BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1955

FBL Financial Group Inc (Headquarters)

Phone: (515) 225-5400Fax: (515) 225-6587

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues5
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service10
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints18

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (18)
06/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I carried both home owners and auto insurance with Farm Bureau with Mr. ** ** ****** at *** *** **** in ********** ** XXXXX. When I switched carriers and signed to have my insurance canceled months ago I received a email that said it would be processed. I have still not received my refund of my policy which should have been paid in full for both policies. I have not had returned phoned calls after leaving messages and my new insurance company has contacted them as well to try to help me get a refund. They have been unsuccessful as well. I have made several attempts with several people with in the company and still after almost 4 months have not received a refund! THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE FOR ALMOST $3000.00 IN REFUNDS!! It has caused my house payment to go up because of the lack of escrow funds that should have been returned from Farm Bureau!
Product_Or_Service: home owner and auto insurance

Desired Settlement
I want my FULL REFUND NOW!!! I am disappointed with their business and would like them to pay the additional escrow back to me since I have been waiting, it is $135 for each month and now has been 4 months as of June 1st it will be 5 months! There is no reason why this should take this long they recieved the faxed documents and I can retrieve copies from my current insurance company as proof. ** does not require me to sign another form for them at any point!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ***** Director
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@fbfs.com
In order for Farm Bureau to cancel, backdate and refund this policy, we require appropriate signatures and documentation from our former client-member, Mr. ******* We have made several attempts via email, USPS, phone and text messaging in order to have Mr. ****** complete and return this form, but so far we still have no response from Mr. ******* Our agent, ****** ******* is continuing to attempt appropriate contact in order to secure this executed form, and he has been promised by Mr. Berger that it will be taken care of. We will certainly backdate the refund, once we receive the properly executed cancellation form from Mr. Berger. Thank you for your interest and concern. *** Lass

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I believe what Mr. Lass is saying is that he has not even taken the time to ensure that he is contacting the correct person (my name is spelled ******, please take the time to review all of your supporting documents before you attack me for not noting details ). I also Believe Mr. Lass would like to note that I have been in contact with Mr. ****** as well as many others in Farm Bureau as he is aware of the emails that have been sent, I can see to who as I was included in them. Mr. ****** has received my documents, and per emails dated 03/26/2015 Mr. ****** is fully aware that I have attempted to cancel my policy, I contacted him myself on that date. He took a few lines to state the fact that I should be concerned with my new company and told me he would have it taken care of. I also called ******* ( after a month or so) in the customer service who finally did respond and sent me the "needed" form. Why was no one told of this form until I made several calls? Why is this form in place? Why after repeated requests ( my request) was I not appointed to someone at a regional level? Why is it that I need to contact the BBB ( and the attorney general) before anyone has bothered to respond; not with a refund, not with a phone call, but rather I needed to text ED in order to get any form of response? This is absurd that you would say anything other than "We are sorry for your experience and have expedited your full refund to you". However, I understand that a check will be mailed out June 10, really? (clearly I am in contact with Farm bureau). To say the least I am upset that this is a response that I get. You may NOT hide behind a form as a reason for not sending a requested refund. You also MAY NOT blame me for this; after all, I have simply been trying to get a refund and still have nothing 5 months later.

04/21/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company is selling a product and not disclosing vital information.
On X-XX-XXXX I took out a 6-year Annuity "FIXED" rate of 1.70%. Policy #XXXXXXXXXF Plan type - IRA. I get statements every year to update the "interest" it has accrued. It was sold as a "fixed rate" annuity, and now the interest rate has gone down to 1.45% as of 12-31-2014. I called my agent Dane Gigstead in Detroit Lakes,MN. on March 30, 2015 and asked him about the dropped rate. He called his higher up and they told him the only "fixed rate" that was guaranteed was "1%" any rate above that is "not fixed". His boss also told him if I wanted to guarantee 1.70% that I could put in $20,000 more!! Like I have $20k laying around. Well how can they sell this as a "fixed rate annuity" if it's not a "fixed rate". Just the other day I got a flyer in the mail from them selling annuities at up 2.40% fixed rate, and then on the back of the flyer it says "Listed rates are neither guaranteed nor estimated for the future". It also lists that certain dollar amounts are required to get certain interest rates, I understand that, but how can they say "rates are not guaranteed" if it's a "fixed rate annuity"? It was never disclosed to me at any time that only a certain part of the interest rate was guaranteed. What I want is that my interest rate of 1.70% be upheld throughout the 6 years of the annuity. I don't want my agent to get in trouble because he found out the same time I did that "only a certain % was guaranteed" (He wasn't happy either). If you could look into this matter and get back to me if you need more information that would be great. Thanks **** ********

