BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Pella Corporation (Headquarters)

Phone: (641) 621-1000

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

99 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 33 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues14
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues17
Problems with Product / Service66
Total Closed Complaints99

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (99)
03/24/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pella failed to follow through on scheduled appointment (3/18/16) to assess/repair panels fogging up in patio door leading from master bedroom.
Re: Ticket #XXXXXX-XXXXXX

I initially contacted Pella **************** (XXX-XXX-XXXX) and spoke with Lucia (?) on 2/29/16. I was told someone would contact me with 3-5 business days to assess the situation. My glass panels are under a 20-year glass warranty. On 3/3/16 I again called Pella since nobody had called me. I spoke with ******* (?) and was given the phone number to the Service Desk (XXX-XXX-XXXX). On 3/7/16, I called the Service Desk and spoke with ******* (?) and was told that someone would be out on 3/18/16 to check out the situation. On 3/17/16, I called the Service Desk and spoke with Dave (?) who informed me for the first time that the appointment for 3/18/16 had been changed to 4/21/16! Also, this was the first time that anybody had given me a ticket number!

Desired Settlement
Replaced the panels with new ones to prevent fogging within the next 3-5 business days!!!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ******** ******* ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********
We apologize for the scheduling mix up, currently we are looking into how this happened so it doesn't repeat in the future. We value all of our Pella customers and appreciate their business and loyalty. We were able to have a service technician visit Mr. ***** to inspect and address his concerns. We found that at this time there is no product issue. At this time there are no replacement parts needed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Pella responded in a timely fashion and corrected the issue.

02/22/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Only the core of the door is replaced.The warranty states that it will repair or replace without charge.
I purchased two pella Storm doors from lowe's on 6/3/06. The doors are under warranty for 20 years.
I paid 595.15 plus300.00 for labor. The doors are peeling and buckleling both inside and out.
Pella will send a replacement door ( minus the glass/ screen inserts, hardware, zbars and ezpanders) for a $30 fee for each door. The warranty states that I am responsible for transporting the doors to the nearest pella dealer but nothing about rebuilding the doors.
I will cost me more to hire someone to do this than to buy new doors.

Desired Settlement
If pella wants to reuse all the parts on the door, they should remove them from the old doors and place them on the new doors. I will bring the doors to a pella dealer as the warranty states or I need some reimbursement for this damage.

Business Response
I reached out to our customer, ***** ********** on February 17, 2016. We discussed the warranty of the product and what parts would come with the warranty doors. We waived the $30.00 fee for each door and explained the glass and screen inserts will come with the doors. We are sending 2 hardware kits out because her original ones are worn. The customer has agreed to this.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Pella has agreed to send new doors with the window installed and send new hardware. They have also agreed to waive the processing fee.

12/21/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A custom Pella Door was ordered from Lowes and arrived with major scratches and damage
The door arrived with scratches (in August)on the aluminum clad. Pella indicated to install the door and they would repair and make a refund after the repairs were made. The repair person arrived and indicated he could not replace the panel and painted the scratches with non matching paint (in October). I was then told by Pella that they would reimburse $1000 and by Lowes that they would reimburse an additional $500 for a total of $1500. Lowes provided the $500 but Pella is now claiming they will only reimburse $500. I have missed 3 days from work to deal with the door issue. At one point, we were left with a hole in our home for two weeks while on vacation.

Desired Settlement
The door and Install cost was $3000. Lowes offered $500 refund and Pella offered $1000 reimbursement. Now that the door is installed, Pella is only offering $500.

Business Response
December 16, 2015


***** *******
Better Business Bureau
2625 Beaver Ave.
Des Moines, IA 50310

RE: Case # ******** ****** *****

Dear Ms. ********

Thank you for your recent letter dated December 7, 2015. We appreciate the opportunity to further address Mr. *****'s concerns regarding PO # XXXXXXXX.

Pella Corporation continually strives to manufacture quality products and complement them with a superior customer service experience. We regret to learn of the difficulties Mr. ***** encountered with the finish of his ProLine hinged patio door.

