BBB Accredited Business since

Pioneer Financial Services, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (816) 756-2020 View Additional Phone Numbers 4700 Belleview Ave Ste 300, Kansas City, MO 64112 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.investpioneer.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Pioneer Financial Services, Inc. is a wholly-owned subsidiary of MidCountry Financial Corporation, a Georgia corporation. Pioneer Financial Services with its wholly-owned subsidiaries, purchases consumer loans and retail installment contracts, on a worldwide basis, made exclusively to active-duty or career retired United States military personnel or United States Department of Defense employees.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pioneer Financial Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pioneer Financial Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 48 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

48 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 28
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 19
Total Closed Complaints 48

Additional Complaint Information

Number of complaints filed against company within past 36 months is a nationwide total.  Company is home based in Kansas City, Missouri with several branch locations nationwide.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Pioneer Financial Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 11, 1997 Business started: 06/07/1932 in MO Business started locally: 06/07/1932 Business incorporated: 06/07/1932 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joe Freeman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Freeman, President
Business Category

FINANCIAL SERVICES FURNITURE-RETAIL LOANS COLLECTION AGENCIES CONSUMER FINANCE & LOAN COMPANIES

Alternate Business Names
M.A.C. Military Acceptance Corporation, Inc. Pioneer Military Lending Pioneer Services, Military Division of MidCountry Bank

Additional Locations

  • 4700 Belleview Ave Ste 300

    Kansas City, MO 64112 (816) 448-2242 (816) 756-2020 (816) 448-2300 (816) 448-2311

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    103 W General Screven Way Ste S

    Hinesville, GA 31313

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4525 Victory Dr

    Columbus, GA 31903

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3291 Fort Campbell Blvd

    Clarksville, TN 37042

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6372 Yadkin Rd

    Fayetteville, NC 28303

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2710 S Academy Blvd #130

    Colorado Springs, CO 80916

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1128 Entrance Rd

    Leesville, LA 71446

  • 3240 E Tropicana Ave

    Las Vegas, NV 89121

  • 4000 S Eastern Ave Ste 300

    Las Vegas, NV 89119

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4904 N River Rd #400

    Oceanside, CA 92057

  • 12930 Pacific Hwy SW

    Lakewood, WA 98499

  • 12930 Pacific Hwy SW STE B

    Lakewood, WA 98499

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    41 NE Midway Blvd Ste 106

    Oak Harbor, WA 98277

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 367-5626(Phone)
  • (800) 538-4233(Phone)
  • (800) 550-8880(Phone)
  • (816) 448-2242(Phone)
  • (816) 448-2300(Phone)
  • (816) 448-2311(Phone)
  • (816) 756-0535(Phone)
  • (816) 931-6335(Phone)
  • (816) 960-2626(Phone)
  • (888) 430-5176(Phone)
  • (816) 561-9333 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
12/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November of 2013 I separated honorably from the armed forces. I had a loan with Pioneer Services, of which I had paid for debt protection in the original loan. I was told that debt protection had been activated...after it had taken them a lot of time to file the claim and many payments were made that I could not afford. I spoke with someone on Friday 2.28.2014 regarding debt protection and they said that it had been good to go, but wanted to check on something, I asked them to call me back in an hour, and I never heard from them. I received an email this morning stating that I owed an amount way above what I could ever afford, $638 with a threat against my credit. I am highly frustrated and feel that I have been lied to by this company, I have several friends that are still in the military, I will not recommend this company to anyone, and will be posting my thoughts on this company all across social media.

Desired Settlement: I want the debt protection to do what it was suppose to do, I cannot afford to pay this loan, when a business makes a promise I expect it to be upheld, the fact that Pioneer claims to serve those that serve is an all out lie if this is what happens once we become Veterans. I will also be relaying this awful experience to the WWP and RWB if the matter is not resolved promptly.

Business Response:

March 13, 2014

Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City

RE:          Complaint # *******

Better Business Bureau:

During the last 80 years, the Pioneer family of companies has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible. Our mission is to improve the quality of military life by helping every military family achieve financial freedom through credit, protection, savings and education.

