Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Pioneer Financial Services, Inc. is a wholly-owned subsidiary of MidCountry Financial Corporation, a Georgia corporation. Pioneer Financial Services with its wholly-owned subsidiaries, purchases consumer loans and retail installment contracts, on a worldwide basis, made exclusively to active-duty or career retired United States military personnel or United States Department of Defense employees.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pioneer Financial Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pioneer Financial Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 39 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

39 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 25
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 39

Additional Complaint Information

Number of complaints filed against company within past 36 months is a nationwide total.  Company is home based in Kansas City, Missouri with several branch locations nationwide.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Pioneer Financial Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 11, 1997 Business started: 06/07/1932 in MO Business started locally: 06/07/1932 Business incorporated 06/07/1932 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Meads, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Meads, President
Business Category

FINANCIAL SERVICES FURNITURE-RETAIL LOANS COLLECTION AGENCIES CONSUMER FINANCE & LOAN COMPANIES

Alternate Business Names
Pioneer Services, A Division of MidCountry Bank

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/26/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
1/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About two months ago. My wife and I settled our personal loan that we had gotten behind on. We settled in full. We had to email them weeks later just to get a settled in full letter. To this day they have yet to update the information with the three credit reporting bureaus. We really need this updated. The customer service is just terrible and you get told something they never do.

Desired Settlement: All we want is for the information to be updated with the credit reporting bureaus.

Business Response: 08 September 2015 Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City RE: Case ID No. ******** To Whom It May Concern, This letter is in response to the above referenced case ID filed by Mr. ***** *****. Pioneer Services, a Division of MidCountry Bank (the “Company”) strives for the best in customer satisfaction and appreciates the opportunity to respond to Mr. *****’s concerns regarding the settlement process. The Company policy requires a holding period on the account to ensure payment will be honored by the financial institution. The settlement payment was received on 13 July 2015 and the account received the settlement condition on 23 July 2015. A Settled in Full letter was sent via email on 23 July 2015. The Fair Credit Reporting Act (“FCRA”) requires furnishers of credit data to report accurate information. The Company reports account information to the Consumer Reporting Agencies (“CRAs”) for the previous month and the account status updated through the normal process with the July 2015 information being submitted to the CRA’ the first week of August. The Company has verified the account has been accurately reported to the CRAs. If Mr. ***** has any questions, we invite him to contact us at ###-###-####. Sincerely, Customer Resolution Department

8/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested a payoff amount from the company on June 30, 2015 I was quoted a specific amount. When I called to check to see if the check was received I was informed that it was received but I had a payment that was suppose to come out on June 30,2015 and they did not count that amount in my payoff quote even though the payment had not cleared. When I contacted them I ended up with an additional payment with a late fee of $25. Pioneer told me that I would continue to accumulate late fees until the $278 was paid off even though I paid $2,977.41 at one time. Pioneer manager Mr. ******** informed me that in my contract it stated that even if I pay a substantial amount I still am required to pay $250.08 a month, if not I will accumulate $25 late fees every month until it is paid off.

Desired Settlement: I would like that $278 balance that remains to be written off because I requested a payoff amount to pay the loan off I paid that amount. It was not the correct payoff amount because they factored in a payment that had not yet been cleared and now I owe another payment that I do not have because I sent Pioneer a check for $2,977.41.

Business Response: 20 June 2015 Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City RE: Complaint ID ******** To Whom It May Concern: This letter is in response to the above referenced complaint ID filed by ******* ***** on 15 July 2015. Pioneer Services, a Division of MidCountry Bank (the “Company”), strives for the best in customer satisfaction and appreciates the opportunity to respond. On 30 June 2015, the Company drafted the minimum payment via ********* ******** ***** (“ACH”) from Ms. *****’ checking account. The pay-off quote Ms. *****’ received that day, $2,977.42, reflected the drafted payment. On 02 July 2015, the ACH payment was returned to the Company unpaid. On 10 July 2015, the Company received a check for $2,977.42; however, due to the returned payment, the check amount was insufficient to satisfy the balance owed. On 15 July 2015, Collections Team Lead, Mike ******* spoke with Ms. ***** explaining how the balance was calculated. Mr. ******* and Ms. ***** have reached a mutually beneficial arrangement to satisfy the account. If Ms. ***** has additional questions or concerns, the Company invites her to contact Mr. ******* directly at ###-###-####. Sincerely, Customer Resolution Department Pioneer Services A Division of MidCountry Bank

6/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had two loans out with Pioneer initially. One loan was for around 700 dollars and was received from tem directly. The second was a finance from them through militarytravel.com. I missed a few payments towards the end of my first loan due to the second loan knocking the allotment I made through DFAS off. When I checked my credit I saw this and called. I had that loan paid off within 2 pay periods. The second loan however is where I ran into some real troubles. If I would be behind in a payment or miss a payment they would try to draw as much money from my bank account as possible. They were especially bad about that when the government shut down a few years ago. Eventually it was so bad that I had to go to NFCU and try to dispute them doing that. The lady I spoke to said that she has seen Pioneer hit accounts like that many times before and had been speaking to the Base Commander about stopping service members from getting loans through them. At one point Pioneer went from taking the 98 a month that was in my contract to taking 150 a month without my consent. I was involuntarily separated from the military and let them know in advance. The lady I spoke to said that it was ok my debt protection I'd been paying would cover that. Well about 3 months after my honorable discharge my mom started telling me that she was getting calls from them. She had just got a house phone and Pioneer had found it and started harassing her through that phone and her cell. They than found my uncle and started harassing him and other members of my family speaking to them about my loan which they aren't legally supposed to do. So I called them and spoke to a Mrs. *****. She said as well that my debt protection would cover this. I was even getting harassed by them with court papers and summons from a lawyer even though they knew I was jobless and couch hopping until I could find a place to live. Now I'm being harassed by collectors and the loan I paid off is still on my credit report as a charge off.

Desired Settlement: I'd like for them to get that paid loan off my credit. They messed up and now I'm trying to get a car, but I can't because of the negative ompact they had on my credit. I know there's a class action lawsuit coming for them from someone on another site. I'd like to see how that plays out because this company prays on young and desperate service members and in my case they were in direct violation of the SSCRA.

Business Response: 10 June 2015 Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City RE: Complaint ID ******** To Whom It May Concern, This letter is in response to the above referenced complaint filed by Mr. **** on 25 May 2015. Pioneer Services, a Division of MidCountry Bank (the “Company”), strives for the best in customer satisfaction and appreciates the opportunity to assist Mr. **** with his concerns. Upon receipt of the complaint, the Company completed a thorough review of Mr. ****’ accounts, the personal help loan and the retail finance loan for Easy Military Travel (“EMT”). Our records show the Company did not receive allotment payment for the personal loan and that Mr. **** settled the account with the Company in August of 2013; however, the information was not captured in the Company’s account servicing system, which resulted in a charge off. The Company has since corrected the account status, and requested the consumer reporting agencies (“CRAs”) to update their records to reflect the account as “Paid in Full – For Less Than the Balance.” The Company has sent Mr. **** a letter showing the account is “Settled in Full” for his records. Mr. **** purchased the Debt Protection benefit on his personal loan. Because the account was Settled in Full on 29 August 2013, prior to his separation from the military on 01 August 2014, the Debt Protection benefit was not available. The EMT loan does not have the Debt Protection benefit. Regarding the Automatic Clearing House (“ACH”) drafts for Mr. ****’ EMT loan, our records show that on 10 April 2014, Mr. **** provided the Company verbal authorization to increase the monthly ACH drafts to $150.00 starting on 15 April 2014. Several of the payments were returned thereafter due to insufficient funds. These payments were then represented to Mr. ****’ bank under National Automated Clearing House Association (“NACHA”) rule 2.5.13.3 which states “[a]ny returned payment, ACH or check, can be represented two (2) times for payment to a bank within 180 days.” The Company regularly monitors collection phone calls. Our records indicate that the calls placed to Mr. ****’ relatives were properly made under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (“FDCPA”) in an attempt to relay a message to Mr. ****. Company representatives did not disclose contractual information to third parties. The Company has not taken legal action against Mr. **** and any court papers or legal summons Mr. **** received were not sent from the Company. If Mr. **** has any questions regarding the information contained in this letter, we invite him to contact Director of Collections, ****** ***** at ###-###-####.

