BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/02/2004

Bettendorf Home Repair Inc.

Find a Location

(563) 355-84493050 State St, BettendorfIA 52722-5255 Send email to Bettendorf Home Repair Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/02/2004

BBB has determined that Bettendorf Home Repair Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bettendorf Home Repair Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bettendorf Home Repair Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor quality of work, slow in completing project, and excessive cost of project.
The project was to add an addition on to my house. We discussed project details in March or April 2014, with discussion of starting the project immediately. However the project actually started in August 2014 and took approximately 6 months to complete.

There were times when the contractor had no employees working due to being overcommitted on other projects which resulted in several delays.

At one time, the City Inspector failed the duct work related to heating. The contractor failed to install a cold air return vent. In addition, the contractor laid carpet without asking me for my preference of color and/or type. This carpet had to be removed and another installed.

The exterior concrete for patio area had been poured and due to low quality of work and material, the area had to be jackhammered up and another concrete company was called to redo the area.

The project exceeded original cost by a minimum of $2,000 and at no time did the contractor explain reasoning for additional cost. Contractor expected me to make several payments throughout the work being completed. I have had other contractors who have stated the cost of the project was extremely unreasonable.

After the project was completed, the contractor has had to come back and make repairs on a set of deck steps because the backing on one step hadn't been nailed. In addition, there were issues with water standing instead of going down the drain on the patio. The contractor charged me additionally to come out and make these repairs.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the patio drain to be repaired properly so the water drains as it is supposed to.

As for the room addition, there is not much that can be done at this time since it is completed. However, the only option would be for some of my cost to be refunded due to the delay in the project being started and completed, and the distress placed on me during the timeframe the work was being done.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *********, Presiden
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@********************.com
Re: ********** complaint,

Customer states that -

"Project took 6 months to complete."
Answer: This was a large addition that we started on September 4th and finished on Dec 8th. I believe this was a reasonable time frame to complete this addition. We are very clear in our contract that we do not work on deadlines nor do we promise any type of delivery date. (Please see contract.)

"There were times when contractor had no employees working due to being over committed on other projects."
Answer: This is totally untrue. We worked every day we were scheduled to be on the property. The only time we did not have our employees on site was when we were awaiting inspections or when sub-contractors were there and we could not work around them. We do have all time cards needed to prove our response.

"At one time, the city inspector failed the ductwork related to heating."
Answer: This was repaired and passed inspection. We are not mechanical contractors and this portion was subbed out to a properly licensed mechanical firm with a very good reputation. I personally do not see any harm to the client from this and it did not delay the completion.

"In addition, the contractor laid carpet without asking me for my preference of color and / or type."
Answer: This is a totally false statement. We have pictures of the carpet chosen by the customer that are initialled and we have three seperate places in our contract that he has signed stating that the carpet we installed was the carpet he wanted. Only after it was installed did the customer change his mind and want new carpet installed.

"The exterior concrete for patio area had been poured and due to low quality of work and material, the area had to be jackhammered up and another concrete company was called to redo the area."
Answer: The concrete was poured as the customer requested. We have pictures of the concrete that was poured. The customer said that he was not happy with the patio and wanted it removed and repoured. Even though there was nothing noticeably wrong with the concrete, we removed and repoured the slab in an attempt to appease the customer. There was nothing wrong with the original slab poured.

"The project exceeded the contract price by $2000 and at no time did the contractor explain reasoning for additional cost."
Answer: This statement is totally false. We have change orders for all additional costs and all change orders were signed by the customer.

"Contractor expected me to make several payments throughout the work being completed."
Answer: Customer was required to make progress payments that were outlined in his contract.

"I have had other contractors who have stated that the cost of the project was extremely unreasonable."
Answer: Customer recieved initial estimate in March of 2014 Customer did not sign contract till Aug 12 2014. Customer had plenty of time to deliberate over the price before he signed the contract. At no time was he coerced or forced to sign anything with us.

"After the project was completed, the contractor had to come back to make repairs on a set of steps because the backing on one step had not been nailed."
Answer: This is true. Customer called and told me that the drain was not draining properly and that one of the boards on his deck had come loose. I responded the same day and we had it repaired the next day. The riser on one of the steps had not been completely nailed in place and had fallen out. We installed it and checked all other steps to ensure that there were no other problems.

"In addition, there were issues with standing water not going down the drain on the patio. The contractor charged me additionally to come out and make those repairs."
Answer: We did not charge him for any work we did on the steps for this call out. We DID charge him a minimum call out fee because the drain was clogged with leaves and plant debris. Removal of leaves is a maintenance issue and not covered under warrantee. We did explain that to him in detail on his invoice ***** which he subsequently paid.

We feel that we have bent over backwards to try and please this customer and he has been unreasonable in his demands. We will deny any refund.

Note: We do not accept any responsibility for the drain tile as customer has had other contractors adding to the tile and concrete poured in front of it. We believe the fall was not properly followed when the additional concrete was installed leading to a slower drain, however, when we cleared the leaves from the drain it flowed uninterrupted and worked as it was designed.

I would be happy to proceed to mediation if customer wishes to follow that route. I am prepared to defend against any action presented.

Sincerely,

***** *********
President
Bettendorf Home Repair Inc.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction & Remodeling Services, Property Management, Basement - Remodeling, Home Improvements, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/27/2004Business started: 01/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of C091911 for this company.

Type: Contractor Registration

Check License Status: Click Here

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2007, IA

Contact Information
Principal: Lenny Wilkinson (Owner/President) Karmen Wilkinson (Vice President)
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services, Property Management, Basement - Remodeling, Home Improvements, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Products & Services

This company offers Home Repair & Remodeling, Concrete work and Commercial Property Management.

Industry Tips
Contracts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bettendorf Home Repair Inc.

3050 State St

Bettendorf, IA 52722-5255

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3050 State St 

    Bettendorf, IA 52722-5255(563) 355-8449

  • PO Box 506 

    Bettendorf, IA 52722-0009

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Des Moines, IA. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bettendorf Home Repair Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 14, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Construction & Remodeling Services

Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.