Desired Settlement
The settlement I am seeking is that my "interest rate of 1.70% be upheld for the entire 6 years of the annuity. and any interest that has been lost during the period the interest rate was lowered be reimbursed.

Business Response
It appears there may be some confusion regarding the terminology used to describe the annuity in question. While the consumer repeatedly refers to it as a "fixed rate" annuity, it is never described as a "fixed rate" annuity in any of the materials provided by Farm Bureau Life Insurance Company (FBLIC) to its customers. The product is instead called a Fixed Deferred Annuity. The word "fixed" in this context merely specifies that the company will pay no less than a minimum rate of interest, as opposed to "variable" annuities, where the customer's premiums are exposed to investment risk.

These terms are defined in the Buyer's Guide to Fixed Deferred Annuities, which is given to each applicant at the time of sale. The Buyer's Guide also distinguishes between the Current Interest Rate and the Minimum Guaranteed Rate. Additionally, our Fixed Annuity Contract includes a Disclosure Statement which states that "The Current Interest Rate will change from time to time but is guaranteed to never be less than the Guaranteed Minimum Interest Rate of 1.00%."

Policy Data page 3 of the contract specifies that the Guaranteed Minimum Interest Rate is 1.00%. The Policy Data also includes a description of Interest Rate Banding, which means that once the customer's accumulated value meets certain thresholds, such as $25,000 or $100,000, his credited interest rate will increase. This banding is not guaranteed and can change at any time.

By signing a Policy Delivery Certification, the customer attests that he has received the annuity. He indicates his understanding "that the credited interest rate may change from time to time but will never be less than the guaranteed rate of 1.00%." He acknowledges receiving the Annuity Disclosure Statement and Buyer's Guide to Fixed Deferred Annuities, and he attests he is aware that he has 30 days to review the policy and decide whether or not it fits his needs. At any time during that period, he can return the annuity and receive a full refund of premiums paid.

Our company's Statements of Account list the current interest rate and specify that "Interest rates are subject to change." This particular customer's rates have fluctuated from 2.40% to 1.45% during the time his annuity has been in force. To clarify a point raised in the complaint, the customer's agent knew the annuity had a guaranteed minimum rate of 1.00%; he was simply unaware that the credited rate was reviewed by our company on a monthly basis. This does not mean the rate will change each month. The complainant's rate, for instance, has changed 4 times in 3 years.

States have regulations governing the disclosures that annuity contracts must include. The products are submitted to the insurance department for review and must be approved before they can be sold in that state. The Fixed Deferred Annuity in question was approved for sale in the state of Minnesota.

Since (a) the Guaranteed Minimum Interest Rate was disclosed on the Disclosure Statement, the Policy Data, and the Policy Delivery Certification, (b) the contract was approved for sale by the Minnesota Department of Commerce, and (c) the current interest rates were clearly indicated on the Statements of Account, FBLIC unfortunately cannot approve the consumer's request for a guaranteed interest rate of 1.70%, as we can find no evidence of wrongdoing on the part of the company or the agent and granting such a request would be unfair to our many customers who own the same type of product. The complainant should bear in mind that his annuity has earned a rate higher than 1.70% in the past and may do so again in the future.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the response, but "DON'T" accept the way they sell their policy! It is very misleading and should be changed. The very mention of the term "fixed rate" instantly misleads the customer. This is just another company selling something with "a lot of fine print" in order to get out of paying what is owed!! I will not be doing business with this company in the future. There is not need for the BBB to continue looking into this matter further.