6/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After I was medically retired from the military, my allotment was canceled and I fell behind on a few payments. I tried to fix the situation with them, and only auto pay was an acceptable way to pay, which is completely unfair. However, when I asked if there was any way to maybe refinance the amount past due or what they can do to help fix this, I was told they can not work with me on that because I am a Massachusetts resident and they are not licensed in this state. I was a MA resident at the time of the original loan, and my LES that they have a copy of even states so. Massachusetts law protects me regardless of whether or not I was physically in the state at the time because I was legally a resident of Massachusetts. I have already contacted the Attorney General Maura Healey's office and they have already begun filing complaints in having this account completely deleted and erased from my report entirely. The AG's office is already taking care of this issue on my behalf and is mediating for me, but I want other consumers to be aware, THEY ARE NOT LICENSED IN MASSACHUSETTS and DO NOT let them find loopholes in giving you these loans that Massachusetts protects all residents from, INCLUDING SERVICE MEMBERS RESIDING OUT OF STATE.

Desired Settlement: The Attorney General's office is already mediating on my behalf over this, but if Pioneer wants to take action before the state does, they could refund the amount left on the loan they gave me to begin with and erase it, and all previous loans, in its entirety from my credit report.

Business Response: 27 May 2015 Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City RE: Complaint ID ******** To Whom It May Concern, This letter is in response to the above referenced complaint ID filed by ****** ***** on 12 May 2015. Pioneer Services, a Division of MidCountry Bank (the “Company”) appreciates the opportunity to address Mr. *****’s concerns. Upon receipt of the complaint, the Company completed a thorough review of Mr. *****’s history with the Company. Certain loans originated by the Company are sold to affiliates of the Company. In certain states, the affiliates must hold licenses to hold those loans on their balance sheet. In this case, the affiliated entity is not licensed in the state of MA and therefore unable to purchase this loan from the Company. Previously this has not presented itself as an issue because while Mr. *****’s state of legal residence was MA he indicated he was physically located in a state other than MA at the time of the loan. If Mr. ***** has questions regarding the information contained in this letter, the Company invites him to contact Ms. **** ******* at ###-###-#### or via email at ********@pioneerservices.com. Sincerely, Customer Resolution Team

5/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had a loan with this company since Dec. 2013. They have had authorization to take the payments out of my account every month, ***** ******** **** has stated they had paid Pioneer Services for Jan, Feb, March, and April (which is taken out March 31st)with another loan that we had paid to much for and then ***** ******* **** sent us the remaining amount left after paying Pioneer Services. Pioneer Services, after fighting with them all morning, and VERY disrespectful conversations from Mrs. ***** (ext.****) are threatening my credit for the month of April, after setting up ANOTHER payment plan with them to start May 1st of the amount of $207. And they are taking out $447 which is not authorized.

Desired Settlement: I only authorized with Mrs. *****, the $207 and my statement now says $447 will be taken out 5-1-2015. This is was not discussed with me, and also I would like to keep this off my credit since I, myself have not made any changes to my account and did not know any of this until today, they have had authorization for automatic payments sinc Dec. 2013.

Business Response: 16 April 2015 Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City RE: Complaint ID ******** To Whom It May Concern, This letter is in response to the above referenced complaint ID number filed on 13 April 2015 by ******* *******. Pioneer Services, a Division of MidCountry Bank (the “Company”), strives for the best in customer satisfaction and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to Mr. *******’s concerns. Upon receipt of the complaint, the Company completed a thorough review of Mr. *******’s account and correspondence with our representatives. The records indicate Mr. ******* elected to repay the account through an allotment with a back-up Automated Clearing House (“ACH”) draft. The payments received between 31 January 2014 and 31 October 2014 were through an ACH draft from Mr. *******’s bank account. On 01 December 2014, the Company received an allotment payment, processed by ***** ******** ****, which automatically turned off the ongoing ACH drafts. The Company did not receive an allotment payment for 01 April 2015, and recommends Mr. ******* contact ***** ******** **** regarding the check he received. The Company contacted Mr. ******* on 13 April 2015 to make alternate payment arrangements for the month of April. The records show Mr. ******* spoke with several representatives who explained the payment history and reason the ACH did not draft from his bank account. Mr. ******* declined to make a payment in the month of April, and authorized the Company to draft the minimum payment from his bank account starting 01 May 2015. The representatives advised Mr. ******* that the requested arrangement would leave the account past due for April and a double payment would need to be made to bring the account contractually current. The ACH draft was set per Mr. *******’s request for the minimum payment and is set to draft until the account is paid in full. The Company is required by the Fair Credit Reporting Act to report accurate information. The information reported includes on-time payments, missed payments, and the account status. The Company’s representatives inform our customers about the impact of missing payments, as it can be detrimental to their credit report. Collections Manager, ******** *****, attempted to contact Mr. ******* to explain this information and was unsuccessful. If Mr. ******* has additional questions or concerns regarding this information, the Company invites him to contact Ms. ***** directly at ###-###-####. Sincerely, Customer Resolution Team

4/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took out a loan for travel and created an allotment to pay the loan off. At the time I did not know the allotment created would cancel one out as my poayments go to the same bank. I was never contacted in any way shape or form from the company. I only found out because I pulled my credit report to find a few missed payments. Upon calling the company I was instructed by the representative to increase my allotment and the amount given to me turned out to be incorrect. This occurred 3 times. Each time I had to call to get a new amount to increase my allotment by. I even made the effort to pay the amount needed to bring my account current. Because they gave me the wrong information 3x I currently have 12 missed payments on my credit report. I have called and tried to get the issue rectified and was continuously told it was my fault because the company tried numerous times to get in contact with me. I have ensured to keep all my information up to date. I did not recieve any notice whether in the mail, email, or phone call. I have asked for the case to be reviewed and all conversations that were recorded, to ensure "quality customer service", to be reviewed and was still told the same information. How they tried to contact me and never provided to me any type of documentation as proof they tried to get in contact with me.

Desired Settlement: I want for the necessary corrections be made to my credit history and report immediately.

Business Response: 13 March 2015 Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City RE: Complaint ID ******** To The Better Business Bureau, This letter is in response to the above referenced complaint ID filed by Bianca ***** on 18 February 2015. Pioneer Services, a Division of MidCountry Bank (the Company), strives for the best in customer satisfaction and appreciates the opportunity to respond to Ms. *****’ complaint. A thorough review of Ms. *****’ accounts and communication regarding the accounts shows that Ms. ***** initially contacted the Company on 13 January 2012 regarding her allotment. During that telephone call our representative advised Ms. ***** to increase the existing allotment processed by ***** ******** **** to a total of $205.00, which would ensure that the allotment would cover the monthly payments due for both retail and personal loan accounts. On 22 June 2012 Ms. ***** refinanced her personal loan and started a new allotment to ***** ******** **** under the same routing number as the existing allotment. The new allotment amount was sufficient only to cover the monthly payment due for the personal loan and did not account for the amount due for the retail loan. ***** ******** **** only allows one allotment per routing number causing the new allotment to override previous amounts allotted. When the payment from the allotment bank, ***** ********, was received on 31 August 2012, it was insufficient to cover the payments due on both the retail and the personal loan accounts. The payment received was applied to the personal loan account. Per the repayment agreement, the back-up bank draft was attempted for the retail account on 31 August 2012; however, Ms. *****’ bank did not honor the payment due to insufficient funds. Collection efforts began upon notification of the returned payment. In October 2012, Ms. ***** spoke with a collections representative who provided the past due balance on the retail account and advised Ms. ***** to increase the allotment to $414.67, which would ensure the allotment would cover the monthly payments due for both accounts. Ms. ***** did not make a payment on her retail account until December 2012 and the payment received was insufficient to bring the account contractually current. In December 2014, Ms. ***** contacted the Company via email regarding the derogatory reporting to the consumer reporting agencies. Our representatives advised Ms. ***** of the documented conversations and payment histories for her accounts. Additionally, we provided Ms. ***** copies of her loan contracts and payment history showing the missed payments. The Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA), 15 U.S.C. 1681s-2 requires that furnishers of credit data provide accurate information. The information that has been reported to the consumer reporting agencies is correct based upon the payment history for the accounts. If Ms. ***** has additional questions regarding her accounts and the reporting to the consumer reporting agencies, we invite her to contact Collections Manager ******** ***** directly at ************. We trust this information is sufficient to close the above referenced case number. Sincerely, Customer Resolution Team

