BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/17/2011

SERVPRO of Iowa City / Coralville

Phone: (319) 338-8550Fax: (319) 338-09564172 Alyssa Ct Ste B, Iowa CityIA 52240-8603 Send email to SERVPRO of Iowa City / Coralville

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/17/2011

BBB has determined that SERVPRO of Iowa City / Coralville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised SERVPRO of Iowa City / Coralville's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: This company has very poor customer service skills. I was rescheduled twice and had been waiting for over 2 months to get my carpet cleaned
These people have poor customer service skills and they don't know how to do business. I have been waiting to get carpets cleaned for over 2 months. One of the field technicians called me on the day before I was suppose to get my carpets cleaned and she was very rude and very nasty with me the customer on the phone. This company has a front desk person named Lauren who scheduled me for Friday 6/14/13 at 5:30pm and now it is 6:30pm and no one has showed up to clean my carpets. I don't see how these people still have business coming to them if they treat their customers in this manner.

Business' Initial Response
The consumer called requesting carpet cleaning and was told that we were 6-8 weeks out due to an extremely busy water damage period from the heavy rains in late spring/early summer. The consumer then requested after normal business hours/over the weekend. The carpet cleaning technician volunteered to do the carpet cleaning over the weekend, so it was scheduled on 6-1-13. Our business received several emergency calls for water damages in homes and businesses due to flooding from heavy and numerous rainfalls on Memorial Day and during the holiday weekend. The consumer was called and the service was rescheduled to 6-8-13 due to the emergency water damages. The carpet cleaning technician had an emergency injury to his finger on 6-6-13 and could not use his hand/arm until the stitches were taken out, which was on 6-17-13. The consumer was called on 6-6-13 and notified of this injury and was told we needed to reschedule. The consumer was upset and used foul language/profanity during this conversation. Consumer then called the next day (X-X-XX) and requested to speak to the owner. The office manager called back the consumer on 6-7-13 and offered a 10% discount off of the carpet cleaning services due to the scheduling inconvenience to the consumer. The consumer was not satisfied with the discount offered and requested to speak to the owner again. The owner then called and left a message on 6-10-13, apologizing again and offered a 10% discount again. The consumer called back and scheduled services on X-XX-XX at 5:30 PM. Since the consumer requested after normal business hours/weekend, the earliest we could schedule was X-XX-XX as this was the first after hours/weekend date available after the carpet cleaning technician had their stitches removed on 6-17-13. The on call estimator received three answering service notifications from the consumer on X-XX-XX stating that they had a carpet cleaning appointment scheduled for 5:30 PM and was going to turn us in to the BBB due to a no call/no show. The consumer thought the appointment was scheduled on X-XX-XX at 5:30 PM. We had it scheduled for X-XX-XX at 5:30 PM, as this was the first after hours/weekend date that was available after the technician had their stitches removed on 6-17-13. We perform routine courtesy confirmation calls to our customers one to two days prior to the appointment scheduled.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation, Air Duct Cleaning, Carpet & Rug Cleaners

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/18/2009Business started: 01/01/1983New Owner Date: 01/06/2010
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Iowa Workforce Development
1000 E Grand Ave
Des Moines, IA50319-1020
(515) 281-5736
http://www.iowaworkforce.org/

BBB records show a license number of C110957 for this company, issued by Iowa Workforce Development. Their web address is http://www.iowaworkforce.org/.

Type: Contractor Registration

Check License Status: Click Here

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Brian Meyer (Owner) Joyce Saur (Marketing)
Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation, Air Duct Cleaning, Carpet & Rug Cleaners

Industry Tips
Carpet Cleaning Services - How to Get Your Moneys Worth
Mold Remediation or Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for SERVPRO of Iowa City / Coralville

4172 Alyssa Ct Ste B

Iowa City, IA 52240-8603

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4172 Alyssa Ct Ste B 

    Iowa City, IA 52240-8603(319) 338-8550

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Des Moines, IA. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*SERVPRO of Iowa City / Coralville is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 14, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.