We have received Mr. ******’s complaint regarding the pay out of his debt protection benefit. Per the debt protection contract, this benefit covered three months of payments for Mr. ******’s qualifying event. Life of the South, the debt protection provider, paid the account for the months of November and December 2013, and January 2014. Because payments were made by Mr. ****** for the months of November and December, we can have those payments moved to cover February and March which would bring the account current. As the debt protection claim is now complete, Mr. ****** is responsible for paying the remainder of the account. We would be happy to provide Mr. ****** a copy of his debt protection contract upon request.

I invite Mr. ****** to contact me direct at ###-###-#### if he has additional questions regarding the debt protection benefits.

Sincerely,

******* ******

Customer Resolution Manager

3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has hosed many soldiers/sailors into believing they are a reputable service pertaining to loans. However what they fail to present is the interest rate they charge. Mine is 29.01%. when i tried to refinance, they did not give me the option to further more,I presented them with a solution, and they did not even respond. Furthermore, they have checked my credit score which in turn lowered it unbenounced to me. I also feel that they should not be allowed to do any business with soldiers and I deeply regret even giving them a chance due to their lack of professionalism when dealing with me, stating they have tried reaching me and they have not. When they do call, they put me on hold and transfer me to someone else who in turn is very rude on the phone and are not customer friendly.

Desired Settlement: My solution is that they wipe out the interest rate they were charging me turning the amount i currently owe from $3805 to $394. That way i can make one last payment and never have to deal with them again. I understand it was my choice to do business with them, however it was not my choice to have a 29.01 interest rate and have the poorest of poor customer service.

Business Response:

January 13, 2014

Better Business Bureau of the Greater Kansas City

RE: Complaint # *******

Better Business Bureau:

During the last 80 years, the Pioneer family of companies has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible. Our mission is to improve the quality of military life by helping every military family achieve financial freedom through credit, protection, savings and education.  Pioneer Services holds our representatives to the highest standards and your feedback is valuable for ongoing training. 

Due to consumer privacy laws I am unable to specifically address many of the concerns Mr. ******** has brought up in his complaint to a third party; however, what I can offer is that the loan interest rate and APR are fully disclosed to our customers prior to entering the loan agreement. Additionally, Pioneer Services offers a 15 day money back guarantee on our loans.

We have sent a more detailed response to Mr. ******** and I would invite him to contact our Chief Military Collections Officer, **** ***** directly at ###-###-#### to discuss our offer on his remaining balance.

Sincerely,

******* ****

Customer Resolution

1/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I began a loan with Pioneer Services in July of 2013. I made an overpayment when paying my loan in July, August, September, and a minimum payment in October. I then paid my November payment early (at the end of October) I also send an additional check clearly indicating to have that amount applied to the prinipal balance. The check was cashed and applied to the interest not the principal as indicated therefore accruing additional interest on the principal that should have been paid down by the check that I had sent in. I then was charged a late fee of $25.00 stating that my November payment was late when in fact it was actually paid early. I have had several phone calls back and forth to resolve these issues. The late charge is still on my account and is going to be reported to the credit bureau effecting my credit, the extra payment is still applied to the interest rather than the principal with the reasoning being "we can't apply the extra payment to the principal". This is contradicting information as I have had an exta payment that was applied to the princpial only back in Augusust of 2012. I also asked why was I not informed of this when the check was cashed? I asked if this was the companies policy and if they could find this in the contract and were unable to do so. My account is now showing that there were two payments that I hade made one in October and one in November that were reversed but there was nothing reversed back into my account. I was told that what I am seeing online is not reflective of what is occuring.

Desired Settlement: The late charge needs to be removed - I was ahead of payments, never late. The amount that was applied to interest needs to be applied to principal balance and my interest rate should be adjusted accordingly. The "late payment" needs to be addressed with the credit beureau since it was not late. The account transactions need to be explained as to why there was a change and reflective upon what actually happened.

Business Response:

January 8, 2014

Better Business Bureau of the Greater Kansas City

RE: Complaint # *******

Better Business Bureau:

During the last 80 years, the Pioneer family of companies has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible. Our mission is to improve the quality of military life by helping every military family achieve financial freedom through credit, protection, savings and education.  Pioneer Services holds our representatives to the highest standards and your feedback is valuable for ongoing training. 

Upon receipt of your correspondence regarding the above referenced complaint ID, collections supervisor Mike Sherrod reached out to Ms. ******* and discussed how payments are posted according to the terms of the contract.  We have provided Ms. ******* copies of the loan contract for her review, and as a onetime courtesy we have adjusted the payment posting so the $50.00 is applied to the principle and waived the late charge that had been assessed.

I trust this information is sufficient to close this complaint.  Should Ms. ******* have additional questions or concerns I would invite her to contact me directly at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

******* ****

Customer Resolution

1/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pioneer is reporting a negative 30 day late payment on my credit report that stating it happened on January 2008. I sent a letter requesting validation, however the letter was returned. I used the same address that they are using on my credit report. Since this address is wrong, the tradeline is obviously inaccurate and I request that tradeline to be deleted. I have been and still is a customer, I have been a customer for nine years and paid every loan on time that I've had with them.

Desired Settlement: Request this negative tradeline deleted from all credit reporting agencies.

Business Response:

December 13, 2013

Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City

RE: Complaint ID *******

To Whom It May Concern:

We are writing in reference to the above complaint ID sent to our office. In the consumer’s complaint, it is indicating that we are transmitting inaccurate information to the three Consumer Reporting Agencies, and as such, would like to have the trade line deleted.

During the last 80 years, the Pioneer family of companies has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible. Our mission is to improve the quality of military life by helping every military family achieve financial freedom through credit, protection, savings and education.

We have researched the account history and provide the following information.

1.      In January, 2008 the customer’s electronic ACH payment was returned by the bank account closed, and that January payment wasn’t paid until February 2008.

2.      On December 2, 2013, the customer submitted a dispute to the Consumer Reporting Agency alleging inaccurate information and requested the trade line be deleted. As stated in the complaint, the customer does have an excellent payment history, and therefore, we processed a good will adjustment to the payment history to reflect the January, 2008 payment was paid as agreed.

3.      On December 13th, 2013, the customer phoned our office about the late payment, and we advised the customer that we did process a good will adjustment, but that we would be unable to delete the trade line.

4.      In accordance with the Fair Credit Reporting Act, we must report all accounts and the purging of the accounts from the file are mandated by the FCRA as ten years. Therefore, we are not able to delete the trade line.

I trust this information and the voluntary action on our part to provide our customer with a good will adjustment of the payment history will remedy the situation, but if you should have any additional questions or need any further information, please feel free to call me directly.

***** ********

Director of Customer Resolution

**** ********* **** ***** ***

Kansas City, MO 64112

###-###-#### (direct)

1/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have an account that had become delinquent. In an attempt to make an arrangement to pay on the account. I was denied the opportunity to schedule any type of payment, and then told If I was not able to make a payment in the next few days, not only could no longer speak, the representative said his piece and hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: I was prepared to make an arrangement for the first of January authorizing a double (2 month) payment to try to make up for a few months. Those payments including the already scheduled January for the 15th payment would get us closer to being on track. By February we planned to at least get the account current if not paid off. The opportunity to make a payment was not given at all.

Business Response:

December 19, 2013

Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City

RE: Complaint ID *******

To Whom It May Concern:

We are writing in reference to the above complaint ID sent to our office.

During the last 80 years, the Pioneer family of companies has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible. Our mission is to improve the quality of military life by helping every military family achieve financial freedom through credit, protection, savings and education. 

We have spoken with Mrs. ***** and discussed the issues identified in the complaint, and we have agreed on a mutually acceptable resolution.

I trust this information is sufficient to close the case, but if you should have any additional questions or need any further information, please feel free to call me directly.

***** ********

Director of Customer Resolution

**** ********* **** ***** ***

Kansas City, MO 64112

###-###-#### (direct)

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unauthorized credit inquiry On 07/11/2013 this company pulled my credit without my authorization resulting in my credit score dropping. I have sent them a letter requesting them to furnish information as to why they have pulled the report and asked them to remove the inquiry but have received no response from anyone

Desired Settlement: Removal of credit inquiry from any and all credit reporting agencies

Business Response:

November 14, 2013

BBB of Greater Kansas City

8080 Ward Parkway

Suite 401

Kansas City, MO 64114

Re: Case # ******* – ****** ********

To Whom It May Concern:

We are writing in response the above referenced case number, and we appreciate the opportunity to address the customer’s concerns. During the last 80 years, the Pioneer family of companies has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible.

Upon receipt of the letter, we researched the concerns identified by the customer, but we were not able to locate any correspondence from the customer requesting information. Due to privacy reasons we are unable to disclose this information to a third party, but we have sent the customer a letter advising the permissible purpose for the inquiry in question, dated July 11, 2013.

We trust this information will remedy the concerns of the customer, but if there are any questions or additional information needed, please feel free to let us know.

Sincerely:

Customer Resolution Department

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 
I once again contacted this company at ###-###-#### and spoke with a lady named ****** she researched my name, and social and informed me that she couldn't find anything with either on it an looked thru I guess a few different systems they have an informed me that she has no information on me whatsoever so I can't understand how they could say they haven't reserved any communication from me or how they could have sent me information on it when they don't have my name or social anywhere in their system? I want this inquiry removed from any and all credit reporting agencies ASAP. Thank you!



Regards,

****** ********





























Business Response:

November 18, 2013

BBB of Greater Kansas City

8080 Ward Parkway

Suite 401

Kansas City, MO 64114

Re: Case # ******* – ****** ********

To Whom It May Concern:

This letter is a follow up to the above referenced case number as the customer rejected our response.  The inquiry in question was referred to us by Medicalfinancing.com, details of which were sent in a letter to the customer providing the permissible purpose.

According to the information contained in the communication today, the customer spoke with one of our team members and advised the customer they could not locate the inquiry information. Unfortunately, our team member did not search in July, and provided the customer incorrect information.  Therefore, we have elected to remove the inquiry as per the customer’s request because of our error.

We apologize for any inconvenience to the customer, and trust this matter is now closed.

Sincerely:

Customer Resolution Department

11/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Creditor reported to Transunion that my account was 30 days late in May 2013(amount due: 170.23); however there were 4 payments made in May totaling 256.36

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Remove from credit....update all bureaus that this info was sent to

Business Response:

November 14, 2013

BBB of Greater Kansas City

8080 Ward Parkway

Suite 401

Kansas City, MO 64114

Re: Case # *******- ******* ****

To Whom It May Concern:

We are writing in response the above referenced case number, and we appreciate the opportunity to address the customer’s concerns. During the last 80 years, the Pioneer family of companies has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible.

Upon receipt of the letter, we researched the concerns identified by the customer. Since reviewing trade line information from the Consumer Reporting Agencies can sometimes prove to be confusing, it would have been preferable if the customer had contacted us for assistance. Our review would indicate the reporting of several late payments, but according to our information, May 2013 was reporting as current. However, in order to make certain that our customer is satisfied with the reporting, we have elected to provide a one-time good will adjustment to the trade line reporting to all three Consumer Reporting Agencies for the benefit of the customer. The processing for these adjustments could take up to thirty days to be visible to the consumer.

We trust this information will remedy the concerns of the customer, but if there are any questions or additional information needed, please feel free to let us know.

Sincerely:

Customer Resolution Department

9/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a call from a Mr ******** of pioneer military services from ********** around 1038am on August 15, 2013 in the matter of a debt collection. I told him my best option was to file for bankruptcy and he persisted on trying to collect money from me. Our conversation was normal but when he asked me why my payments stopped in march of this year, he called me a liar and told me my response was an excuse. I explained to him that upon arriving to the US from Korea, I logged on to the website to see the balance. I told him I wasn't a liar and I had no reason to lie. I told him he can check his internet logs. He kept telling me I was wrong and that I was coming up with excuses. I then told him I didn't want to talk to him, and I said I wanted to talk to somebody else. He told me,"well that's too bad because I'm the boss around here". This upset me because I was still trying to make an effort to talk about how I could pay them if I were to get a job. He didn't give me the time of day to explain my situation and he kept making me feel degraded. I asked him if the conversation was recorded, he said he couldn't tell me. I wanted him to put me on hold and listen to what he was saying, he was being rude and degrading. He wouldn't even let me speak to anyone else, so then I hung up the phone and decided to tell you. I did use vulgar language but never directed an insult to anybody. In my previous line of work as an active duty soldier for 12 years, the "f" word is used in every conversation.

Desired Settlement: I don't know how matters like this are resolved. To me, he did not want to listen to me and how I was looking for a job but awaiting my disabilities from the VA at the same time. For being called a liar and him not wanting to validate my statement, I have no desire to speak with Mr ******** or any of those who represent him. But I sincerely feel that something has to be done about his actions towards me and possibly other customers. You may contact me for any additional information.