Consumer Response:

I never received any contracts they have claimed to have give me. Also for the payments they did admit to giving me inaccurate information on how much to increase my allotment. I have requested a copy of the recordings be sent to me for review and was denied. I called the company 3 times about this matter after I renewed my loan not before. I also made a payment over the phone to bring my account current which they stated it was and upon increasing my allotment 3times each time the allotment was inaccurate my loan with military travel was paid off by then and I no longer required to increase that allotment. Furthermore if I need to provide my LES(pay stubs) showing my allotment increase as I was told to do so by representatives in their companies I am more than willing to submit that as well as the payment I made to bring my account current. The company made a mistake by giving me inaccurate information multiple times and now my credit is being severely affected. 
 




























Business Response: 17 March 2015 Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City RE: Complaint ID# ******** Dear Better Business Bureau, This letter is in response to the rejection of our original response for the above referenced complaint ID number. Pioneer Services, a Division of MidCountry Bank (the “Company”), appreciates the opportunity to address Ms. *****’ concerns. In this letter we will address each of Ms. *****’ concerns as expressed in her rejection response. Ms. *****’s first concern is having not received the loan contracts. We have resent the information to the address provided in the BBB complaint. Additionally, the loan documents can be obtained by our customers by logging into their account through our website www.pioneerservices.com. In Ms. *****’s second concern, she states the Company admitted to providing her an inaccurate amount to increase her allotment. As stated in our initial response, Ms. ***** spoke with Company representatives on 13 January 2012, and was advised to increase her allotment to a total of $205.00 to ensure payment for both retail and personal loan account. Ms. ***** did not directly contact the Company again until 30 October 2012, three months after refinancing her personal loan. During the conversation she was advised that setting up the new allotment for her personal loan cancelled the current allotment and to ensure payment for both retail and personal loan accounts the allotment needed to be increased to a total of $414.67. Ms. ***** was also advised that she would need to make payments on her retail account until the allotment would start making payments. Ms. ***** agreed to make a payment online on 31 October 2012 and again on 15 November 2012. The Company did not receive a payment from Ms. ***** until 13 December 2012, and the payment received was a standard monthly payment and insufficient to bring the account contractually current for the months missed, September, October, and November of 2012. The allotment for the retail account resumed payments on 01 January 2013 and stopped January 2014 once the account was paid in full. The personal loan account continues to receive payment via allotment and if payment continues, will be paid in full May 2015. Ms. ***** states she has requested copies of the conversations regarding the allotment and has been denied. While our records do not indicate we have received this request, we would be unable to comply due to the conversations not being recorded; however, our collection calls are regularly monitored for quality assurance, and the conversations are thoroughly documented in the loan servicing system. We are happy to review any documentation Ms. ***** can supply supporting her claims regarding the allotment and payments made on her accounts and invite Ms. ***** to contact us at 1-888-430-5176. Sincerely, Customer Resolution Team

3/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2011 I financed through Pioneer Services. Original amount was 2500.00. I have made payments on the amount. I started experiencing a rough point in the military. I am trying to pay this off, but I know I made 2 recent payments in 2014. I was told it was sent to collections, but I was told it was still occurring interest. I emailed one of there associates yesterday, ***** ***********.******@pioneerservices.com, to be exact. this person told me as of today my balance is $2,531.04. The last person I spoke to told me my balance was 1800.00. I can show i made payments because the money was taken out of my account via allotment.

Desired Settlement: I would like the correct amount I owe or a settlement amount that isn't the original amount financed which was 2500.00. I think I am being taking advantage of in this matter

Business Response: 24 March 2015 Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City RE: Complaint ID ******** Dear Better Business Bureau, This letter is in response to the above referenced complaint ID filed by Mr. ******* ***** **. Pioneer Services, a Division of MidCountry Bank (the “Company”) sincerely strives for the best in customer satisfaction and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to Mr. *****’s concerns. In this letter, we will address each of Mr. *****’s concerns regarding the account. Upon receipt of the complaint, we have completed a thorough review of Mr. *****’s account, payments received, and correspondence regarding the balance owed. Our records show the last payments received on the account were sent via Western Union Quick Collect and were received on 15 May 2013 and 30 May 2013. We have not received any payments since that time. The payoff amount provided by Ms. ****** on 23 March 2015 includes the balance that was charged off and accrued interest and fees. Per the loan agreement, interest will continue to accrue on any unpaid balance owed. Prior to the email received on 23 March 2015, we had not received communication from Mr. ***** since July 2013, at that time the balance on the account was $1,894.03. We have provided Mr. ***** a copy of his loan contract and payment history. If payments were made in 2014, we request Mr. ***** provide us with documentation so we can research any discrepancies. If Mr. ***** has additional questions regarding the information provided in this letter, we invite him to contact us at 1-800-335-1955. Sincerely, Customer Resolution Team

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I know that if an individual has a loan for a certain amount that it doesn't make any since to where it has accrued that much interest.  How exactly can you report negative information to someone Credit bureau and still charge them interest.  At the moment I am currently deployed. I really think that does someone a disservice.



Regards,

******* *****





























3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I applied for a loan I paid for the debt protection services. I was medically discharged from the military and the debt protection was to take over payments for my account. Pioneer continued to take payments from my checking account without calling or cancelling the payment all the while receiving payments from debt protection. After leaving 5 messages for them to call me back over 3 months, I finally had to contact new accounts to be transferred to the debt protection department. After trying to rectify the issue and dealing with a very rude customer service representative, we figured out the dollar amount for the refund. I was then informed that the only person that could approve the actual refund was off for the weekend even though it was a Friday morning. She insisted that my refund would have to be approved even though it is indeed a double payment. When I stated that I would contact the BBB she became angry and not willing to help.

Desired Settlement: I simply want the money owed to me from the month of september november december january and february for total of $1283.25

Business Response: 18 February 2015 Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City RE: Complaint ID ******** To Whom It May Concern, This letter is in response to the above referenced complaint ID filed by Mr. ***** ****. Pioneer Services, a Division of MidCountry Bank (the “Company”) strives for the best in customer satisfaction and we appreciate the opportunity to address Mr. ****’s concerns. The Debt Protection process requires customers to complete and submit a Benefit Activation Form to Pioneer Services, which is then sent to our program administrator, Life of the South for approval. Customers are responsible for the monthly payments until the Debt Protection benefit is approved and paid by the program administrator. Payments made by the customer during that time can be refunded upon request, and refund must be approved by the Debt Protection Manager. Our call records show that between October 2014 and December 2014, Mr. **** called the Company seven (7) times and left two (2) voice messages for the Debt Protection team. Four (4) of the seven (7) inbound calls are documented in our system that Mr. **** spoke directly with a company representative. The Company did not receive another phone call until 06 February 2015. At that time the Debt Protection representative discontinued the ongoing ACH and requested a refund for the payments made by Mr. **** between August 2014 and January 2015. In an effort to provide Mr. **** with an accurate time frame for the refund, the representative advised the Debt Protection Manager was out of the office and the request would be approved no later than Monday, 09 February 2015. In an effort to expedite the refund, the Debt Protection Manager was contacted while out of the office on scheduled personal time on 06 February, 2015 and approved the refund, which was processed that same day. We would like to apologize to Mr. **** for any inconvenience experienced during this time. Mr. ****’s voice messages were not documented by the Debt Protection team as being received and responded to. This oversight has been addressed with the Debt Protection representatives. If Mr. **** has any additional questions or concerns, we invite him to contact Debt Protection Manager, ******* ****** at ************. Sincerely, Customer Resolution Team

2/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have an allotment (automatic payment) that goes to Pioneer Military Lending each month. Each month it is deducted automatically and I hear nothing from them, them nothing from me. This last week PML withdrew $200.70 from my bank account. They typically receive an allotment each month, but decided to withdraw additional funds because they heard there may be something wrong with the allotment (on the government side). They withdrew the funds before the due date, and before the received official word on whether the allotment would get paid correctly. I called today to verify that the allotment went through, and it did. I inquired about receiving my funds back and they stated I have to provide a screenshot of my bank account showing they received the payment. I find this completely ridiculous because 1. the initiated the withdrawal and 2. They would know if the received the funds or not. They stated that unless they received a screenshot of my bank account, they would hold my funds for 10 business days, then return them to my account. PML erroneously withdrew money from my bank account based on a rumor, they refuse to promptly return it and now are holding my money ransom unless I provide them personal information about my bank account. The interest rate on my loan is over 30% and these business practices are predatory towards military.

