BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kayak Pools Midwest, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kayak Pools Midwest, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Kayak Pools Midwest, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 22, 1994 Business started: 06/01/1994 in IN Business started locally: 06/06/1994 Business incorporated 06/22/1994 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Marion County-Department of Code Enforcement
1200 S Madison Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46225
Phone Number: (317) 327-1291

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Michael Klein, President Ms. Barbara Klein, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Klein, President
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
American Marketing Group, Inc.
Industry Tips
Contractors - General Info Licensing/Registration-Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kayak Pools Midwest, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 845 E. 65th Street

    Indianapolis, IN 46220 (317) 536-7910


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a home that already had a Kayak swimming pool. The liner was coming down so we contacted Kayak Pools Midwest to repair the liner in May 2015. They came out at the end of May, looked the pool over and stated that the liner could not be repaired, it had to be replaced. We then ordered a new liner through Kayak Pools. We were told that once the liner was delivered to our home, we needed to contact the contractor to let them know we had the new liner and to get on the schedule to get it installed. We contacted the contractor the minute we were notified that it was being delivered to our house, yet it took the contractor a week and a half to return our call just to get on the schedule. Once he finally scheduled us, he kept cancelling on us because he said the job he was working on was running over. Once he never even bothered to show up at his scheduled time, but didn't bother to text us that he wasn't coming until late afternoon. My husband missed work to be there for the contractor, yet he gave no consideration for our schedule at all. When he finally did show up to install the new liner, he realized that the liner we were sent was the wrong liner. THE LINER HAD SAT THERE FOR NEARLY A MONTH!!! He didn't check this from the get go? I don't know who's error the incorrect liner was, his when he ordered it, or the shops when they processed the order, but at any rate, the pool could now not be worked on because we had the incorrect liner. We were supposed to be overnighted a new liner, but then when we hadn't received the liner or received any calls about it, we contacted them and were told that the new liner was now on backorder. We finally received the new liner last week on Tuesday, yet when we called to get scheduled, the contractor told us he would be out next week sometime. Couldn't give us a date or a time. I called the office, supposedly spoke with the manager, who said her name was Tarie, and she couldn't even get a hold of her contractor to nail down a date. When she finally did get a hold of him, he said he had already talked to us: lie! He texted to say he would be out sometime next week while I was on the phone with the manager. When I told her that it was unacceptable, we needed a timeframe because we had to take off work, she said she was going to get ahold of the contractor, and call me back the next day, which would have been Friday last week. It is now, Wednesday and I still haven't heard from her. Through text message, the contractor said he would be here sometime today, yet a few minutes ago, he is now saying he won't be able to be at our house until sometime tomorrow afternoon. So this liner, that we have already paid for in full, that was was supposed to be installed in early June is still not installed and it is now late July. The rain has delayed the work, we understand this and are not blaming Kayak for this. However, the contractor doesn't show up when he says he's going to & the service department, the supposed manager, doesn't return calls like she says she's going to. We've asked for a discount. They said they would give us $200 in catalogue credit, as if I want to buy anything from them ever again, then she said she would send us a new winter cover & a couple of chairs. I want the liner that I've already paid for installed!!!

Desired Settlement: I want the job finished, correctly. I want the free winter cover that was promised and I want a credit on my bill for the missed days of work when they couldn't be bothered to show up or call in a timely manner.

Business Response: We have been working with client, all issues have been resolved and being compensated.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The company has stated that they will be sending us a winter pool cover, as well as, an in-pool ladder, however, we have not received these items and the company has not returned my call in regards to these items.


******** ******

Business Response: The service department has been in contact with client and requested items have been ordered and are being shipped.  All outstanding requests and issues have been resolved.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. 


******** ******

8/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kayak MIdwest swimming pools took me as a joke when I told several people how beauitful their pools are, I wrote to top people in regards to your pools since 2005 I have paper wor to back that up. What deep saddens me is I start calling in the winter months trying to get your 16x32 Kayak pool with decking , I was told to stop calling and go buy a used one and the rep gave me people names to get it and once he said when I get it call back and he will send me out information on how to build it, my concern is why I can't buy from the Kayak company my swimming pool. So I called back to for help like I was told, he to me they are just to busy and don't call back until Fall. So I asked to speak to some else and he just told me the his coworker what it sounds to him I bought a lemon and tear it down. After all I wanted is to deal with Kayay Midwest pools Ono on one. I know you should not blow a person off like that that supported your business since 2005 all my money I save up for this is gone and the pool looks like the walls are about to blow out because I was told I would be sent DVDs on how to do it and it never came ant the last rep said it sounds like I bought a lemon. And where you that busy are I wasn't worth your time to by from a company like yours. This will be looked in and can I hope your company kept a log a phone recording on how I was talked to also. I feel a lawyer and the media should know how this company treated me and maybe more cases will also come out. That is wrong to sorport a company like kayak Midwest swimming pools to have them to turn their back like people like me.thank you for being to busy to deal with a company like your when I first started call in the winter months and told after a while we are to busy call us back In the Fall

