BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Great Western Bank

(515) 223-1607View Additional Phone Numbers10101 University Ave STE 101, CliveIA 50325-6443

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Great Western Bank is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Great Western Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Great Western Bank

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/09/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They sent a debt to a collection agency 11 days AFTER it had been paid
on July XX XXXX was told by bank manager Trace Schmitt that the bank would not close this account and i could pay it up to date also that they would not take money from the account we just opened.
august X XXXX they closed the account and took $50.00 from the account just opened.
I was told by Cindy (head teller) that the account had been closed and that I could not pay off the balance owed.
on december X XXXX they took the balance owed.
I called customer service and got a letter from Stephanie Thomas and from ***** ****** stating the matter was paid in full.
Deceber XX XXXX i got a letter from Watertown credit Bureau inc that they were trying to collect for the same account I called them Wendy said they received it December XX XXXX
11 days after the bank collected the balance owed

Desired Settlement
This matter should of been settled July XX XXXX as discussed with Trace Schmitt.
It should also have been settled August X XXXX as discussed with Cindy (head teller)
It should of been Settled December X XXXX as discussed with stephanie

I do not understand why this matter has been ongoing for almost 6 month and being repeatadly lied to by Great Western Bank concerning this matter

Business Response
The Right of Offset allowed us to take $50 from the joint account owned by ***** ****** and ******* ******. Because Mr. ****** is not an authorized signer on the account that received the offset, we cannot provide any further information to him through this channel. If Ms. ****** would like an update on the status of her individual account, she can contact Rachael Jacobson at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

03/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received notification that my account had been overdrawn. When I sought assistance I was told they would do nothing assist, although it was there processing that caused the issues. I attempted to contact a number of individuals up to Regional President as was advised that they would not review the situation

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund over the draft fees that were caused by there failure to deny transactions and for there handling of the issue regarding the processing of Amazon's charges and refunds. I also want them to keep the account open until my student aid funds are able to be deposited by my college and there there be no negative reporting to Check Systems once this issue is revolved.

Business Response
At the time the $50 charge from Amazon posted to Mr. ******'s account on January 6, his account balance was $5.11. From January 7 through January 13, four more debit card transactions, totaling $64.15, posted to the account without any deposits by Mr. ****** to bring the account balance positive. Amazon refunded the $50 to Mr. ******'s account on January 9. There were no issues with the way any of these transactions were processed by the Bank.

When Mr. ****** opened the account on November 2, 2013, he signed the Reg E Overdraft Authorization form authorizing Great Western Bank to pay ATM and debit card transactions when the account has a negative balance and assess overdraft fees accordingly. Mr. ****** has the option to remove this service at any time.

Mr. ****** had not communicated with his account officer or Great Western Bank from the time his account went negative on January 6, 2014 until January 27, 2014 - the day he requested that his account be kept open to accept a deposit from financial aid for school expenses. ****** *****, Retail Manager, communicated with Mr. ****** on several occasions assuring him that the account would stay open to accept his incoming deposit on February 3, 2014. During the correspondence Mr. ****** did not ask for a refund of fees, he only asked to keep the account open, which we granted him. Mr. ****** stated that Amazon processed an error on his account. The Bank gave Mr. ****** the necessary information to get the issue resolved with Amazon, but he did not follow through.

**** *****, *** ****** ***** President, reviewed Mr. ******'s account and found the overdraft fees did not result from processing errors due to bank processing. He responded to Mr. ****** via email on January 28, re-iterating that the bank was not at fault and advising that our general practice is to close an account that has a negative balance for 30 consecutive days. Mr. ****** was also informed that he would receive an additional 7 days to pay the negative balance in the account before it closed and reported to a collection agency. An ACH credit posted to the account on February 3 to bring the account balance positive. Mr. ******'s request to keep the account open was granted. This situation will not warrant a negative report to ChexSystems.

Attached is the email correspondence between Mr. ******, ****** ***** and **** ******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Banks

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/18/2008Business started: 01/01/2001
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Allen Shafer (President) Lisa Maas (Branch Manager)
Business Category

Banks

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Great Western Bank

10101 University Ave STE 101

Clive, IA 50325-6443

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10101 University Ave STE 101 

    Clive, IA 50325-6443(515) 223-1607
    (866) 694-9226

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Des Moines, IA. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Great Western Bank is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 694-9226
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 14, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Banks

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.