As a customer service gesture, Pella Corporation has offered to provide the customer with compensation in the amount of $1,000. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the length of time it has taken to process this request. This credit has been approved and is currently being processed by our finance department. Once the check has been printed, it will be mailed to Mr. *****'s home address.

Thank you for reviewing this information. If you have any further questions, please let me know.

Sincerely,

***** ******* ********
National Account Sales Specialist
Pella Corporation


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I began the process with Pella in August. Although I am not happy nor satisfied with the outcome, I accepted the offer as I do not want to go through another door install. Pella has poor customer service practices especially when they provide a defective product. I will never purchase from Pella again and would advise everyone interested to consider their customer service. I had to argue and threaten to have my charge card repeal the entire order and send the door back for a refund accepting a defective door. It took over a month to speak with a representative from the company above the,local sales rep which was not willing to make any concessions.
After reaching consensus, it was the Bbb complaint that finally occurred before I received a reimbursement check, over 3 weeks after the last phone conversation. This is very poor business practice.

10/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Extremely poor service from Pella - no relief for wrong door product/color, and terrible workmanship - nearly $8,000 down the drain.
My husband and I purchased a new set of double front doors for our home. We purchased the high end doors (nearly $8,000) but received low end products and service. The color that arrived was completely wrong. Pella said it was the "right" color but that they'd "do us a favor" by staining it on site to the "correct" color. Yes, that is what was said! The stain job was horrible - peeling, scratching off and showing the old color. It also voided the warranty! Our beautiful new doors are ruined. We asked Pella repeatedly to make this right. They refused by holding onto their original excuse that we "received the right color/product." This is absolutely false. The mind games they are playing with us are distressing. We looked into hiring an attorney. Unfortunately, litigation will cost use more than the price of the doors. We tried working with them repeatedly. We tried sending a very nice letter from our attorney (no threat to sue - not that we can, and I think Pella knows that). Instead we get a distressing letter back from Pella stating they will not resolve this matter. We have no other choice than to tell the world about our bad experience Pella. And we most certainly will - to anyone who will listen.

Desired Settlement
The doors on our house are ruined. We want the doors we ordered, in the color we ordered, installed correctly, with warranty intact, as per our original contract. All this without any additional charges. We have already paid for the product. We should not be charged more for receiving the product we should have received from the beginning. Also, please do this without any more mind games.

We received a letter from Pella yesterday (14 Sep) via our attorney stating they (Pella) refuse to honor our request to make this right. Pella states we received the product we ordered. The Pella mind games continue. We strongly disagree, hence this BBB report. We want simply for them to make this right (give us the right doors, in the right color, installed correctly, with the warranty intact - that we already paid a lot of money for) without additional charges, and without the distressing mind games. Why is that so hard?

Business Response
September 23, 2015



***** *******
Better Business Bureau
2625 Beaver Avenue
Des Moines, IA XXXXX

RE: Case # ********* ******* ******

Dear Ms. ********

Thank you for your letter dated September 17, 2015. We appreciate the opportunity to address Ms. ******'s concerns.

After receipt of your letter, I contacted Pella Windows & Doors to further review this matter. Earlier in September, we received and responded to a letter from the ******'s attorney. In our response to the ******'s attorney, we confirmed that Pella Corporation reviewed photos of the original finish and determined there were within tolerance of our manufacturing guidelines for special walnut.

As a gesture of goodwill, we are willing to order a replacement door panel in a different stain color at no charge to the ******'s. The door will be ordered with an exterior finish of dark mahogany. Further, Pella Windows & Doors is willing to install the replacement panels as an additional **************** gesture. If that is agreeable to the ******'s, we request they contact Mr. ******* ******* of Pella Windows & Doors at XXX-XXX-XXXX and he will proceed with entering a replacement order.

Thank you again for the opportunity to address this matter. If I can be of any further assistance, please let me know.