Desired Settlement: I would like an immediate refund of money that was unlawfully deducted from my bank account. The funds were deducted before the due date.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

This letter is in response to the above referenced complaint ID submitted by Mr. ****** on 02 February 2015. Pioneer Services, a Division of MidCountry Bank strives for the best in customer satisfaction and appreciates the opportunity to assist Mr. ******.

Upon receipt of the complaint, Customer Resolution Specialist, ******* **** contacted Mr. ****** regarding the back-up ACH draft from his bank account. After a conference call with Mr. ****** and his bank we were able to process the refund.

It is our company policy to not issue refunds until we receive confirmation the payment will be honored.

The back-up ACH was activated due to a delay with the United States Coast Guard processing allotment payments. The allotment payment has been received and posted to Mr. ******’s account.

We trust this information is sufficient to close the complaint.

Sincerely,

Customer Resolution Team

12/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is regarding my husband's account (*******) and you so were very helpful that I wanted to reach out to you again directly. We have been in contact with a Nate H******* has recently contacted my husband's command regarding the account and caused issues for my husband at work. In spite of the fact that we have offered to pay what wee can, he threatens to continue calling his chain of command daily. We have spoken to a few people about the amount of the loan and trying to get it paid off... However it seems we are spinning our wheels and only paying the interest. We have also requested the account be revisited according to the Soldier/Sailor Relief Act that has been passed to assist us in getting things back on track and manageable on a monthly basis. Not only have our requests gone unaddressed, but have been completely ignored. We have been paying on this loan for years and still owe almost the same amount borrowed. Attempts to pay what we can, have been rejected and have left us in a place of frustration. Please Help!!

Desired Settlement: We would like the loan to be revisited with the amounts that we have already paid going toward the balance and the remaining due after that we are willing to pay with the interest that accrues after our account has been brought current. If we continue only paying the interest only we will never satisfy this loan. We are trying and we need some serious attempts at resolution from this company.

Business Response:

December 3, 2014

Better Business Bureau

RE:          Complaint ID ********

To Whom It May Concern,

Pioneer Services, a Division of MidCountry Bank strives for the best in customer satisfaction. We have received the above referenced complaint and have completed a thorough review of the account and correspondence regarding the account.

Our records show that Mrs. ***** initially contacted the BBB in December 2013 regarding issues with the account. Customer Resolution Specialist Kerensa **** spoke with Mrs. ***** regarding the account, payment history, and maturity date. At the time of the conversation the account was contractually past due in excess of ten (10) payments. Mrs. ***** explained their current financial situation and agreed to resume making full contractual payments by starting an allotment. Since that time, we have received three (3) full payments on the account and the account is contractually past due sixteen (16) payments. As with all loans, the balance will decrease if the full contractual payments are made consistently and on time.

The Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Civil Relief Act (“SSCRA”) provides relief for debts incurred prior to the commencement of active duty. According to the application information submitted at the time the loan was granted, Mr. ***** was active duty, and therefore, the debt is not considered a pre-service debt. Our records do not indicate we have received a request from Mr. or Mrs. ***** regarding the SSCRA.

We invite Mrs. ***** to contact Collections Manager, Crissy **** at ###-###-#### to make arrangements on the account balance.

Sincerely,

Customer Resolution

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

Of course we understand the delinquency of the account has been an issue that if we were not willing to resolve would make this exchange irrelevant. We have tried to find the best way to repay the loan while not putting ourselves in a compromising situation. Of course ideally we would prefer to pay the loan as intended, but have obviously had issues meeting the monthly payment amount. Because of that we have asked for the Soldier/Sailor Relief Act to be implemented. As stated in my initial complaint, all attempts to do so were denied with no opportunity to move forward. Therefore a record of the request would never have been filed. We are fully aware of the provisions on this specific option and were just able to use it for our automobile loan that we got AFTER the loan with Pioneer. For this option to be applied to the loan it does not have to have been created prior to military service. We are clearly trying to do our best to not make one payment and then have the account go delinquent again because we cannot afford the payments. Rather we would like the payments to be more affordable to assure the loan is paid in a timely manner. If this option is applied and all the fees that have accumulated during the life of the loan are forgiven, we can have a fresh start with the money we owe. Right now we are paying fees and not touching the balance. At this rate the account will never be paid off. We are asking for some amount of give here. There is a severe lack of compassion and understanding for our situation, and I do not feel this complaint is being taken seriously. If there is not better resolve by Monday in addition to this complaint I will be filing a complaint with the Consumer Protection Agency and my local representatives. I am certain someone is willing to stand for us against a company that is not willing to honor a program that was put in place to help our military men and women that put their lives on the line daily for this country.  

Regards,

******* *****





























Business Response:

Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City

RE: Complaint ID ********

To Whom It May Concern,

This letter is in response to the rejection response received for the above referenced ID number.

On 22 December, 2014 Collections manager, Zach ****** spoke with Mr. ***** regarding his account and explained why the account does not qualify under the Soldiers and Sailors Civil Rate Act (“SSCRA”). Mr. ****** additionally discussed the payment history and how the payments are applied. Mr. ***** indicated he would do additional research on the SSCRA, and that he was overall satisfied with our response.

Should Mr. ***** have any additional questions or concerns regarding his account, we invite him to contact Mr. ****** directly at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

Customer Resolution Team

Consumer Response:   As stated in all of my responses, we are looking for resolution. My husband did not accept the information given by the company, and the response submitted even contradicts itself. How can he be satisfied with what he was told, yet seeking out answers from other sources? Of course we are still not pleased, and as of this point there has been absolutely NO resolution as we are still in the same place we were when the complaint was initiated. As of today an additional complaint has been filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Please anticipate correspondence from them regarding file # *************. As our attempts to resolve this matter with the BBB have gone with no serious attempts to move forward, we were left we no other option but to seek out additional assistance. We are hopeful this will inspire a SERIOUS level of consideration for resolution.

Regards,

******* *****





























12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This record has been on my account for several years now, since about 2009. They have since charged it off but continue to update it, I suppose in spite. They took advantage of me in the first place, now I'm stuck with a debt which I offered to settle once, and they declined. Now, years after they charged it off, they keep updating it so that it won't be removed. This is a bogus debt (no wonder they're located in LV) and they shouldn't continue to update it since it's charged off. I know what that means, they know what that means but they're vicious and greedy.

Desired Settlement: I want them to quit updating the file. The debt has been charged off, it was way more than the item provided. If dreams came true, they'd delete it but at the very least, quit updating it so it will fall off in 7 years like it was supposed to do not long from now.

Business Response:

September 15, 2014

Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City

RE:          Case ID# ********

To Whom It May Concern,

Pioneer Services, a Division of MidCountry Bank has received the complaint for the above referenced case number and we have completed a thorough review of Ms. ****** account and the information we are reporting to the consumer reporting agencies.

As a federally regulated financial institution we are required by the Fair Credit Reporting Act (“FCRA”) to report true and accurate information. Our records show that the data we have furnished to the consumer reporting agencies is true and accurate based upon Ms. ****** account status and the payments made on her account.