8/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently took out a loan with this company and when the first payment was due I paid the entire balance off because I had the funds to do so before I could stop an automatic payment of $71 and some change it went through my bank acct I called them they have both payments and wont refund the $71 dollars without and attachment email from my bank acct which I sent twice the first one did not suffice and nor did the second one because they couldn't open it im currently in *********** and now there asking for a bank statement which I don't have can you help me please just would like a refund of the overpayment of $71 I made by accident I don't think its asking to much thank you

Desired Settlement: $71 dollar refund

Business Response:

August 7, 2013

Better Business Bureau of the Greater Kansas City

RE: Case # *******

Better Business Bureau

During the last 80 years, the ******* family of companies has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible. Our mission is to improve the quality of ******** life by helping every ******** family achieve financial freedom through credit, protection, savings and education.  ******* Services holds our representatives to the highest standards and your feedback is valuable for ongoing training. 

We have thoroughly researched the issues contained in the letter from Mr. ****** and would like to apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused.  Our records indicate that Mr. ****** contacted us on August 6th to request the refund, and while the refund request was processed on August 7th, we neglected to inform the customer appropriately.   Due to bank processing times Mr. ****** should expect to see his refund in 24-48 business hours.

We trust this response is sufficient to close the above referenced case number, but if you should have any questions please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

******* ****

******** **********

8/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took a loan out with ******* ******** some time ago. I did not authorize anyone other than myself to make changes or payment arrangements with them. They have always charged my payment to come out on the 1st of the month's pay until this month. According to them they spoke to my **** and the authorization to change the payment date to the 15th of each date was made. My **** says that arrangement was never made and even if she did, she has no legal right to do so. ******* ******** billed my checking account twice in a little over 2 weeks because of this unauthorized change. I called them to try to work something out because I do have other bills to pay that I can no longer afford due to this double payment. They put me on hold,denied being able to refund the payment, and then hung up on me before I was done talking. I was not yelling or unprofessional, but they hung up on me before I could find out when I will be getting billed every month now. I still have no idea if they are keeping this unauthorized agreement. I don't know if they will bill me next month on the 15th or if they are going to, again, bill me on the 1st (making it 3 payments within 30 days).

Desired Settlement: I would like someone to contact me to inform me when I will be getting billed every month and go over my account with me, not my ****. Any changes that they allege she authorized need to be reversed. Hanging up on me was unprofessional and I deserve an apology. After they go over my account with me and I know what day every month that i will be billed I would like them to stick with the agreement. I do not expect changes to be made to my account or my agreement again without my prior knowledge.

7/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took out a loan at ***** in April, 2013 and at that time they told me ******* ******** would be sending me all my loan documents and advising me when the due date is, and where to send payments. I did not receive any notifications from ******* until the account appeared on my credit report approximately two weeks ago. At that time I called in spoke to a representative and they assured me I would not be reported to the credit bureau as being 30 days late if I made a payment after July 1st. The problem as ******* has admitted, is that they have my address on file correctly and all their correspondence was getting sent back returned as sender. I then received a ********** phone call from the billing department saying the other representative had no authority to speak about credit reporting issues.
I made a payment today 6/30/13 in order to avoid being 30 days late, but was told it would not post until July 2nd. I am trying to close on a house and a late payment would **** me at this point. I do not think I should be penalized because ******* made a mistake.

Desired Settlement: I want any and all late fees waived, and for ******* to not report me 30 days late.

Business Response:

We did not receive an attachment with this complaint.  There is no complaint listed.

Please advise.

Thank you,

 

 

Business Response:

July 12, 2013

BBB of Greater Kansas City

RE: Complaint ** *******

Dear Sir/Madam:

This letter is in response to the communication dated July 11, 2013 concerning the above referenced complaint. We appreciate the opportunity to research the concerns and assist the customer with a resolution.

We have contacted the customer and discussed the issues identified in his complaint to your office, and both parties have agreed to a mutually acceptable resolution.