Sincerely,

********* *******
Customer Support Specialist
Pella Corporation


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I thank you for your quick response. For the record, just to clarify this is a double door entry, so it requires two panels as the Pella response indicated a single panel. If this was a typo and Pella is prepared to replace both panels, then I find this response satisfactory. If the replacement of both panels was not the intent, then I do not find the response satisfactory. I will need clarification on this matter before proceeding any further.

Final Business Response
October 13, 2015


***** *******
Better Business Bureau
2625 Beaver Ave.
Des Moines, IA 50310

RE: Case # XXXXXXXX ******* ******

Dear Ms. ********

Thank you for your follow up letter dated September 28, 2015. We appreciate the opportunity to further address Ms. ******'s concerns.

The offer to provide replacement panel in a different stain color at no charge included both panels. I apologize this was not clearly outlined in my previous response.

If that the ******* accept this offer, we request they contact Mr. ******* ******* of Pella Windows & Doors at XXX-XXX-XXXX and he will proceed with entering a replacement order.

Thank you for reviewing this information. If you have any further questions, please let me know.

Sincerely,

********* *******
Customer Support Specialist
Pella Corporation


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Pella has finally agreed to deliver the product and services we originally ordered. We look forward to resolving this matter.

05/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Door frame damaged. Frame is not balance.
One time, Lowes guy came to to re-balance the door frame, then two times Pella guys came to re-balance the door frame. I spoke with ***** ***** (Incident # XXXXXX-XXXXXX. ***** blame Lowes and Lowes blame Pella. they avoided to solve this matter. I spent almost $6,000 for the door.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund since it has not been solved. or replace it full. Thanks.

Business Response
***** *******
Better Business Bureau
2625 Beaver Avenue
Des Moines, IA XXXXX

RE: Case # ********* ***** ******

Dear Ms. ********

Thank you for your letter dated March 26, 2015. We appreciate the opportunity to address Mr. ******'s concerns.

After receiving your letter, I contacted the sales representative, Mr. *** ******** as well as the local service center to further review this matter. According to the information I received from the notes from service, they are willing to either repair or replace the Architect Series(r) hinged door in Mr. ******'s home. Once a resolution has been determined, we will be in further contact with Mr. ****** to schedule a date for follow up.

Thank you again for the opportunity to address this matter.

Sincerely,

***** *****
National Account Sales Specialist
Pella Corporation


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Multi times, i contacted Pella, they said they or Lowes will contact me again again again. I dont believe their words. it's over few months already. see the attahced of the pictures. thanks.

Final Business Response
April 23, 2015



***** *******
Better Business Bureau
2625 Beaver Avenue
Des Moines, IA XXXXX

RE: Case # ********* ***** ******

Dear Ms. ********

Thank you for your recent letter dated April 13, 2015. We appreciate the opportunity to further address Mr. ******'s concerns.

I have spoken to Mr. *** ******* who is the sales representative for Lowe's regarding Mr. ******'s Architect Series hinged door. According to the notes from the service technicians, they made adjustments to the door. Due to the framing of the wall, it limited the adjustments they were able to complete. The screws that were used during installation were also limited and it caused the sagging of the door panels.

I understand that currently, Mr. ******* is working with the Lowe's Install Sales Department. They will attempt to uninstall and reinstall the door. If this does not address the existing concerns, they will place an order for a new door. Additionally, Lowe's attempted to relay this information to Mr. ****** on April 20 but were unsuccessful in reaching him.

Thank you for reviewing this information. If I can be of any further assistance, please let me know.

Sincerely,

***** *****
National Account Sales Specialist
Pella Corporation


Final Consumer Response
Hello *****,

Everything has been resolved. you may close the case. Thank you again.

*****

Page 1 of 3
06/20/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Issues with Warranty
I purchased a Pella Double Entry Fiberglass Door with the exclusive Advantage-plus protection system.The door was purchased on 8/2011. The door is fading on the outside. I called Lowe's where the door was purchases and was told there was no worries as the door is guaranteed against fading for 10 years. This was the prime reason why we purchased the door. When phoning Pella I was told that the door was warrantied for 2 years and that I was to perform maintenance on the door. When asked what maintenance I was told that I had to paint the door every 18 months and that this information could be found in the owner's manual. I explained I have all the paperwork regarding the door and I did not receive an owner's manual. I was told by the supervisor on the phone that it was my responsibility to phone Pella and ask for one. Lowe's was totally flawed by this response and claimed Pella is renegading on their warranty as it clearly states 10 year of paint defect.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking Pella to stand by their reputation and warranty and have a representative come and see how this problem can be fixed. Whether it be a repair or replacement.

Business Response

Thank you for your letter dated June 2, 2016. I am writing to address Ms. *******'s concerns.

Pella Corporation supports the products we manufacture with a written warranty. The warranty purchased with Ms. *******'s entry door provided coverage for a period of two-years for the factory finish. Therefore, this warranty coverage has expired as the door was purchased in 2011. We sincerely apologize if the information provided by Lowe's indicated otherwise. We recommend contacting the store where the product was purchased to address any questions regarding that information.

Pella Corporation recommends that doors are inspected at least annually as part of a home checkup. It is important to note that per the instructions outlined in the owner's manual, it is recommended that a homeowner inspect the condition of the finish at least once a year. UV rays from the sun can break down the paint/stain's finish and compromise its protective features. This, along with regular maintenance will prolong the life of a product and ensure maximum warranty coverage. It is important to note that both the warranty information and owner's manual are available on pella.com for review. If Ms. ******* has any specific finishing questions, we recommend that she contact a local finishing professional.

As the warranty coverage for the finish has expired, we respectfully decline to provide repair or replacement for her door. Thank you again for the opportunity to address Ms. *******'s concerns.

Sincerely,

***** ******* ********
National Account Sales & Support Specialist
Pella Corporation

06/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been having problems with my window since 2003 and pella refuses to help or stand behind their product. There was a lawsuit brought upon them
There was a lawsuit brought upon them in 2013 which they later settled with the plaintiff. I am beyond frustrated with PELLA it has been 13 years and I have mold growing in my window. I have children in the house and they dont care because right now we are 13 years out...

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to replace my window at no charge

Business Response
May 23, 2016



Thank you for your letter dated May 16, 2016. Below is a copy of the response sent to Ms. **** on May 13 regarding her concerns. If we can be of any further assistance, please let us know.



Dear Ms. ****:

Thank you for your post on Pella Corporation's Facebook page and for your recent calls to our corporate office. I am writing to further address your additional comments regarding your 2001 vintage ProLine casement windows.

Pella Corporation continually strives to manufacture quality products and we support those products with a written warranty. As you may be aware, the warranty purchased with your products in 2001 provides coverage for 20 years on insulated glass seal-failure, ten-years on the remaining components, and labor for the first two-years after the date of purchase. When the warranty has expired, replacement parts and service are chargeable.

While we understand your frustration, for a claim to be covered, it must be reported within the terms of the warranty. As such, Pella Corporation is not in the position to provide replacement parts at no charge; however, it is my understanding the service team has provided a 45% discount on the replacement quote. Please note, this discount does not apply to any labor fees that may be assessed by Pella Windows & Doors of Monroe, CT.

If you have any additional questions or would like to take advantage of the discount, please feel free to contact the service team for Pella Windows & Doors of Monroe, CT. They may be reached by calling XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Please contact Plaintiff's Lead Class Counsel for more information on the litigation status as it pertains to the class action lawsuit related to ProLine(r) casement, awning, and transom windows.

Plaintiff's Lead Class Counsel representing the class are:

****** ** ******** ****** ** ****
******* ** ******* ****
******** ******* ********* ***** ***
******* ******* ******** ** XXXXX
******** ** XXXXX Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Telephone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Email: *************@att.net
Email: ***@cliffordlaw.com
***@cliffordlaw.com

Thank you for the opportunity to address your concerns.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Customer Support Specialist
Pella Corporation


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They are having me pay for a new window when this is there product that they supposedly stand behind! Please let me know if you would like a copy of the file history? They will also not let me speak with the CEO!

Final Business Response

Thank you for your recent follow up letter. We appreciate the opportunity to further address Ms. ****'s rebuttal.

As previously stated, the warranty purchased with her products in 2001 provides coverage for 20 years on insulated glass seal-failure, ten-years on the remaining components, and labor for the first two-years after the date of purchase. The warranty purchased with her products expired in 2011. Ms. ****'s claim was not reported within the terms of the warranty; therefore, all replacement parts and service is chargeable. Due to the expired status of the warranty, Pella Corporation supports the 45% discount for replacement parts which was provided by Pella Windows & Doors of ******* *** If Ms. **** would like to accept this offer, please contact Mr. **** by calling XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Ms. **** also mentioned trying to contact our CEO. We are sorry that she was not able to speak directly with our CEO; however, per the direction of our executives, the customer support specialist team has been empowered to work directly with our customers to address their concerns and to respond on behalf of Pella Corporation. We have the resources necessary (including engineers, legal representatives, product specialists, and service personnel) to work through any concern that is brought to our attention.

Again, we thank you for the opportunity to review Ms. ****'s additional comments.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Customer Support Specialist
Pella Corporation

06/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pella replacement windows not installed correctly.
In September 2015 we had 18 windows and a patio door replaced by Pella.

We immediately noticed cold air infiltration and drafts from the windows. We called Pella and they sent multiple people to the home to inspect. The inspection showed that it was not a product issue but could be an installation issue. All agreed there was a problem.

We ordered an energy audit at our expense to help troubleshoot the issue. The energy audit clearly shows a problem with the window installation.

We opened a support case with Pella - case number XXXXXX-XXXXXX. We sent the energy audit as well as pictures of the faulty installation and a timeline documenting the sequence of events and contacts.

Pella has not been responsive to our efforts to correct the problem. We are requesting that Pella properly install the windows or allow us to have them properly installed at Pella's expense.

Incident ************** - ***** - Timeline of events:

- September/October 2015: New Pella windows installed.
- October 2015: Notice traffic noises from outside were much louder.
- November 2015: Felt cold air infiltration through the windows/patio door.
- December 2015/January 2016: Ice and frost on inside of windows and patio door.
- January 2016: Contacted my sales rep, he came out, he felt there was nothing wrong, although he did agree the floors were cold. Suggested that I shovel the deck to help with the cold along that side of the house. He said ice and frost on the interior windows was normal and that I should use fans to help resolve this issue.
- January 2016: Pella technician came out to inspect the ice on the windows, he agreed there was a problem.
- January 2016: Escalated to Jason, he came out with 3 others to inspect the windows. Jason also felt the drafty cold floors. At this point there wasn't a question of whether or not there was cold air infiltration, but, rather how they were going to address the problem.
- January 2016: First attempt was to put caulk around the inside trim, that attempt did not work.
- February 2016: 2nd attempt was to remove all the interior trim and caulk any gaps in the foam insulation. A project manager was assigned this task but, did not complete it. He only removed one or two stripes of interior trim from two or three windows and aborted mission because he felt that caulking would not solve the problem. He was at our home for 6-7 hrs. He told us he was going to discuss this problem further with Jason and would get back to me in a day or 2. Over a week went by and still no call.
- March 2016: I called and left a message for Jason. Jason did not return my call. Instead, he had the project manager call me. I felt the PM was not the right person to resolve this unfinished problem. After another phone message to Jason, he returned my call. I asked him why the project mgr did not complete the task and he had no explanation other than he felt that our problem could be due to the fact that we do not have house wrap on our home.
- March 2016: Pella had no further solutions for my drafty windows and there has been no further contact from them.
- March 2016: I ordered an energy audit.
- March 2016: I contacted Pella corporate office, they opened a case. I sent pictures of ice on windows, sent energy audit results, included emails from ***** and ***** and sent timeline of events.
- March 2016: Approx 3rd week in March I called ******** to see if she had everything she needed to try and resolve this problem. She did and would get back to me the following week. No reply from ********, so I called her (April 1, 2016) She said she would get back to me the following week and again, no reply.
- April 7, 2016: I called ********, she said the problem was the branch was not returning her calls. I said please refund my money.
- April 9, 2016: File complaint with The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection - 6bccXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.
- April 9, 2016: File complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

Desired Settlement
We have obtained an estimate from another company on what it will take to correct the problem.

