BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1980

Kaldenberg's PBS Landscaping and Lawn Care

Phone: (515) 278-1118Fax: (515) 278-51555555 NW Beaver Dr, JohnstonIA 50131-1339 Send email to Kaldenberg's PBS Landscaping and Lawn Care

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1980

BBB has determined that Kaldenberg's PBS Landscaping and Lawn Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Kaldenberg's PBS Landscaping and Lawn Care's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Kaldenberg's PBS Landscaping and Lawn Care

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/23/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Upgraded to trees that were replaced last year, spending almost $600 more. Those trees also died, but were told that they would not be replaced.
We purchased two red bud trees in June 2012. Both of those trees died. We upgraded to spaded trees in June of 2013. Those trees were $425 a piece minus the credit that we were given for the previous trees. We spent another $563 to upgrade to those trees, being told that the trees would not even be affected by moving them. Both of those trees also died. When I contacted **** ********** he said that the guarantee was not on those trees since we made the decision to upgrade them. Previously, when I had contacted him he was going to replace the trees until I mentioned that we had upgraded from the trees that died before. My complaint is that first we were not told that these trees would not be guaranteed when we decided to upgrade to the spaded trees. My second complaint is that the a guarantee was stapled to our receipt and the sales girl told us to keep the receipt and guarantee so we were under the assumption that the new trees were guaranteed. I would understand if we had replaced the trees with and even trade. However, we spent close to another $600 (including tax) for the upgrade. I feel that since we upgraded to a better tree, then those should have also been guaranteed or at least the extra money that we spent should be refunded. As of now we are out close to $850 and no trees. We were misled when we upgraded to those trees.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have the trees replaced or refunded the extra money that we spent on the upgrade.

Business Response
we did honor the guarantee. I will attach the guarantee sheet given to customers. But it clearly states that the guarantee is "for 1 replacement or store credit if not in stock" by upgrading trees and using the guarantee credit that was the homeowners choice. they chose to apply there guarantee towards the purchase of larger trees. they still got there guarantee when they were able to purchase the larger trees at a discount. I do not see how I have not honored the gurantee. they were given credit and the warranty sheet clearly says "1" replacement. part of the extra cost was for the tree spading or labor to install the tree. the warranty sheet clearly states LABOR TO REPLACE IS NOT GUARANTEED. So the $563 that the homeowner is saying that spent on upgrades is not correct. $370 of this was for the labor which is never guaranteed.

The homeowner is stating I was going to replace them until she told me that had been replaced again. That is why the customers have to bring in their receipt so we can see when they were purchased. At first she made me believe these trees were "first" purchased in 2013. that was not true they were purchased in 2012 and replaced under warranty in 2013. Once she told me that on the phone I informed her of the policy. that is when she got upset. but again you can see I always honor our guarantee. I was willing to replace them had they been purchased at full price in 2013. but they were not.

the warranty also states that the guarantee is void due to owner negligence. I find it very hard to believe that this homeowner who lost 2 trees, those trees were replaced and those also died, maintained the trees like they were given instructions. all of our customers get a plant care sheet. but for all the trees to keep dying makes me believe the homeowner failed to maintain the trees in the first place. it was very dry last year and if they did not water them, then they would die.

bottom line, I DID GUARANTEE, the original trees bought in 2012. I gave the homeowner credit for new trees. she chose to apply that credit to larger trees. labor is never included in guarantee and she is claiming that should also be reimbursed. now she is asking me to replace the already replaced trees. I honored the guarantee per our store policy and the homeowner was well aware of the 1 time replacement.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Landscape Contractors, Lawn Maintenance, Garden Centers, Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 03/01/1980Business started: 02/01/1969New Owner Date: 03/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Iowa Workforce Development
1000 E Grand Ave
Des Moines, IA 50319-1020
(515) 281-5736

BBB records show a license number of C110099 for this company, issued by Iowa Workforce Development. Their web address is

Type: Contractor Registration

Check License Status: Click Here

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: February 2003, IA

Contact Information
Principal: Matt Kaldenberg (Owner)
Business Category

Landscape Contractors, Lawn Maintenance, Garden Centers, Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems

Products & Services

The company offers full service lawn and landscaping design, products and services.

Alternate Business Names
Kaldenberg Landscaping Inc
Industry Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Kaldenberg's PBS Landscaping and Lawn Care

5555 NW Beaver Dr

Johnston, IA 50131-1339

To | From


1 Locations

  • 5555 NW Beaver Dr 

    Johnston, IA 50131-1339(515) 278-1118
    Fax: (515) 278-5155

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Des Moines, IA. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Kaldenberg's PBS Landscaping and Lawn Care is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 14, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Landscape Contractors


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.