Desired Settlement: Replace the lemon you told me to buy because I'm not good enough to buy from your company. Remember you told even I the winter mouths to call back in the fall and you would send a DVDs on how to build a pool from the ground up when I was ready to purchased from you in April 2015. My credit wasn't up but I did save from my father death to buy this pool though Kayak Midwest swimming pools 16x32 pool with decking

7/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 18, 2015 of this year, we contacted Kayak Midwest to fix a 32' bent piece of top channel. By April 29th I had a contractor contacting me to come out and check the damage to the pool, after having agreed to have someone come out for a $240 service charge which was to be deducted from the final bill when the pool was serviced. Within a couple of weeks, he was out to the house and had looked at what was needed to fix it. I was advised on May 8th that I would have an estimate the next week. On June 2nd I finally received the whopping estimate of $4679.90. Of course, the estimate was a shock. On June 8th, I agreed to the estimate and paid $3594.49 to have the service completed. On June 15th the parts finally shipped after I called to find out what was going on since I hadn't heard anything. The first shipment, on June 26th finally, was damaged in transit. The shipping company called and supplied photos of the damaged goods so they were told to send it back to Kayak. Kayak shipped out the parts again out on June 29th and we got it July 2nd. The contractor, super awesome, said he would be out the next day and he was! But the pool needed to be drained and it was the July 4th holiday so he went home to be family (which was totally fine with us-even though we had family coming in for the weekend and got excited that the pool would be fixed!) On Sunday, July 5th the contractor came out and sadly delivered the news that the 32 foot piece of top channel shipped was not 32 feet but actually 24 feet! OH NO! He called Kayak to figure out who screwed this up because he obviously wrote that we needed a 32 foot one. We got the 12x32 pool liner, so why wouldn't they have sent the right part? He assured that Kayak needed to correct this problem. That was Sunday. After leaving multiple phone messages and emailing my contact in the service department, I didn't hear from anyone until last Friday, July 10th that the account my rep had been handling had been turned over to someone else and she would have an answer regarding shipment by the end of the day. It's now Wednesday, July 15th and I have not heard from anyone at Kayak (minus the contractor who wants to come out and finish the job he started) and the side of my pool is starting to cave in.

Desired Settlement: I WANT KAYAK MIDWEST TO CONTACT ME BEFORE MY POOL COLLAPSES AND THE SUMMER IS OVER! I have a beautiful pool that I cannot enjoy and I started this damning process in April. I DO NOT want to pay Kayak anything more because this is ridiculous. The contractor (albeit very nice and fast in his response to our problems) should have figured out all the parts that we needed and now we are told we need even more parts that we have to pay for. I am not the professional in knowing what I needed but the contractor and Kayak are. That's why I paid $240 for them to come out and inspect everything to begin with. I think Kayak should now throw in the best set of pool stairs they have to make nice on this despicable service response. I love my contractor, and I loved the rep I initially dealt with and was so happy to be moving on. I've got documentation of all my phone calls, emails and voicemails. I JUST WANT SERVICE. Please help.

Business Response: Client spoke with president of the company.  All issues are being resolved.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I would like to add that Kayak Pools Midwest has taken ownership of their lack of response and have made, I believe, proper accommodations for repairing this issue.  I look forward to seeing the day our pool is repaired.  Hopefully, this will be next week.


