Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Carlyle Van Lines, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 356-4194 Fax: (660) 747-5092 View Additional Phone Numbers 801 W Young Ave, Warrensburg, MO 64093 http://www.carlylevanlines.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a moving and storage business that transports household goods. They provide service nationwide.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carlyle Van Lines, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carlyle Van Lines, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Carlyle Van Lines, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 16, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1958 in MO Business started locally: 01/01/1958 Business incorporated 01/15/1981 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Carlyle, Exe. Vice President Mr. Roy Carlyle, President Mr. Terry Fockler, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Carlyle, Exe. Vice President
Principal: Mr. Roy Carlyle, President
Business Category

MOVERS MOVING / STORAGE COMPANIES


Additional Locations

  • 801 W Young Ave

    Warrensburg, MO 64093 (800) 356-4194 (660) 747-8128

  • PO Box 47

    Warrensburg, MO 64093

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This was the worst moving experience in the past 12 years of moving every two years with the military. Carlyle was assigned to us and moved our items. Once we examined everything, 1/3 of our household items/furniture were damaged or ruined. We filled out the forms and negotiated for a long period until we reached an agreeable amount. However, being military, when a company does not fulfill their obligation, you contact the military installation law office. This company claimed we needed to submit receipts (for new furniture we purchased less than a year prior to pickup-two leather couches and a wine cooler) and they also requested photos. We delivered on everything. Then we waited and over a year later, we find out that they falsified information on the documents to claim we had damaged furniture prior to pickup. We had the photos prior to pickup that showed no damage. Then, we were told they would repair all these items plus others (bookshelves, entertainment system, etc.) items. It's been a year and a half. The issue with repairs is that the inspector that goes over all the damage, is also their repairman! This is an unethical and unprofessional way of doing business. Of course, he is going to claim that everything can be repaired since he will be pocketing more money. We had to fight for months just to receive a quarter of what our things were worth and if anything, military families deserve to know that this company is incompetent, greedy, unprofessional, and doesn't deserve the government's money in assisting us.

Desired Settlement: Matching leather couch and love seat $1348. Wine cooler $199.

Business Response: Mr. ******,

I am sorry that I have been out of the office due to an illness.  I am looking into your claim and will get back with you before the end of day tomorrow, April 17, 2014.
**** *******

Business Response:

Mr. ******,

            Per your complaint, I understand that you have waited over a year for a claim settlement.  Here is the timeline I was able to come up with for your claim:

                        Dec 13, 2012 claim was filed

 

                        Dec 19, 2012 proof of claim was filed with carrier (Carlyle Van Lines)

 

                        Jan 31, 2013 initial offer for settlement of items that were claimed was made to you in the DPS system.

 

Mar 8, 2013 Repairs were authorized on items, however our records reflect that the third party inspector/repairman made multiple attempts in March/April/May to connect with you in regards to making the repairs.  Until the statement to the BBB about the repairman/inspector we were unaware that you had decided not to use them for the authorized repairs.

 

Mar 21, 2013 you accepted claimed offer of $1447 in DPS.  The three items in question (sofa, love seat and wine cooler) were denied our office from the initial offer because of the damages listed on the origin inventories.  Your signature and because no exception were written in dispute on these origin documents signifies that you agreed with the assessment.  At the which point, because a settlement could not be reached between you and Carlyle Van Lines, the three items in question were turned over to the Military Claims Office (MCO).  Once these items were turned over, all settlement for the items would be done through the MCO.  To date, Carlyle Van Lines has not be subrogated against for any monies in relation to this claim. 

 

All inquires for the three remaining claim items need to be done through your local MCO.  I can forward that number to you if necessary.

 

Respectfully,

**** *******

11/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted ******* Van Line to resolve issue via their dispatch with delivery truck. The Kenworth delivery truck (***: *******) blockaded a government officials driveway and refused to move truck after numerous request. The two individuals then came forth after govt official departed through a residential lawn. The two individuals, male & female, confronted homeowners and it was apparent that both individuals were under the influence of some sort of drug, possibly methamphetamine. Because of their lack of courtesy and disregard to neighbor's property, the trash collection was not serviced due to ******* Van Line's Moving Truck. After several contacts with ******* Van Lines asking about compensation for trash fees for which they are responsible for because of their obstruction, all phone conversations with this firm end with a dial tone hang up.

Desired Settlement: Letter to Government Commander stating why official was obstructed from departing from their house in order to report for official ordersCompensation for trash pickup fees later accrued due to obstruction of moving truck

Business Response: Dear **. *********,

I want to extend to you my sincerest apology for the impression you have of ******* Van Lines.  If you will call me directly, I will make sure you are compensated for the missed trash removal.  My phone number is ###-###-#### or ###-###-#### or my cell phone number is ###-###-####.
 
 
Sincerely, 
**** ******* 
 

11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Carlyle Van Lines, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)