BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/17/2012

Best Heating, Cooling & Electric Inc

Phone: (515) 262-8055Fax: (515) 262-5153

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
05/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I have called this business requesting from the owner a refund. Additionally, I mailed them supporting documentation as part of this complaint request, and this been ignored. Here is a copy of the complaint mailed them 15 December, 2013:
15 December 2013
To *****:
Thank you again for your call. I am writing to bring to your attention my concerns I had of the service call provided me 12-07-13. Upon returning home 7 December 9am, the house was found extremely cold with frozen water pipes and a non-functioning furnace. Finding you recommended on *****'s list, I called your emergency number. The technician informed me there would be charge of $100.00 for weekend service. This was perfectly fine with me, frankly grateful someone was available for service. The gentleman came and examined the unit spending probably ten minutes at most. He asked me to look it over with him and showed me specifically,"It needs an Inducer motor." Further it was explained the warehouse was closed and it would be expensive to call them on saturday,costing an additional two hundred dollars. After retrieving from his van a laminated sheet, it was shown me a range of cost to repair from near $ 500.XX - XXX. depending when the work was done.Additionally, it was recommended I consider estimates for a new furnace. I requested
then and there a follow up visit from your company for repair the following Monday,and paid him the $100.00 fee (Cash).

When no one showed or called, I contacted an alternate company attached here. I relayed to them the information given me which was the Inducer motor was in need of replacement. This licensed professional came out 11 December and examined
the unit. He informed me the Inducer motor is fine, but the Thermostat was not functioning, why was this not checked? This is what was preventing the unit from starting. With replacement of the thermostat and routine cleaning performed, the unit now runs like new!I am not a hard customer to please, I but am concerned with the lack of Service/understanding I received from your technician.Obviously, since it was easily repairable with common parts, four days later, it should have been fixed the first time!


**** ******
**** ** ****** **** Dr.
******* ** XXXXX

Serice Provider #2 as outlined above was paid $165.00 for routine repairs.

Desired Settlement
This company's service gave me a bogus report of what needed to be done for repairs. This caused an unnecessary delay for me, including having to be temporarily relocated. I requested from the owner a rufund for $100. service call which I paid cash; All in all I feel this was a 'loss loss' for almost everyone involved. My furnace could have been repaired time and this Best Heating and Cooling Company could have garnered payment had appropriate serviced been provided.

Business Response
The technician ***** was out and found the inducer stuck. He spun wheel on the inducer, sprayed it with wd40 to get by for the weekend as Mr.****** was very concerned about price. The technician did not find any other problems at that time. Thermostat was working at time and was calling for the furnace to come on, but with stuck motor. I tried to contact Mr.****** on Monday for return service and my call was sent to voicemail and I left a message. Mr.****** never returned my call. Our diagnosis at the time of service was performed by a seasoned(25+ years)service technician and knows what a stuck motor on an inducer is. Since Mr.****** did not return my call there was never an opportunity to address his situation.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My complaints in doing business with Best heating cooling & electric:
1) a misdiagnosed furnace problem
2) recommendations made by their technician for repair costs ($500-$700) that were 3-4 times higher than actual repair costs of $165
3) charged $100 service fee for no repairs done
4) company was not willing to discuss refund of service fee

Final Business Response
The service fee was for the technicians trip to the home during after hours which also included the diagnosis. We did not charge anything for a repair. We diagnosed the problem correctly. You did not return our call for us to return free of charge to see what was going on. Instead you contacted another company. Once another company comes in after us our warranty is null and void.

Final Consumer Response
I was charged $100.00 for a misdiagnosis of my furnace; A good faith effort was made by me in
contacting Best Heating Cooling & Electric, Inc. to resolve this dispute. The company made no offer to resolve the issue.

07/15/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Ad on website said free estimate, but charged $73.14 for checking freon levels. did not do much else.
When I signed up for a call online, the website advertised free in-home estimate. The website also had yes and no questions. One of those questions was "Get a free second opinion.", so I clicked yes. I told the guy what the air conditioner was doing. He took the front off the furnace and checked the filter, which was okay. He then said he'd go check the freon. he came back and said I would need 2 pounds because it was low. This was the same thing they said last year, and I paid for it last year. i said I couldn't afford over $200 right now. He said that would be $73.14 and I asked what for. He said the services. I said it was supposed to a free estimate and he said that was on a new air conditioner/furnace. That is NOT what it said on the website. He did not do any maintenance on anything. I don't mind paying when they do something, but I HATE paying for nothing.

Desired Settlement
I believe they should at least refund my money, if not the two days of missed work waiting for them to come. I took Tuesday off because I thought they were coming then, but they didn't show up til Wednesday.

Business' Initial Response
Our policy is $69 plus tax for a diagnosis. A diagnosis is to tell you what is wrong only, with no repairs. If you make the repairs we recommend then the diagnosis is free. Since she did not make the repairs she is responsible for the $69 plus tax diagnosis which was explained to her when she scheduled the service call. It also states on our website the Free Second Opinion Policy which can be read here As for her selecting Yes for a free second opinion since she did not qualify for the free second opinion that is when she was told at the time she scheduled her call that the diagnosis was $69 plus tax. Plus it states here "Are you looking for a Free Second Opinion On Repair? If So Please Review Our Second Opinion Policy click here" She agreed and the call was scheduled. If she didn't agree the call would never of been scheduled.

09/01/2015Problems with Product / Service
05/22/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Electricians

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.