****** ******

11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had our pool installed on Aug 20th. Our pool is a salt water system. we were told to wait 24 hrs before we turned on our NANO (salt water converter for chlorine. We did that Thursday night and it worked...rigth away you could smell the chlorine being generated. Friday morning when I got up there was a light flashing saying WARNING: low amp cell. Since then there is no chlorine smell nor does my pool registar any chlorine in it. I texted the installer several times and then he told me he had never had this kind of problem with his, so he didnt have answers. So on Saturday the 23 of Aug I called Kayak the lady who answered the phone said that the service department is not open on Saturdays and that *** would be in around 11am. I called back around 11:15am and spoke to *** who is incharge of the show homes (which we were picked to be one). We spoke several times. He finally directed me to call Autopilot who is the company that the NANO comes from and he stated that they would get me hooked up with a dealer in Indaina who would come out and look at it. I called Autopilot who is not open on Saturday, so I called back at 9:34 on Monday morning and spoke to ******. He Gave me the name of Pates pool supply and said he was the only dealer near me and told me to call them to come out. That is what I did. They were unable to come out until Friday Aug 29th. They looked over the system and told me that the cord from the NANO to the cell was not working and that they didnt have that kind of cord, so Kayak would need to order it for me. They charged me $130.00 and told me that Kayak should reimburse us. While they were there I called *** at Kayak because I wanted to make sure that was the case. When I told him what was going on he put me on hold and sent me to **** the store manager. **** was not very nice. He asked me who authorized me to call that company. I told him the story several times and he told me that I am to only deal with Kayak. When he kept telling me that I was in the wrong I told him that after spending $27000.00 that we paid for this pool I had no problems calling the news. He asked me if I really wanted to play that card. I asked if he really wanted to push me. He then put me on hold and must have spoke to ***, because when he came back he said lets start all over. Since then we received a new cord. That did not fix the problem. I have now been directed to deal with ***** who is our contact person. Which no one has ever told us that until all this has happened. She has been very nice. The First time I talked to her and told her what happened, she called Autopilot, they told her that Pates was not a dealer. They asked how I got their name . She told them through their company. I had never heard of Pates nor is it anywhere near my house. Then I spoke to her again on Friday she tells me that there is no one within their office that works on the NANO nor have they ever had this happen. I asked her what was next and she told me she had to call their contact person at Autopilot to see what is next. Today I get an email saying she is meeting with their rep from autopilot and he says he will personally come to our house and fix it. You would think being a show home for this company that would go out of their way for service and treat you with respect. Due to this I have had to do several things to keep our water clean that I shouldnt have to if it was running properly.

Desired Settlement: One we would like the problem repaired and two we feel we should be refunded the money we have had to put and then some for all the time and headaches that we have had to deal.

Business Response: The District Manager *** from ******* the manufacture for the system is working to resolve the issue.  He will also be providing a check to the client.  If there are any other issues or concerns client is to call our office, as all issues are being addressed and resolved.  

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Per our agreement with Kayak Pools Midwest, a final payment of $1000 was required upon completion of installation of our pool. Contractors finished installing pool but failed to install safety gate which Kayak Pools Midwest had not provided with the rest of the pool equipment. Contractor and Kayak pools Midwest required $1000 payment before leaving premises even though pool was not complete. Verbal assurances were given that once gate had been delivered to house, a contractor would be out to install it. We have now had the gate at our house for 2 weeks and multiple calls/emails have been ignored and no information provided to us as to when the gate will be installed. A second complaint we have is that Kayak pools Midwest provided us with the wrong specification for the electrical pump to the pool. The incorrect specs were passed along to an electrician who prepared a contract for installation. Upon coming to our house, the electrician informed us that the pump did not meet the specs we had sent and this caused an additional $600 in fees as the electricians had to make multiple trips to our house

Desired Settlement: 1. Schedule installation of the safety gate immediately. 2. Provide compensation for the additional $600 cost of the electrician.

Business Response: The gate was installed yesterday and the liner was fixed.  All issues have been resolved and we have been in constant contact with the client.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Kayak Pools Midwest did come and install the safety gate as requested.  Communication to obtain the safety gate installation, and throughout the pool installation process has been inconsistent and inaccurate at best.  Additionally, Kayak Pools Midwest failed to address the complaint stemming from supplying us with the incorrect electrical specifications and the resulting additional cost that we occurred. Until Kayak Pools Midwest addresses this item, we can not accept their response.


******* ****



Business Response: Spoke with client, all issues are now resolved and he will contact us for anything else they may need.  

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May of 2013 we perched a twelve by twenty four foot above ground pool with an eight by fourteen deck. The pool was finely installed well past the twenty one business days that was promised. The pool was installed on or about July 8, 2013. In Early August I notice that the water level was low in the skimmer. I had to add about four inched or about three hundred gal. water out of my well, we live in the country. I thought it was because of the heat but this process had to be done every two weeks and I noticed a wet area on the South West corner of the pool. **** *** was contacted and advised of what was happening. She advised me to do a bucket test before anyone could come out to patch the lead. This bucket test was done because **** *** had a company come out and check for leaks the sent out two divers and could not find a leak at this time. Even thou I was still adding water about every two weeks from the time the leak was discovered until I winterized the pool in September. The pool was winterized and **** *** was notified in Oct. that the water had stop leaking from the pool at about twelve inches below the skimmer. This water level stayed the same all winter. At that time she told me that Kayak Pools would replace the liner and reimburse me for filling the pool come the spring on 2014. In January of 2014 I called **** *** at 1/317-536-7910 ext *** to find out that **** *** left the Kayak Pools and I was now dealing with *****. I told her of what had taken place and she stated that she would look at the files. Between then and April she was contacted and everything seemed to be going OK. In April she was contacted and asked to call back April 15 with an update. She did not call so no April 17 I called her she still was checking on the issue. I had called her and left a few messages (f1/317-536-7910 ext. *** ) for her to call me and she did not return my calls. So I called 1/317-536-7910 and asked for her I thought she may have been on vacation but she was not, she was in the office. She was asked how things were coming and she stated that the liner had not been placed on order yet. At that point I was upset because they knew of the problem and had not done anything or contacted me to let me know what the delays where I told her that this should have been done some time back. I was and am still upset with what she told me next. I was told to refill the pool and open as normal by shocking it hooking up all lines and putting in the pump and filter. She was asked if Kayak would reimburse me for this added expense. She also stated that because I did not do the BUCKET TEST this is why I had to do the reopening. The divers that tied to find the leak in August would not of been sent out if this test was not run. I took a few pictures of the pools water level and wanted to send them to *****. I was sol upset that when I gave her my email address I reversed my ******* to *******. She called back starting that there was an email failure and if I could give her a good email. That was early around 10 am. I called her back giving her a new email address and tried several times the rest of the day calling her and she did not return any calls or sent me her email address so she could see in the pictures of what I was seeing. We only have gotten two months use out of this pool and if the liner is not replaced.

Desired Settlement: To due what was promised by **** *** and for Kayak Pools to live up to the agreement of there empolyee. It is time to reopen the pool and this needs to be replaced now. If we have to open the pool berfore the linner is replace Kayak Pools needs to pay for increase in my electric bill because of the well water pump having to run longer and all chemicals used to open said pool.

Business Response: A neutral third party conducted a leak detection test on 8/22/13.  The results are follows:  A complete electronic leak detection was performed.  The dual main drains, return, skimmer, light, all seams and depressions in the liner were examined and dye tested.  No leaks were located.  The steps were removed and were dye tested by a second technician, no leak are present in the structure at this time.  The owner was instructed on how to conduct a bucket test to determine the amount of loss from evaporation vs pool loss.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


***** ******



From: ***** ****** ******************************]
Sent: Monday, May 12, 2014 8:15 AM
To: info
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB of Central Indiana complaint #********.


Please reopen the complaint for it has not been resolved. I am still following KAYAK POOLS instructions and they have someone working on this. The problem will not be resolved until the pool is clear so the tech can see the bottom. I have been working on this and have spent over $200.00 and 30 hours of my time to get the pool so they can find the leak.

So please reopen this issue so KAYAK POOLS do not think the problem has been resolved.

  ***** ******

Business Response:

Late last year we had a leak detection company out and that company didn’t find a leak for Mr. ******’s pool.  This year we sent the leak detection company out again and found no leaks in the pool.  The leak detection company is a neutral third party.  (******** **** *********)  Our current understanding is that the water is currently clear and the pool has no leaks.


****** *********

Finance Manager

845 E. 65TH Street

Indianapolis, IN 46220

317.536.7910 ext. ***

Fax: 317.536.6499

Consumer Response:

As stated by the third party he could not detect a leak at this time and due to all the rain we have had he told me to let him know when I saw water in the area around the pool in the area I saw it last fall. Tis may take loner than I want or Kayak Pools want to spend. The weather has to be warmer so the ground around the pool will have a chance to dry out. At that time we will know yea or nay if there is a leak. I would not of made the complaint if I was not losing water or the area out side the pool was not VERY WET.  This was not from the swimmers. Because it was days between swimming activity.


Business Response: As the neutral third party and our client stated as of now there isn't a leak found and the pool is holding water.  *****, if you have any other issues or concerns that arise please contact us directly so we can assist you further.  

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service