03/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refund of my $50.00 membership fee. I was only a customer for about 6 weeks.
I brought my home and auto insurance over to Farm Bureau in late December 2014. After a few weeks I did not receive a check from my previous insurer. Farm Bureau said they would cancel my insurance. I took matters in my own hands (like I should have in the first place) and went in and canceled my insurance from my previous insurer. I handed my old agent the declaration page and she stated "This is 1/3 of the coverage". I continued to cancel it. I went home that weekend and took another look at my quote, and my previous insurer declaration page.
I did see a huge gap in protection of my assets. I went back on Monday and went with my previous insurer. I was explained a few things about how the wording was for certain things from Farm Bureau. My agent said that she would cancel insurance from Farm Bureau. And they did. I did get my check back after calling in after a few weeks. I can't believe I had to call Farm Bureau. I am still waiting for my check for Mortgage insurance refund back to my bank.

Now, the check was for pro-rated premium. Now I want my "membership" fee back. I will not be satisfied until I get my $50.00 back. I was basically ripped off and my assets were not protected. I haven't even brought the whole story to light. I don't feel I need too, yet. I called Farm Bureau 3 different times within a week and a half, promised someone would call me back all three times. I have yet to get a return phone call. I have come to the conclusion that no one will call me back. This is a horrible company.

Desired Settlement
$50.00 membership fee back. Pro-rated Mortgage check sent back to my bank.

Business Response
The SD Farm Bureau membership fee has been refunded effective March 11, 2015 and will be put in the mail today.

12/20/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Added a non dependent family member to my policy, increased my rate $400 without my permission and over drew my bank account.
We have had FB insurance for 6 years and last month they added a non dependent child to our policy, increased our rate by $400 a month and over drew my account. They did not contact us regarding this action, did not have our permission and are not willing to take this non dependent off our policy and refund our monies. I have made numerous phone calls and sent emails. I have been rerouted to different people and told they could not produce the paperwork showing they were doing this as it was "proprietary" to the agency. I have provided the drivers license of the child they added showing he has a different address and now they want me to provide proof that he has insurance. He does not have insurance, he does not have a car. I have left messages with supervisors and not been contacted. Was told by our agent that this was "dumped" in his lap and told they had every right to add this non dependent and over draw my checking account. I am unbelievably furious and am just trying to get my money back and my over draft fees. I do not feel they need my bank statements or that I have to prove my grown children have their own insurance. I have two other grown children and I don't supply their insurance either. I am being pushed aside and made to feel that my policy and my $400 is not of consequence.

Desired Settlement
I want my $400 back that they over charged me and the $125 in over draft fees that were incurred related to this over charging.

Business Response
November 14, 2013


**** ******
Dispute Resolution Specialist
BBB Complaint Department


Re: Case # XXXXXXXX
********* ****
**** ***** **** *** ****
******** ** XXXXX

Our policy # XXXXXXX

Dear Ms. ******

This letter is in response to your email dated November 13, 2013, asking for further clarification on this account.

We did receive the documentation we needed to clarify the account, and changes were made on XX-XX-XX and the refund was mailed to Mrs. ****. Then as per the insured's request the policy was cancelled.

In regards to the bank fees, we have asked Mrs. **** to send in her bank statements as per our billing department to verify the bank fees and to review the account. As of today her agent has not received those documents for us to review.

Should you have any questions, or require additional information, please let me know.

Sincerely,

***** ******
Business Center Director



Final Consumer Response
My husband received a refund check in the mail today. 12/12/13. I am willing to close the matter even without the bounced check fees in order to be completely severed from the company.

