BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/21/1998

Todd's Mudjacking Service, Inc.

Phone: (309) 792-0252Fax: (309) 792-0279View Additional Phone Numbers1801 1st Ave, SilvisIL 61282-1016 Send email to Todd's Mudjacking Service, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/21/1998

BBB has determined that Todd's Mudjacking Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Todd's Mudjacking Service, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Todd's Mudjacking Service, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
12/11/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After 43 years of a dry basement I had a water problem. In 1/2010 ****'s Mudjacking put a drain system in my basement. In 2/2012, I had the basement finished with new walls, ceiling and carpet.In 9/2014 I had water on the basement floor and in the same area as the original problem. ****'s workmen came and flushed the system until water came through the system but they found no reason for the water coming to the floor. The charge for this service was $300.00.I requested a meeting with Mr. **** ***** wanting him to explain to me what can be done to fix this problem. Mr. ***** left saying he would get back to me.After leaving 2 phone messages several weeks ago requesting that Mr. ***** call me with some resolve for my problem, I now resort to this complaint waiting for the company to honor their warranty to fix this problem.
Product_Or_Service: Basement Water Control System

Desired Settlement
I am asking Todd's honor their warranty and their guarantee "that no water shall pass through the system and collect on the basement floor from any wall where the system has been installed."

Business Response
We did waterproof her basement and she left the basement unfinished for two years before finishing the basement into a nice usable area. She then went another two years without a problem. She never had an annual service done on the system in all this time.

I offered the customer a couple suggestions as to what our options are to resolve this issue. I let her make the decision as to what she would like to do to move forward. She chose a solution that would be the least disruptive to her finished basement and we both agreed this would be the best solution. She will contact me if there are any further problems and we will be performing regular annual service on the system.

09/03/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Installed Power Brace system in basement and now have cinder blocks that are tilting outward. Can't get **** to return calls to fix problem.
In 4/07 we contracted Todds to install waterproofing system in our basement, main drain, and sump pump. When he came he recommended putting Power Brace system in to keep walls straight. We agreed. The work was done and until recently everything was ok. In April 2013, we had them come and do an annual check where they installed extra bracing between rafters for extra support, this was all under warranty. Wall bolts were also tightened at this time. On Jan 19, 2015 we called and had Todds people come out to look at the top block of the south wall, which is tilting outward. He took laser measurements and said he would come back in February to take more measurements. They never called to set up in February, so they came again in March to take more measurments. In April **** and ***** (I believe his name was *****) came back out to discuss the wall and take more measurements. They would email us their findings and we have not heard from them since. After many attempts to reach **** and leaving messages, he has never returned my calls. I have talked with the receptionist who says she has told **** that I have called, and she has no answer to why he won't call me back. At this time I feel like he is avoiding me and does not want to take any responsibility to fix our basement walls.

Desired Settlement
I would like **** to honor his warranty with this Power Brace system and come and fix the wall. I want him to call me so we can discuss how this can be done. We have been waiting for summer to get a plan together and now that summer is fast approaching, **** will not return my calls.

Business Response
I've been out there 3 times and took measurements. Nothing has really changed. I have told them that they can hire a structural engineer to assess the situation. This would be on their dime. We would work accordingly depending on the independent third party findings.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company never provided to us their findings. They did in fact tell us on their last measurement visit that they would have an engineer come out to assess the situation, never said it was on "my dime." When they did not respond to numerous phone calls regarding fixing the foundation we decided to consult an engineer.****'s states in his response above that nothing has changed, yet we have top blocks that have moved and are tilting out. This is a major change from when the power brace system was installed. I have attached pictures. All I want done is to fix the top block with re-pointing to set the block back in its original position. I am not confident in Todds fixing it at this point and am requesting a monetary amount to settle this so that I can choose a more reputable company. Todds is not standing by their warranty and this has been a nightmare with trying to work with them. The structural engineer's report states that our home is in no imminent danger of structural failure although the south foundation wall is slightly bowed. He recommends repointing to repair the cracks.

Final Business Response
The Ryders have had an engineer out to inspect the foundation and they reported " The structural engineer's report states that our home is in no imminent danger of structural failure although the south foundation wall is slightly bowed. He recommends repointing to repair the cracks. " This backs up what I said about their foundation in the fact that it is stable. The blocks that appear to be tipping out were damaged before we installed the braces, in fact the blocks may appear to be tipping out but the wall actually moved inward. This is why they called us to begin with. If the wall were actually moving at this point then we would stand behind our warranty, it is not however so there is nothing for us to do, If the blocks are tuckpointed that would actually stop the braces from having the potential of pushing the wall back (which they are not guaranteed to do, but they have the potential to do so). If she wants them tuckpointed she can contact a local mason contractor to do so. I do not feel as though this repair should be the responsibility of TMS.

Thank you,

**** M. *****
President

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mud Jacking Contractors, Basement Waterproofing, Concrete Contractors, Foundation Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/23/1998Business started: 03/01/1998New Owner Date: 01/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Iowa Workforce Development
1000 E Grand Ave
Des Moines, IA 50319-1020
(515) 281-5736
http://www.iowaworkforce.org/

BBB records show a license number of C120807 for this company, issued by Iowa Workforce Development. Their web address is http://www.iowaworkforce.org/.

Type: Contractor Registration

Check License Status: Click Here

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2005, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Todd Heady (Owner)
Business Category

Mud Jacking Contractors, Basement Waterproofing, Concrete Contractors, Foundation Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers concrete raising and repair.They also do waterproofing and foundation repair.

Alternate Business Names
Bi-State Mudjacking Service
Industry Tips
Contracts
Home Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Todd's Mudjacking Service, Inc. has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Todd's Mudjacking Service, Inc.

1801 1st Ave

Silvis, IL 61282-1016

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1801 1st Ave 

    Silvis, IL 61282-1016(309) 792-0252
    (800) 796-1463
    Fax: (309) 792-0279

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Des Moines, IA. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Todd's Mudjacking Service, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 796-1463
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 14, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Mud Jacking Contractors

Contracts
Home Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.