BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1972

C D S Global

Phone: (515) 247-7500Fax: (515) 246-6805

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

486 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 105 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues32
Billing / Collection Issues259
Delivery Issues97
Problems with Product / Service98
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints486

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (486)BBB Closure Definitions
07/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 7 years younger books for a gift for Christmas. These did not arrive until after holidays at which time the package was marked return to sender. Since then, I have been receiving multiple bills which were returned with the explanation of returned to sender. I received yet another bill and I am filing a complaint against this company because I don't intend to pay for something I returned unopened. The account number involved in this matter is XXXXXXX and the amount of the bill is 119.63. I will be happy to provide you with whatever information you need to resolve this matter so the harassment by this company stops. Thank you.
Product_Or_Service: Books
Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
We are unsure what product ******** *********
received that she is still being billed for $119.63.

We need a copy of the invoice, or return name and address of the invoice so we can determine what magazine or books were received.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that has been caused.

Sincerely,

Customer Service
***** *******

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't have this information available other than I am being billed for 7 years younger books ? I guess this would be the title. The invoice number was placed in the original complaint.

Final Business Response
Dear Ms. *********,

I apologize for all of the confusion with your Hearst Books accounts. We have now recorded in your account that the books have been returned and you will no longer receive bills.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

***** W
Customer Service

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: paid for a two year service, time ran out I did not renew. now they did that on their own they are sending a bill , and there is no way to contact them no phone number and on their web sight only able join no way to contact them I did not ask for this service and they make it impossible to stop them
Product_Or_Service: magazine

Initial Business Response
This Office represents The ****** Corporation and your e-mail of May 22, 2014 concerning the subscription of ****** *** to Woman's Day magazine, which is published by Hearst Magazines, has been referred to me for reply. Please be advised that the automatic renewal order that was entered for this account has been cancelled, Ms. *** may disregard any further invoices that she may receive and her name and address have been removed from our promotional mailing list. We apologize for the inconvenience.

If you need further assistance, please feel free to contact me directly.

****** *********** Hearst Corporation/ Office of General Counsel/ *** **** **** ****** - **** *****
*** ***** ** XXXXX/ Tel: XXX-XXX-XXXX/ Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX/ ***********@hearst.com

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/24/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the end of last year I order the trial NO CHARGE one issue of Forbes. I received it a few weeks later. To my suprise, a couple of weeks later a second issue of Forbes arrived. I NEVER ORDERED it. No more issues of Forbes arrived to my address. Ever since I've been getting harrasing letters from Forbes, demanding a payment for the paper I've never ordered , and recently threatening me that they will send me to the collection agency.Last letter states that my account became delinquent, and it will be forwarded to the collection agency. It is a plain harrassment as I never ordered anything else but their FREE issue. It was plainly advertised as FREE online. They've never asked online for my credit card number as clearly I asked only for the FREE issue. Now they continue harrasing and threatening me. Please kindly have them stop this harrasement. Sincerely,****** ******

Initial Business Response
Dear Ms, *******

Thank you for contacting us on behalf of Ms. ****** ******* and for bringing this matter to our attention.

We received Ms. ********** cancellation request, for FORBES Magazine, on June 5, 2014. As such, her subscription was terminated on June 5, 2014.

Ms. ******* may disregard any further billing efforts she receives, as they are selected several days in advance of mailing. We have
also removed her name from our promotional mailing list.

Please be assured that Ms. ********** credit rating will not be affected.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this has caused our mutual customer and please let us know if we can be of further
assistance.

Sincerely,
Customer Service
***** *******

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am being billed for a subscription of SHAPE MAGAZINE that I did not subscribe to. I want the bills to stop.

Initial Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience Ms. ****** has experienced regarding a subscription to Shape Magazine.

Our records show we received a request for a subscription from an outside agency on August 9, 2013. We have cancelled delivery of the magazine effective with the August 2014 issue; however, any refund request or further information regarding the order will need to be sent to the agency as we do not have access to their records.

Please contact:

M2 MEDIA GROUP
1127 HIGH RIDGE ROAD
#335

STAMFORD State: CT
XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX
FOR CNLS: WWW.CANCELMAG.COM

Please let us know if we can be of further assistance.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: cooks illustrated
I have received a bill of $24.95 for a magazine I have not purchased. The bill states it is a final notice and will be sent to a collection agency if I do not pay. It does not provide a phone number where I can reach the billing dept and the website it provides does not get me access to customer service. Instead it asks for credit card information so that they can receive payment. I have emailed them at their stated email address, that this is an error but I have not received a reply. I believe this is a scam. I tried to get a phone number from the white and yellow pages but non is available. I am contacting you since I am afraid that they might be involved in identity theft and I want to protect myself.
Product_Or_Service: none
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
Thank you for contacting COOK'S ILLUSTRATED regarding the subscription billing of $24.95.

We checked our files and have been unable to locate your subscription in Brooklyn NY. However, we have located a subscription for the person below:

***** ******
***** ******* ***
**** ** **** ** XXXXX

If it is not your subscription, please send us an address label from the last issue you received, or advise us of the correct mailing address. Upon receipt we will make the necessary adjustments.

However, the billing of $24.95 for the Long ****** ***** ** subscription address has been cancelled. This subscription billing was ordered via internet.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that has been caused, and please let us know if we can be of further assistance.


Sincerely,
Customer Service

***** *******

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 91
11/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My first encounter with Cook's Country was to respond to one of their offers I found in the Doctors office. I received some toothpick or can opener for free, I can not remember which. Next I received a copy of their masgazine, not free. When I tried to stop the uncilicited subsciption, I was put thru the wringer and finnally paid for the first issue but no more. I thought this was over until I received another publication from the same company. I put the magazine in an envolope and returnded it. Is this over? Am I now a patsy to be hounded for years.
Product_Or_Service: None

Initial Business Response
Thank you for contacting Cook's Country.

Our records do not indicate that any subscription order for Cook's Country was ever received. However, the account does show a credit card order was placed November 21, 2012, for a Cook's Illustrated magazine subscription for 6 issues beginning with the November/December 2012 issue. Payment was delayed and the subscription extended until January/February 2014. Also, our customer, Ms. ******** *****, registered on our website, Americastestkitchen.com for free access to our tv show recipes.

Please advise if this is the subscription you would like to discontinue or perhaps more information is needed. We can stop any further renewals if you would like, but please confirm what bills you're receiving and we'll be glad to send confirmation of any cancellations.

Sincerely,

Customer Service
****** *******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did register on your website for access to free recipes, as I really enjoy your tv program. I did not order the magazine! I understood that for registering I would receive 1 issue for free. Soon after receiving the issue, I began receiving bills for a subscription. I think the magazine is lovely and full of wonderful research and information. However, I can't afford this magazine and never intended to subscribe for this reason. Please don't send anything more (unless I have actually already paid for it; your communications are very unclear, as you seem to misunderstand what "free" means). Unless I still have fully paid for issues coming to me, I do not want any more communications from your company;.

Business Response
Thank you for contacting Cook's Country.

On November 21, 2012, a credit order was entered for Cook's Illustrated, however, via a free-trial subscription from an America's Test Kitchen registration placed on the internet.

This order was paid for on May 24, 2013 for $24.95 and the remaining service of 1 issue has recently been refunded on October 31, 2013, for $4.16.

We have removed your name and address from any future mailings.

Sincerely,

Customer Service
****** *******

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/05/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have received several statements for billing subscriptions that we did not order for Architectural Digest and W magazines from this billing center for Conde Nast. It has all the earmarks of a scam, hoping we and others would simply reply and send the form back with payment. This is a bad business practice and they should be prevented from sending an invoice without a signed authorization.

Initial Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience Mr. ******* has experienced regarding a subscription to Architectural Digest and W Magazine.

Our records show we received a subscription request for Architectural Digest on July 3, 2012, for 12 issues for $16.05. As requested, the subscription was cancelled September 30, 2013. There is no money due and Mr. ******* should disregard any further invoices he may receive in the near future.

We received an subscription request for W Magazine on September 16, 2013, for 10 issues for $10.70. The subscription was also cancelled on September 30, 2013. Mr. ******* should disregard any further invoices he may receive.

Please let us know if we can be of further assistance.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They have completely dodged the issue in their responses. I'm sure the subscriptions have been cancelled, though I just received a 10 pound W magazine/book in the mail from them that I did not order. The issue remains the unethical if not illegal practice of sending "invoices" to people that did not order their product.

Final Business Response
Attached you will find the direct mail offers that were sent to Mr. ******* and returned to us for processing.

