Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Aspen Contracting Inc. is a home improvement company providing the services of roofing, siding & guttering.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aspen Contracting, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aspen Contracting, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 18
Total Closed Complaints 21

Additional Complaint Information

Headquarters for Aspen Contracting, Inc. is located in Lees Summit, Missouri.  Aspen Contracting has several locations throughout the United States. Any complaints submitted by customers nationwide are centrally processed through BBB Serving Greater Kansas City. Complaint volume listed above is a nationwide company total within the past 3 years.  Use the Find a Location feature above to view a listing of Aspen's locations.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Aspen Contracting, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 08, 2006 Business started: 03/01/2006 in MO Business started locally: 03/01/2006 Business incorporated 09/19/2006 in MO
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Pat Nussbeck, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Pat Nussbeck, President
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
ASI Contracting
Additional Tradenames, Addresses & Phone Numbers

In Colorado, Minneapolis, Nebraska, Wisconsin and Wyoming, Aspen Contracting Inc. is doing business as ASI Contracting because the Aspen name was not available in those states.

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aspen came and removed tree on structure, but did not clean up all the tree limbs. They were paid and did not finish the tree job. They then called the insurance company to report that I did not wish to go forward with the rest of the repairs to the structure that was destroyed bu the tree falling on it. This is an out and out lie--I did not contact this company after the first work was completed--rather they were suppose to put together an estimate for the ***** ****** people who were coordinating the repairs for my insurance company--******** ****** *********. I plan to lodge a formal complaint with my insurance company as well as this complaint. I paid for the tree part of the job to Aspen and apparently they do not want to complete the repairs and I still have a pile of limbs that need to be hauled off. Aspen, however has cashed my check that they got when they supposedly completed the tree portion of the repairs.

Desired Settlement: They should first of all come back and get this pile of tree limbs or return some of the money I paid them so I can have someone else haul off the limbs. They should be dropped as a ***** ****** provider by ******** ****** *********. They should stop lying about what the consumer (Me) said.

8/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired to replace roof and patio roof. Job has been done except patio and shed. Have been told everyday a crew was coming to finish. Everyday no-show and everyday rain on exposed patio roof. Call everyday and get told we will have someone out there. Still haven't seen a construction permit. Would never recommend this company to anyone! Crew set supplies on neighbor's flowerbed and got neighbor upset. Poor clean-up after work left area a mess.

Desired Settlement: Finish the job as promised. Try to repair customer relations. Clean-up area. And take care of damage from 4 + rainstorms on exposed patio roof.

8/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May 2015 Aspen replaced the roof of my home. At that time they did not replace the metal edge or trim on the edge of the roof. Despite several phone calls I have yet to have the work done or have a meaningful conversation with Aspen. They are polite and say the right things but nothing gets done. I made the mistake of paying in full when requested to, now they are not finishing the job.

Desired Settlement: Remove the last of the old metal edging and replace it with the edging as promised, and haul away the old edging.

7/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted with Aspen to repair hail damage to my house. 1st representative quit company the day after inspection. 2nd representative got terminated by company 2 weeks after taking job. When contacted the rep said He had contacted insurance carrier about a supplemental claim but never had. After 2 more weeks and several non return of calls, I finally talked to a manager from the Georgetown office who informed me of the reps termination. He knew nothing of me or my or my contract with them to fix the house but assured me that the terminated representative was very trustworthy and had "probably" issued the supplement and offered to send another representative to take care of my job. when informed of my dissatisfaction with their business and of my signed contract w them, He informed me the contract meant nothing. At this time I informed Him that I would be finding another contractor and He agreed that was best. This is the worst I' ve ever been treated by a business. They are stormchasers and do not give any regard to their customers needs. I wouldn't recommend this company for anything. I was patient with this. My new house in need of repair with winter setting in. they cut a piece of siding off the front of my house to match the repair. That's the last I've seen of them. My house still has storm damage after 2 months plus has a hole in the siding that they created.

Desired Settlement: Come back and replace vinyl siding they cut off front of house. And in future put some thought into the people that they contract to do repairs for. Its our home. And no one I know wants expensive repairs hanging over their heads. Do what you say you will in a timely fashion.

Business Response: We are not stormchasers as this homeowner has in put in his comments, we have been doing work in and around the Lexington, KY area since 2006. We have had our license in the area since 2006. We will continue to do work in and around the area for many years to come. The homeowner must of not have thought this before or got some crazy idea because he signed a contract with us so obviously he did research on us because no one would just sign a contract to do repairs on someones house without looking into them. 

Aspen provided a free no obligation inspection to the homeowner the homeowner and stated that we felt there was enough damage to call the insurance company. The insurance company came out to the house and didn't pay for complete replacement just repairs. We wrote up an estimate and took photos and sent them to the inside adjuster of the homeowners insurance company. We cannot make the insurance company pay for anything or come back out. We have to send in estimates and photos, wait for them to reschedule an appointment to come back out with the homeowner. We don't have any control over if and when the insurance company will come back out, they have a a contract with the homeowner. The homeowner had some siding damaged and we explained that if the siding wasn't available then they would owe to pay for the entire side of siding but the only way to do that is to take a piece of siding off and send it off to a company called **** to get a report back to provide to the insurance company, the homeowner was fine with that. When the homeowner stated to the manager that he didn't want to use us anymore then we said fine(even though we had done a lot of leg work). We will certainly come back out and put the piece of siding back on the house. When a homeowner signs a contract to do work based off the insurance scope of loss and then doesn't agree with their scope of loss and wants us to work with them to get more approved we can't start the work. The homeowner has a problem with their insurance company not the Aspen. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: they never followed up with insurance company as stated. One of the Aspen reps quit immediately and the other got terminated. The second rep talked me into trying to get 2nd inspection. He said there was damage and he would send a supplement to ins adjuster. He never did. they can spin any way they want. They didn't do as they should have after they terminated the person. they had no clue who I was, Now they act like they did. I don't want anything from them just wanted others to know what they in it for and customers are not their priority.