Because Ms. ****** account was opened January 2009 and charged off as a bad debt November 2009, the account and its status will be reported to the consumer reporting agencies until 2016. Per the FCRA this information is to be reported to the consumer reporting agencies for 7 years from the date of the first delinquency.

We invite Ms. ****** to contact our collections specialist at ###-###-#### to make arrangement to resolve her account balance.

Sincerely,

Customer Resolution Team

Pioneer Services

A Division of MidCountry Bank

9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Darrien G****, working for Pioneer Services, out of Kansas City, MO, emailed me regarding another customers loan, including her name, account number and loan amount. After emailing Darrien and stating he had the wrong email address, he proceeded to tell me he "will not play games with me" and that in California he has proof that I was married and the name I provided is my married name. I am not married, nor do I live in California. I called this deranged man and told him he has the wrong information. He proceeded to 20 question me - asking if I was in the military - and stating I was who he claimed me to be. I have NEVER worked with the military nor have I ever lived in California. I told him if he contacted me again, I would get my attorney involved because he not only released private information about another customer to me, but he has harassed me. Get your information correct before being a **** to someone you do not know.

Desired Settlement: I want an apology for harassment and utter rudeness. There should also be am apology issued to the account holder for the release of her personal information to a third party.

Business Response:

August 21, 2014

Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City

RE:          Case ID ********

To Whom It May Concern,

We are writing in response to the above referenced complaint ID number. Pioneer Services, a Division of MidCountry Bank recognizes the importance of protecting our customers and their account information.

A member of our Customer Resolution Team spoke directly with Ms. ****** and she provided us with additional details. With this information, we were able to complete an internal investigation and directly address the issue with our representatives. After a thorough review, we can confirm that this was an isolated incident.

We apologized to Ms. ****** for any inconvenience she experienced and appreciate that she took the time to bring this to our attention.

We trust this information is sufficient to close this matter, however, if there are any questions, please contact Kerensa **** at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

Customer Resolution Team

Pioneer Services

A Division of MidCountry Bank

8/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am submitting this complaint because I asked Pioneer Services to refinance my loan since I now have a better credit score than I did when I first applied for the current loan. This is what I received from them: Thank you for the opportunity to consider your request for credit. We regret that we are unable to approve your application at this time.Principal Reason(s) for Credit Denial TIME REMAINING IN SERVICE DOES NOT SUPPORT LOAN TERM AMOUNT REQUESTED EXCEEDS AMOUNT AVAILABLEMy loan facts: Interest rate is 31.29%, APR is 34.86%1. They denied to refinance the loan because I will be ending my contract with the Army in October 2014?2. They approved my current loan on July 17, 2013 with the contract stating that it was for 36 months; they knew that my contract was going to end in October 2014 (only 15 months after I signed the contract) but they still approved it. (Why this "rule" or "policy" didn't apply then?... I believe it was because my credit was low at that moment and they knew they would make money off the incredibly high Interest rates they applied on my)3. I still have to pay my current loan after I separate from the military, so why it cannot be refinanced?

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a fair refinanced loan that fits to my current credit worthiness.

Business Response:

August 15, 2014

Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City

                RE:          Complaint ID ********

To Whom It May Concern,

Pioneer Services, a Division of MidCountry Bank has received your correspondence for the above-referenced ID number. During the last 80 years, we have prided ourselves on providing the highest quality of service for our military customers. Our goal is to provide financial freedom for our customers through responsible lending and our free award winning financial education programs.

Upon receipt of the complaint, our lending specialist, Bridget H***, contacted Mr. ***** directly to explain the reason for our decision. She also provided additional details regarding the credit rating being reported by the credit reporting agencies. We understand that Mr. ***** remains dissatisfied with our decision, however, we stand by our responsible lending guidelines and therefore we are unable to approve the requested refinance.  Mr. ***** has been advised that should he obtain financing from another lending company, he is welcome to pay off his account without assessing a pre-payment penalty.

In regards to the interest rate and maturity date on the account, this information and additional loan offers were provided to Mr. ***** before he agreed to the terms of the account. Our loans are governed by Nevada Lending Laws, and we voluntarily comply with the Military Lending Act of 2007. We also offer a 15-day money back guarantee for all loans.

We trust that our response is sufficient to close out the complaint, however, should Mr. ***** request additional information or credit counseling, we invite him to contact Ms. H*** directly at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

Customer Resolution Team

8/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 10 July 2014 0900- I received a telephone call at 8:00a.m, on 10 July 2014, from *** ******** of pioneer services, he left a very agressive message which stated that I NEEDED to return his call TODAY! I returned his call immediately, he was very forecful and aggessive and stated that he needed to verify that I was refusing to payment, I told him that no I was not refusing payment, I do not have the money to make further payments and I had already spoken to a representative and told them that I had enrolled into a debt management program, he proceeds to stat that, "well if you can't make the payment that is refusal to pay" and he hung the telephone up in my face. I called back and proceeded to tell him that, that was poor business practice and he would not call me at home or leave such messages as he did, he proceeded to tell me that he did not have the time to talk to me an dhung up again on me. There I have been honest and up front with pioneer by telling them the situation....starting on 25 June 2015 - when I notified Ms. Caroline B******* via email that I had signed up for a debt management program due to undo hardship, the calls have become more aggressive and frequent, even after I received an email back stating they have verified that I am in a program it it would be starting 15 July, however I was still responsible for payment, which I clearly understood, however did not have the money9 July2015 - I another rep called me "Alicia" (no last name given) ###-###-####, I again explained that I spoke to someone, she advised me that he account would be going to collections, then proceeded to say"It will have an effect on my security clearance".....That comment is unprofessionl and my security clearance NONE of Pioneers business and I saw that as a treat to my job, I am fully awary of the effect of my decisions on my job. She then told me that I would get a 1099-C, and the debt would be filed with the IRS as income. Which is co

Desired Settlement: Desire that - in writting that the harrassing, threatining phone calls and voicemails to my job and my personal phone stop. They may contact me via mail in which they have my home mailing address. They have been made aware of my option and verified with *********** ****** (###-###-####) solutions that I will be enrolled as of 15 July. I have been a long time customer of Pioneer over the years and this has been a horrible experience. Customers who fall on hard times have right too.

Business Response:

July 23, 2014

Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City

                RE:          Complaint ID ********

To Whom It May Concern,

During the last 80 years, Pioneer Services, a Division of MidCountry Bank has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible. We hold our representatives to the highest standards and appreciate feedback that helps us improve our processes.

We have reviewed Ms. ****’s complaint and would like to advise that issues brought forward have been addressed and she will no longer receive phone calls to her place of employment.

Our Chief Military Collections Officer, Stan G****, is happy to discuss this further should Ms. **** like to contact him directly at ###-###-####.

Regards,

Kerensa ****

Customer Resolution

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My my ex wife took out a loan for $2,000 in under my credit. I have reported credit theft but I was actually yelled at by an employee. Inexcusable. I was about a week away from deployment in March 2013 before my ex wife took out a $2,000 loan from Pioneer services with my social security number attached to it. While I was on deployment I got a FEW chances to check my email and I was getting emails from employees yelling at me and telling me that I still had to pay. Credit theft or not. So I made a huge payment on it and paid most of it off. When I returned home in November of 2013 I paid the rest off and now I'm told I still owe as I get ready for another deployment. They completely destroyed my credit. They send me the account number ******* but wont tell me how to pay it. They won't help and just ruined my chance to get my dream car even though I can afford it. I just can't get a car loan because of them Just another jarhead with a broken dream now.

Desired Settlement: The settlement I'm looking for is the debt that is still under my name and social to be cleared and my credit to be restored. I hear Pioneer does great work with some people and I know a few the live by them. However, I also know a few like myself that have been burned by them.

Business Response:

June 9, 2014

Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City

                RE:          Complaint ID ********

To Whom It May Concern,

During the last 80 years, Pioneer Services, a Division of MidCountry Bank has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible.