Again, we apologize for any confusion. The subscriptions have been cancelled.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

07/15/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a book from Cook's Illustrated "America's Test Kitchen". The book was delayed and I was unable to get a response from the company via phone or email. The book finally arrived, but then two months later, another book arrived with a request for payment. I again spent hours on hold, or calling during business hours (phone message continually stated company was closed), and writing emails without response. I finally was able to get a hold of a live person who was unapologetic for the company practices. She did send me an envelope to send the book back, which I did. Now,months later, I have received 2 urgent invoices requesting payment. I again have sent multiple emails and my attempts to reach anyone by phone (during appropriate hours) have been unfruitful. I have spent hours trying to get this resolved and am extremely frustrated. I have noticed that these deceptive practices seem to be routine for this company, as there are multiple complaints online from other victims. The show and books are informative...why does this company feel like it has to resort to extortion? I would appreciate any help in getting this resolved. **
Product_Or_Service: BBQ Cookbook
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXXXX

Business' Initial Response
Our customer, Ms. ************* (account XXXXXXXX), originally ordered and paid for 'The America's Test Kitchen Grilling and Barbeque Cookbook' February 2,2013 from a promotional half price offer. The offer mentioned that the book was part of a series and that the customer would automatically receive the next title in the series unless they returned our notification postcard declining their shipment. All promotions for our America's Test Kitchen cookbooks state that they are part of a series.

Ms. ****** paid for the first order in full and no invoices were sent for this order.

The notification postcard for the next book in the series, 'Science of Good Cooking' was sent March 1, 2013. Since the postcard was not returned, the book, with invoice included,was sent to Ms. ********** April 11, 2013. On April 25, 2013, Ms. ********* contacted our customer service department and postage paid return label was mailed. Effective June 12, 2013,the returned book was received in our warehouse and the balance was cleared from the account.

The account has been removed from all future book mailings and promotions. The account has been closed. There is no balance due on his account at this time.

Please note our correct customer service phone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX, Mon-Fri 8am-7pm CST.

We apologize for any inconvenience.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am pleased to say that I have been assured that my account is indeed closed, however, some things in The America's Test kitchen's reply are inaccurate or not addressed. 1)There was no postcard sent to review. 2)There was no mentioning of a series on the site where the book was ordered. 3) My name is not "Ms. ****** (this implies that there is someone named "Miss ******" who is having similar problems). 4)My account was not immediately cleared after I sent the book back; I received 'urgent' notices requesting payment after book was returned, and made I multiple calls before I reached another live person again.
Again, I have been given assurance that my account is cleared, but I want on record that this company's billing practices are deceptive and communication avenues are poor.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

06/25/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: All of a sudden GQ magazine shows up in my mail. I didn't order it. Two arrived and I used their address to cancel what I didn't order,in writing twice. I blocked the post office from delivering more,and had anything returned to sender. I ALSO PUT A FREEZE ON MY Credit Card. I do not know where they got my address. Now a bill for $ 21.63 has arrived for 12 issues. It also has an automatic renewal. So this is some kind of a con,and I could use your help in combating it.
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Business' Initial Response
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience Ms. ******* has experienced regarding a subscription to GQ Magazine.

We have cancelled the delivery of Ms. *******'s issues.

Our records show we received an order for Ms. ******* on April 19, 2013 from the following outside agency:

M2 MEDIA GROUP
1127 HIGH RIDGE ROAD
#335
EMAIL = *******@M2MAGS.COM
STAMFORD State: CT
XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX

The subscription was included with her purchase through Vistaprint.

A credit subscription, which had been entered in addition to her free subscription from Vistaprint, has now been canceled. Ms. ******* should disregard any further invoices she may receive.

Again, we apologize for Ms. *******'s inconvenience.

Please let us know if we can be of further assistance.






Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The companies responce is nonsense.No order for a magazine was ever placed at any time.I do not know them.The BBB complaint is 100% valid.I will not pay them. Their nonsense has caused work for many innocent people.We can consider the matter closed with a successful BBB complaint. Thank YOU. I note others around the country have had exactly the same problem with ************** this company.

Business' Final Response
We apologize for the inconvenience Ms. ******* has experienced.

The invoice for $21.63 was from an order card we received on May 23, 2013. The order cards are processed through our automated equipment; therefore, another order was processed besides the order from *********.

The credit subscription has been cancelled. Ms. ******* should disregard any further invoices she may receive in the near future.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/26/2013Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 7

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fulfillment Services, Magazines - Distributors, Mail Order & Catalog Shopping, Marketing Consultants

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.