BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/08/2002

J & P Cycles LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 397-4844Fax: (319) 462-6022View Additional Phone Numbers13225 Circle Dr, AnamosaIA 52205-7321 Send email to J & P Cycles LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/08/2002

BBB has determined that J & P Cycles LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised J & P Cycles LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues7
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues5
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Total Closed Complaints 23

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (23)BBB Closure Definitions
07/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service estimate or agreement

Complaint: I purchased a Gold Card Membership with J&P Cycles for $40.00. When I try to use the discount I can't because it is not listed on my account.
I purchased a Gold Card Discount to save myself money, but I am not receiving the discount when I try to order stuff on their website. I paid for this service on or around May 25th 2014. I have contacted them twice on two separate occasions about two weeks apart and they said they would correct the problem, THEY HAVE NOT! As far as I'm concerned I keep getting the runaround. My account number is suppose to be XXXXXXXX, but is still listed as XXXXXXXXXX, and they won't merge the two so I'm left paying full price when I should be paying a discounted price.

Initial Business Response
Customer had two accounts we merged the accounts and double checked to ensure that this was resolved. Customer was contacted and informed.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Advertising Complaint Issue

Complaint: COmpany keeps sending catalog after requesting to stop
I have asked this company to stop sending catalogs to my address. The catalogs is under another person names that have no ties to my address. Every time I contact them I provided a customer # from the catalog a they assure they would stop. I have contacted on this issue 4 times at least and nothing has been done nor have lied that the catalog would be stopped. The catalog come under the name **** ****** customer #XXXXXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
The catalog were being sent to the previous resident at the address, we have designated that account to no longer receive catalogs.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/11/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: I placed my order Number: WXXXXXXXXXXX at J&P Cycles Last week.But Package lost by J&P Cycles.I never received the order.Called J&P Cycles about it.
Order number WXXXXXXXXXXX lost by J&P Cycles.Called J&P Cycles many times.Problem still not resolved.Very frustrating about J&P Cycles customer service.

Initial Business Response
After talking to the customer we have communicated the expectation to the customer that they should file a police report. As soon as we get the report we can replace the part.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have already discussed this situation. My local authorities said that the amount is too small.Said that I should file a claim to ups or J&P Cycles. So I can not provide that police report.Please fix this issue for me ASAP. Thank you

Final Business Response
Mr *** called us once,package was delivered to the address in question, customer states it's his home, however, it's appears to be a business. Asked customer to submit us with a copy of a police report, customer states that he was informed by police that because the item is valued at $399 and it's to small an amount to file a report. We've attempted to phone Mr. *** and the phone number is invalid. We'll email him and see if he calls us and reiterate the need for a police report.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/12/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Delivery Complaint Issue

Complaint: A premium was paid for next day shipping and my package arrived on 3rd day. No shipping cost adjustment from J&P offered.
On Friday October 11, 2013 I placed an order for an item from J&P Cycles website. Here are the order details:

Order Number: WXXXXXXXXXXX
Shipping Method: UPS 1-DAY AIR
Date Ordered: 10/11/2013
Date Shipped: 10/11/2013

I needed the item to arrive on the next day, which was Saturday, October 12. I selected next day air shipping option from the drop down menu on J&P's website. The cost associated with this expedited shipping was $34.99.

I immediately sent an email to J&P's Customer Service asking for them to confirm that the item would arrive on schedule. To my disappointment, ******* from J&P's Customer Service notified me that I wouldn't receive my item until Monday October 14. At this point I called Customer Service to attempt cancelling the order but according to them it was too late.

I then emailed ******* back to explain to her how misleading this shipping option was. She then replied to my email and copied & pasted an expected delivery estimate that supposedly should have been view-able when I placed the order. I had no recollection of this verbiage which prompted me to immediately go back to their website and retrace my steps. The fact is that my screen did NOT look the same as her copy and paste did. I emailed her back an explanation along with my screen shot as proof.

At this point I explained that I wasn't looking for anything for free and understood that I'm responsible for some level of shipping. I just didn't feel that I should have to pay for premium shipping when I would be receiving my package in standard shipping time. At this point I also asked for my email to be forwarded to a manager for review.

In my next response from ******* I was told that I would get no refunds. She also attempted to send me another screen shot which didn't come through.

At this point I explained to her that in my opinion we were not getting anywhere. I expressed to her that I have provided sufficient documentation to support my dispute, I offered to pay for a portion of the shipping, and explained that my dispute wasn't forwarded to a manager like I had asked. I also stated that this would be the last time she would be dealing with me directly.

In response, I received an email from ****** ******* who is a J&P Customer Service Supervisor. Here is her response:
Dear ***** *******,

Thank you for your business. I have reviewed your emails between yourself and *******. Your order was placed after midnight on 10/11/13 and since that is a Friday, according to web order and UPS policy, was scheduled for delivery on the next business day, which was Monday. I am sorry if you do not agree with this but it does cost extra for Saturday Delivery and Saturday is not considered a business day.

When you placed your order the shipping options should have looked like this:

$7.99 - Standard Ground Shipping
$17.99 - 3 Day Select - Get it Wednesday if ordered by 5:45 PM US Central Time
$20.99 - Second Day Air - Get it Tuesday if ordered by 5:45 PM US Central Time
$34.99 - UPS Next Day Air - Get it Monday if ordered by 5:45 PM US Central Time

Since you have received this service and it was delivered on the designated business day, a discount or refund will not be given. If you have any questions or need additional information, please don't hesitate to contact us. You may reply to this message or call us at 800-397-4844.


Thank you,
****** *******
Customer Service Supervisor
J&P Cycles
X (XXX) XXX-XXXX ext ****
Or Visit us Online at: http://www.jpcycles.com
Keeping the world on two wheels!

I have documentation proving that the shipping information does NOT match what ******* or ****** are claiming appears on my screen when placing an online order. I also want to make clear that I was never given options, like ****** speaks of, for Saturday delivery. If I was, I would have chosen it!

To be transparent, I can provide you with our entire chain of email correspondence.

Business Response
We will refund Mr. ******* the $34.99 for shipping, we tried serveral times to reach him but no answer, we did leave him a voice mail informing him.


Consumer Response
On Thursday Oct. 17 at 2:54 pm I received a voice mail from ****** from J&P Cycles explaining that I would be receiving a refund for the full shipping amount of $34.99. In her voice mail she also explained that the refund would take 24-48 business hours. I just received my credit card statement and there is NO refund posted. I'm no longer dealing directly with J&P so I'm not sure how to proceed. Can you please advise as to what the next steps are. Thank you for your help and time with this case. I really appreciate it. Unfortunately, nothing ever seems to be what it's supposed to be with J&P Cycles.

Sincerely,
***** *******


Business Response
Mr. ******* is correct we're in error, the refund unfortunately was not processed, It has been push through and he should see it within the next 24-48 hours. I called him and left him a message.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: I was promised by customer service that I would be able to exchange a small helmet for a large helmet. Now, they refuse to honor that promise.
On 8/20/13, I sent the below email to J.P. Cycles customer service department:

"On 8/19/13 at 1:26pm I spoke to someone from customer service about returning the small helmet I ordered in exchange for a large helmet. My phone call took a total of 8 minutes and 3 seconds. I explained to your rep that I had purchased the helmet on sale for $140.00 rather than the regular price of $399.99. She put me on hold while she checked to see if you could do an even exchange for the large. When she came back on the line, she said that it would not be a problem to change out the small for the large at the $140.00 price. Today, I had some issues with your instructions for returns so I called customer service back to ask for clarification on how to do the return. During our conversation, I explained what we were doing. This time, I was told that I could not do an even exchange and that I would have to pay the difference between the $140.00 and $399.99. When I told the rep that I had been told differently, she said you had some new people on the floor who may have told me wrong. She insisted that you could not do an even exchange. When I called yesterday, your message said that my phone call may be recorded. Since the rep might have been new (I don't know for sure.) I would ask you to check your recordings to see if you have a recording of my conversation with your rep. Then I would ask you to honor what I was told yesterday. It is not fair for you to tell me one thing one day and something else the next day."

On 8/21/13, I received the following reply from ****** in J. P Cycle's Customer Service:

"Thank you for your business. We have reviewed your purchase and the notes on the account. Even though the agent that you were talking to on 8/19 had told you that it would be no problem, we may have had a Large on clearance at that time but no longer. I have checked the helmets in questions and we have no more on clearance. If you are wanting the Large helmet it will be at the price of $399.99 minus the cost that you paid for the Small helmet of $140.38.

We are sorry for the confusion around our clearance items but once they are gone, we can no longer offer the rest of the stock for the same deep discount as the clearance items. If you have any questions or need additional information, please don't hesitate to contact us. You may reply to this message or call us at XXX-XXX-XXXX."

From the response that states "the agent that you were talking to on 8/19 had told you that it would be no problem," it is apparent that J.P. Cycles acknowledges that the agent approved the exchange at the clearance price. In fact, the agent only approved that exchange of the small helmet for a large helmet at the clearance price after she checked and verified that they did have a large size in stock at the clearance price. She placed me on hold and verified that I could swap the small helmet for a large helmet at the clearance price AND that they indeed had a "large" helmet in stock. After verifying this and approving the exchange, she did not say anything about the possibility that the large helmet would sell out at that price before my return was received. If she had mentioned that, I would have ordered the large at that time and waited for a credit on the small one. I feel that she committed the company by her words. She is their representative, and the company should stand behind what she told me. If a mistake was made, it was their company's mistake, not mine. It is not fair to change their mind the next day and throw the responsibility for correcting the error on me. After getting no results from customer service, I have mailed two letters to the president, **** ******, and received no response.

Initial Business Response
We contacted the customer and offered to give him an exchange for the large helmet at slighty above our cost. Customer was fine with it he paid a difference of $85 instead of $200.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 5
01/25/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/22/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Motorcycles - Supplies & Parts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/08/2002Business started: 01/01/1979
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Zach Parham (Vice President General Manager)Customer Contact: Richard Brecht (Director of Contact Center Operations) Joseph Martinez (Contact Center Operations Manager)
Business Category

Motorcycles - Supplies & Parts

Products & Services

This company is a motorcycle dealership offering the sales and service of new and used Harley Davidsons and Metric Cruisers with a large parts and accessories department.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for J & P Cycles LLC

13225 Circle Dr

Anamosa, IA 52205-7321

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 13225 Circle Dr 

    Anamosa, IA 52205-7321(319) 462-4817
    (800) 397-4844
    (319) 462-6469

  • PO Box 138 

    Anamosa, IA 52205-0138

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Des Moines, IA. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*J & P Cycles LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (319) 462-4817
  • (319) 462-6469
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 14, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Motorcycles - Supplies & Parts

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.