Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Guier Fence Co., Inc.

Phone: (816) 229-2047 Fax: (816) 229-7483 2501B NW Jefferson St, Blue Springs, MO 64015

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Guier Fence offers sales and installation, material-only, or repair of wood, vinyl, bamboo, metal, composite, chain-link, handrail and other fence solutions to residential and commercial customers in the greater Kansas City and surrounding areas.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Guier Fence Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Guier Fence Co., Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Guier Fence Co., Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1979 Business started: 01/01/1979 in MO Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated 04/11/1988 in MO
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Valerie Guier , Owner/President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Valerie Guier , Owner/President
Business Category


Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed

Additional Locations

  • 2501B NW Jefferson St

    Blue Springs, MO 64015 (816) 229-2047


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Destroyed my side yard putting in the neighbors fence when the ground was too wet. Grass is obviously damaged maybe dead.

Desired Settlement: Damaged areas needs to be verti cut and seeded or grass cut out and replaced w new sod ASAP.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

Mrs. ***** is not a customer of ours. 
However, we are in the process of discussing with her as well as her neighbor, who is our customer, what we can do within reason to repair any permanent damage done.
We have an appointment set up with our customer for next Thursday, June 25th.
At this time, our opinion is that the damage is not permanent and that the grass will grow back and the rain will wash away the mud within a few months.
We offered to clean up Mrs. *****'s yard by raking the grass upright and laying more grass seed but Mrs. ***** refused. She has submitted an estimate from a landscaping company to us for our review for $500 of repair to the yard.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Nothing has been proposed to me from Guier since I submitted my request and estimate for repair. Laying seed is the minimum effort and least costly option for Guier considering the damage to my private property. Also it is my belief that any repair work to my yard should be performed by a lawn care professional not Guier Fence. 


******* *****

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

As of yesterday, we have taken care of the minimal damage done to our customer's lawn, who is Mrs. *****'s neighbor. 
Our offer still stands to remove any remaining, unwanted dirt in the grass with a rake and lay grass seed over the area that needs more grass.
Our opinion still stands that: the damage is not permanent. The bare spot under the tree was bare to begin with due to large roots and shade. The grass that can grow back will and the rain will wash away any excess dirt within a few months.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Again, I believe this is the minimum effort required and least costly option for Guier Fence Company and an excuse not to repair the damage by The Guier installers on my property. 


******* *****

5/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Guier installed a new fence November of last year. Over the winter the post for the double gate did not hold (as they were not enough support), so the gate was out of aliment and could not open easy. Called Guier to have someone repair. Someone came by with a hammer, hit the gate a few times and told us it was repaired. My husband pointed out several issues with the gate, with the first problem was inadequate support. The person from Guier then admitted that the gate needed to be re-installed with an additional 4x4 on both sides for support. The gate was reinstalled, however again, several issues. Now each side of the double gate slopes inward and there is a large gap at the bottom of one side. The hardware was not installed correctly, and the pickets are not even installed correctly.I called Guier on 7/8/13 and informed the person of our issues and asked that someone come out and look at the gate. No one has called us.

Desired Settlement: For the gate to be installed correctly.

Business Response: Guier Fence has went out to replace the gate.  We call Mrs. ***** to confirm the gate was up to standards and they were happy, she let me know they were.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.  Guier Fence did send someone to the house to repair the gate and hardware.  I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

****** *****