BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1940

Bankers Trust

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 932-3279Fax: (515) 245-5216453 7th St, Des MoinesIA 50309-4110 Send email to Bankers Trust

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1940

BBB has determined that Bankers Trust meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bankers Trust's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bankers Trust

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
03/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I provided Banker's Trust with the required documents to open a Business Account which they did. Then they closed it charging me multiple fees.
In December 2014 I spoke with a Manager at Banker's Trust to open a Business Account. I was told I needed the paperwork I received when filing my business as well as my EIN and a $500 deposit. I returned December 14, 2015 with these requirements and opened an account. The individual opening the account confessed she was struggling to make it work correctly and asked that I confirm I had set my business up correctly. Once I returned home I reviewed my paperwork and to confirm everything I had provided was correct.
On January 14, 2015 I received a check from Banker's Trust written to my business name in the amount of $458.64. When I returned to Banker's Trust to question this action, the individual who opened my account admitted she shouldn't have done it. I questioned why I should be charged $41.36 if it was her mistake. She had no reply. I also asked what the issue was with my account. She explained it was my EIN was a "mismatch" as a strange name appeared when she looked it up. When questioned what that strange name was she realized it was my last name (I had opened a sole proprietorship). This also did not change her treatment of my situation.
When I returned to Banker's Trust to cash the check they had provided as a refund they refused to cash it as it was written to the business name. I brought in my IRS statement proving myself as a business and had to have them call their lead security officer to get permission for them to refund the cash to the account they had originally received it from.

Desired Settlement
I am simply asking for a return of my $41.36.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ************
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********
The bank will be refunding $41.36.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Banks, Financial Services, Trust Companies

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/01/1948Business started: 01/01/1948
Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 1917, IA

Business Management
Customer Contact: Julie Engelkin (Human Resources)
Contact Information
Principal: Suku Radia (President/CEO) Kip Albertson (SVP CFO) Don Coffin (EVP Chief Credit Officer) Scott Eltjes (EVP Wealth Management) Paul Erickson (SVP Consumer Services Manager) Tim Kintner (EVP Consumer, Private & Regional Banking) Jana Rieker (VP Director of Sales & Marketing)
Business Category

Banks, Financial Services, Trust Companies

Products & Services

The company is a full service banking facility offering banking, financial services, correspondent banking, trust services and wealth management.

Alternate Business Names
BTC Capital Management

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bankers Trust

453 7th St

Des Moines, IA 50309-4110

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Des Moines, IA. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bankers Trust is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 14, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Banks


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.