BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/12/2009

Breckenridge Homes Inc

Phone: (515) 987-3650Fax: (515) 987-36502781 NW 164th St, CliveIA 50325-2506 Send email to Breckenridge Homes Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/12/2009

BBB has determined that Breckenridge Homes Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Breckenridge Homes Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Breckenridge Homes Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Builder of our new house. . ... Charged us but never completed the house project. Delaying intentionally.
Argues and unprofessional labor work.


Didn't have data, phone, cable panel and wiring done as we asked for and he agreed. Since we moved wiring for phone, Data not working. Not calling electrician to get it fixed.

we are not able to use our brand new dryer since we moved in because vent is done by himself unprofessionally and dryer didn't pass the duct test.
when questioned him, he started fighting and started arguing with us instead of getting it fixed. risk of fire.
water is leaking in the basement floor. Under warranty work
Not provided the toilet products with completion of house.

Desired Settlement
will get legal assistance , if doesn't complete all unfinished work professionally in timely manner.
Also need to question with city of urbandale and will question his license to continue building or remodeling.



Business Response
Most of this is unfounded. Data-phone-cable issues-phone and cable panel were provided. Customer's expectations of data use was beyond electricians expertise. I told him to contact A-tech security, which he has since done and they are installing his equipment. Once again, not covered in contract-he just did not want to pay anything xtra for what he wanted. But its my understanding from Mark Bishop of A-Tech they are taking care of it. Dryer- was vented properly. Customer did not like the vent exiting through the closet, which was required to operate properly. So its his opinion that its not done right. I strongly disagree and stand behind how it was done. And as to toilet paper holders and towel bars that aren't installed I told them I would install those at no cost once they purchased them. Not included in contract. I never include those because I have no idea of customers taste or what they want. They purchased several through Cook Plumbing, just did not order for the whole house. And the customer paid xtra to the plumber for the ones that were installed. ******** had several issues of poor communication with every one involved in building his home. That's easy to verify. Poor communication led to him misunderstanding what was going on sometimes. I have been in contact with his wife Sadia several times, and are getting issues resolved. All my communication has been through her. I will and have tried to resolve things as they come up-just like with every other customer I work for.
Additional information: I forgot to mention that the water leak was quickly fixed and taken care of. No issue there at all. Thanks. ******



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
we will send the official contract and the pictures for you to verify and confirm.

Final Business Response
Barb-just a heads up-met with homeowner Friday and we are resolving his issues. It should take care of this complaint. Thanks. ******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders, Basement - Finishing, Construction & Remodeling Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/30/2001Business started: 01/01/1975Business started locally: 04/01/2009New Owner Date: 02/01/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Iowa Workforce Development
1000 E Grand Ave
Des Moines, IA 50319-1020
(515) 281-5736
http://www.iowaworkforce.org/

BBB records show a license number of C110436 for this company, issued by Iowa Workforce Development. Their web address is http://www.iowaworkforce.org/. The expiration date of this license is 06/30/2016.

Type: Contractor Registration

Check License Status: Click Here

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2008, IA

Contact Information
Principal: Dennis Breckenridge (Owner)
Business Category

Home Builders, Basement - Finishing, Construction & Remodeling Services

Products & Services

The company is a new home builder also offering remodeling and construction services.

Industry Tips
Contracts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Breckenridge Homes Inc

2781 NW 164th St

Clive, IA 50325-2506

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2781 NW 164th St 

    Clive, IA 50325-2506(515) 987-3650
    Fax: (515) 987-3650

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Des Moines, IA. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Breckenridge Homes Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 14, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.