BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/21/2013

M Town Tire & Auto LLC

Phone: (319) 465-2886

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Took my tuck to get aligned work wasn't done but I paid full price for an alignment . I had to take my truck to another shop to get it aligned
1/20 I took my truck into M town automotive to get a repair they were to replace my pitman arm and align my front end and stealing wheel advised technician **** to watch out for my DVD/ Radio player as it pops out of my dash when truck is started if it's placed in gear to quick you will hit it. I was notified 1/20 that my truck was finished and the total cost was 262.39 I drove my truck home and the next day to ia city noticed it was still pulling really hard to the right also my DVD/ CD player the gears were grinding when it came out as if it was hit. After arriving home made a call to M town spoke to technician **** was rude in how he spoke with me i inquired what was done to my truck to get it aligned he responded back he wasn't sure what was done because he didn't do the job, I advised jake that the stearing was still pulling like it hadn't been adjusted I also advised jake that I had looked at the bolts an could tell that they had not been broken loose or adjusted, he sates he didn't do the job his boss **** did and I would have to call back the next day. He was extremely rude and asked how would I know what was done I told him I'm very familiar with trucks I do all my work and he interrupted and said except your pitman arm in a sarcastic tone. When I called M town and spoke with **** I asked him what was done to align my truck he stated he put it on the alignment computer the camber was in spec and all he had to do was adjust the tow. I inquired why would my truck be pulling to the right still if everything was in spec and handled properly he stated he did everything that was required and his computer said that the tires were aligned. I wanted a second opinion because I felt the job wasn't completed correctly so I took my truck to *** auto in monticello I spoke with joe a technician he stated as well as I saw that the passenger side wheel was horribly out of alignment and was the reason the truck was pulling to the right. I went ahead and had *** auto align my truck paid 96.54. After alignment with MAC auto my truck drove perfectly straight down the road. *** from *** advised that I should call **** and ask for a print out because all alignment machines store previous alignment stats in their computer because from what he could see it was not done properly. I called M town again spoke with **** advised of situation again also they had forgotten to slide the cover over stearing shaft, didn't put all the bolts back into skid plate and didn't bend back the inner fender. All **** could do was apologize for the truck leaving that way it shouldn't have and advised his printer didn't work and he could not print me off the readings of my alignment. He inquired why I didn't bring it back to him to fix, I told him jake was extremly rude and that I had givin them the chance to so their job correctly the first time. I asked how could my alignment get so messed up by driving it to iowa city he started there's no way. He stated he didn't remove any bolts because his machine said It was in spec so all he adjusted was the tow, even though he also started when he drove it it was still pulling to the right but he blamed it on the wind. He states there's nothing he can do because my truck had been fixed if I wanted to bring in my truck he would look at my radio I advised the only thing he could do was look at it he couldn't fix the stripped gears unless he bought me anther 700$ DVD/CD player. He could only apologize for his technician jake for being rude and for the way my truck was when I received it back. I feel if your in a professional car repair business you have one chance to fix the problem if the problem isn't fixed you don't charge full price and if you didn't fix the problem at all you should refund your customers money not state the company who fixed my truck was just throwing them under the bus and trying to make them lose a customer. It's the poor customer service and lack if business ethics that make you loose.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of the alignment and part of the labor because it wasn't done properly.

Business Response
Date: Feb. 5, 2014
Better Business Bureau
Case # XXXXXXXX :
In response To ******* ***** complaint, M Town Tire and Auto, LLC provides outstanding customer service and leads with outstanding business ethics. M Town provided service for Mr. ***** on 1/13/2014 (Receipt XXXXX- mounted customers 4 oversized used tires and balance tires) and on 1/20/2014 (Receipt XXXXX- to complete customers unfinished attempt t o install parts and an alignment).
1/13/14 mounted customers 4 oversized used tires and balanced tires.
1/17/14 M Town Tire shook front end down and noted that several parts needed replacement before alignment could be completed. M Town completed diagnosis for Mr. ***** at NO Charge so he could complete on his own. M Town noted what needed to be completed for customer, again at no charge, so he could take home and purchase parts and fix it himself.
1/17/14 Alignment was scheduled to be completed on the 1/20/14 after customer replaced tie rod ends himself. Alignments are needed after tire rod replacement.
1/20/14 Mr. ***** was unable to complete ALL parts to be replaced (pitman arm) and requested us to complete installment before the alignment.
The alignment was performed and the Camber and caster showed to be within factory specs; therefore, not needing to be adjusted. The toe was out of specs so it was adjusted correctly and the steering wheel was straightened. That particular day there were heavy cross winds causing it to be difficult for us conclude that the pull to the right we were feeling was coming from the truck or the heavy cross winds. The customer was notified verbally, face to face, about the possible pull to the right.
The customer was charged for an alignment, labor to complete installing pitman arm, and shop supplies.
Customer was called to pick up his truck later that day. I explained to him about the truck may have a drift to the right yet, but we were unsure if was caused from the extreme cross winds that day. I asked him to drive it the next day or so and to please contact me if it continued to pull- so we could fix it. I emphasized to have him call me if the truck continued to drift to the right or if there were any other issues.
Mr. ***** left the shop that day (Monday) after paying for his bill and did not hear from him again until that following Thursday (23rd).
1/23/14 Mr. ***** communicated with **** that the truck continued to pull to the right and so he took it to another shop before contacting us. The customer had the alignment completed by another automotive place before contacting us that the issue was never fixed. This was the very first communication we had with him once his truck left the shop. M Town Tire and Auto guarantees their work and that is why we told him to call us if the truck continued to pull to the right or if there were any other issues. The customer agrees that I had communicated this to him about contacting us if the pull continued or if there were any other issues. The customer stated, "That you only have one chance with me", and that is why he did not call us back to fix the issue.
Mr. ***** has mentioned that our employee, ****, was rude and unprofessional to him on the phone. We talked to our employee about the issue. **** has been always been an outstanding employee and has always had great customer relations with all of our customers in the past, but we did talk to him about the issue and the possibility that he may have came across rude or unempathetic to the customer. **** was very opened to the customer service education and we believe that it was an isolated incident (whether it truly happened the way Mr. ***** believes it did but we take customer complaints serious therefore treated it as a validated incident).
**** instructed Mr. ***** to call back and speak with me. I was currently away from the shop on a service trip and unable to take the phone call on Thursday.

1/24/14 Mr. ***** called back on Friday very unhappy and said that he took his truck to another shop to have it fixed on Thursday before communicating with us. I referred back to our original conversation that if it continued to drift to contact us and we would fix it. Mr. ***** stated, "You only have one chance with me".
The customer also mentions other issues he had with our service- he said his radio was not working after it left our shop on Monday. M Town Tire and Auto was not made aware of any radio issues prior or after the appointment. Once he said that he thought we caused the radio to stop working - I offered to look at with NO Charge- he refused the service. He stated that when shifting his truck, if you move it quickly you could potentially disrupt the radio and strip the gears. We were here at the shop when the customer picked up his truck that day and he never came in or called us about the radio not working. If we did anything to disrupt the radio while it was here at our shop- we would have fixed it. We offered to look at, but customer refused to let us even looks at it.
We stand behind our work and always communicate with the customer to contact us if they have any questions or concerns. I apologized to him and offered to make things "right" at the end of our conversation Friday (24th) evening. We never heard anything back from him until we received this complaint.
Summary:
M Town Tire and Auto mounted 4 used oversized tires, diagnosed several other parts for the customer to replace on his own time at NO Charge to customer, completed installing pitman arm (customer was unable to complete on own- so we finished the job for him), and an alignment since the customer replaced his own tie rods.
We completed the services requested by customer and verbally told him to contact us if there were any continued issues (the pull to the right). We explained our issue with the crosswinds making it difficult to know for certain if we fixed the pull to the right and that they may potentially be a bad tire causing the pull.
Customer contacted us after he took his truck to another shop to have another alignment completed before contacting us to allow us to fix the ongoing issues.
We apologized for him feeling this way and immediately asked what we can do to help "fix "this with him. He responded, "You only have one chance with me". We asked for him to come back so we could make things "right" with his radio and his pull to the right- and refused. Also during our conversation, we informed Mr. ***** that we are part of the BBB and we stand behind our service 100%- I feel that we honestly tried to come to resolution with Mr. *****, but he cut off communication and never gave us a chance. We never heard from him again until this formal complaint.
Our Plan of Resolution:
We are issuing a refund check to the customer for cost of the alignment since he did not feel we completed the service to his standards (our policy is we stand behind our service 100%).
The check number is 5218 and receipt XXXXX and issue date is Feb. 5, 2014.
We spoke with our employee, ****, about his phone etiquette and provided customer service education.

We take great pride in providing outstand customer service and stand behind our services 100%. We feel great regret that Mr. ***** and us could not communicated better and come to resolution together. We truly feel that we did the best we could to aid in the resolution of this issue. We do understand the frustration a customer feels when they are not satisfied and that is why we strive to provide a positive experience or do our best to come to a compromise with our customers.
Follow-up on comments within complaint:
We apologize for the truck leaving without all the bolts placed back into the skid plate and feel horrible about the truck leaving the shop like that. We took action and have talked to our mechanic that did service and guarantee that this will never happen again.
We have provided the fix for our alignment machine not being able to print the alignment specs.
We have spoken to all employees involved and provided education or possible resolution to prevent in possible future occurrences.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Auto Repair - Mobile, Tire Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.