****** ****

Business Response: We have documented proof we sent things to the insurance company. Just because right when he called we didn't know his name off the top of our head doesn't mean his stuff wasn't in our system. We have thousands of homeowners and we don't know everyone right off the top of our head, that is why we keep a sophisticated document managers service to keep track of every inspection. He should have made a complaint to the BBB on his insurance company not us. We tried to get items paid for but we can't force the insurance company to do anything. Its not our fault he is mad all his neighbors got a new roof and he didn't. We don't need to spin it in any way.

Fact-we stated we would do a free inspection-we did
Fact-we said we would write up a scope of loss(cost money-didn't charge to homeowner) we did
Fact-we said we would order a aerial measurements of his house(cost money-didn't charge to homeowner) we did
Fact-we said we would send in a supplement to insurance company-we did
Fact-insurance company isn't paying for damage-that is between homeowner and insurance company
Fact-We told homeowner he could be let out of a contract after we did all that work and used money/time to perform that work

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this is getting to be redundant. They have their facts and I know the truth. I m fine with everything. The house is getting fixed. I appreciate them replacing the missing vinyl.  All is good.


****** ****

12/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aspen re-roofed our home mid-October and did substantial damage to trim and siding on my home. Numerous shingles appear to not be tacked down properly. After numerous calls to general management, no calls have been returned. I will take matters into my own hands soon if this is not resolved and damages are repaired.

Desired Settlement: I feel Aspen is responsible for replacing trim and siding damaged and repaint. I feel they need to come back and finish tacking down shingles. This needs to get done before I complete payment.

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/22/14 **** *****, representative of Aspen Contracting Inc came to our house to finalize the details of replacing the roof, gutters and window in the master bathroom. Upon this agreement, it was agreed that not all the work on the originial claim would be completed so that we would only have to pay $900 deductible. The roof was replaced, the back gutters were replaced (after repeated phone calls) but the window was not replaced. Aspen billed the insurance company for more than was completed and now is threatening us to put a lien on the house for non payment when we have the $900 but they are asking for over $1700 which some of the work was not completed such as the roof on out back shed, not completed, replacment of the joints on the main roof and vents, not completed. However it was billed to the insurance that it was completed. On 7/23/14, we recieved a letter from Aspen stating that they were going to place a lien on the house if the $1700 payment is not recieved. We as well as our insurance company (******* ********* - ****** ***** ******) have tried to contact **** ***** on several occasions with no response.

Desired Settlement: We would like to pay the $900 deductible as agreed initially and the case be settled. Also a refund might be owed to the insurance company for fraud for improperly billing the invoice. We also would like the window to be fix as agreed.

Consumer Response: Yes I would be able to send what little documentation we do have... however I do not have a scanner to be able to scan the documentation we have. is there another way to get the documentation to you?

Business Response: This homeowner paid us in full on 7/24/14. We agreed with her that we weren't doing anymore additional work and she was paid in full. 

We called homeowner and they stated that they are fine with everything, they didn't think the complaint actually got submitted
Don't think this should be a complaint, 
*** ********

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a new roof and gutters put on about a month ago. Since, we have had water drain off the roof and puddle up next to the house. One of the downspouts doesn't come down far enough. The roof still has soft spots. They came back to fix the gutter issue, and glued a piece or metal to the roof, which is already falling off. Basically put a "band-aid" on the issue. We have been in contact with them, and we are having trouble getting the issues fixed. Total costs were over $9,000. I feel like I got taken advantage of. Someone was supposed to be here today between 4:00 and 4:30 pm. It is now 5:15. I called and got no answer, left voicemail. Called sales Rep at 5:00. He said he would take care of it. I haven't heard anything back from him yet.

Desired Settlement: I want the gutters fixed right, and the roof looked at from the attic, to show me that the soft spots are in fact not rotting out. I want it done soon. We paid good money, for junk work.

Business Response: The house was originally built with 3/8" plywood on 24" centers for the roof framing. We tore off the roof and replaced the shingles on the roof, we didn't replace anything structural on the house as it was built to code,even though it wasn't the most efficient way to frame a roof. Aspen contracted with the homeowner to do their roof for insurance allowance through a hail storm that damaged the homeowners roof. Aspen agreed with the total scope of loss with the insurance company and completed all the work per their scope and to code. There was a miscommunication with the owner of the property of the reason why the sheathing looked "wavy". We met with the Mr and the son and explained what was going on with the structure, how code reads, and how insurance allotment had occured. The owner thought that there was a spot on the house that was suppose to receive a gutter in a certain section of the house that had never had a piece of gutter there before, we had put a diverter in that place to help with the water flow to see if that would work since the insurance company didn't pay for gutters in that spot. After we found out the diverter wouldn't work we installed a gutter in that spot.
The scheduled meeting with the homeowner was miscommunication on days and times. We explained all the findings on the roof and gutters. The homeowner didn't mean to put in a complaint and called the office of BBB to state that. They don't want a complaint against Aspen and are satisfied with all of our conversations and work. They would like this to be taken away as a complaint and put as a information piece only so it won't hurt the company for doing the work that they had promised to do.

*** ********

4/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service