This business is not BBB accredited.

U.S. Toy Co., Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (816) 761-5900 Fax: (816) 761-9295 View Additional Phone Numbers 13201 Arrington Rd, Grandview, MO 64030 http://www.ustoy.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company sells novelty and educational toys including carnival/party and seasonal decorations, candy and balloons.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for U.S. Toy Co., Inc include:

  • Advertising issues found by BBB

Factors that raised the rating for U.S. Toy Co., Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on U.S. Toy Co., Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 02, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1953 Business started locally: 01/01/1953 Business incorporated 01/29/1954 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Jonathan L. Frieden, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Jonathan L. Frieden, CEO
Business Category

TOYS-RETAIL BALLOONS-NOVELTY & TOY NOVELTIES-RETAIL

Alternate Business Names
Constructive Playthings, LLC US Toy Company

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13201 Arrington Rd

    Grandview, MO 64030

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2008 W 103rd Ter

    Leawood, KS 66206 (913) 642-8247

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear U.S.TOY I was pretty impressed with your website and the items that you sell. But I was disappointed when I went to checkout and their was a $5.00 charge because I did not meet your $25.00 minimum. I believe this is deceptive word play. In the center of the header @ the top of the page it states. EVERYDAY FREE SHIPPING! No minimum. The minimum is $25.00 or you will be charged a Minimum Order Charge of $5.00 dollars. It should read EVERYDAY FREE SHIPPING! $25.00 minimum. I wouldn't do business with your company, because of the principle of this, It's not the $5.00, I would have gladly pay it. Thank you Sincerely **** *********

Desired Settlement: I believe the icon in the center of the header that reads. EVERYDAY FREE SHIPPING! No minimum Should be changed to read. EVERYDAY FREE SHIPPING! $25.00 minimum. Every website that I've ever purchased from on the internet had a minimum charge for free shipping.

Business Response: Mr. *********, Thank you for your feedback. We are reviewing your complaint and researching ways to improve your shopping experience. We will update you as soon as we have looked further into this issue. Thank You Customer Service

Business Response: We in no way had any intention of misleading our customers in any way. We are making the following changes to our future catalogs and websites so as not to mislead our customers. 1) Our next US Toy catalog will simply say “Everyday Free Shipping” and no longer includes “no minimum” on the cover or inside copy details. The call out on the cover directs them to a page for more details that includes copy in bold about the exception around orders under $25 having a $5 handling fee. 2) We’re updating our web banner to simply read Everyday Free Shipping – see more details” and it no longer includes “no minimum” either. That will be updated on the website this week. We hope that this resolves this issue and we apologize for any confusion that we may have caused.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *********

















8/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For the last year since 9/19/13, I have been receiving unsolicited postal advertisements from U.S. Toy Company. I have contacted them twice in the last year to remove my name from their mailing list, but they continue to ignore my requests and send me postal ads to my address.

Desired Settlement: Remove the following name and address from your postal mailing list and cease to rent ortrade my contact information with any other organization.

Business Response: We have marked your address as a "do not mail" address in our internal system. Unfortunately we purchase names from mailing lists and your name could be being purchased and mailed to from that source. You can have your name and address removed from purchased mailing lists by writing to the following company: Mail Preference Service c/o ****** ********* ******** ** *** *** ******* ** ***** They will add you address to their lists so that your address is no longer sold to companies that purchase mailing lists. I hope that this resolves your issue. Thank You Customer Service

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *******

















11/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues