BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Alan's Seamless Gutters

Phone: (515) 262-8375Fax: (515) 967-26481601 Garfield St SE, BondurantIA 50035-4401

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Alan's Seamless Gutters is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Alan's Seamless Gutters' rating include:

  • 7 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised Alan's Seamless Gutters' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Alan's Seamless Gutters

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
10/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Gutters overflowing with water. Called installer several time to come out and check gutter. Will not come out at all.
Problem is when it rains hard the gutter will overflow. Incorrect installation. I paid with a check. Sales rep was the owner(****). Amount was 809$. I called installer several time to come out to check the problem and he would not.
He will just ignore the request.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of my money. I want to take my business elsewhere.

Business Response

I went and meet with ****, **** on 10/2/2015 as we set that date at 4:30 I was willing to do just about anything I needed to make him happy. I looked in the gutters and couldn't see were anything was wrong except the downspat on the east side of the house was plussed up. he wouldn't let me run water in there. So i couldn't test them to see what was going on. There is seven sections of gutter on the house i told him i would refun him on the 2 sections that he was having problems with. He refused that and refused to let me run water in them to fix them. There was a problme. I feel ive done everything possible to make him happy but he wouldn't work with me.




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept because he does not respect the customers. I asked him why he finally came to offer to resolve the issue after 6 months, a few phone calls and a BBB complaint. He said he does not know why. I asked him is it because he finally received a BBB complaint and he said no, he never received a BBB complaint. Here he is replying back to the BBB complaint I sent in. This guy is a liar. SIX months to finally get back to me! I don't get it. I am a very upset customer. I will never recommend this install to anyone in the future.

I already wasted my money on this guy so I do not understand why I should waste my water on him. If this is a professional service business then he should have his own water. especially after six months of waiting for him to come to take a look at the problem.

I have had so many headache because of this service and problems. I feel the problem will occur in the future and do not want his business.

I still believe he should take everything off and give me a full refund.


10/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Would not return phone call to correct gutter downspout issue.
Fall of 2013 had new gutters installed by ****'s Seamless Gutters. Early spring of 2015 had some issues with one of the downspouts on the SW corner. Kept getting clogged. Caused water to come into basement. Called them numerous times for a solid week. Left voice mails each time. That was two weeks ago. Still have not heard back and have had to pay someone to temporarily fix the problem. Had water in basement because of this issue and almost ruined new carpet (still not sure about it being salvaged). Just want them to come and change the down spout. A call back would have been helpful but they totally ignore any messages and do not respond back. Poor customer service. Not asking for much, just fix one little thing.

Desired Settlement
Just replace or fix down spout on SW corner of house. Should not have such a big bend in it so that it repeatedly clogs and then spills over which will cause water into basement.

Final Consumer Response
On 10/1/15 I was getting ready to pull in my driveway around 6:00 p.m. and there was a truck from ****'s Seamless Gutters in my driveway. I have never received a call from the company to inform me of anything. Needless to say, I was shocked to see someone there. They did shorten the downspout which will hopefully eliminate the problem I was having. The gentlemen who had done the repair was adament that they have never used the expandable pipe attached to the gutter (I thought this should have been replaced as well) but I wasn't going to argue the point with him because I had already replaced that piece myself. However, I did find it odd that I never received a phone call and had I not been coming home at that particular time, I would have never known they had done any work.

I just wanted to make you aware of the above. I still would not recommend this company to anyone else simply because of the customer service. It is unfortunate that they chose to handle it this way but I wanted to inform you.

Thank you - ***** *******

07/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repeated phone calls requesting repair to gutter. No return calls, no repairs done.
When we built our house 3 1/2 years ago, Alan's Gutters stopped by and asked that they bid to do our gutters. Their prices were great and they were able to do them asap. Their work was great and we are extremely happy with them. we noticed part of the gutter has recently pulled away from the house. I called Alan's to ask that they reattach the gutter on *** 28th, 2014 at 10:08 a.m. They took my information and when I asked when I can expect them they said they didn't know - they would call me when they were in the area. I waited almost a month and called again on June 18, 2014 at 1:57 p.m. I got a voice mail and left a message. I called again on June 19, 2014 at 10:31 a.m. and spoke to a gentleman. I explained what has happened. He took my information again and said he will find out why no one has called me back or stopped out to fix the gutter and will call me back. I still have not heard from anyone.

Desired Settlement
We would like the gutter to be reattached to the house as soon as possible before more rain comes.

Business Response
We were at the property at 11:00 am on July 11th and saw the problem and got it all taken care of. Sorry for the delay on getting it repaired.