We recognize the prevalence of identity theft for members of the Armed Forces and have taken measures to prevent identity theft by requiring military applicants to successfully pass several proprietary identification processes. All claims of identity theft are thoroughly investigated and individuals are required to provide proof to substantiate their claim.

We have completed a thorough review of the account in question, and our records do not support Mr. ********’ claim that this account was obtained fraudulently by his ex-wife in March 2013.

Mr. ********’ complaint states that the financing for jewelry was obtained by his ex-wife in 2013. The loan to Mr. ******** was originated in November 2011.  In November 2011, Pioneer received an application from Mr. ********, including a copy of Mr. ********’ Leave and Earnings Statement, to finance the purchase of an engagement ring from ******** ********. Per our contract with ******** ********, they completed the verification of Mr. ********’ identification prior to sending us the application for approval.

While Mr. ******** stated the account was opened fraudulently, he proceeded to make payments on the account.  He made payments via ACH and debit card from his checking account. As of the date of this letter, we received a total of 18 out of 24 payments. The current balance is a total of the missed payments, interest and late fees.

A member of our fraud department attempted to assist Mr. ******** through the fraud process in November 2012; however, we did not receive a response to the message left for Mr. ********. We would like it noted that Mr. ******** was not on deployment, and therefore, stateside at the time and he continued to make payments on the account.

We sent Mr. ******** a copy of the loan application, contract, and payment history to review. If Mr. ******** believes this account is truly fraudulent, and can provide documentation to substantiate his claim, we invite him to contact our fraud department directly at 1-866-540-9200.

Sincerely,

Customer Resolution

5/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November of 2013 I separated honorably from the armed forces. I had a loan with Pioneer Services, of which I had paid for debt protection in the original loan. I was told that debt protection had been activated...after it had taken them a lot of time to file the claim and many payments were made that I could not afford. I spoke with someone on Friday 2.28.2014 regarding debt protection and they said that it had been good to go, but wanted to check on something, I asked them to call me back in an hour, and I never heard from them. I received an email this morning stating that I owed an amount way above what I could ever afford, $638 with a threat against my credit. I am highly frustrated and feel that I have been lied to by this company, I have several friends that are still in the military, I will not recommend this company to anyone, and will be posting my thoughts on this company all across social media.

Desired Settlement: I want the debt protection to do what it was suppose to do, I cannot afford to pay this loan, when a business makes a promise I expect it to be upheld, the fact that Pioneer claims to serve those that serve is an all out lie if this is what happens once we become Veterans. I will also be relaying this awful experience to the WWP and RWB if the matter is not resolved promptly.

Business Response:

March 13, 2014

Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City

RE:          Complaint # *******

Better Business Bureau:

During the last 80 years, the Pioneer family of companies has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible. Our mission is to improve the quality of military life by helping every military family achieve financial freedom through credit, protection, savings and education.

We have received Mr. ******’s complaint regarding the pay out of his debt protection benefit. Per the debt protection contract, this benefit covered three months of payments for Mr. ******’s qualifying event. Life of the South, the debt protection provider, paid the account for the months of November and December 2013, and January 2014. Because payments were made by Mr. ****** for the months of November and December, we can have those payments moved to cover February and March which would bring the account current. As the debt protection claim is now complete, Mr. ****** is responsible for paying the remainder of the account. We would be happy to provide Mr. ****** a copy of his debt protection contract upon request.

I invite Mr. ****** to contact me direct at ###-###-#### if he has additional questions regarding the debt protection benefits.

Sincerely,

******* ******

Customer Resolution Manager

3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has hosed many soldiers/sailors into believing they are a reputable service pertaining to loans. However what they fail to present is the interest rate they charge. Mine is 29.01%. when i tried to refinance, they did not give me the option to further more,I presented them with a solution, and they did not even respond. Furthermore, they have checked my credit score which in turn lowered it unbenounced to me. I also feel that they should not be allowed to do any business with soldiers and I deeply regret even giving them a chance due to their lack of professionalism when dealing with me, stating they have tried reaching me and they have not. When they do call, they put me on hold and transfer me to someone else who in turn is very rude on the phone and are not customer friendly.

Desired Settlement: My solution is that they wipe out the interest rate they were charging me turning the amount i currently owe from $3805 to $394. That way i can make one last payment and never have to deal with them again. I understand it was my choice to do business with them, however it was not my choice to have a 29.01 interest rate and have the poorest of poor customer service.

Business Response:

January 13, 2014

Better Business Bureau of the Greater Kansas City

RE: Complaint # *******

Better Business Bureau:

During the last 80 years, the Pioneer family of companies has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible. Our mission is to improve the quality of military life by helping every military family achieve financial freedom through credit, protection, savings and education.  Pioneer Services holds our representatives to the highest standards and your feedback is valuable for ongoing training. 

Due to consumer privacy laws I am unable to specifically address many of the concerns Mr. ******** has brought up in his complaint to a third party; however, what I can offer is that the loan interest rate and APR are fully disclosed to our customers prior to entering the loan agreement. Additionally, Pioneer Services offers a 15 day money back guarantee on our loans.

We have sent a more detailed response to Mr. ******** and I would invite him to contact our Chief Military Collections Officer, **** ***** directly at ###-###-#### to discuss our offer on his remaining balance.

Sincerely,

******* ****

Customer Resolution

1/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I began a loan with Pioneer Services in July of 2013. I made an overpayment when paying my loan in July, August, September, and a minimum payment in October. I then paid my November payment early (at the end of October) I also send an additional check clearly indicating to have that amount applied to the prinipal balance. The check was cashed and applied to the interest not the principal as indicated therefore accruing additional interest on the principal that should have been paid down by the check that I had sent in. I then was charged a late fee of $25.00 stating that my November payment was late when in fact it was actually paid early. I have had several phone calls back and forth to resolve these issues. The late charge is still on my account and is going to be reported to the credit bureau effecting my credit, the extra payment is still applied to the interest rather than the principal with the reasoning being "we can't apply the extra payment to the principal". This is contradicting information as I have had an exta payment that was applied to the princpial only back in Augusust of 2012. I also asked why was I not informed of this when the check was cashed? I asked if this was the companies policy and if they could find this in the contract and were unable to do so. My account is now showing that there were two payments that I hade made one in October and one in November that were reversed but there was nothing reversed back into my account. I was told that what I am seeing online is not reflective of what is occuring.

Desired Settlement: The late charge needs to be removed - I was ahead of payments, never late. The amount that was applied to interest needs to be applied to principal balance and my interest rate should be adjusted accordingly. The "late payment" needs to be addressed with the credit beureau since it was not late. The account transactions need to be explained as to why there was a change and reflective upon what actually happened.

Business Response:

January 8, 2014

Better Business Bureau of the Greater Kansas City

RE: Complaint # *******

Better Business Bureau:

During the last 80 years, the Pioneer family of companies has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible. Our mission is to improve the quality of military life by helping every military family achieve financial freedom through credit, protection, savings and education.  Pioneer Services holds our representatives to the highest standards and your feedback is valuable for ongoing training. 

Upon receipt of your correspondence regarding the above referenced complaint ID, collections supervisor Mike Sherrod reached out to Ms. ******* and discussed how payments are posted according to the terms of the contract.  We have provided Ms. ******* copies of the loan contract for her review, and as a onetime courtesy we have adjusted the payment posting so the $50.00 is applied to the principle and waived the late charge that had been assessed.

I trust this information is sufficient to close this complaint.  Should Ms. ******* have additional questions or concerns I would invite her to contact me directly at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

******* ****

Customer Resolution

1/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pioneer is reporting a negative 30 day late payment on my credit report that stating it happened on January 2008. I sent a letter requesting validation, however the letter was returned. I used the same address that they are using on my credit report. Since this address is wrong, the tradeline is obviously inaccurate and I request that tradeline to be deleted. I have been and still is a customer, I have been a customer for nine years and paid every loan on time that I've had with them.

Desired Settlement: Request this negative tradeline deleted from all credit reporting agencies.

