card and a paper check was mailed to me on the 31st of December. The problem is that they sent the check to an old address. I have received almost 12 semesters of books at the current address I am in, how then does an old address from well over 4 years ago end up in their system. And on the most important thing that I am to receive from them. They have given me the run around with this issue for over two (2) months for a refund that I am entitled to. So now I have to wait thirty (30) days in order for them to place a stop payment on the check and then reissue another one, and its no telling how long that will take. I also am not able to re-enroll in my winter classes. In addition to those I am a retired vet who depends on the Montgomery GI bill money to support my family, but it only comes when I am enrolled for school. Part of the refund that I am entitled to has to go back to the school because they lied to me and said that my account had been cleared and once I was entitled to a refund magically now I owe them money.This puts us in a Bind!!!!

Desired Settlement: I would like my refund with in two (2) weeks and my account cleared so I can take my credits and transfer. This has pushed my graduation back from summer to possibly winter of 2014.

Business Response: Re: Complaint #*******
 
Response:
 
Federal law (the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA)) protects student academic and financial records from disclosure to third-parties without the student's express written permission. Grantham University has not received such permission from the student/complainant, and, therefore, cannot provide details of the student's particular situation in this response. However, after reviewing all of the student's Grantham University records, it appears that Grantham has timely and correctly processed all of this student's academic and business matters.

At this time, Grantham University believes it has correctly fulfilled its obligations to this student and considers this matter closed.

Sincerely,

***** *. ****

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2014 Delivery Issues
1/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I enrolled in the university . I was promised a education/ support/and live help at my convince / did I get it yes the first week / second week a little - came to the 4th week -( I informed the teacher sevral times I knew nothing about excel - On 7/22/2013 3:29 PM, ***** ****** wrote: *****, I need you to ask specific questions. I do not have lectures for this material. This course is self study and I answer any questions you have. Have you tried looking on the internet? There are loads of good lectures there that take you through the material step by step. ***** and this is what I got for a week no help and when a tutor was offerd it was at there convince and not mine I work night and they wanted to do it in the morning when I was sleeping not when I was awake

Desired Settlement: just want to get all of my loan back and never here from them again there was no support after hours and during got voice mails and answering service and when I did get a live person wrong department and you need to call who ever when they get back and when you did you got voice mails and no callback if any

Business Response:

At this time, we have been unable to reach Mr. **** to understand the full scope of his request. We shall continue to try and reach Mr. ****. Mr. **** may also call me directly at ###-###-####, ext. 195. However, I will be out of the office and unable to retrieve my messages from Thursday, August 29th through Wednesday, September 4th. I will return to the office and be available Thursday, September 5th.

Respectfully,

***** *. ****

Vice President of Compliance

Consumer Response: I have called and emailed  them  over the last month  and got voice mails  and no reponse on  emails
they are doing the  same thing  as if i was attending 

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]


Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:



Regards,

***** ****





























Business Response:

Due to protections provided to students by the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), Grantham University is unable to submit a detailed response to Mr. ****'s complaint. However, Grantham has been in contact with Mr. **** and believes it has satisfied his outstanding requests. Should Mr. **** feel his complaint has not been answered, he may contact me directly at ****************** or ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

***** *. ****

Vice President of Compliance


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Grantham University
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart