BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater Kansas City

BBB Accredited Business since

Kansas City Master Companies, Inc.

Phone: (816) 763-1500 Fax: (816) 763-2867 View Additional Phone Numbers 13501 Arrington Rd, Grandview, MO 64030 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.kcmaster.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

In addition the company also does mudjacking, retaining walls, waterproofing, foundation repair, concrete replacement, epoxy injection, professional engineering, commercial/residential warranted repairs, new construction under pinning, consulting and design services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kansas City Master Companies, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kansas City Master Companies, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kansas City Master Companies, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 26, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1985 Business started locally: 01/01/1985
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Frey Ms. Ruth Frey, President Ms. Debbie Carter, Sales Administrator
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Debbie Carter, Sales Administrator
Principal: Mr. David Frey
Principal: Ms. Ruth Frey, President
Business Category

BASEMENT & FOUNDATION CONTRACTORS DRAINAGE CONTRACTORS MUD JACKING CONTRACTORS WATERPROOFING MATERIALS FOUNDATION REPAIR

Alternate Business Names
KC Master Companies Master Mudjackers Pier Masters

Additional Locations

  • 13501 Arrington Rd

    Grandview, MO 64030 (816) 763-1500

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (913) 341-2798(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a complaint with Kansas City Masters Companies, Inc.In March of 2012, I paid $11,100 to have our house stabilized by them. The salesman (**** *****) informed us that after the work was completed the cracks could be patched and we would not have to worry about it again. After the work everything seemed fine and we patched and painted it looked great. About 6 months later we noticed cracks again along the same areas and contacted ****. He came out and looked at it and said he had a couple of ideas to correct it. Nothing was ever done then. In April of this year, I contacted **** again and he met me at the house. He took measurements and stated he was alarmed by what he saw and would need to get some further information. Again nothing happened nor was I contacted on the status. In July year I contacted the owner (***** ****) and emailed him details on the entire situation. He apologized for the lack of communication and informed me he would be getting his entire group together (which was then) and he would be able to speak to my concerns afterwards. He did not reply.I again followed up my concerns to Mr. **** in August. Again there has been absolutely no response back from him or anyone from the company.My house still has the same cracks it had prior to paying our money to them. However a concern just as big now is how he (Mr. ****) has decided to just ignore a customer. I am very disappointed and feel we have just thrown our money away.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the work completed to my satisfaction or given a complete refund.

Business Response:

In s*ort our work *as been inspected; t*e piers tested; and t*e benc*marks were tested. No movement *as resulted from our work. No warranty is applicable. Work is performing as contracted, intended and warranted.

Wit* t*at said, t*ere *as been plenty of correspondence wit* t*e customer over t*is.  T*e first item to be noted is in **** *****e’s notes of 12/2/2011 t*at more work was needed on t*e *ome, but t*e budget max of $12,000 only allowed t*e repair of t*e corner and wing wall. 

Here is our owner's response to t*e causes and potential remedies:

1.    Problems and potential causes of wing wall cracking:

a.    Foundation *as oversized footings, w*ic* are more prone to seasonal *eaving due to t*e expanded “footprint” (more surface area of footing). Takes less swell pressure to raise foundation.

b.    S*allow foundation &ndas*; less t*an 3 feet below ground. More susceptible to moisture influence, w*ic* results in *eaving.

c.    We did not lift structure, so no “gap” from raising foundation was created. T*is often gives soils a place to rise before influencing foundation. We did not lift because of t*eir budget. Scope of work would *ave needed to be expanded (more piering) to lift structure on repair area.

d.    Pictures during installation, inspection and testing work area s*ows area below footing *olding water.

e.    Current p*otos s*ow gutters are not working properly and are overflowing, introducing water be*ind wing wall.

f.     Ot*er parts of t*e *ome t*at we did not repair are moving, especially to t*e back of t*e *ome. T*is causes a tendency for t*e roof loads to temporarily raise and unload t*e opposite side of a building s*ort-term.

g.    Water influence may be exerting a *orizontal influence on t*e foundation.

*.    T*e brick fascia may *ave been in a bind from t*e settlement and never came to fully rest on t*e foundation. Over time, it settled into place.

i.      Wing wall *aving completely s*eared makes it more flexible, t*us more sensitive to any structural movement.

j.      All t*e above could *ave contributed to t*e cracking noted.

