Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pools of Fun, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pools of Fun, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Pools of Fun, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 14, 1989 Business started: 04/19/1980 in IN Business incorporated 12/14/1989 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Marion County-Department of Code Enforcement
1200 S Madison Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46225
http://www.indy.gov/eGov/City/DCE/Pages/home.aspx
Phone Number: (317) 327-1291

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tim Colon, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Colon, President
Business Category

SWIMMING POOL CONTRACTORS, DEALERS, DESIGN SWIMMING POOL SERVICE & REPAIR All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Industry Tips
Buying a Swimming Pool Contracts General Contractors Licensing/Registration-Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Pools of Fun, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 11640 Brooks School Road #300

    Fishers, IN 46037 (317) 915-7526

  • 14765 Hazel Dell Crossing

    Noblesville, IN 46062 (317) 843-0337

  • 1551 N Green Street #O

    Brownsburg, IN 46112

  • 2550 S SR 135

    Greenwood, IN 46143 (317) 882-3943

  • 3891 Clarks Creek Road

    Plainfield, IN 46168 (317) 839-3199 (317) 839-3311 (800) 536-3387 (888) 766-5832

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased an in-ground pool from Pools of Fun in 2013. The pool installation was fine. Their service since then has been HORRIBLE. We have had to make numerous calls just for routine service, they give us a day and then they don't show up. We call back and they act like we never called, no record, etc. This company is poorly run from a service perspective and the people who do come out are NEW every year and don't know much about pools. I called last week and cancelled our service agreement with them (which is an outrageous price by the way). They said they would refund it immediately. I am still waiting on the refund. I called another company and saved almost 50% and they came out immediately. Knowing what I know today, I would purchase a pool from them.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund, as promised. Processed immediately.

Business Response:

We apologize for the frustrations Mr. ******* encountered with our Weekly Service program.  Per Mr. *******'s request, we have processed his refund for the prepaid Weekly Service program, only.  Attached you will find a copy of the receipt showing the refund processed on April 26, 2016.  

 

Thank you.  

11/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a flyer in the mail that advertised $50 off your closing call to schedule. Well I was told that I had to come in and sign an agreement and I couldn't just call to schedule it has to be in person. When I presented the coupon I was told it was $25 off opening and $25 off closing only and I would have to pay for both up front. Told the gentleman at the counter that this coupons says closing only and 50$ off, it does not say $25 off anywhere and basically this is false advertising. He said that's what the owner meant, even though it clearly does not say so.

Business Response:

The flyer in question did stipulate that 'restrictions apply'; however, because we value Mr. ******* business we will be sending him a $50.00 gift card that can be utilized in any of our retail stores for in-store purchases.  Mr. ****** can expect delivery of this card within the next 5 to 10 business days.  

 

Thank you.

10/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a new inground pool liner from Pools of Fun Plainfield. Paid $2,000 deposit to pre-order July. We made several phone calls to inquire about installation date and never got returned call. Suddenly we got a call telling us they would be out next day. Fast forward- Line installed Aug 28th, We paid the rest of the cost, - total roughtly $4,000. Days later we discovered 2 sharp objects poking thru the new liner on bottom pool. I called for 2-3 days leaving msg with Service Dept to never get a phone call back. Fast Forward- they sent a technician out to inspect on Sept 9th, and I have called Janet in service department to get status update and she is avoiding contact. Tells us she will call us right back, and never returns phone calls. We invested $4,000 for a liner, and have received very poor service since July !

Desired Settlement: #1. Complete refund our our money #2. Complete repair of the pool liner- replacement with new liner and removal of sharp objects below, due to faulty installation by Pools of Fun.

Business Response:

A Service Technician from PoF was onsite with this homeowner on Wednesday, September 16th and performed a 'drain-and-fill' as well as taking care of the object(s) in question. 

We feel that this issue has been resolved; however, we would like confirmation from the BBB and the homeowner that this is the case. 

9/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had many injuries resulting in the poor condition of the pool deck Pools of Fun put in. The majority of the pool deck is highly uncomfortable to walk on, we can not sit on the edge of our pool with out injuring our legs or ruining our bathing suits. I have tried several times to rectify this situation with only one response with a product that would not be warrantied because of the cracking in our concrete. (Our pool was put in this year) We have asked for a partial replacement of concrete with no response. Also, the pool was put in too high in our back yard. I repeatedly told them the pool was too high with a response of... don't you worry, it will be just fine. Now, the majority of our neighbors can see directly into our pool area. The pool is higher than the grade of our house. Our experience has been less than except-able considering the amount of money spent on this pool.

Desired Settlement: We would like Pools of Fun to replace the step down section of our pool deck and cover our pool deck with a product that will allow us to walk comfortably around our pool.

5/22/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid 1/2 down for replacement of liner on April 7th I was told it'd be 2wks by Service Mgr Kyle. After I paid this I tried calling Kyle 3x's always leaving voicemail msg to ask Kyle about also getting LED Lights installed while installation of new liner. I also sent Kyle an email. This all took place within 7 days of contract being signed. 9 days after signing lady representing Pools of Fun called to tell me New Liner would be installed May 5th. This would have been in fact 4 wks after signed agreement of 2wks. I asked what happened to the 2wks promised. No answer to me as of why. I said ok we'll see you May 5th. I went on telling her that I'd been trying to contact Svc Mgr Kyle & her wouldn't answer my email or return my repeated calls. She said she'd call & email him to in fact contact me. Still No Call Back From Kyle. On April 24th I emailed Kyle yet again asking why he wouldn't return my calls as well telling him this was in now way any way to represent Pools of Fun & he needed to pull his head out of his ***** 2 days later he finally respond via email informing me they were refunding me my money & they'd not only be granting me service, but they'd never grant me service our sales of any kind in future. I purchased my pool April of 1999 thru Pools of Fun & always using Pools of Fun thru these years for service and products spending well over $20,000.00 in chemicals, accessories, service, replacement parts, etc... Them not returning my calls then refusing me service after both parties accepted said contract is just ridiculous. I've been nothing but a devoted customer since my purchase. There lack of not calling me back on numerous occasions has basically resulted in me now being refused both service & products!!

Desired Settlement: Install my liner & live up to contact both parties agreed too...

Business Response: Our sales manager, Tyler H*****, has been in touch with Mr. *****.  He and Mr. ***** were able to reach a resolution regarding his complaint.  It was our understanding that Mr. ***** was to be in contact with the BBB to withdrawal his complaint.  If this is not the case and there is still an issue with Mr. *****, please advise so that we may follow-up with Mr. ***** to ensure satisfactory resolution. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Pools of Fun did contact me, but it was only after I filed the complaint with the BBB.
Gentleman did apologise for other employees behavior or lack there of.
There resolution was to put me in the back off line & they'd get to me 2wks later.
This was unacceptable seeing I was already treated ridiculously bad & told they were ceasting to do business with me.
I did find an outside contractor who performed the work, both to my satisfaction & $1000.00 cheaper.
I truly feel Pools of Fun felt they were really fixing the problem, but in reality they weren't doing anything to fix it other than offering to put me in the back of the line & when my number came up they'd get to me!!
I will no longer be doing any business with Pools of Fun...


Regards,

**** *****

10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Pools of Fun, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart