BBB Accredited Business since

Sears Carpet & Air Duct Cleaning

Phone: (816) 880-3737 Fax: (816) 880-3939 View Additional Phone Numbers 4108 NW Riverside St, Riverside, MO 64150 http://www.searsclean.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sears Carpet & Air Duct Cleaning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sears Carpet & Air Duct Cleaning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sears Carpet & Air Duct Cleaning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 13, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated 03/09/2004 in KS
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Jeff Anderson, President Karen Anderson, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Jeff Anderson, President
Business Category

CARPET & RUG CLEANERS AIR DUCT CLEANING

Alternate Business Names
JKE, Inc. Sears Carpet Cleaning

Additional Locations

  • 4108 NW Riverside St

    Riverside, MO 64150 (913) 396-0888 (816) 880-3737

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Aug. 23, 2013 I had Sears come to clean our carpets and sofa, loveseat, & chair & ottoman, I ordered the 5 room special with a coupon I had plus 10% senior citizen discount. They came and had me sign a bill totaling $333.90 but it didn't have on there the protection of the 5 rooms which would of been according to the coupon $100.00 so I told him that, he also told there would be a extra charge for my sofa & loveseat because of it needing a solvent on it, which I never saw him put any solvent on it to clean it, I just saw him vacuum it and when they were done the cushions were turned to where I couldn't see the spots that were not even out at all. I mainly called because I wanted my hardwoods cleaned and this tech kept trying to talk me out of it and he managed to talk me into cleaning 3 extra rooms I didn't order but thought according to the coupon it would be $99.00 anyway my bill when he got thru went from the $333.90 to $758.89, I shouldn't of paid it but was in shock at the amount that was added that I didn't know would be that much, my husband was very upset and called them to ask about these extra charges, the manager told him he would look over everything, he also called me and said he could see where we didn't receive the discounts and I should of been told the prices before the tech started so I would have a chance to decline, the manager said he would call me at work on Mon. after he discussed with the girl who took the order and the tech but he's never responded and so we stopped payment on the check and called Sears and told them and no one has called us back, the manager told my husband he would just take us to the county attorney. Now a week later my sofa and loveseat look the same I think he only vacuum them and we stayed off everything for 24 hrs. because it was hot that day and it wasn't dried completely but the edges of the stairs and where the carpet comes to the hardwood floors doesn't look clean at all. very disappointed in the job, will never recommend them, overcharged.

Desired Settlement: My husband wants a Sears rep to come look at the job and see the job that was done and to discuss the way this bill was handled and how the manager and tech handled it also. the manager himself never did what he said he would do, he just left it. I'm very surprised that Sears would have these people running their cleaning service with there name on it. I use to trust them.

Business Response:

I originally spoke to the customer on the afternoon of Friday, August 23rd. He called to let me know he was unhappy with the amount of his invoice and if I didn’t do something about it he was going to stop payment on the check. 

Earlier in the day, I had stopped by the customer’s house to check on the technicians. I do occasional quality assurance crew visits to make sure everything is going well out in the field. Upon arriving I spoke with our technicians to see how the job was going.  From all indications everything was going well.  After talking with them for a moment, I walked into the kitchen and introduced myself.  I spoke with the customer about how the job was going and she stated everything was going well. The customer also mentioned she was so happy with the cleaning she will call us back instead of Stanley Steemer whom she had used in the past.  She mentioned to me that she was interested in having her wood floors in the kitchen area cleaned so I measured them and gave the information to the office so she could be contacted with a price.  I also let her know with the water based urethane that we use she could walk on her floors after two hours. She didn’t mention anything that I recall about being told to stay off of them for 48 hours as she later stated.

I was only at the home for about 30 minutes out of the approximately two and one half hours that our technicians were there working, but the customer seemed very happy when we left and re-stated that she was going to call us again. I know we cleaned some stairs and a landing at no charge and also threw in a $15.00 bottle of spot remover.

Friday afternoon I received a call from her husband stating how upset he and his wife were over the final price of the invoice. He accused our lead technician and Sears of running a “bait and switch” on his wife, and because of that, she was too upset to say anything at the conclusion of the job.  He stated that he wanted me to discount the job or he was going to stop payment on the check. I told him that I had arrived to their home at the end of the job and everything seemed fine and that his wife had told me that she was very happy with our work.  I then informed him that before I could do anything about the price I would have to speak with the technician after he returned from his route. According to the technician, she was aware of all of the charges, and I’d like to add we have an itemized work order with her signature signed at the completion of the job. She also wrote us a check for the completed work.

I called her husband back and offered him a 15% percent discount. This was not acceptable to him and then he told me the representative that booked the job misled him and his wife because they thought the carpet protector was included in the original price. I told him that I would talk with her, but she had already left for the day, and I would have to get back with them on Monday. I also spoke with the wife when her husband called and she told me she had not planned to clean the additional three bedrooms and was no longer happy with the furniture cleaning.

On Monday, I spoke with the person that booked the job and she told me that she had explained that carpet protector is an extra charge and was not included on the original invoice.  I had a commercial bid to do that morning and while I was out the husband called and asked for me. He was told I was out of the office and I would return his call. A short time later he called back to ask for the number to our corporate office in Columbus, Ohio. I debated whether or not to call him after he said he wanted to contact the corporate headquarters but decided it would be the best thing to do.

When I spoke with him, on Monday, he asked me if I was going to give him a larger discount than was discussed on Friday. I told him that in light of his wife signing the work authorization and writing the check, I felt the 15% offered on Friday was fair. He then informed me that he already stopped payment on the check without waiting to hear our final offer. Because of that, I felt the conversation was over. I let him know we would proceed with legal action as we do with all bad check writers.

I am willing to make one more attempt at a settlement with the customers. They were unhappy with the level of cleaning on the furniture so I will remove it from the invoice and will take the 10% senior discount on the remainder with the exception of the sales tax. This would make the new total $421.48.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ********

I accept what they quoted me the $421.48 and will send them a check for this amount, I do want them to send me my original check, the one I stopped payment on back to me along with the invoice marked paid.  You had a lot of comments back that were not the truth, I never said that I would have you back and if they can remember correctly I was extremely quiet after I saw what the total was and the authorization that I signed was what the office had on it which was $333.90. The girl I talked with never said there would be additional charges for the protection, after all the coupon that they have in the value paks  state for 5 rooms just to clean was $159.00 and to clean and protect was $259.00 and I  told her I wanted the clean and protect for 5 rooms. No one including the tech told me anything about any charges and he did not have them on the bill that I had signed that was after the fact.  Your tech was the one that was bringing up Stanley Steamer because he said he worked for them.  I never said I would of had either place back to clean.  Also when they were asking about the job it's hard to say your satisfied when the carpeting is wet when they leave, the furniture looked just the same and all the spots are still there.  But I settle for the price and pay them what they quoted the $421.48 and never have them back or recommend them to anyone.  Please let me know if I should be sending the check right to them or do I send it to you and you get it too them.

Thank you,

***** ********