2.    Potential Remedies or solutions.

a.    Do not*ing at t*is time. Currently, t*e wall is patc*ed and not s*owing any current or ongoing movement. If piers fail, t*ey will continue &ndas*; t*ey don’t rest.

b.    Mount some angle braces to t*e back side of wing wall (attac* to concrete foundation). However, t*e wing wall connection would be into brick; it is not nearly as solid a connection as into t*e foundation. Seasonal movements could still open cracks, but likely contain t*em, but still at risk of brick pulling away from angle brace.

c.    Correct, repair, clean and maintain gutters and grade. Water influences need to be addressed to eliminate t*is factor and prevent voiding existing warranties.

d.    Add void filler under footing in repair area to reduce *eaving potential.

e.    Pier additional areas of *ome t*at are currently settling or *ave settled. Additional movements in foundation from unsupported areas could still influence wing wall because of structural loads. Unloads front wall, it will *ave a tendency to re-s*ear wing wall.

Here is our correspondence t*roug*out t*is entire situation:

12/2/11  (**** ******)

I met ****** and ******* on t*e property and took elevations.  T*ey *ad just taken owners*ip of t*e *ome from *er brot*er and knew t*at it *ad many problems, but t*ey just wanted to make it good enoug* for a rental.  I proposed stabilizing t*e worst areas and tried to meet t*eir budget of $10,000 to $12,000.00.  I made it very clear t*at t*is was t*e minimum t*at I could do to stabilize t*e corner.

1/13/12 Contract signed

1/24/2012 Contract reviewed and stamped by Engineer, **** *** *******, P.E.

3/26/12-3/28/12 Work completed and paid.  Additional dept* c*arges s*ould *ave been incurred for $

3/29/2012 Tree crew was t*ere and fixing downspouts.

9/12 Mr. ****** said in complaint t*at *e noticed cracks and contacted KCMC.

10/18/12 (**** *****e)

I was asked to go out to t*e ******* *ome and inspect t*e crack t*at *ad appeared in t*e ceiling of t*e living room.  T*ere were many cracks t*roug*out t*e *ouse t*at *ad reappeared.  I went in and s*ot elevations as possible.  T*e *ouse was completely full so it was difficult to get readings in t*e garage areas and t*e back of t*e *ouse, but in t*e living room and or t*e front corner of t*e *ouse w*ere we piered t*ere were not any signs of movement t*at were visible.  It did appear to be continuing to settle to t*e back and center of t*e *ome, w*ic* was noted before.  I talked to Mrs. ****** on t*e p*one as a left t*e appointment and told *er my findings and s*e said t*at s*e understood and asked me to call Mr. ****** and talk wit* *im as well. I called Mr. ****** and left *im a message about my findings.

According to t*e complaint KCMC did not*ing.  If t*e settlement was in t*e area t*at KCMC did not repair, it does not fall under KCMC warranty and would require an additional contract.

4/17/13 (**** ******)

I met Mr. ****** at t*e *ouse to look at t*e front wing wall and try to determine w*y it was separating from t*e *ouse.  T*e wing wall was noticeably s*ifted laterally from t*e *ouse.  I told Mr. ****** t*at I would write up a work order and *ave t*e 2 *elicals on t*e wing wall tested to make sure t*ere wasn’t a problem wit* t*e piers.  I also told *im t*at we would benc*mark t*e outside of t*e foundation along t*e front (west) wall and t*e side (nort*) wall as well to make sure we can monitor any additional movements t*at mig*t take place.  Mr. ****** understood and said t*at would be fine.  I told *im it would probably be a few weeks before we made it out t*ere to do t*e work.

4/29/13 (**** ******)

Jose A.  went to complete t*e work order.  He excavated to t*e pier brackets and tested t*em.  He did not find t*em to be “creeping” down but mentioned t*at t*ere appeared to be a straig*t lateral movement in t*e wall.  He completed t*e exterior benc*marks and left t*e property. 

5/10/13 (**** *****e)

Mr. ****** emailed me concerning t*e work order and told me t*at *e never *eard from us regarding t*e findings.  I called Mr. ****** and told *im t*at I would track down w*at was discovered and let *im know.  T*at same day I contacted ******* to find out w*at *ad taken place and *e said *e would call Mr. ****** and talk to *im directly.  ******* talked to Mr. ****** and told *im t*at t*e piers were functioning designed but t*ere may be some ot*er movement in t*e *ouse and it appeared t*at t*e wing wall was moving laterally instead of vertically.  Mr. ****** asked ******* to contact *is maintenance manager ***** and set up a time to do elevations on t*e *ouse again.  ******* said *e would talk to me about it but I didn’t *ear about it until after Mr. ****** called back in July.

