BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Greater Kansas City

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Wedding and Event Planning Supplies Including Battery Operated Candles and Tea Lights

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Battery Operated Candles meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Battery Operated Candles include:

  • 16 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Battery Operated Candles include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 16

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 17, 2009 Business started: 06/24/1986 Business started locally: 06/24/1986 Business incorporated: 06/24/1986 in MO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Earl Kaufman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Earl Kaufman, President
Business Category

CANDLES-RETAIL INTERNET SHOPPING SERVICES WEDDING SUPPLIES & SERVICES


Additional Locations

  • 412 West 10th Street

    Kansas City, MO 64105 (816) 221-8840

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (816) 221-8840(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a set of Submersible remote controlled tea lights to be used for some Charity events I do back in July 2013. The description states the battery life is 50 hours. I used part if the set in some vases with the water beads, also purchased from Battery Operated Candles, and they were only in used for approximately 6-7 hours that night. I cleaned and stored the candles without the batteries because my next event I wanted to use them was in 3 months. When I went to use them, I out the batteries back in and they did not work, so I went and purchased new batteries to the tune of $80 and that only was enough to fill 9 of them and not all twelve votives!. After this event, I removed the batteries again and stored them for use at Christmas. When I pulled them out again, they would not work again but I did not have time to worry with it then as the holiday season was extremely busy. Then I was working on another Charity event that I was going to use the votives for again this week and pulled them out to set them up and tried all the new batteries I had previously purchased in the votives again and none of them will work....i refuse to purchase another $80 in batteries. I find it hard to believe that all the batteries have died down in that short amount of time and that I should have to purchase $120 in batteries every time I want to use these.....I believe the product is defective. I sent the company an email and they responded that there is an 30 day return policy and that they recommend that the batteries be stored separately when not in use. The website does not state this fact nor does the material I received with the votives state this....I did however, do this and still had problems. The originally cost on these was $39.95I had requested a new set, but was basically told I was out of luck because it was past 30 days. Not sure how one would use submersible votives for 50 hours in a 30 day time period....that would be a lot of uses for something so specialized.

Desired Settlement: I had requested a new set..........if not, a refund of purchase price, plus shipping and refund of the extra batteries I had to purchase.

Business Response:

Hi ****
 
Thanks for your call today, sorry we did not respond in a timely manner. I think we saw the sale was so old and way past any return date.
 
Each set of replacement batteries cost $18.15, not $80.00 – The cost of the item was $37.95 and that included one set of batteries.
 
I am sorry but due to the age of this order and the fact we did everything perfect I don’t see what else we could do.
This order was placed on 7-5-13 and we shipped the SAME day!  It can’t get any better than that.
 
Thanks

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  This company seems to ignore facts...the costs of the batteries I purchased was $80...I have receipts to prove....And a $40 set of candles should work more than once.  And to sound like a purchase back in July of 13 is old when the complaint was filed in Early 2014 is quite laughable.  But I will consider the source..this company does not stand behind its products and hope other figure it out soon.  I also see that the BBB is also of no use.  



Regards,

***** *****

























BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered battery operated taper candles online from this site. Below is the exact information on the candles I ordered.Product DescriptionSuper bright 4 inch mini taper candle. Great size when needing a smaller taper. 250 Hours of run time on 2 AAA batteries.4 Inch Tall x 1 Inch DiamWhite Taper with Amber Flicker2 x AAA Batteries250 Hours Run TimeOn/Off Switch On BottomGreat for weddings, parties, holidays and just the right size for childrens programs.When I received the candles, there were no AAA batteries as stated in the description. I called to try and settle this with "***" the manager and was told to send them back. When I explained that I should not have to pay to return them when they were advertised as coming with the batteries, he told "then don't!" I feel the ad should have stated "batteries not included" if they are not included. This listed the AAA batteries under the description so the logical conclusion is they come with batteries.Not only was the description not correct, I feel customer service was lacking as well.

Desired Settlement: I believe the correct course of action should be for the company to issue a call tag on the candles as well as refund me for the candles and original shipping costs.

Business Response:

We do not state that batteries are included nor do we normally refund any shipping charges.

In good faith we will refund $6.00 in shipping to cover the return postage. Please use the USPS

and mail back for refund.

 

Thanks

 

****

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
Once again, this is your description:  

  • Product Description
  • Super bright 4 inch mini taper candle. Great size when needing a smaller taper. 250 Hours of run time on 2 AAA batteries.

    • 4 Inch Tall x 1 Inch Diam
    • White Taper with Amber Flicker
    • 2 x AAA Batteries
    • 250 Hours Run Time
    • On/Off Switch On Bottom

    Great for weddings, parties, holidays and just the right size for childrens programs.

 













It does not say "batteries not included".  It lists them as part of the description, thus they should be with "the product".
 
I will not accept a $6.00 shipping credit when you charged me $13.95.
 

















Business Response:

We did not state that the batteries were included! We will send a UPS electronic call tag to the customers email address.

A refund will be provided if the candles are returned in NEW unused, UNOPENED condition. She has had them for 2 months.

All she needed to do was drop them back in the mail a long time ago.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I have stated twice now what was in the ad.  I do not think this business wants to resolve this issue. Therefore, I will keep the candles because they are the size I need and absorb the loss of the batteries due to false advertising.  I will not shop here again.



Regards,

****** ******
























BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Re: Order ****** I received this order and the candle did not work. It was defective. I returned it per the instructions on the website on 12/24/13. The tracking number is **** **** **** **** **** ** and it shows delivery to them on December 30, 2013. When I returned this it was 'not' broken. I received a call from a woman on January 17 2014 and she said when she received this from **** it was broken. I am sorry to hear that but since it was not broken when I repackaged it in the original packing material it was out of my hands and that should not stop them from issuing me a refund for a defective product I received from. I cannot follow **** and make sure they all do their jobs properly. When no one bothered to call me back I called the number back from when I was contacted from them on the 17th. I called them back on Jan 22, 2014. The man who answered was not very helpful and we got disconnected or he hung up on me. After reading the other 13 complaints for this company I am leaning more towards he hung up on me. This is an issue they should have taken up with the **** ****** when they received it back from them broken. I did not mail it broken. They mailed it to me defective. This is not an issue you blame on your customer.

Desired Settlement: $22.95 for the defective product sent to me which did not light up as was advertised on their website. And since this was a fault on their part I should be refunded for the original shipping of $8.25.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint - Battery Operated Candles.Net / 1) No Notification that item(s) I ordered and was charged for was not available until I inquired over a week later on order status.2) Customer service employee, *****, was very rude and condescending in her tone while trying to acquire additional shipping fees for a replacement item for which shipping was already charged. (She verbally cut off my explanation and attempts to talk and then cancelled my replacement order without authorization as she hung up on me while disingenuously thanking me for... my business???) Will not shop at Battery Operated Sales.net / Would not recommend them based on this experience.

Desired Settlement: May I suggest that 1) they notify customers that items they ordered are "not available" or "back ordered" when the order is placed. (especially if they are charging for them)2) they have email communication with customers asking them if they want to continue with order, replace order, or cancel order based on their current inventory situation - whatever that may be.3) unwilling and rude people not work in their customer service department.4) confirmation of a full refund to my credit card.

Business Response: Customer did not agree to shipping charges, she was never even charged for the items. Sorry this did not work out.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered two sets of remote control operated candles from this vendor.The shipment of the two boxes arrived in good condition, but the remote control on the candles did not work.I contacted the vendor informing them about the issue with the remote control not working. The vendor responded with some basic trouble shooting steps; change the battery in the remote control, ensure candles are "switched on" before I try the remote control.I tried the trouble shooting suggestions outlined by the vendor, but it didn't help. I then checked the second box of candles, and it had the same issue; the candles work fine, but the remote control is useless.I went back to the vendor informing the vendor that both remote controls don't work.It has now been two weeks and the vendor has not responded, I have followed up on my request.The sad thing is that there is no receptor on the candles to receive the signal from the remote control. I feel the vendor ships its customers regular battery operated candles and banks on the fact that most customers wouldn't bother to complainI feel very disappointed with this purchase. I paid 80 odd dollars for 4 battery operated candles in the hope that they were remote control operated.non-remote control candles cost about 10 dollars a pop. I overpaid by 40 dollars for nothing

Desired Settlement: I would like the vendor to replace my order.I can ship back the defective product. Vendor should cover this cost

Business Response:

We are in the process of investigating this issue. It seems the problem may be with the remote control.

If so we will just replace the remote. The candles appear to be fine. I should know for sure by tomorrow.

Thanks

 

****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1