11/11/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I talked to **** ******* the owner of the Farm Bureau office in Cascade Iowa about getting health insurance about May of 2013 so I could add my soon to be and now wife to the policy. While we were in the process of getting quotes **** asked me to write him a check for $38 to obtain a Farm Bureau membership so I can get quotes and if the quotes did not work out to my satisfaction he informed me that he would refund the money. After going back and forth on quotes and figures throughout a couple in person visits and several phone calls I determined that I would not benefit from using his insurance plan on either coverage or cost. I called the office on 2 different occasions to obtain a refund and had to leave a message with the receptionist. **** FAILED to follow through. On X-XX-XX I called for a third time. The receptionist assured me that he would call back. When he did call me back at 10:12 AM he point blank refused to follow through with giving me a refund. We had heated words and I demanded a refund. I mentioned the prospect of speaking about my bad experience to local people I know and the possibility of a small claims case. I would rather not do either. I would ask that he follow through with his promise and refund me the money. Furthermore the membership he made me pay for never came through. I never received the "spokesman" newspaper that is part of a Farm Bureau membership but what I want is the refund I was promised and NO membership in Farm Bureau.
Order_Number: Check # **** written

Desired Settlement
He must send me a refund in less than 14 days. I realize I told him 7 on the phone but now that the better business bureau is involved I will allow extra time. I expect a letter with a written apology hand signed by **** ******* and a check in the amount of $38.00 written to Brandon D. Alt, *** ***** Street NW, ******* IA XXXXX

Business Response
It is the long standing policy of the Dubuque County Farm Bureau that in order to apply for membership benefits such as health insurance a person needs to be a member in good standing. It is also a long standing policy that membership dues are not refunded when a membership service is not accepted. The Regional Representative of the Dubuque County Farm Bureau delivered this response to FBL agent **** ******* to be forwarded to the client along with his contact information if the client wished to discuss the issue futher. This happened on or about September 27,2013. The client has not contacted our Regional Representative or **** ********

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Farm Bureau corporate office gave me a check for $50 and kept my membership intact. The problem is that **** himself never apologized and he did not have to pay for the refund. He is a LIAR. My wife was sitting there when he said that he would REFUND the money if we were not satisfied with the quotes. Furthermore Farm Bureau should NOT require $38 to get a quote. I am a car salesman. What if I charged $38 for test drive just to get a price on a car? Think about that. I do have a problem with your policy but **** should not have said he would give a refund when we would not follow through. I hope to tell me story about **** time and again unless I receive a letter and $38 from ****. My wish is that he makes a written apology and has $38 come out of his personal account. Then I will be satisfied.

Final Business Response
After reviewing this situation, it appears as if Mr. *** has been refunded an amount that exceeds his financial outlay for the membership. At this point, we will be unable to issue any additional payments to Mr. ***. Since Mr. ******* is an independent contractor agent for Farm Bureau, the company cannot require any type of apology letter of payments from his account.

We apologize for any inconvenience that this situation may have cause Mr. Alt.

Page 1 of 2
08/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Last month ******* ***** increased my insurance over 150 dollars and withdrew it from my account at the bank without my OK for doing. I contacted him regarding this and he told me they sent a letter for me to call him. He state that they added my 14 year old daughter as she had gotten a school permit. Last month was June no school, can not drive He told me they would not give me my money back or change the policy. So I started looking for another insurance company found one that not only would not make me cover my daughter, but was saving me 100 dollars a month. I canceled my policy with Farm Bureau. Talking with ******* on the phone he was very rude and disrespectful telling me that I didn't try to lower my cost with him as I did not come in with my daughters grades. (I did not feel she needed to be insured as she could not drive.)He continued to be rude and than he just hung up on me. I have been with this companies for around 5 years and pay about $500.00 a month before they added my daughter without my knowledge. As if this is not bad enough the took money out of my account today, even though I called and canceled the policy X-XX-XXXX and he never said they would continue to do this, he also mailed me a cancelation notice instead of asking me to come in and sign one. Which I did already. As today is X-X-XXXX the office is not open, so I called my bank and asked them to dispute this transaction. I had to go to the bank and sign papers just like I would have if ******* would have asked, instead of hanging up on me. I did attempt to contact the corporate office but they are closed and there was no voice mail.
Product_Or_Service: Insurance

Desired Settlement
I want my money to be returned. Not only for this month but the increase for last that I did not know about or give my OK. I wasn't the corporate office to know of the agents lack of manners and questionable behavior. I also would like the public to know that they need to be aware of how this business conducts.