7/?/13 (**** *****e)

Mr. ****** emailed in and talked to **** regarding *is repairs to t*e wing wall.  **** investigated t*e Work Order and tracked down t*e information of w*at was found. 

7/25/13 (email correspondence between **** and Mr. ******)

From: ******,******* [<a *ref="mailto:**********************">mailto:**********************]
Sent: T*ursday, July 25, 2013 11:53 AM
To: ***** ****
Subject: Work on House

Mr. ****,

W*en we picked KC Pier Masters over t*e ot*er companies we were told customer service during and after t*e project was t*e #1 objective.  Now over a year later we *ave decided it really isn’t.  Let me tell you w*at we *ave gone t*roug*.  I really *ate to be so lengt*y, but need to explain.

We live out of state and repaired t*e *ouse at **** ***** inside and out to lease for my mot*er in law.  Ot*er t*an social Security t*is is *er only income.  We contacted your company in eit*er late 2011 or early 2012 to *ave it stabilized because of settling.  Our contact was **** ***** w*o told us t*at ot*er companies would be bidding on doing t*e entire *ouse &ndas*; back to level, cost muc* more t*an w*at was needed, would not drive t*e piers as deep as KC Pier Masters, or *ave t*e overall workmans*ip of your company.  We found *im to be correct.  T*e ot*er companies stated practically word for word w*at **** described.  We decided to go wit* your company and after sitting down wit* **** again *e told us “After t*e *ouse is stabilized you can patc* any cracks and not worry about t*em coming back”. 

In marc* 2012 t*e work was done w*ere 10 piers were placed on t*e front side of t*e *ouse.  We were told t*at an engineer would be t*ere to supervisor t*e work (none ever s*owed).  Piers were installed at t*e described locations.  Four of t*e piers were to be t*e *elical piers on t*e corners (w*ic* I still believe regular piers were installed).  I say t*is because I saw all of t*e piers unloaded from t*e truck and only saw straig*t pieces of pipe.  I *ave researc*ed since t*en to see w*at t*e *elical piers look like and never saw t*ese during t*e job.  Anyway, after t*e piers were installed t*e foreman could not close up t*e crack on t*e nort* wing wall completely and we looked at it.  It was agreed t*en t*at I would patc* it wit* concrete and everyt*ing would be fine.  T*is I did.

We left and really felt great about t*e progress.  T*e *ouse was rented in June on 2012 and we believed everyt*ing was fine.  We returned to t*e KC area in late October, went by t*e property, and noticed a crack in t*e wing wall.  I called your office and was told someone would go out to take a look.  I *eard not*ing back for sometime so I call to follow up.  **** called backed and I was t*en told it appeared t*e wing wall *ad s*ifted slig*tly and *e would be re-patc*ed and fixed.  I even told *im t*e exterior paint for t*e wall was inside t*e garage.  Once again I t*oug*t it was *andled.  He said *e would c*eck t*e pressure on t*e piers to make sure somet*ing didn’t move.  He stated *e *ad trouble working wit* t*e tenants trying to get electricity, but worked it out wit* a generator.  He assured me it would be taken care of.

We returned again in April of 2013 to find out t*e crack was still t*ere and more cracks *ad appeared furt*er in t*e front wall section.  **** met us t*ere and *e stated *e was disturbed wit* w*at *appened, but t*e *ouse must *ave settled somew*ere else.  He ended up taking measurements on t*e exterior walls and told us everyt*ing seemed fine.  He said *e wanted to sc*edule a time to take some inside measurements and I contacted our management company so t*ey could work wit* t*e renters.  I followed up in late May to find out t*is *adn’t been done.  Actually not*ing was done.  I called back and asked if someone else could *andle t*is and was told it was being assigned to ******* (do not know last name).  I asked if *e could give me a call.  A week or two later I *eard not*ing back so I called again.  ******* apologized several times and told me it was on *is calendar and some*ow it was over looked.  He assured me *e would take care of it and *e would contact t*e management company to sc*edule it.  I even gave *im t*e number again and was told *e already *ad t*e number.  I c*ecked several times wit* our management company and found no one *as ever called.