10/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had gutters, gutter guards and new downspouts put on by Alens and they were installed incorrectly and Alens would not correct the problem.
I had Alens install brand new gutters and accessories in late Oct 2013. I paid $1,145.40 and still have the receipt and bank verification of payment. Part of the agreement was if something was wrong they would fix it. In April of 2014 I noticed that the gutter was not draining and was sloped the incorrect way. I verified this with a level and a 3rd party. This was a problem for the upstairs tenant because all the water from the gutter went right over her door instead of the downspout. They also left old parts of the prior gutter attached to the roof making some shingles stick up incorrectly letting rain get underneath. I started my many calls and messages to Alens the same month of April 2014. I can also provide proof of the calls through my phone records. I talked to the owner 2 different times and he had promised someone would be out to fix it. The gutters never got fixed and Alens no longer answers their phone or returns messages when you are able to leave a message.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for my money back as they did not fulfill their agreement. I have gutters that I paid for that didn't work. In addition, Alens would not correct the problem. The cost of the gutters were $1,145.40

Business Response
I talked to ********** today and he said that he paid $350 to fix the gutters so I mailed him out a check today. Sorry for the delay.

09/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My gutters leak all over! Since having installed they have been out numerous times to seal corners, with no success.
In October- November Todd Cooney gave me his cell phoneXXX-XXX-XXXX, he had gotten out of hospital and told me whatever it took was going to make it right! He called told me sending a crew over and if had to would tear the gutters down and replace I was so excited! The truck pulls up with one guy(Mike) to fix he added another downspout changed the slope of lower gutter in the front and sealed the south front gutter corner second story. The second story gutter has leaked so much the soffits(fascia) has lost the paint and I don't know if it's rotted the wood! When he left **** told me if I had any other problems to call his cell and gave me his number (XXX-XXX-XXXX). Well they leaked with snow melting tried his number no response! Called ****'s number we talked he basically told me I had shingle problems or my vent were plugged with insulation, not his problem any more! I have since called and no response back!
I was going to move on but if individuals do not take the time to file complaints this business and others keep there name in good standing doing faulty work

Desired Settlement
Settlement--
Refund the expense to have my gutters torn down and replaced by a company that will stand behind there work! Pay as well to have soffits replaced if rotted.

Business Response
We went out there and met with ***** and took care of all her complaint and she should be happy now.

12/06/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Alan's Seamless Gutters installed new Oct'2012. They leak. **** was informed of their leaky gutters in Mar'2013. He promised to replace but has not.
We keep getting the run around including numerous broken promises to call back and schedule the work to reconcile the problem. Still waiting patiently for them to stand behind their product and warranty their work.

Desired Settlement
**** needs to call me and schedule replacement at a time that will be convenient for me to be there and meet them.

Business Response
Hello this is **** the repair should be done Friday we ran outta the clay material it's been back ordered for a couple weeks now but they promise me it will be here by Friday .

Consumer Response
See scanned letter and attachments
**** lied again. Same excuse I have been told on several occasions. The repairs/replacement were not completed by Friday. Oct 4 as stated. His gutters still leak! I will sue to seek legal remedy. I have work by another company attached.

Final Business Response
All gutters have been replaced and a one year warranty was given.

Final Consumer Response
see scanned letter and attachments
Response to **** ****** statement that they "met with the customer and everything is taken care of". This is not true-see attached facts and phone records for small claims filing. I have hired an attorney and we are prepared to subpoena Chad if necessary. Alan's Seamless Gutters owners and employees are to stay off our property. I am done with the clowns. I will require an installer to do the work.

07/06/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/18/2002Business started: 01/01/1975
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Iowa Workforce Development
1000 E Grand Ave
Des Moines, IA 50319-1020
(515) 281-5736
http://www.iowaworkforce.org/

BBB records show a license number of C116750 for this company, issued by Iowa Workforce Development. Their web address is http://www.iowaworkforce.org/. The expiration date of this license is 04/26/2017.

Type: Contractor Registration

Check License Status: Click Here

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Todd Cooney (Manager) Alan Cooney (Owner)
Business Category

Gutters & Downspouts

Products & Services

This company offers gutter and downspout sales and installation for residential and commercial consumers.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Alan's Seamless Gutters

1601 Garfield St SE

Bondurant, IA 50035-4401

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1601 Garfield St SE 

    Bondurant, IA 50035-4401(515) 262-8375
    Fax: (515) 967-2648

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Des Moines, IA. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Alan's Seamless Gutters is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 14, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Gutters & Downspouts

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.