BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Community State Bank

Find a Location

Phone: (515) 331-3100Fax: (515) 965-1739200 8th St SE, AltoonaIA 50009-1966http://www.bankcsb.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Community State Bank is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Community State Bank's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Community State Bank

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 9/8/2014 I checked the balance on my Community State checking account XXXXXXXXX. My balance was $405.00. I knew I would not have any auto debits coming out until 9/22/14 so I paid $400.00 to my Capital One Credit Card, leaving $5.00 in the checking account. On 9/8/14, ****** ***** Personal Banker Community State Bank, transferred money ($67.40) out of XXXXXXXXX in an older account XXXXXXXXX to take care of a small negative balance and close the account. She then returned my $400.00 payment on 9/9/14, AFTER I paid it with the funds available on 9/8/14, which caused the account to go negative. She then charged me an overdraft fee of $32.00 for the account going negative. My payment of $400.00 applied to my Capital One Credit Card on 9/8/14, and funds were available for me to use. I paid a bill and some miscellaneous items on 9/8/14 and 9/9/14. After she returned the $400.00 this put me over my limit with Capital One. She should have contacted me before making this transaction. ****** and I spoke briefly on 9/9/14. She asked me if she could transfer funds and close XXXXXXXXX. I told her it was ok, but to please wait until an auto deposit was to be deposited. The Deposit ended up being smaller than expected. She should have contacted me again to verify it was ok to transfer the funds. Obviously I would not have given her permission to transfer the funds and charge me an overdraft fee. She should have WAITED until there were funds available to transfer and close the other account, She should not have taken it upon herself to transfer funds AFTER I made a payment to Capital One, causing me to go negative, and THEN unfairly charge me an overdraft fee, when it was HER actions that caused the account to go negative. I talked with ****** about this and she said she would not reverse the overdraft fee. I want a print out of the TIME STAMP from ****** ***** IP address verifying exact time and date she made these transactions. I also want a print out of the TIME STAMP from Community State Bank online
Product_Or_Service: Bank/Checking Account
Order_Number: n/a
Account_Number: n/a

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of the $32.00 overdraft fee that was charged unfairly. Personal banker's actions made the account go negative, not mine.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern :
I spoke to ******* on September 27, 2014 regarding her complaint. *******
explained to me that she did t ell Brandi that it was ok to debit her check ing account
number XXXXXXX in the amount of S67.40 and to credit her negative checking
account XXXXXX. This would bring the negative account to a zero balance allowing
the bank to close the account. Due to the timing, of when the banker debited
*******'s account and when ******* paid her bill out of the account, her account
went negat ive. A fee was assessed to *******'s account. As a courtesy, the Bank has
refunded ******* the $32.00 NSF fee.
******* was happy about receiving the fee refund. She wanted me to know that
*** and ****** in our Customer Care center have always been professional as well
as consistently going above and beyond to assist her. I let ******* know that I
would pass **** information along to their supervisor.
Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Banks

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/11/2007Business started: 01/02/1979
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Kathy Williams (VP Retail Banking) Ron Nagel (CEO)
Business Category

Banks

Products & Services

The company is classified as a full service banking facility.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Community State Bank

200 8th St SE

Altoona, IA 50009-1966

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 200 8th St SE 

    Altoona, IA 50009-1966(515) 331-3100
    Fax: (515) 965-1739

  • PO Box 336 

    Altoona, IA 50009-0336

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Des Moines, IA. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Community State Bank is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 14, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Banks

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.