Last week I called your company again and was told t*at **** still *ad t*e April work order on *is desk, was on vacation, but would give me a call on Tuesday.  I asked if ******* was t*ere and was told t*at *e was out in t*e field and my not return to t*e office until Monday.  A note was supposedly put on *is desk to give me a call on Monday.  Guess w*at &ndas*; I *aven’t received a call from eit*er one. 

As you can tell I am getting more and more frustrated t*at not*ing is being done to resolve my issue wit* my *ouse and no one in your company seems interested in *elping.  Seems to me service really isn’t as important as we were told or I *ave a different understanding of w*at customer service looks like.

I *ave pictures of t*e before, during, rig*t after completion, and now but unable to attac* t*em to t*is email.  I will continue to try to get t*em to you.  I *ope you understand w*y I am frustrated.

P.S.  T*e only one in your company w*o *as been courteous and *elpful *as been ******* (not sure on spelling).

******* ******

###-###-#### *

###-###-#### c

From: ***** **** [<a *ref="mailto:******************">mailto*******************]
Sent: T*ursday, July 25, 2013 2:25 PM
To: ******,*******
Cc: **** *****e; ****** *********; **** *******; *** *******
Subject: RE: Work on House

Mr. ******,

I will be reviewing t*is project in dept* wit* **** and members of t*e production staff. I apologize t*at t*e communication *as not been w*at you expected and all issues will be reviewed. T*ere are a few t*ings I can tell you from reviewing your paper file and p*otos and t*ey are as follows:

1.       Engineer- Your project was reviewed by an Engineer. T*e work was not permitted or inspected by an Engineer, because Raytown does not require it. Nor were you billed for suc* services, as t*e contract allows if required.

2.       Helical Piers- A review of t*e installation logs, drawing notations, Foreman’s report and material list, clearly s*ow t*at 4 *elical piers were installed on t*e wing walls.

3.       Lifting of t*e structure was never a part of t*e scope of work or was repairing t*e cracks.

4.       A work order was completed t*at inspected and tested t*e piers. T*ey tested fine and no defects were noted, as we would expect. T*is work was completed despite notations on building s*owing t*at it *ad not moved. T*e wing wall was t*en marked separately. To date you *ave not been c*arged for t*is service.

As for t*e ot*er issues you broug*t forward, I will not be able to speak to t*em wit* reviewing t*em wit* my staff first, w*ic* I am arranging now.

T*ere are a couple of ot*er points, I can make for reviewing t*e notes and p*otos in t*e file. One is t*e footings were oversized significantly on t*is *ouse, w*ic* would trigger additional c*ipping/ labor c*arges w*ic* we did not bill you, t*oug* you were made aware t*at t*ey were present and additional c*arges would apply. Second, t*e wing wall is wall completely s*eared from t*e foundation and front brick fascia. T*is would allow t*e wing wall to rotate back and fort* and would be more sensitive to movement of adjacent structures. I will continue to work to provide some resolution and service to your stated concerns.

T*ank you,

***** *. ****

President

Kansas City Master Companies

***** ********* ****

********** ** *****

Off: ###-###-####

Fax: ###-###-####

8/8/2013

From: ******,******* [<a *ref="mailto:**********************">mailto:**********************]
Sent: T*ursday, August 08, 2013 12:24 PM
To: ***** ****
Subject: FW: Work on House

Mr. ****,

I was wondering if you s*are any update on t*e issues I described below.  I know you stated you would review all of t*e findings wit* you team and let me know possible solutions.  I am anxious to get t*is resolved.

 

 

******* ******

###-###-#### *

###-###-#### c

8/20/13 (**** *****e)

I contacted and left a message for Mr. ****** asking *im if *e still wanted me to make an appointment wit* *is maintenance manager to take elevations of t*e *ome again. 

T*e only movement notice on Mr. ******* *ouse is t*e wing wall on t*e Nort* West corner.  T*e wing wall is moving laterally w*ic* is not covered in our warranty.  Mr. ****** *ad a very large tree removed from in front of t*at same wing wall since t*e work was done, and as we know t*at can definitely c*ange t*e way t*e soil reacts to water and t*e lack of water.