Business Response
***Document Attached***
On July 6th agent **** ***** contacted me and at that time **** informed me that he had a situation with this insured. The situation was a billing increase that occurred on her P3 policy due to the rating of one of her children on her policy. **** made multiple attempts to contact the insured and had several appointments scheduled which she did not show up for. **** has these logged in his Client Relationship Management System (CRM) as well, a screenshot with date and time stamp is attached. He told me that the insured had left a message that she wanted a manager to contact her to discuss. On July 6th I called and left her a message of who I am and my contact information for her to be able to call back so I can discuss and resolve the situation. She did not call back and to this date I still have not heard anything from the insured after leaving 2 voicemails. I also had this logged into CRM for record.


***** W *****
Agency Manager
Farm Bureau Financial Services
3315 W. 4th Street
Waterloo Ia. XXXXX-XXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX
*************@fbfs.com
www.WhereMybusinessBegins.com

09/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Horrible customer service given several times.
The problems started at the local agents office, (******** ************ Her staff was rude numerous times and they did not return calls regarding liability insurance. We cancelled our policy because of the poor service and high rates. We had direct withdrawal each month to pay our premium and they took the direct withdrawal even though we cancelled our policy, promising that we would receive a refund. I waited two weeks to see a post back to my account or for a check to arrive in the mail. Nothing came, when I called I was then told that their policy is to wait 14 days to make sure the check had sufficient funds. In addition, they also said that they were not refunding the full amount because our policy was cancelled but 5 days still needed to be paid for. I was furious that I was just hearing about all of the policies. They said they would issue the check that day even though they technically still had time according to their policies. They said they issued a check on July 29th and mailed it out according to their staff. Our withdrawal was taken out on July 15th. On Aug 11th I still have not received the refund and called again and was told that they would reissue another refund and mail it out. I asked if they could send the check over night and they reported that they could not because they do not have the capabilities. I have now waited four weeks for a refund and still have not received it. When I complained and expressed my frustration, their only response was that they were sorry but nothing could be done. I am beyond frustrated with their customer service and am still waiting for my refund and a returned phone call from a manager.

Desired Settlement
I would like my complete refund of $160 as soon as possible.

Business Response
Ms. *******

Thank you very much for reaching out to us regarding this matter. I believe this complaint has been submitted against our company in error and want to help ensure that it's redirected to the appropriate company.

Because there are many different Farm Bureau insurance companies across the country, there is confusion from time to time regarding who the underwriting company is and where they are located. We noticed that Ms. ****** is a resident of the state of Michigan. Our Farm Bureau insurance company conducts business in a 15-state region of the Midwest and Western parts of the United States but Michigan is not one of the states it serves.

We have researched our insurance company records thoroughly to make sure Ms. ****** didn't purchase a policy from us before moving to Michigan and our search indicates she did not.

Please let us know if you have questions or if there is anything we can do to assist from here.


****** *****
Marketing Services
FBL Financial Group, Inc.
Farm Bureau Financial Services
5400 University Avenue, West Des Moines, IA XXXXX
Ph: 515.225.5820