The response has been to remove all trim from the windows and reseal them. They also have stated that the siding around the windows must be removed in order to inspect the exterior flashing/sealing of the windows. If flashing needs to be corrected or installed the entire window must be removed and reinstalled to correct it.

We are requesting that Pella either perform the above recommendation to our satisfaction (which might include another energy audit to validate that they did the job correctly) or pay for us to have this done.

We would also be willing to accept a full refund from Pella if they feel this would be a lower cost option.

Business Response
A
Thank you for your letter dated April 12, 2016. We appreciate the opportunity to address Ms. *****'s concerns.

After receipt of your letter and Ms. *****'s request, I reviewed the information regarding order 780SQX808 for Pella 250 Series products as well as the test reports provided. It is important to note that as the manufacturer, Pella Corporation does not provide installation services or provide warranty coverage for concerns related to installation. The local Pella Windows and Doors stores, such as Ver Halen, Inc., provide installation services.

In reviewing the testing information, the blower report was incomplete and therefore inconclusive. Some of the information not included with the report:

Information that identified the pressure differential between the interior of the home and the exterior
What the overall air changes were
What the exterior and interior conditions were

The thermal imaging views show temperature differences only. Further, windows and doors are always the coldest part of a wall. A typical new wall construction has approximately an R-20 rating with window locations rated at R-4. Windows will transmit heat better which results in them being colder in winter and warmer in summer. In addition, all operable windows will allow for some air infiltration. If it is cold outside, incoming cold air will tend to cool the surfaces that it makes contact with which again reinforces that the windows will be the coldest surface in the wall construction.

In very cold weather, such as was experienced this year in many regions like Wisconsin, condensation can turn into frost. Condensation occurs whenever a surface is colder than the dew point of the surrounding air and is usually the first sign of excessive indoor humidity. Please note, condensation related to high in-home humidity is not considered to be a product defect since it is an environmental issue.

After thoroughly reviewing this matter, Pella Corporation respectfully declines to provide monetary reimbursement to Ms. *****. We support the actions of Ver Halen, Inc. including their proposal to remediate the installation concerns.

Their remediation proposal is as follows:

Remove interior stops, assess and fill with foam in any voids. Back caulk stops, and reinstall.
Remove all exterior cladding and fill any foam voids, then reinstall cladding
Offer to reimburse the customer the invoice charge for the testing by Energy Audit Company

We recommend that Ms. ***** continue to work with Mr. Jason Matthews who is the installation manager for Ver Halen, Inc. He is in the best position to address any remaining concerns and will help achieve a final resolution in this matter. Mr. Matthews can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Thank you again for contacting Pella Corporation.

Sincerely,


***** *******
Customer Support Specialist
Pella Corporation



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We do not accept the response from the business for the following reasons:

We are interested in obtaining a complete and comprehensive test that will include the following factors stated to be missing by Pella:

1. Information that identifies the pressure differential between the interior of the home and the exterior.
2. What the overall air changes were.
3. What the exterior and interior conditions were.

We are requesting that Pella supply us with a credible contact of their choosing that will perform the energy audit in such a manner that satisfies this request and complies with Pella's requirements for the information needed.

We are confident that any additional testing that is performed will show that an unacceptable amount of air infiltration is occurring with our Pella windows.

Kindest regards,

***** and **** *****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)


Thank you for your email dated May 27, 2016. As previously stated we remain firm in our position regarding the faulty installation coordinated and provided by Pella Corporation.

We understand Pella Corporation's contention that this issue is not their problem; rather Ver Halen, Inc., however, we disagree with Pella's attempt to shift all responsibility to Ver Halen, Inc. We had no choice in selecting Ver Halen, Inc. to provide the installation services. This was fully Pella's decision to do so and therefore we believe the responsibility is at least shared.