Business Response:

December 13, 2013

Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City

RE: Complaint ID *******

To Whom It May Concern:

We are writing in reference to the above complaint ID sent to our office. In the consumer’s complaint, it is indicating that we are transmitting inaccurate information to the three Consumer Reporting Agencies, and as such, would like to have the trade line deleted.

During the last 80 years, the Pioneer family of companies has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible. Our mission is to improve the quality of military life by helping every military family achieve financial freedom through credit, protection, savings and education.

We have researched the account history and provide the following information.

1.      In January, 2008 the customer’s electronic ACH payment was returned by the bank account closed, and that January payment wasn’t paid until February 2008.

2.      On December 2, 2013, the customer submitted a dispute to the Consumer Reporting Agency alleging inaccurate information and requested the trade line be deleted. As stated in the complaint, the customer does have an excellent payment history, and therefore, we processed a good will adjustment to the payment history to reflect the January, 2008 payment was paid as agreed.

3.      On December 13th, 2013, the customer phoned our office about the late payment, and we advised the customer that we did process a good will adjustment, but that we would be unable to delete the trade line.

4.      In accordance with the Fair Credit Reporting Act, we must report all accounts and the purging of the accounts from the file are mandated by the FCRA as ten years. Therefore, we are not able to delete the trade line.

I trust this information and the voluntary action on our part to provide our customer with a good will adjustment of the payment history will remedy the situation, but if you should have any additional questions or need any further information, please feel free to call me directly.

***** ********

Director of Customer Resolution

**** ********* **** ***** ***

Kansas City, MO 64112

###-###-#### (direct)

1/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have an account that had become delinquent. In an attempt to make an arrangement to pay on the account. I was denied the opportunity to schedule any type of payment, and then told If I was not able to make a payment in the next few days, not only could no longer speak, the representative said his piece and hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: I was prepared to make an arrangement for the first of January authorizing a double (2 month) payment to try to make up for a few months. Those payments including the already scheduled January for the 15th payment would get us closer to being on track. By February we planned to at least get the account current if not paid off. The opportunity to make a payment was not given at all.

Business Response:

December 19, 2013

Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City

RE: Complaint ID *******

To Whom It May Concern:

We are writing in reference to the above complaint ID sent to our office.

During the last 80 years, the Pioneer family of companies has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible. Our mission is to improve the quality of military life by helping every military family achieve financial freedom through credit, protection, savings and education. 

We have spoken with Mrs. ***** and discussed the issues identified in the complaint, and we have agreed on a mutually acceptable resolution.

I trust this information is sufficient to close the case, but if you should have any additional questions or need any further information, please feel free to call me directly.

***** ********

Director of Customer Resolution

**** ********* **** ***** ***

Kansas City, MO 64112

###-###-#### (direct)

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unauthorized credit inquiry On 07/11/2013 this company pulled my credit without my authorization resulting in my credit score dropping. I have sent them a letter requesting them to furnish information as to why they have pulled the report and asked them to remove the inquiry but have received no response from anyone

Desired Settlement: Removal of credit inquiry from any and all credit reporting agencies

Business Response:

November 14, 2013

BBB of Greater Kansas City

8080 Ward Parkway

Suite 401

Kansas City, MO 64114

Re: Case # ******* – ****** ********

To Whom It May Concern:

We are writing in response the above referenced case number, and we appreciate the opportunity to address the customer’s concerns. During the last 80 years, the Pioneer family of companies has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible.

Upon receipt of the letter, we researched the concerns identified by the customer, but we were not able to locate any correspondence from the customer requesting information. Due to privacy reasons we are unable to disclose this information to a third party, but we have sent the customer a letter advising the permissible purpose for the inquiry in question, dated July 11, 2013.

We trust this information will remedy the concerns of the customer, but if there are any questions or additional information needed, please feel free to let us know.

Sincerely:

Customer Resolution Department

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 
I once again contacted this company at ###-###-#### and spoke with a lady named ****** she researched my name, and social and informed me that she couldn't find anything with either on it an looked thru I guess a few different systems they have an informed me that she has no information on me whatsoever so I can't understand how they could say they haven't reserved any communication from me or how they could have sent me information on it when they don't have my name or social anywhere in their system? I want this inquiry removed from any and all credit reporting agencies ASAP. Thank you!



Regards,

****** ********





























Business Response:

November 18, 2013

BBB of Greater Kansas City

8080 Ward Parkway

Suite 401

Kansas City, MO 64114

Re: Case # ******* – ****** ********

To Whom It May Concern:

This letter is a follow up to the above referenced case number as the customer rejected our response.  The inquiry in question was referred to us by Medicalfinancing.com, details of which were sent in a letter to the customer providing the permissible purpose.

According to the information contained in the communication today, the customer spoke with one of our team members and advised the customer they could not locate the inquiry information. Unfortunately, our team member did not search in July, and provided the customer incorrect information.  Therefore, we have elected to remove the inquiry as per the customer’s request because of our error.

We apologize for any inconvenience to the customer, and trust this matter is now closed.

Sincerely:

Customer Resolution Department

11/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Creditor reported to Transunion that my account was 30 days late in May 2013(amount due: 170.23); however there were 4 payments made in May totaling 256.36

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Remove from credit....update all bureaus that this info was sent to

Business Response:

November 14, 2013

BBB of Greater Kansas City

8080 Ward Parkway

Suite 401

Kansas City, MO 64114

Re: Case # *******- ******* ****

To Whom It May Concern:

We are writing in response the above referenced case number, and we appreciate the opportunity to address the customer’s concerns. During the last 80 years, the Pioneer family of companies has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible.

Upon receipt of the letter, we researched the concerns identified by the customer. Since reviewing trade line information from the Consumer Reporting Agencies can sometimes prove to be confusing, it would have been preferable if the customer had contacted us for assistance. Our review would indicate the reporting of several late payments, but according to our information, May 2013 was reporting as current. However, in order to make certain that our customer is satisfied with the reporting, we have elected to provide a one-time good will adjustment to the trade line reporting to all three Consumer Reporting Agencies for the benefit of the customer. The processing for these adjustments could take up to thirty days to be visible to the consumer.

We trust this information will remedy the concerns of the customer, but if there are any questions or additional information needed, please feel free to let us know.

Sincerely:

Customer Resolution Department

9/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a call from a Mr ******** of pioneer military services from ********** around 1038am on August 15, 2013 in the matter of a debt collection. I told him my best option was to file for bankruptcy and he persisted on trying to collect money from me. Our conversation was normal but when he asked me why my payments stopped in march of this year, he called me a liar and told me my response was an excuse. I explained to him that upon arriving to the US from Korea, I logged on to the website to see the balance. I told him I wasn't a liar and I had no reason to lie. I told him he can check his internet logs. He kept telling me I was wrong and that I was coming up with excuses. I then told him I didn't want to talk to him, and I said I wanted to talk to somebody else. He told me,"well that's too bad because I'm the boss around here". This upset me because I was still trying to make an effort to talk about how I could pay them if I were to get a job. He didn't give me the time of day to explain my situation and he kept making me feel degraded. I asked him if the conversation was recorded, he said he couldn't tell me. I wanted him to put me on hold and listen to what he was saying, he was being rude and degrading. He wouldn't even let me speak to anyone else, so then I hung up the phone and decided to tell you. I did use vulgar language but never directed an insult to anybody. In my previous line of work as an active duty soldier for 12 years, the "f" word is used in every conversation.

Desired Settlement: I don't know how matters like this are resolved. To me, he did not want to listen to me and how I was looking for a job but awaiting my disabilities from the VA at the same time. For being called a liar and him not wanting to validate my statement, I have no desire to speak with Mr ******** or any of those who represent him. But I sincerely feel that something has to be done about his actions towards me and possibly other customers. You may contact me for any additional information.

8/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently took out a loan with this company and when the first payment was due I paid the entire balance off because I had the funds to do so before I could stop an automatic payment of $71 and some change it went through my bank acct I called them they have both payments and wont refund the $71 dollars without and attachment email from my bank acct which I sent twice the first one did not suffice and nor did the second one because they couldn't open it im currently in *********** and now there asking for a bank statement which I don't have can you help me please just would like a refund of the overpayment of $71 I made by accident I don't think its asking to much thank you

Desired Settlement: $71 dollar refund

Business Response:

August 7, 2013

Better Business Bureau of the Greater Kansas City

RE: Case # *******

Better Business Bureau

During the last 80 years, the ******* family of companies has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible. Our mission is to improve the quality of ******** life by helping every ******** family achieve financial freedom through credit, protection, savings and education.  ******* Services holds our representatives to the highest standards and your feedback is valuable for ongoing training. 

We have thoroughly researched the issues contained in the letter from Mr. ****** and would like to apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused.  Our records indicate that Mr. ****** contacted us on August 6th to request the refund, and while the refund request was processed on August 7th, we neglected to inform the customer appropriately.   Due to bank processing times Mr. ****** should expect to see his refund in 24-48 business hours.

We trust this response is sufficient to close the above referenced case number, but if you should have any questions please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

******* ****

******** **********

8/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took a loan out with ******* ******** some time ago. I did not authorize anyone other than myself to make changes or payment arrangements with them. They have always charged my payment to come out on the 1st of the month's pay until this month. According to them they spoke to my **** and the authorization to change the payment date to the 15th of each date was made. My **** says that arrangement was never made and even if she did, she has no legal right to do so. ******* ******** billed my checking account twice in a little over 2 weeks because of this unauthorized change. I called them to try to work something out because I do have other bills to pay that I can no longer afford due to this double payment. They put me on hold,denied being able to refund the payment, and then hung up on me before I was done talking. I was not yelling or unprofessional, but they hung up on me before I could find out when I will be getting billed every month now. I still have no idea if they are keeping this unauthorized agreement. I don't know if they will bill me next month on the 15th or if they are going to, again, bill me on the 1st (making it 3 payments within 30 days).

Desired Settlement: I would like someone to contact me to inform me when I will be getting billed every month and go over my account with me, not my ****. Any changes that they allege she authorized need to be reversed. Hanging up on me was unprofessional and I deserve an apology. After they go over my account with me and I know what day every month that i will be billed I would like them to stick with the agreement. I do not expect changes to be made to my account or my agreement again without my prior knowledge.

7/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took out a loan at ***** in April, 2013 and at that time they told me ******* ******** would be sending me all my loan documents and advising me when the due date is, and where to send payments. I did not receive any notifications from ******* until the account appeared on my credit report approximately two weeks ago. At that time I called in spoke to a representative and they assured me I would not be reported to the credit bureau as being 30 days late if I made a payment after July 1st. The problem as ******* has admitted, is that they have my address on file correctly and all their correspondence was getting sent back returned as sender. I then received a ********** phone call from the billing department saying the other representative had no authority to speak about credit reporting issues.
I made a payment today 6/30/13 in order to avoid being 30 days late, but was told it would not post until July 2nd. I am trying to close on a house and a late payment would **** me at this point. I do not think I should be penalized because ******* made a mistake.

Desired Settlement: I want any and all late fees waived, and for ******* to not report me 30 days late.

Business Response:

We did not receive an attachment with this complaint.  There is no complaint listed.

Please advise.

Thank you,

 

 

Business Response:

July 12, 2013

BBB of Greater Kansas City

RE: Complaint ** *******

Dear Sir/Madam:

This letter is in response to the communication dated July 11, 2013 concerning the above referenced complaint. We appreciate the opportunity to research the concerns and assist the customer with a resolution.

We have contacted the customer and discussed the issues identified in his complaint to your office, and both parties have agreed to a mutually acceptable resolution.

I trust this will close the file, but if you should need any additional information or have any questions, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely;

***** ********

******** ** ******** **********

**** ********* **** ***** ***

****** ***** ** *****

************ ********

*****************************

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Good Evening,I called ******* early January 2013 regarding an inaccuracy in my credit report. It was reported that I had a 30 day late payment and it was reported to all three credit bureaus. The customer service rep I spoke to told me to give it 30-60 days for removal on my credit report. We are now in July and it has been almost six months and the inaccuracy hasn't been removed from all three credit agencies as yet? The excuse for the payment showing up late was the day my automatic payment was removed was a Saturday so when they received the money it was that Monday. I understand that but ******* received their money on time so its only fit that they correct their wrong doing as I was told six months ago.

Desired Settlement: Would like ******* to work on my dispute that I placed with them. My choice was to do it though the bureau ** *******. ******* stated if I disputed it through them it would take 30-60 days, which was ok with me. Now we are past that and I would like some action on their part for removing that inaccuracy!Thank you!

Business Response:

July 9, 2013

********* ***** ******** **** ******** ****** **** *** ****** ** *****

RE: Case Number *******

Dear *********:

I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to review your concerns and investigate this issue. Upon receipt of your letter to the Better Business Bureau, we have reviewed the account and determined that your initial request for the payment history correction to the Consumre Reporting Agencies was processed, but unfortunately due to the timing of the update, it was over written when the Agencies processed the monthly file.  Therefore, we have processed an update to all three Consumer Reporting Agencies to reflect that all of your payments have been received on time with no derogatory payment ratings. These updates should be processed within the next two weeks.

During the last 80 years, the ******* family of companies has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible. Our mission is to improve the quality of military life by helping every military family achieve financial freedom through credit, protection, savings and education. 

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience, and trust that our resolution to your concern is satisfactory. Once again, thank you for bringing this to our attention and giving us the opportunity to resolve this issue, as we strive to insure the best in customer satisfaction.

Sincerely:

***** ******** ******** ** ******** **********

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Thanks alot!
Regards,

********* ********




















7/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was recently issued a 1099-C for a debt that was done with a POA by my ex wife. When I called to pay this debt I was told all collection actions had been stopped and the 1099-C cancellation of debt was issued so that I could claim the income on my tax return. According to the Code of Federal Regulations Title 42 Chapter IV Subchapter A Part 401 Subpart F Section 401.621the following applies. After it is determined that the debt will be classified as close-out,the amount of indebtedness is reported to the IRS as potentialincome to the debtor via Form 1099-C, Cancellation of Debt.Under the Internal Revenue Code (26 U.S.C. 61(a)(12)), incomefrom discharge of indebtedness is defined as gross income.Section 6050P of the Internal Revenue Code, as amended by theDCIA, requires all Federal agencies and private financialinstitutions to report certain discharged debts to the IRS. Thereporting requirement covers debts owed by individuals, soleproprietorships, partnerships, and corporations. Types of debtsinclude those arising from loan programs, as well as administrativeactions such as the assessment of fines, fees, and penalties.Accordingly a canceled debt that the company has reported to the IRS as canceled must have a ZERO balance since it has been canceled. According to this regulation the debt should have a zero balance and listed as closed. Additionally this company insist it can do what it wants and has even said they do not care about federal regulations on 2 occasions. I am sure I am not alone in this matter.

Desired Settlement: Would like for Pioneer to report to all three credit report agencies accordingly.

Business Response:

June 17, 2013

Better Business Bureau of Greater Kansas City

RE: Case # 9580253

To Whom It May Concern:

We are writing in reference to the above case number sent to our office. In the consumer’s original complaint, he is indicating that we are transmitting inaccurate information to the three Consumer Reporting Agencies, and requested that we update the report to all three agencies accordingly. His complaint is correct that we should internally show his balance as zero and closed, which is supported by the fact that when he called and wanted to make restitution, we advised him that we would not be able to accept payments. In addition, we did process an update to the three major Consumer Reporting Agencies that his account was settled for less than the balance, showing a zero balance.

During the last 80 years, the Pioneer family of companies has consistently and successfully served our customers at the highest integrity level possible. Our mission is to improve the quality of military life by helping every military family achieve financial freedom through credit, protection, savings and education.

I trust this action will remedy the situation, but if you should have any additional questions or need any further information, please feel free to call me directly.

***** ********

Director of Customer Resolution

4700 Belleview Ave. Suite 300

Kansas City, MO 64112

816-448-2341 (direct)

5/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Pioneer Financial Services, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart