BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Hampton Home Store

Phone: (641) 456-2503Fax: (641) 456-202614 1st St NW, HamptonIA 50441-1902

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Hampton Home Store is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hampton Home Store's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hampton Home Store

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought phone June 17. Didn't work they sent in to get fixed. Still do not have.
I know they do not refund on used phones but, this is a unusual case. I just want my money back and be done. I bought another phone from another store. Extreme circumstances in this case should warrant an exception in policy.

Desired Settlement
The price of the used phone only, $150. Not the case. They can have it to resell.

Business' Initial Response
When customer purchased phone he was told that our policy is that we do not authorize returns on used phones,they are purchased as is. The phone did work when customer left the store, we would never send a customer out the door with a nonworking phone. U.S. Cellular policy is when a phone is brought back outside of the returning terms, the phone must be sent in for repair. At that time, we did give customer a loaner phone to use. He left with the loaner phone and we sent in phone. Customer decided on his own, without notifying our location, that he would buy another phone at another location. That was his choice and it is not be our responsibility to give him his money back just because he didn't want to wait for the phone to return from repair. We are taking care of him as much as we can, by sending in the phone free of charge to customer, calling weekly to check on phone's status, also providing customer with loaner phone for free. I do understand that this is taking longer than normal to return from repair, however it is out of our control as we do not repair phones in our location. As for now, I would appreciate he try and be patient and realize we are doing what we can to help. I feel he was told upfront what our store policy was, he agreed with it, and did leave with a working phone. Unfortunately it is not working now and they are waiting for a part to fix the phone. We will contact customer as soon as phone arrives and will continue to check on the status in the meantime.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair, Television & Radio - Service & Repair, Television & Radio - Dealers, Appliances - Major - Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/29/2010Business started: 01/01/1992New Owner Date: 01/01/2008
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Lance Uhlenhopp (Owner)
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair, Television & Radio - Service & Repair, Television & Radio - Dealers, Appliances - Major - Dealers

Products & Services

This company offers appliance and television sales, service and repair.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hampton Home Store

14 1st St NW

Hampton, IA 50441-1902

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 14 1st St NW 

    Hampton, IA 50441-1902(641) 456-2503

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Des Moines, IA. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hampton Home Store is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on May 14, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Appliances - Major - Service & Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.