05/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In September of 2013, my husband and I contacted ***** **** with Farm Bureau Insurance to get insurance for a new business we were purchasing and needed to have covered by October 1, 2013. My husband and I corresponded by phone, email and each one of us were in the Farm Bureau Office more than once before October 1st. I have an email and a voice mail from ***** **** where he says "I know you need insurance for the business on October 1st." My husband was in the office on September 30th and met with ***** ***** We took over the business on October 1st with high hopes. On October 4th, 2013 we had a burglary and made a claim with Farm Bureau only to find out that the business policy was not in effect. After all of that we get a business policy that shows in effect on October 15th. Our personal loss in this burglary was $6,000. We received $1000.00 from Farm Bureau that was put thru on our personal home insurance. As a small business just starting out this is a huge loss. We have been trying to deal with the company (which we had been with for all of our personal needs for over 20 years) and have had no luck. We have paid this agent for years to advise us and take care of our insurance needs and just wanted him to step up, and make this right. The email and voice mail are available if anyone would like to see or listen to this.
Product_Or_Service: Business Insurance

Desired Settlement
We would like him to make this right. We did the right thing, were in to see him multiple times before the first, and trusted him as a professional to do what was asked of him.

Business Response
We communicated the complaint with the agent of record. The following is what he responded with:
"I believe the insured thought that I could just bind coverage, as I would have on a new vehicle, and attach it to their policy. When I met with ****, I explained that due to this being a new business venture, a separate entity and them not having any prior commercial experience/policies, that I would need to discuss it with an underwriter to get approval , get a quote prepared and that I also would need signatures to bind coverage. Unfortunately, they waited too late to begin the process and suffered a loss before coverage was bound."

I did review the underwriting file. The application for insurance was signed on October 16th which was 12 days after the loss. The commercial underwriting file documents indicate an effective date of October 15 for the BP policy. The application was signed on October 16. On the auto policy, the requested date on the Signature Pages was October 16, but the quote indicated October 15. Farm Bureau issued both policies with an effective date of October 15, since there was a discrepancy between the quote request and the signature pages.

Let us know if you have any additional questions.

04/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Overcharged for insurance; refused to give us a refund; canceled our policy due to non-payment of a car we didn't even own for 5 months.
We sold a 2000 Lumina in July of 2013 *** 2G1WL52JXXXXXXXX in July 2013. We immediately called our insurance agent and was told to leave a detailed message for our agent. An invoice was sent for our car insurance in July of 2013 with said car on policy. In July, i called our agent again and he stated "just deducct that amount from the total and mail in your payment." I paid for the other 3 cars on our policy. In August, we received a bill for the balcance of the "four" cars, still including the car we no longer had plus a $10.00 fee. We called our agent again and left a message and did not pay the bill since we didn't own the car. In September, we recieved a bill again for the Lumina that we no longer owned plus another $10.00 fee; my husband called and left a message. In October/November, my husband met with our agent to try to clear up this month, but we still received a bill for balance of the four cars (which was clearly the $219.00 for the Lumina, plus $10.00 each month we didn't pay. By December the invoice was up to $258.17 ($219.00 plus $10 service charge for each month not paid). My husband again called our insurance agent and left a message. To make matters even worse, while on holiday, Farm Bureau actually canceled our policy on all "Four" (of course we only owned three cars) by mailing us a cancellation notice. I had to then pay $258.17 for a car I hadn't owned for 5 months to keep insurance on my other three cars. I actually then was told I had to prove I no longer owned that car, so my husband had to get a copy of the title fax it to Farm Bureau customer service and then they refused to refund our money after we proved we didn't own said car. Secondly, Farm Bureau has listed two accidents in my husband's name when he didn't have a car accident. While looking for a new agent and insurance, I received a report from Lexisnexis and they have two accidents under my husband's name and a car we didn't even own at the time, a 2000 Buick Century, which we bought a year after the accidents were listed. Now I have to dispute this with Lexisnexis I have recieved terrible customer service from our agent and inconsistent customer service through your ******* WE, of course are tyring to cancel our but it is dfficult when you overpay and now have to pay for new insurance.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of the amount charged for a car I haven't owned for 8 months and a full refund of my overcharge for 6 months on the policies I do own, since they have their records incorrect. Total refund at least of $258.17 and an explantion of how my insurance went up after dropping a car.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** Dir. IA
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@fbfs.com
Here is my response to a number of issues raised in this complaint:
- The late fees were all removed on 1/07/14.

