This business is not BBB accredited.

U.S. Toy Co., Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (816) 761-5900 Fax: (816) 761-9295 View Additional Phone Numbers 13201 Arrington Rd, Grandview, MO 64030 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company sells novelty and educational toys including carnival/party and seasonal decorations, candy and balloons.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for U.S. Toy Co., Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Advertising issues found by BBB

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on U.S. Toy Co., Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 02, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1953 Business started locally: 01/01/1953 Business incorporated 01/29/1954 in MO
Type of Entity


Business Management
Jonathan L. Frieden, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Jonathan L. Frieden, CEO
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Constructive Playthings, LLC US Toy Company

Additional Locations


    13201 Arrington Rd

    Grandview, MO 64030


    2008 W 103rd Ter

    Leawood, KS 66206 (913) 642-8247


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: November 8, 2015Gentlemen: I am writing to express my extreme displeasure at my recent experience doing business with your company. This is the first time I have ever ordered anything from you, and it will most certainly be the last.On September 16th, I placed an order for two Personalized Music CDs. These were ordered as Chanukah gifts for my grandchildren, one of whom lives in *****, and one in *********. It takes about a month for packages to reach them, so I ordered them in September, to allow me enough time to ship them overseas once then arrived. My order confirmation said to allow 4-6 weeks for delivery.At the end of October, I had not received any notice of shipping or any information regarding my order. My sister-in-law was travelling to *****, and offered to take the Chanukah gift, thus saving me the cost of shipping. I expected the CDs to arrive any day, as it had already been six weeks. I called CP Toys to inquire about the status of my order. The lady put me on hold while she called the manufacturer. She came back on the line and informed me that she had no status report. I told her I didnt understand what that meant! She said she was not able to give me any information about the status of my order. I already was beginning to suspect that I made a mistake in dealing with this company.On Friday, November 6th, I called CP Toys once again, as I had still not heard anything about my order, and it had now been over seven weeks since I placed the order. The lady I spoke with took my phone number and said she would contact the manufacturer and get back to me. Later that afternoon she called me back and said she had no information because the manufacturer wasnt answering the phone. What kind of a business are you running?Later Friday afternoon I received another phone call from CP Toys saying they would not be able to fill my order because they were no longer doing business with this particular manufacurer.I have a number of questions. First of all, what would have happened if I hadnt called on Friday? How long would your company have let this go on before you realized that my order had not yet been filled? Dont you monitor your orders? If seven weeks has gone by and an order has not been completed, doesnt a red flag go up somewhere to alert you that there might be a problem? If hadnt called, could I have waited years without receiving my order? Let me tell you what are the consequences of your negligence and poor business practices:1)My grandchildren will not have Chanukah gifts from me. Because even if I shipped something out today, it will not arrive in time for Chanukah. As a doting grandmother, that is extremely disturbing to me.2)A copy of this letter will be sent to the Better Business Bureau.3)I will certainly inform all of my friends who have children and grandchildren of my experience with your company.4)Any future catalogues I receive from you will go directly into the garbage.Thank you for taking the time to read this letter.****** ************** *********

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the products I ordered.

1/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear U.S.TOY I was pretty impressed with your website and the items that you sell. But I was disappointed when I went to checkout and their was a $5.00 charge because I did not meet your $25.00 minimum. I believe this is deceptive word play. In the center of the header @ the top of the page it states. EVERYDAY FREE SHIPPING! No minimum. The minimum is $25.00 or you will be charged a Minimum Order Charge of $5.00 dollars. It should read EVERYDAY FREE SHIPPING! $25.00 minimum. I wouldn't do business with your company, because of the principle of this, It's not the $5.00, I would have gladly pay it. Thank you Sincerely **** *********

Desired Settlement: I believe the icon in the center of the header that reads. EVERYDAY FREE SHIPPING! No minimum Should be changed to read. EVERYDAY FREE SHIPPING! $25.00 minimum. Every website that I've ever purchased from on the internet had a minimum charge for free shipping.

Business Response: Mr. *********, Thank you for your feedback. We are reviewing your complaint and researching ways to improve your shopping experience. We will update you as soon as we have looked further into this issue. Thank You Customer Service

Business Response: We in no way had any intention of misleading our customers in any way. We are making the following changes to our future catalogs and websites so as not to mislead our customers. 1) Our next US Toy catalog will simply say “Everyday Free Shipping” and no longer includes “no minimum” on the cover or inside copy details. The call out on the cover directs them to a page for more details that includes copy in bold about the exception around orders under $25 having a $5 handling fee. 2) We’re updating our web banner to simply read Everyday Free Shipping – see more details” and it no longer includes “no minimum” either. That will be updated on the website this week. We hope that this resolves this issue and we apologize for any confusion that we may have caused.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


****** *********

8/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the last year since 9/19/13, I have been receiving unsolicited postal advertisements from U.S. Toy Company. I have contacted them twice in the last year to remove my name from their mailing list, but they continue to ignore my requests and send me postal ads to my address.

Desired Settlement: Remove the following name and address from your postal mailing list and cease to rent ortrade my contact information with any other organization.

Business Response: We have marked your address as a "do not mail" address in our internal system. Unfortunately we purchase names from mailing lists and your name could be being purchased and mailed to from that source. You can have your name and address removed from purchased mailing lists by writing to the following company: Mail Preference Service c/o ****** ********* ******** ** *** *** ******* ** ***** They will add you address to their lists so that your address is no longer sold to companies that purchase mailing lists. I hope that this resolves your issue. Thank You Customer Service

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


**** *******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on U.S. Toy Co., Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)