BBB Accredited Business since

AB May Company

Phone: (913) 383-2222 Fax: (913) 383-1081 View Additional Phone Numbers 7100 E 50th st., Kansas City, MO 64129 http://www.abmay.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

In addition to heating and cooling, the company also does plumbing, electrical, appliance repair, replacement windows, duct cleaning, insulation and offer home warranties.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AB May Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AB May Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

11 Customer Reviews on AB May Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 8
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 11

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1962 Business started: 09/01/1958 in KS Business started locally: 09/01/1958 Business incorporated 11/12/1998 in KS
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Glen Posladek, President Ms. Susan Sarno, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Glen Posladek, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Susan Sarno, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING HEATING CONTRACTORS HOME WARRANTY PLANS INSULATION CONTRACTORS PLUMBING CONTRACTORS WINDOWS - INSTALLATION/SERVICE AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - COMMERCIAL AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - RESIDENTIAL AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS & SYSTEMS APPLIANCES-MAJOR-Service & Repair ELECTRIC CONTRACTORS FURNACE SALES & SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
A B May Sales & Service Co Inc

Additional Locations

  • 7100 E 50th st.

    Kansas City, MO 64129 (913) 383-2222 (816) 923-9999

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/1/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AB May installed 2 bathroom sinks, kitchen sink and a toilet. They overcharged by at least $1800.00. The service was well below standard. Toilet was rocking back and forth. They came out again and "fixed it". Still rocks. They came out third time and fixed it. All sinks started leaking as soon as we started using them for the first time. Had brand new custom cabinets and hand-rubbed stains damaged from the leaks. I keep calling to see if they are willing to fix the cabinets. No one calls back. I am very close to calling an attorney.

Desired Settlement: Not only refund. They must replace / or / fix the brand new custom cabinets.

Business Response: A.B. May has agreed to refund the full amount paid by this customer and repair the damaged cabinets.   A written response letter will be mailed to the Better Business Bureau as soon as we have completed that settlement.***** ***** Customer Service Manager

9/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday June 21st an electrician with AB May named ***** came out to my house to put in an outlet in my utility closet. When he was finished the wall behind my water softener was soaked as well as my floor had standing water. The outlet that he used to draw power from was located behind the water softener. It is my belief that he hit the valve into the on position while he was trying to access the outlet he was drawing the power from or that it was knocked into the on position while he was hammering in the staples after drawing the power from the existing outlet. The outlet that was used to draw the power from was soaked from the water. The technician is claiming that the wall was like that prior to him drawing the power. Wouldn't that have been a risk to his own life if it had truly been that way? There was no existing water damage to any of the walls in this room prior to AB May's visit on Friday June 21st nor has there ever been any kind of water issue in this room ever. I have contacted AB May about this problem and have been speaking to ******, the technicians supervisor, with no resolution other than there is no way the technician could have done this. I would like this resolved and my home restored to the way it was when the technician entered my residence.

Desired Settlement: I would like my home restored to the condition it was prior to the technician arriving to my home and causing water damage to my walls and floor. I would like my drywall replaced and painted and if the water is under the carpet I would like that to be replaced as well. After all of this trouble they have put me through with this mess I do not believe that I should owe them for this service call.

Business Response: July 15, 2013
Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City 8080 Ward Parkway, Suite 401 Kansas City, MO 64114
RE: complaint ******* - ******** *********
We have been working with this customer since she first notified us of her concerns about the water damage. As of Friday, July 12th, all repairs have been completed to the customer's satisfaction, That was was confirmed by phone with Ms. ********* today.
We provided electrical service and have taken responsibility for repair of damage that may not have been caused by our electrician. However, the customer has stopped payment on the checks for the electrical work that was done, leaving an unpaid balance due of $238.00.
Sincerely,
***** ***** ******** ******* *********

8/1/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/15/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/11/2012 Billing/Collection Issues