I trust this will close the file, but if you should need any additional information or have any questions, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely;

***** ********

******** ** ******** **********

**** ********* **** ***** ***

****** ***** ** *****

************ ********

*****************************

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Good Evening,I called ******* early January 2013 regarding an inaccuracy in my credit report. It was reported that I had a 30 day late payment and it was reported to all three credit bureaus. The customer service rep I spoke to told me to give it 30-60 days for removal on my credit report. We are now in July and it has been almost six months and the inaccuracy hasn't been removed from all three credit agencies as yet? The excuse for the payment showing up late was the day my automatic payment was removed was a Saturday so when they received the money it was that Monday. I understand that but ******* received their money on time so its only fit that they correct their wrong doing as I was told six months ago.

Desired Settlement: Would like ******* to work on my dispute that I placed with them. My choice was to do it though the bureau ** *******. ******* stated if I disputed it through them it would take 30-60 days, which was ok with me. Now we are past that and I would like some action on their part for removing that inaccuracy!Thank you!

Business Response:

July 9, 2013

********* ***** ******** **** ******** ****** **** *** ****** ** *****

RE: Case Number *******

Dear *********:

I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to review your concerns and investigate this issue. Upon receipt of your letter to the Better Business Bureau, we have reviewed the account and determined that your initial request for the payment history correction to the Consumre Reporting Agencies was processed, but unfortunately due to the timing of the update, it was over written when the Agencies processed the monthly file.  Therefore, we have processed an update to all three Consumer Reporting Agencies to reflect that all of your payments have been received on time with no derogatory payment ratings. These updates should be processed within the next two weeks.

During the last 80 years, the ******* family of companies has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible. Our mission is to improve the quality of military life by helping every military family achieve financial freedom through credit, protection, savings and education. 

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience, and trust that our resolution to your concern is satisfactory. Once again, thank you for bringing this to our attention and giving us the opportunity to resolve this issue, as we strive to insure the best in customer satisfaction.

Sincerely:

***** ******** ******** ** ******** **********

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Thanks alot!
Regards,

********* ********




















7/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was recently issued a 1099-C for a debt that was done with a POA by my ex wife. When I called to pay this debt I was told all collection actions had been stopped and the 1099-C cancellation of debt was issued so that I could claim the income on my tax return. According to the Code of Federal Regulations Title 42 Chapter IV Subchapter A Part 401 Subpart F Section 401.621the following applies. After it is determined that the debt will be classified as close-out,the amount of indebtedness is reported to the IRS as potentialincome to the debtor via Form 1099-C, Cancellation of Debt.Under the Internal Revenue Code (26 U.S.C. 61(a)(12)), incomefrom discharge of indebtedness is defined as gross income.Section 6050P of the Internal Revenue Code, as amended by theDCIA, requires all Federal agencies and private financialinstitutions to report certain discharged debts to the IRS. Thereporting requirement covers debts owed by individuals, soleproprietorships, partnerships, and corporations. Types of debtsinclude those arising from loan programs, as well as administrativeactions such as the assessment of fines, fees, and penalties.Accordingly a canceled debt that the company has reported to the IRS as canceled must have a ZERO balance since it has been canceled. According to this regulation the debt should have a zero balance and listed as closed. Additionally this company insist it can do what it wants and has even said they do not care about federal regulations on 2 occasions. I am sure I am not alone in this matter.

Desired Settlement: Would like for Pioneer to report to all three credit report agencies accordingly.

Business Response:

June 17, 2013

Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City

RE: Case # 9580253

To Whom It May Concern:

We are writing in reference to the above case number sent to our office. In the consumer’s original complaint, he is indicating that we are transmitting inaccurate information to the three Consumer Reporting Agencies, and requested that we update the report to all three agencies accordingly. His complaint is correct that we should internally show his balance as zero and closed, which is supported by the fact that when he called and wanted to make restitution, we advised him that we would not be able to accept payments. In addition, we did process an update to the three major Consumer Reporting Agencies that his account was settled for less than the balance, showing a zero balance.

During the last 80 years, the Pioneer family of companies has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible. Our mission is to improve the quality of military life by helping every military family achieve financial freedom through credit, protection, savings and education.

I trust this action will remedy the situation, but if you should have any additional questions or need any further information, please feel free to call me directly.

***** ********

Director of Customer Resolution

4700 Belleview Ave. Suite 300

Kansas City, MO 64112

816-448-2341 (direct)

5/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
4/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
4/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
4/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
2/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
11/15/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/22/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/12/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/31/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues