Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Easy Moves offers local residential and commercial moving service including packing, unpacking, loading and unloading.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that You Move Me-Kansas City meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for You Move Me-Kansas City include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on You Move Me-Kansas City
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 18, 2012 Business started: 01/17/2011 in KS Business incorporated 01/17/2011 in KS
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Josh Herron, General Manager/Owner Mr. Tyler Staszak, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Josh Herron, General Manager/Owner
Principal: Mr. Tyler Staszak, Owner
Business Category

MOVING / STORAGE COMPANIES MOVERS

Service Area
Services the entire KC metro area including Kansas City, Overland Park, Olathe, Leawood, Lenexa, Shawnee, Parkville, Gladstone, Liberty, Lees Summit, Independence, Belton, Raymore, Blue Springs and everywhere in between.
Alternate Business Names
Easy Moves, LLC

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My boyfriend and I chose "You Move Me" to move us into our new home. When I called to book the appointment, the customer service representative took a thorough inventory of the items that they would be moving. The plan was for the movers pick up my belongings from a storage unit, then pick up the items from my boyfriend's apartment, then unload everything at the house (final stop). Once the movers completed loading everything from the storage unit, they immediately realized that the truck was too small to complete the second leg of the move. They tried to make it work with one truck by continuing to the second stop (my boyfriend's apartment). They quickly realized they could not complete the move without taking the storage items to the house first. So, they took extra time to go to the house, unload the truck, then return to the apartment. Once they returned to the apartment, they took 6 hours to move his furniture (a one bedroom apartment). A move that has previously taken movers 2-3 hours. The young boys that they sent damaged pieces furniture by dragging and forcing them into tight spaces. They were unskilled on how to move and manipulate furniture. By the end of the move, they had damaged an expensive leather couch in 3 places. We immediately reported this to management and they have yet to send someone out to fix it. We even had other men help unload the truck at the house because the boys were moving slow. After talking to management, he apologized for sending a truck that was too small and he blamed the elevator at the apartment complex for the slow move. All in all we paid $1000 for the move (with a $100 credit for our inconvenience). That's all. We also contacted them about a key fob that the movers used to have access the elevators...they have not returned it yet. This was the worst customer service ever! Even the woman who quoted me a ***e/price believed that this move would only take 6 hours...not 9 hours at $114/hour! We have damaged furniture, no key fob, and out of $1000.

Desired Settlement: A refund of $400, proper repair of the leather couch, and the key fob.

Business Response: I spoke with Mrs. *** the day before the move to confirm the details. We went over what was being moved and we based the size of truck and number of movers on the information she gave me. On move day the movers called and told me there was more involved than we anticipated. I spoke with Mrs. *** and she was aware she would be billed for the ***e used. Unfortunately at the drop off Mrs. *** was not able to secure a designated elevator, while t unloading there was a large property showing going on so the elevators were busier than normal. The movers did make 2 trips and it took longer than anticipated so we offered $100 as compensation which was accepted. After the move a damage was pointed out. I spoke with her husband and we agreed to have the couch repaired. Our repairman ******* left 2 messages for *** to set up a time for the repair but has not heard back. I have the key fob on my desk. I personally spoke with *** and offered to mail it to him or deliver it. He asked where we were located and said he would come to our office to pick it up. Mrs. *** said throughout the move and days later when we spoke again that she was very pleased with the movers.


Sincerely,

***** *********
Operations Manager

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Dear You Move Me,

Many of the things that ***** stated in his response are absolutely false. 1) The only thing confirmed the day before the move was the actual confirmation that the move was still taking place and the addresses that the movers would be making stops at. The conversation went no further than that. In fact, ***** apologized during a later conversation on how he was wrong to believe a smaller truck would work and that it was a training opportunity. He also complained that the system used to transfer information from the customer service system to them was flawed and left out important information. 2) I NEVER SPOKE WITH ***** THE DAY OF THE MOVE regarding any extra charges and additional fees (even after we requested to speak with a manager). I have phone records to prove that. 3) The foot traffic at the second location had nothing to do with the speed of the workers and the elevators. The event that he spoke of was for retirement home information. Those individuals did not tour the building...the actual retirement community was at a different location. The elevators were only accessible to current residents. 4) The $100 was offered because of the damage to the couch (not because of the length of the move). 5) *** has returned the calls to the repairman with no return call. Our couch is still damaged. 6) I have never expressed the fact that I was pleased with this move. I have used several moving companies to complete my moves and You Move Me was by far the worst.

I would also like to highlight that we had this same move completed by Metrowide Movers in 5 hours (with the same elevator that was not reserved). The difference was that Metrowide sent experienced movers and an appropriate sized truck.

As of now, we have picked up the key fob from the You Move Me ofice, but still have not heard from the repairman or our refund. We are still requesting our refund of $400 and our couch fixed.




Regards,

******* ***





























Business Response: Throughout the process we have acted inside our contracted agreement with Ms. ***, and her Boyfriend (please see attached contract and estimate). Regardless of her experiences with other movers and how quickly they did, or did not complete the move, it is irrelevant, because the moves were not 100% equal. Nonetheless, on the contract, and in the estimate it clearly states that we are an hourly rate mover, and the final invoice will reflect the total amount of time it takes to complete your move. Both Movers onsite are trained professional movers, they have logged a combined 1600 billable hours this year alone (2015). For the quote being exceeded and truck being "too small" we compensated Ms. *** $100. In regards to the sofa we are only obligated to pay $.60 a pound (federally mandated) for the damage to the sofa, but we have agreed to pay to have the sofa completely repaired which will cost far more than the federally mandated amount due for damage. We do however apologize for any additional stress the move has caused Ms. ***. As of earlier this week we have communicated with Ms. ***'s boyfriend, and exchanged numbers with our repairman. We have communicated with the repair man that we would pay whatever amount necessary to repair the sofa.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I am rejecting the response from You Move Me because they are running a business on lies. The excuses that they have given for under-performing are nothing but lies. I can prove via phone records that the manager never reached out to me the day of the move (like he previously stated) and many other lies. He also stated that our sofa would be fixed within 2 weeks (we've have been in the house for over a month now). I am completely aware of how hourly moving companies work...I have used movers on several occasions. I do not believe, however, that the consumer should be responsible for mistakes and shortcomings from the moving company (especially when it is a few hundred dollars and damaged furniture). They are not able to just fall back "we are an hourly-based company". So, basically they can waste everybody's time, money and choose not to use the correct resources and it's the all on the consumers. Not acceptable. We work too hard for our money to have it thrown away. Items were damaged and the company seems to be completely indifferent.

8/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 8th, Their movers damaged my nightstand during the move. The movers then lied about it. After filing a complaint and speaking with representative, they sent a repair man down. He did repair my drawers that were off track but was unable to repair the busted leg on the far back right side. I spoke with a representative and told him I was not happy with the repair, he stated that he would speak with the owner and get back with me on what they can do about possibly compensating me. Well after 3 weeks of waiting on a phone call and not receiving it. I called him today. He stated that he called me back and left a message. I informed him that I never got a message. He then went on to inform me that they would not be compensating me due to fact they would be losing money.

Desired Settlement: At this I would like a full refund of all my monies for this move due to the very poor customer service I receive through this whole ordeal. I work very hard for every penny I make. I shouldn't be the one responsible for purchasing a new nightstand that their company damaged. I wish that the owner and the representative would put their shelves in my shoes.

Business Response:

Hello,
I spoke with this customer about the damage that occurred on June 8th. I told her I would contact our wood repairman and have the item fixed. She stated she was upset and wanted me to come out personally to look at it. I drove to her residence to inspect the damage. It was not something I am experienced enough to handle. When looking at the night stand I noticed it was particle board, which on page 4 of the contract that she signed states our insurance does not cover particle board furniture. I explained that to her and said with her being a repeat customer that I would make an exception and offer her a cash settlement. I even offered more than the $.60 per pound she would have received in a regular situation. She refused and said she wanted it fixed. I told her I would have our wood repairman set up a time to come to her residence and fix it.  He contacted her and set up a time convenient for her and fixed the item at her residence. We spoke on the phone and she stated that she was very happy with the repair and although it wasn't new again, that she was overall satisfied. Then on July 3rd she sent in an email saying she was waiting for compensation. I called and asked her about the email and she said that she felt like we should give her money as well. I told her that she declined the cash settlement and wanted the piece fixed. She asked that I go to the owner and see if there was anything else we could do. I told her I would and that I would call her with an answer. She stated she was going out of town and would call me when she returned. I did not hear from her so I called her and left a message letting her know we would not be able to compensate her any further. She called a few days later asking what the outcome was. I told her we were not going to be able to compensate her anymore, she said that she would not use us in the future and ended the phone call. I attached our contract that she signed as well as a portion specifically on damages below.
 "Please know that we reserve the right to repair all damage(s) in question. If we feel that the damage cannot be repaired, we will pay to you $0.60/lb (Basic Valuation Coverage) per damaged item in full and final compensation in exchange for a release from you of any further obligations in relation to the damage." 
Directly below that on page 4 under Waivers-Release of Liability it states that we are not responsible for damages to Particle Board furniture.
Please call or email me with any questions.
Thank You,

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Pretty much most of what he stated was untrue. When I filed the initial complaint someone (*****) from the company called me back that same day. Which was on a Sunday. We spoke about the damage, he apologized and asked me to text him pictures of the damaged items (which I still have), and stated that he wanted to speak with the movers. He stated he would call me back in a couple of days, he was going to see about getting someone out here to take a look at the damage. I never got a call back, so I called their customer service line asking for someone to call me back regarding my damaged property. (surely they have a recording of it) the customer service representative stated that someone would call me back within 48 hours. No one returned that call. I had to text the young man (*****) (whom I sent the pictures to) (please see attached text ).  When he came to home he stated nothing about this .60  a pound that he is speaking of now, but he did inform of it after I wrote a review on Facebook.  He called and wanted to speak to me about. He stated that I am slandering the companies name. That's when he told me he offered the .60 a pound. As I am stating to you, I stated the same to him, he never offered that to me. I don't appreciate the lies that are coming from this mans mouth. The customer service that I have received from this company this time around is awful. I also don't appreciate receiving the phone call from the representative (*****) in my opinion I was being chastised for speaking my mind about my last experience with this company. I feel that my property was destroyed, It wasn't like that before they moved it. So yes, in my opinion they destroyed my property. When the nightstand couldn't be properly repaired by their wood man I asked for compensation on $150.00. (the owner denied). but since the whole experience with the customer service all around has been extremely poor I am requesting a full refund.

Please see attached pictures of the damage item and the repair.



Regards,

******* *****





























Business Response: We can agree to disagree on the details but the facts are as follows. On June 8th 2015 Ms. ***** signed a contract just like she did on June 7th, 2013 and July 23rd, 2014. In that contract which I attached along with pictures of the damage, in paragraph 4 it states that we are not responsible for Particle Board furniture. I explained this to Ms. ***** the day I came to her condo to inspect the damage. We felt that due to the fact that she is a returning customer we should go above and beyond to make it a positive situation. Our wood professional fixed the damage. Ms. ***** stated at that point she was satisfied with the repair.  Contractually we have no legal responsibility to offer Ms. ***** any monetary compensation. 

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on You Move Me-Kansas City
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)