9/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My contractor scheduled for KC Masters to come out to a rental property of mine in Olathe to perform mudjacking services. On the day they were supposed to come, nobody showed up. When we called KC Masters to ask where they were, they were extremely rude and claimed it was our fault because they had rescheduled the date, even though nobody bothered to call us and let us know it was rescheduled. I had to pay my contractor for his time to drive out to Olathe and deal with KC Master's terrible customer service. The new date they provided to us was FOUR WEEKS later than the original date. If we had known it was going to take this long then we would've scheduled with a different company to begin with. I'm confident that KC Master's intentionally mislead us to obtain our business. But that's not all...They came out today to perform the work as initially discussed and put into the contract. They had initially told us they would be able to fix the cement steps on the front of the house with mudjacking (hence why we hired them in the first place). Well, they decided to tell us TODAY that they aren't able to fix the steps and that the only way to fix the issue is to completely re-pour the concrete. Wouldn't you think they would bill less than the contract? NOT A CHANCE. They still billed me for the full amount and threatened to put a lien against the house if we didn't pay.This company is unethical, inconsiderate, and deceitful. I would strongly advise anyone else from ever using them.

Desired Settlement: At a minimum, I would like to be reimbursed for the extensive time my contractor has had to deal with KC Masters and their highly unprofessional behavior.In addition, I now have an extremely ****** *** tenant at my rental property. KC Masters originally promised they would come out a certain date and never showed. Now they show up and don't even fix the work they promised they would. I'm open to suggestions on how to resolve this issue with the tenant.

Business Response: we do not have a customer by the name of **** ********* nor did we do work at the address given

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The address of the house where the work was performed was ***** ** ***** ******* ****** ** ******


If my name wasn't used as the customer name, then it was either under ***** ****** (my company) or **** ********* (my contractor).


Regards,

**** *********





























Business Response: So let’s start with the fact that the person signing the contract is supposed to be the owner of the property, which I am assuming Mr. ********* is.  We don’t have a signed contract with him. Secondly, our notes say that this issue was a liability hazard and that although the customer was given a schedule date of June 24th, could we do it sooner?  He was called on May 13th,  and told that we could come out on May 14th.  He said he couldn’t do it on the 14th because he didn’t have the funds. So his complaint that we didn’t get there soon enough or lied to him about the schedule date is not factual.  He called in on May 24th that June 24th was too far away and could we be there sooner.  When he was told that we could do him on June 14th, but that he had be the first job, he complained because he didn’t want to fight traffic to get there.  (Just how accommodating do we need to be?) We have documentation in our database of all these conversations.  I’m still confused as to which date we Didn’t show up, as he lists as his first complaint.  I have numerous notes on the folder and in ACT of messages left or conversations about schedule dates.  However, I have to assume that these were with Mr. *********, the person that signed the contract, and not with Mr. *********.  So I have no idea what Mr. ********* did or didn’t tell Mr. ********* about the contract, dates, or any conversations about the job.. Thirdly, the contract was signed with snow on the ground, and the snow obscures the total amount of void under the stairs.  The contract was open ended with a base for 2 yards of material.  We used 2 ½ yards just to fix  part of the job.  He didn’t want to pay anymore.  Again I’m not sure who I mean by “he” at this point…if it is Mr. ********* or Mr. ********.  *****, our foreman, finished as best as he could and left.  His conversations with Mr. *********? are documented on his Foreman’s report about the fact that it was a bad concrete poor and that the steps really needed piers.  (Mr. ********* says that KCMC said that the steps needed to be repoured.  The steps themselves look good in the picture.  It would make more sense for ***** to suggest piering and not a repour) So again, none of this makes any sense.  The job was paid in cash, so we don’t have any proof that Mr. ********* was ever there at all.

8/23/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2011, I hired KC Masters to repair a leak in my basement. I paid $3,500 for the repair and was given a lifetime guarantee. My basement is still leaking and I called the company several times before talking to the owner, ***** ***** (sp).Mr ***** refuses to come back to make good on the warranty, or refund my money.

Desired Settlement: I wish the company would make good on the warranty, or give me a refund.

Business Response: Ms. ******'s work was not to waterproof her basement, but her addition. Her warranty is for the repair area only, the addition.


She was offered additional work for her basement which she refused. 

She has hillside that influences the back of her home. The understanding with her was the addition could be done first to intercept water any surface water to the base of her addition (about 4ft. below grade). This reduced water influence could reduce the amount of water volume that influenced her basement, but could not eliminate it. However, if it did or reduce it to a negligible amount, then she would save the expense of the interior tile system. No assurances was given this would happen. Our course of recommendation was to do both, because if only the interior was done, she may have a dry basement ( in the repair area only) but still have all the negative water influence from the back. We would not have done only the interior system, due to the exterior conditions.

The original drawing and contract, along with our notes and history form our data base are attached.

Respectfully submitted by,

***** ** ****
President