With regards to Pella's statement that a miscommunication occurred regarding the fact that Pella does not provide installation or coordinate installation services, we can only rely upon the specific statement made in the detailed contract as follows: "This agreement is made by and between Ver Halen, Inc. ("Pella") and Buyer". Also, the business establishment we visited and selected our windows from; the salesperson (including the salesperson's automobile); all other involved parties (including the installation team); business cards and even the sign placed on the front lawn during installation read and made exclusive reference to "Pella Corporation". Clearly, as a consumer relying upon the expertise and reputation of Pella Corporation, "miscommunication" is an unanticipated and confusing term.

With regards to Pella Corporation's encouragement that we continue to work with Ver Halen, Inc., we want to be very clear that, that is precisely what we are doing. Our efforts to resolve this issue is now reaching month six. We are understandably concerned that neither Pella Corporation nor Ver Halen, Inc. is committed to achieving a resolution to this matter.

Respectfully, we do not consider this matter closed and will continue to pursue a satisfactory resolution to the incomplete and faulty installation of our Pella windows.

Thank you for all of your time spent helping remediate this issue.

Sincerely,

***** and **** *****

Final Business Response
June 7, 2016




Please refer to my previous reply from May 26, 2016. The information included serves as Pella Corporation's final response to Ms. *****'s request.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Customer Support Specialist
Pella Corporation

05/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pella Proline casement windows wood rots
My house was brand new and included Pella Proline casement windows back in 2003 In 2010 a bunch of my windows were rotting. Pella came out and replaced 10 of them under warranty. Now in 2016, more are rotting, but now they are out of warranty, so Pella wants me to pay labor and replacement costs for all the new batch that are rotting. I think the product is defective and should be replaced for free, even though it is out of warranty.

Desired Settlement
If the product is defective - it should be replaced at no cost to me.

Business Response

May 11, 2016




Thank you for your recent letter dated April 28, 2016. We appreciate the opportunity to further address Mr. ***'s concerns.

Pella Corporation continually strives to manufacture quality products and we support those products with a written warranty. As you may be aware, the warranty purchased with your products in February 2003 provides coverage for 20 years on insulated glass seal-failure, ten-years on the remaining components, and labor for the first two-years after the date of sale.

Due to the expired status of your warranty, Pella Corporation is not in the position to provide replacement products at no charge; however, it is my understanding the service team has been in contact with Mr. *** and provided a discount on their replacement quote. As this offer goes beyond the terms of the warranty, Pella Corporation supports the discount offered by Pella Windows & Doors, Inc.

If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact the service team for Pella Windows & Doors, Inc. They may be reached by calling XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Thank you for reviewing this information. If you have any further questions, please let me know.

Sincerely,

**** ******
Customer Support Specialist
Pella Corporation

05/17/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Reimbursement of post installation fees, excessive time and loss of compensation, caused by faulty product.
A Word document and detailed Excel spreadsheet accompany details of this claim, detail exceeds limit of this complaint entry box.

I am requesting a compensatory reimbursement of $3300.00 excess product installation and rework.

Desired Settlement
Compensatory reimbursement of $3300.00.

Business Response
May 5, 2016


***** *******
Better Business Bureau
2625 Beaver Ave.
Des Moines, IA 50310

RE: Case # ******** **** ****

Dear Ms. ********

Thank you for your recent letter dated April 25, 2016. I am sorry to learn of the difficulties Mr. **** encountered with the installation performed by Lowe's and apologize for the frustration caused by the delays he experienced.

Pella Corporation does not provide installation services nor do we provide warranty coverage for the installation performed by Lowe's; however, I have been in contact with Mr. **** to discuss his concerns and review his request for compensation. As a customer service gesture, I have agreed to provide compensation in the amount of $1,100. It is my understanding that Mr. **** will contact Lowe's to pursue the remaining balance of his compensation request.

Thank you for reviewing this information. If you have any further questions, please let me know.

Sincerely,

**** ******
National Account Sales Specialist
Pella Corporation

Page 1 of 18

Industry Comparison| Chart

Manufacturers & Producers, Windows, Doors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.