BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1940

Meredith Corporation (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (515) 284-3000Fax: (515) 284-3153View Additional Phone Numbers1716 Locust St, Des MoinesIA 50309-3038 Send email to Meredith Corporation

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1940

BBB has determined that Meredith Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Meredith Corporation's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 146 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

146 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 52 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues27
Billing / Collection Issues45
Delivery Issues16
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service57
Total Closed Complaints 146

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Meredith Corporation

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (146)
06/30/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Being sent and billed for magazine subscriptions that were not ordered by this person.
Being sent and billed for magazine subscriptions that were not ordered. Following magazines: Diabetic Living, OK!, Bon Appetit.
Have called all three magazines customer service depts and demanded they cancel, not send any more magazines, and cease billing. Found out all three magazine's customer service departments are in IOWA.

I am also having problems with recorde3d telemarketing calls to my cell phone that are also originating out of IOWA. These phone calls were reported today.

I suspect there is a link between all this telemarketer and magazine fraud activity and it should be investigated also as a link.

After customer services reps stated they had cancelled and shut off billing, I then requested to talk to supervisor of the customer service reps.

When I talked w OK! magazine supervisor (for American Media Publication), AMBER, I demanded full cancelation and no billing. I then asked her to take me off of the lists for the other three magazines. She stated that she had no affiliation with any of those other magazines. Would not give me any identifying info for her.

I then called Bon Appetit customer service and had them cancel and turn off billing. Then I asked to talk with a supervisor. Low and behold, I got AMBER again with American Media Publications . When I asked her why she had lied to me about there not being any affiliation, she replied that she 'typically' did not take supervisory calls for Bon Appetit. The woman was out and out lying to me!

Customer service reps I dealt with:
OK!Sarah-Iowa, x 3722
Bon Appetit-Toni, Iowa, X2123
Diabetic Living-Benita, Iowa, X 2220

I consider these to be a platform/base for fraudulent practices and I am reporting this situation for investigation. The investigation should include a tie to telemarking problems coming out of IOWA that I reported this moring.

I have lost almost two hours calling customer service depts., being placed on extended holds, and being placed on second extended hold while waiting for supervisor.

Desired Settlement
Discontinue any and all contact. Do not send any magazines, for any publisher. Discontinue all billings.

If they are in any way affiliated with telemarking calls with recordings, discontinue any and all calls. Take my number off their list!

Businesses involved should investigate scam of a American Media Publication supervisor, AMBER, lying about affiliation between these magazines and costing me over an hour calling each individually.

Business Response
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience Ms. ***** has experienced regarding a subscription to Diabetic Living.

Attached you will find a copy of the original order that we received to process a subscription for Ms. *****. The order has been cancelled. Ms. ***** should disregard any further invoices that may cross in the mail.

We have removed Ms. *****'s name from our promotional list.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
As long as I do not receive any further subscriptions of magazines that I DID NOT ORDER! This matter is still highly suspect to me.

04/08/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unwanted email from their Better Homes and Gardens sites (of which there are MANY!)
I have been receiving unwanted emails from the Better Homes & Gardens family for several months now. I have no idea where they got my name, I did not sign up for anything from them. At first I just blackmailed them and deleted. But I got tired of continuing to receive them. I have made at least 6 attempts to unsubscribe over the last 4 weeks. They have a huge list of "choices" to unsubscribe and their 'unsubscribe ALL' doesn't appear to do anything. I have sent 2 emails in the last 3 days to a 'contact us' email address I found after MUCH searching on their website. I have now begun receiving as many as 3 emails a day. I cannot find any other way to contact them or to find a better site to unsubscribe. I just want the emails to cease.

Desired Settlement
I want the emails to STOP. And I never want to hear from them AGAIN. I don't want or need their products.

Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience ****** ******* has experienced.

We have removed her email address from our mailing list. If she continues to receive emails from us, please forward the email to *******@bhg.com with unsubscribe in the subject line and we can then investigate further.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
It took a while, but they finally responded and emails have stopped. Thank you for you help.

02/08/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am receiving a bill at my home address that is addressed with only our last name for a product that I did not order.This is very stressful!
I am receiving a bill at my home address that is addressed with only our last name for a product that I did not order.This is very stressful because it is threatening our credit worthiness.

Desired Settlement
Clear this from our credit account and remove us from your mailing list.

Business Response
I apologize for the error in my previous correspondence.

Our records show the book order for Ms. ****** was cancelled. Ms. ****** should disregard any further billing notices she may receive.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In Sept. 2015 I received an unsolicited book in the mail (Eat This Not That). It came in a package with no company name on the return address label and no invoice or letter indicating why it was sent or who it was from.
A month later I received a bill from Family Circle saying to send the first of 4 payments ($8.10 today for a total of $32.10). The notice thanked me for my order. I did not order the book and didn't want it.
I sent an email to the payment web site with all this information and said I'd return the book to the Locust St. address in person or would return it by mail upon receipt of a postage paid label.
A month later I received a 2nd notice and I responded with a letter to the Locust St. address. Now I've received the 3rd payment notice.
Product_Or_Service: A book "Eat This Not That'
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I'd like the business to stop sending payment requests. I'll return their book by dropping it at their Des Moines office or by mail if they send a postage paid label.

Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience Ms. ***** has experienced regarding Meredith Annual Books.

Instead of returning the book to us we would Ms. ***** to keep it with our compliments. We have cancelled the balance due. Ms. ***** owes us nothing and there is no further obligation.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thanks to the BBB and Meredith Corp. This is exactly the outcome I was hoping for.

01/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I sent in a check for one years subscription to Better Homes and Gardens magazine. Didn't receive it so I e-mailed their customer service. I told them that the check I sent to them cleared from my bank.
The reply from their customer service was that they couldn't locate my check and for me to get a copy of that check from my bank and obtain a copy and scan and e-mail it or fax it to them. I e-mailed them back saying that my trip to my bank was 45 minutes, and I didn't have a scanner or fax/copier machine to do all this. I told them, that like many people my age, don't have this equipment so I would need to first pay the bank for the copy of the check, then pay someone to scan and e-mail or fax them the copy of the check. I told them that after all that, it would cost me probably $5.99. It's a scam, they have my money and I have no subscription because of someone being incompetent in losing the check or it was on one of there desks.
I asked did they even look for my check? Is this a good way to do business, especially with us senior citizens (I'm 66) that don't have the means and conveniences of having to do what they want because of their carelessness?
Product_Or_Service: 1 year subscription
Account_Number: Check #1913

Desired Settlement
I want your service to know what is going on. Why should they get away with this? They know with all the requirements they demand for people to get their subscriptions that some people just can't do it? And after all, why is the customer being punished because they lost the payment made? It just makes me angry that they just didn't say, Ok, it's just $5.99 we made the mistake? It looks bad and like a scam and is very, very bad customer service!

Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience Ms. ******** has experienced.

Our records do not show we received Ms. ********'s renewal order or payment.

As a courtesy, we have adjusted our records to include a one year subscription. Ms. ********'s subscription will start with the February 2016 issue and will expire with the January 2017 issue.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 12
07/11/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charges for unwanted books, that have been refused and returned.
I keep getting a bill for a book that was delivered and handed right back to the postman. the book was titled Family Circle Recipies 2015. Account #XXXXXXXXXXX. charges for this book $33.94.

Desired Settlement
Stop harassing me with bill notices for things I did not order in the first place. Stop sending me books unsolicited, and remove my name form your mailing list.
I do not under any circumstances want to have any kind of business with family circle or merdith books again.

Business Response
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience Mr. ****** has experienced regarding Meredith Annual Books.

We have cancelled the balance due and we have discontinued the book series as requested.

06/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This is the second time this company has sent me books that I did not want or order. The last time they kept dunning me so I paid them and requested in writing that they not sent me more books. Yesterday they sent me another book that I do not want or need. Why should I have to pay to return a book that I did not order or want. Do they pull this stunt on everyone? Can you give me advise of how to get them to take me off their mailing list?
Product_Or_Service: book
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Please get these people to take me off their mailing list. I do not need any books from them.

Business Response
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience Ms. ******* has experienced regarding Meredith Annual Books.

Instead of returning the book to us, we would like Ms. ******* to keep it with our compliments. We have cancelled the balance due and she does not owe us anything.

We have discontinued the book series as requested.

03/01/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been billed for a book (final bill twice)that I did not order. I was told that if I kept the book I did not have to pay for it.
I have been billed for a book (final bill twice)that I did not order. I was told that if I kept the book I did not have to pay for it, because I did not order it. I sent a check in for $8.40, the check cleared my bank on 2-3-16 #3696. on the bill it stated that this was the final payment on the account (XXXXXXXXXXX)I am not pleased with this company trying to swindle money from me, I would like a refund for the money I sent to Better Homes and gardens.

Desired Settlement
I prefer a refund of all monies paid on this account, credit my account paid in full and remove my name from Better Homes & Garden mailing list.

Business Response
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience Ms. ****** has experienced regarding Meredith Annual Books.

Our records show a refund was processed on February 16, 2016. We have removed her name from future shipments.

01/04/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am receiving a magazine that I did not order. The name is Family Circle Magazine.
For the past few months, I have been receiving Family Circle Magazine, which I did not order. Just recently, I received a bill. There is no return address on the label, and I do not know where to send it. Plus, I do not have time to deal with this.
I have looked on the internet to see how to handle it. I could put it in the mailbox with a Post It note saying "return to sender," but again there is no return address. I really resent this. Of course, I looked up Family Circle.com, and they want you to create an account; then, there is a tricky spot where when you click to create an account, it automatically checks the box, which I unchecked, so that I will receive emails. I do not want this magazine...I did NOT order it. If this is not handled, I will discuss it with my state's Attorney General.
One final note: I actually like the magazine, but I don't like getting subscriptions that I haven't ordered. Thank you.

Desired Settlement
I want this subscription to be terminated, and I do not want to receive any more bills.

Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience Ms. ********* has experienced regarding a subscription to Family Circle.

Our records show the subscription that Ms. ********* is receiving is a complimentary subscription from Inchbug. The mailings that Ms. ********* received were not invoices as the subscription is free. The mailings are promotional offers to renew the subscription. We have cancelled delivery of her subscription and we have removed her name from our promotional list. The February 2016 issue will be the last issue that Ms. ********* will receive.

10/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refusal to remove me from email list
I have requested to be unsubscribed from all email communications from this group MANY times (at least 6 times in the past 6 weeks), but they refuse to stop sending me emails.

Desired Settlement
To stop sending me emails.

Business Response
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience Ms. ********* has experienced.

We have deleted Ms. *********'s email address from our database.

Page 1 of 18

Industry Comparison| Chart

Publishers - Periodical, Magazine Sales by Mail, Mail Order & Catalog Shopping

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1940Business started: 01/01/1902
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1905, IA

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Melanie Carmichael (Director, Operations) Jerry Hadenfeldt (Dir of Government Relations)
Business Category

Publishers - Periodical, Magazine Sales by Mail, Mail Order & Catalog Shopping

Products & Services

The company offers publishing services and distribution to mail order companies and publishers.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Meredith Corporation

1716 Locust St

Des Moines, IA 50309-3038

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Des Moines, IA. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Meredith Corporation is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (515) 284-2656
  • (515) 284-2174
  • (515) 284-2780
  • (515) 284-3404

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (515) 284-3197
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 14, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Publishers - Periodical

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.