BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

DHCU Community Credit Union

Phone: (309) 796-7500Fax: (309) 796-7645View Additional Phone Numbers1900 52nd Ave, MolineIL 61265-6380http://www.dhcu.org

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

DHCU Community Credit Union is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised DHCU Community Credit Union's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on DHCU Community Credit Union

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
01/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After being pre-approved for a home loan & signing a good faith agreement, the bank made me re-sign the same document over & over to increase my rate.
Starting back in October 2014, I applied for a home mortgage loan through **** ****** at DHCU in Rock Island, Illinois. After finding a home and becoming pre-approved for the $78K amount by ****, I had given a $1,000 earnest payment to the homeowner's lawyer and I was asked to sign a good faith agreement to purchase by DHCU which they told me would "lock in my interest rate". A couple weeks later, I was asked to re-sign the same document by DHCU however this time a higher rate was present on the document. I reluctantly signed it because DHCU made it seem that I could not proceed with the loan until this was signed. Some time later, I was sent another copy of the same document by DHCU to sign, again with a higher rate than both previous documents. I did not sign this version and while trying to pursue another loan at a different bank, the homeowner backed out of the deal and the lawyer is indicating that I have lost my earnest money for not completing the deal. Did DHCU manipulate me?
I feel used since they effectively ruined the application process for me by increasing my rate without justification and I lost my earnest money because of this.

Desired Settlement
I would like to get my earnest money back if possible whether from the lawyer or from DHCU.

Business Response
The applicant/member applied online with DHCU Community Credit Union on X-XX-XX for a prequalification for a home loan via DHCU Community Credit Union's on-line mortgage system ************** When the credit was pulled, the *********** system lowered the term from 30 year to 15 year based on the credit score and eligibility for the ****** *** approval. The Mortgage Loan Service officer, Lisa Sumner, contacted the applicant and advised him that she could offer the 30 year term and that rate was 4.375% at the time of prequalification.
Between X-XX-XX and 9-18-14, the applicant was shopping for a home.
On 9-5-14, a loan Pre-Approval letter was issued based on the 30 year rate of 4.375% with a disclosure that stated "Interest rate is subject to change until rate is formally locked in with the lender".
**** ****** received a purchase agreement on 9-18-14. Title work was ordered and request was sent to DHCU Community Credit Union's Compliance Department to order the appraisal. At that time, (X-XX-XX) the rate was not locked and the applicant came into ****'s office to sign the disclosures on 9-22-14. A Good Faith Estimate was signed which stated that the rate was only good thru X-XX-XX at 1:00 am. All other loan application documents were signed at that time as well. When the applicant came in to the office on 9-22-14, the rate may or may not have been different if he had locked in at that time, however, he opted to float the rate.
On 10-10-14, the appraisal came in and **** called the applicant to let him know the status. At that time, on 10-10-14, the applicant opted to lock his interest rate. **** stated that rates had changed and now the rate was 4.625%. The applicant came in and signed his rate lock on 10-10-14.
Between XX-XX-XX and 10-31-14, **** and her processor had tried to reach the applicant several times to obtain his homeowners insurance to set a closing. The applicant did not furnish homeowners insurance to close his loan.
On November 7, 2014, the seller's Attorney, ******* C. Phares, sent a letter to the applicant stating that he was in breach of the agreement because the applicant had not closed on time. Because the applicant did not close in time, he also forfeited his earnest money. DHCU Community Credit Union would not close his mortgage loan without homeowners insurance because it is a risk to the borrower and is a requirement to protect all parties involved.
On 11-26-14, the applicant's file was closed due to incompleteness.
DHCU Community Credit Union has performed due diligence in closing the applicant's loan. In fact, if the applicant would be willing to come back to the DHCU Community Credit Union for the purchase of his new home, I will personally work with him to complete the transaction. Accordingly, the applicant will need to be cooperative in delivering loan documentation and underwriting requirements to me so that we can close on time.
Thank you for your time and for allowing DHCU Community Credit Union the opportunity to respond.
Anita Adams
Mortgage Sales Manager

09/17/2012Billing / Collection Issues
07/23/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/01/1983Business started: 01/01/1936
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1936, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Matt McCombs (President)Customer Contact: Larry Morine (Asset Recovery Manager) Charlie Kilburg (Mortgage Mgr) Steve Kratzberg (Chairman of the Board)
Business Category

Credit Unions


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

DHCU Community Credit Union has received 4.40 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for DHCU Community Credit Union

1900 52nd Ave

Moline, IL 61265-6380

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1900 52nd Ave 

    Moline, IL 61265-6380(309) 796-7500
    (800) 323-5109

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Des Moines, IA. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*DHCU Community Credit Union is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 323-5109
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 14, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Credit Unions

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.