BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Precision Signz and Banners

Phone: (563) 441-4444Fax: (877) 722-7079View Additional Phone Numbers6125 Valley Dr, BettendorfIA 52722-5564

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Precision Signz and Banners is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Precision Signz and Banners

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

We re-ordered our usual signs and they did not inform us a head of time that the changed from Screen Printing to Digital Printing.
We Placed a re-order of our usual signs and they never told us prior they do not screen print anymore, they only digital print. There is a huge difference in the printing. The new signs look old and faded and not crisp and bright. I've repeatedly asked for them to change them or take the signs back and refund me. Which they will not.

Desired Settlement
$709.00. That would give us a total refund. They can have the signs back.

Business Response
No where on our website, in our correspondence with our customers, or anywhere else, do we promise ANY particular type of printing. We carefully discuss material only. It is not necessary. These are disposable yard signs, not a fashion statement. Every design must be pre-approved by the customer.

This customer did approve her sign design. She got what she approved.

Addressing her comments specifically: ALL digital printing provides more crisp, clear lines and graphics than screen printing. It is not possible to print as accurately with a screen. She is mistaken. She sent pictures. You can see them attached. They are not faded.

In the interest of avoiding this type of confrontation, we offered to screen print replacements at our cost (considerably higher than digital printing on such a small number). All we require is that she pay to ship the old signs back as well as for shipping the new signs to her. We believe this is more than reasonable considering all the above. I recommended against this because, at some point, they will have to accept digital printing or pay considerably more. This is true whether she deals with us or another company. We have not heard from her since.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was only offered to have signs re-printed at my cost. Not just to pay shipping. When did the customer become wrong? I asked for the same thing I've always ordered, and I'm sorry my opinion of what I received is different from yours! We like what we order, we are not a typical real estate office in some big city. Of course they are disposable! These are tree signs that we hang on trees, since we are a real estate office in the middle of the ******** ******** ******* We pride our business on we are always uniform. You may not be able to see in a picture, what I see with my eyes. When you've ordered from someone for over a decade the same thing, don't you think the customer should be informed when they buy something that will come different? Even the slightest bit of difference should be known to the customer. If digital printing is so much more economical, why didn't I see that when I paid? I've got quotes to have these signs printed how we requested, and they are not more expensive. I feel like this company has done nothing more than insult my opinion, and insult my intelligence since this began. All because we don't agree on the "look" of something. Obviously this all could have been prevented if you had disclosed to begin with you changed how you print. I will not pay to have them shipped back, nor will I pay to have new ones shipped to me. I want what I ordered.

Final Business Response
Once again, this customer is just ignoring facts (like I proved, using HER photo.'s, in my first response). You will find an email attached. In it we offered to replace the signs, with screen printed (much greater expense to us), if they would pay to ship the old ones back and to ship the new ones. Just like I said in my response.

I also have uploaded two photo.'s of a screen printed sign (larger, shiny) next to a digitally printed sign. One taken in artificial light and one in the sun, like their signs will be displayed.

Here is a link to an explanation about digital versus screen printing from one of our competitors, confirming that indeed digital does print more clearly...

It is this sort of holding a company's reputation hostage, in order to get something for nothing, that has me questioning the value of reviews. There is absolutely nothing new in her response. It was all addressed previously. She has not contacted us to take advantage of our original offer nor in our response to the complaint.

12/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Placed an order for signs, paid in full, **** (claims to be the owner) called and demanded more money.
On September 3rd 2013 I submitted an application for Broker Status with Precision Signz Broker company Polybag Planet. I received notification that my application had been approved and I could order signs. I ordered signs October 15th. I was told this would take 2 weeks. On/or about Oct 30th I called to check on the signs, I was told they would be a couple days late. On November 13th I receive a phone call from **** saying that he has researched me and does not believe me to be a broker and that he thinks I am working as an employee for my customer. He says that unless we pay him more money (the retail price) he is not shipping the signs. I am not sure if they had a problem in production and this was their way of stalling or what. I emailed a link to a online folder that showed work I do for other companies and included digital versions of my biz card. Supposedly that was not enough so I then presented 3 options. 1. Hold to the terms of the agreement and ship the signs. 2. A full refund. 3. Lawyers. I finally got an email stating the signs would be shipped. My problem with this situation is that he had a month and a half from when I submitted my application to decide if he would do business with me as a broker. why is it after he has allowed this time to pass and receives 3200.00 dollars then he has a problem.

Desired Settlement
My client has lost a significant percentage of the amount of time available to sell the products for which these signs where intended. They where supposed to have been delivered 2 weeks after they where ordered. That would have been the end of October not the middle of November. My client will have lost 2 weeks of prime selling time as we approach winter. The signs were for windows and siding to help decrease peoples heating bills. At this point I feel the signs should be heavily discounted. I also feel this should be made public so other people know what they are dealing with. I have email documentation of everything I described above and would love to provide it.

Business Response
This customer has been very untruthful. He did not even buy from Precision Signs he bought from our wholesale company poly bag planet. Poly bag planet is a wholesale company. After looking into this we had found out that he was trying to buy signs wholesale for his own company that he works for. We do not sell wholesale to the end user. We told him that we had found out that he was not being truthful and because he got caught he got very upset with us. We have all the information if you want to see it. We have been in contact with our company attorney about this matter. We will no longer work with this dishonest person again. In regard to it taking a long time is untruthful also. He delayed the process because he changed the artwork. We try very hard to take good care of our customers, in this case his dishonesty created the problem. Like I said if you want a paper trail of this we have it and can get it to you if needed. By the way his company has the BBB logo on there web site and they are not a member of the BBB and that really bothers me. I have also found other companies doing the same. Regards ****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Screen Printing, Advertising Specialties, Flags & Banners, Signs

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/12/2007Business started: 03/01/1992
Type of Entity


Incorporated: July 2009, IA

Contact Information
Principal: Jeffrey Hartman (President)
Business Category

Screen Printing, Advertising Specialties, Flags & Banners, Signs

Products & Services

This company offers signs, banners, design, and advertising specialties.

Alternate Business Names
Zeez Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Precision Signz and Banners

6125 Valley Dr

Bettendorf, IA 52722-5564

To | From


1 Locations

  • 6125 Valley Dr 

    Bettendorf, IA 52722-5564(563) 441-4444
    (866) 744-6778
    Fax: (877) 722-7079

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Des Moines, IA. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Precision Signz and Banners is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 744-6778

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 14, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Screen Printing


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.