- Effective 12/28/13, the 2000 Chev Lumina was removed from the policy. At the same time daughter ****** who had been rated on the 2000 Chev Lumina, was moved and rated as a driver on the 2012 Chev Malibu. The 2000 Chev Lumina had liability coverage only. Since the 2012 Chev Malibu had both liability and physical damage coverage this change increased the premium on the 2012 Chev Malibu due to the change in the assigned driver class. The premium charged to rate for ***** on the 2012 Chev Malibu was greater than the rate for ***** as a driver on the 2000 Chev Lumina.

- A manual calculation was processed to remove the vehicle from 7/09/13 to 12/23/13. When this was calculated it included the change to rate ***** as a driver on the 2012 Chev Malibu. The premium charged to rate for ***** on the 2012 Chev Malibu was greater than the rate for ***** as a driver on the 2000 Chev Lumina.

- When the 2000 Chev Lumina was removed the rating factor of drivers to vehicles changed from 3 drivers/4 vehicles to 3 drivers/3 vehicles. This change resulted in a premium increase on all the remaining vehicles.

- The 12/29/11 loss on the auto CLUE report ******** ** policy ******** / claim ******* will have a CLUE correction processed to correct ***** **** as the driver and the vehicle involved in the loss was a 2001 Chev Lumina.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
***** never should have been on the 2012 Malibu and you are totally missing the point of deleting the 2000 Chevy Lumina in January, when we sold it in July of 2013; and furthermore, no apologies for canceling my insurance when you expected me to pay for a car I didn't own. This is the problem, you still don't even have all the facts correct.The amounts still don't add up.

Final Business Response
Based upon the information provided by ***** ****, we have removed the daughter's ******* rating from the 2012 Malibu back to July 2013. This has created a manual credit of $221.81 which is being applied to the account.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I accept the $221.81 for placing ***** in the wrong car and charging us the wrong amount; however, I believe we are still entitled to a refund for the six months we paid for the 2000 Chevy Lumina that was sold in July, 2013 and was still being charged to us until January 2014.

03/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Farm Bureau Financial Services Spam
I continue to receive emails detailing an account that does not belong to me.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting Farm Bureau Financial Services discontinue sending me spam, remove my email & any other information they have for me on file, and conduct an audit to determine how they managed to purchase my email/contact information.

Business Response
We have researched this individual's concerns and have confirmed that his email address existed in our company database and messages were sent to him in error. We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience. While unable to pinpoint the exact source of the error, we did find that the complainant's email address was added to the property/casualty account of an existing Farm Bureau Financial Services customer by the agent or one of his assistants. The email address was not purchased. The confusion may have stemmed from the fact that the complainant's name closely resembles the name of our client. The agent has removed the complainant's email address from his records, and the address has also been updated in our property/casualty database. We have verified that the complainant's email has been removed from all databases our marketing department uses. Additionally the email address has been added to our company-specific Do Not Email list. We are confident these efforts will prevent the complainant from receiving any further messages from our company. However, if the complainant has additional questions he may wish to visit www.fbfs.com, where he will find toll-free contact numbers for our corporate headquarters and can also submit a question electronically through the website.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is no confusion on my part. This company's ineptitude is confirmed. They are unable to manage a database containing consumer's information. Some forms of identity fraud are originated by this type of ignorance.

My name does not "closely resemble" this other person's, nor is it an excuse for a company to poorly manage a consumer database.


Final Business Response
Once again, we are sorry for the frustration this situation has caused the complainant. Our company is committed to protecting the privacy of our insuredsand all consumersso we take this matter very seriously. The confusion mentioned in our initial response referred to confusion within one of our agent offices, not on the part of the complainant. The leaders of our marketing department have been notified of the situation and have verified once more that the complainant's email address has been removed from all company and agent records. We have also requested a more detailed explanation from the agent about how he initially obtained the email address in question. Farm Bureau Life Insurance Company hopes these efforts will resolve the matter to the complainant's satisfaction.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance Services, Financial Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.