BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kayak Pools Midwest, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kayak Pools Midwest, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Kayak Pools Midwest, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 22, 1994 Business started: 06/01/1994 in IN Business started locally: 06/06/1994 Business incorporated 06/22/1994 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Marion County-Department of Code Enforcement
1200 S Madison Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46225
http://www.indy.gov/eGov/City/DCE/Pages/home.aspx
Phone Number: (317) 327-1291

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Klein, President Ms. Barbara Klein, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Klein, President
Business Category

SWIMMING POOL CONTRACTORS, DEALERS, DESIGN SWIMMING POOL ENCLOSURES SWIMMING POOL EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES SWIMMING POOL SERVICE & REPAIR SWIMMING POOL MANUFACTURERS & DISTRIBUTORS SWIMMING POOLS-PRIVATE SWIMMING POOL COVER SALES & SERVICE SWIMMING POOLS - LEAK DETECTION & REPAIR SWIMMING POOL KITS SWIMMING POOLS - REMOVAL SWIMMING POOLS - MAINTENANCE SWIMMING POOLS- ABOVE GROUND SWIMMING POOLS & HOT TUBS All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Alternate Business Names
American Marketing Group, Inc.
Industry Tips
Contractors - General Info Licensing/Registration-Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 845 E. 65th Street

    Indianapolis, IN 46220 (317) 536-7910

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had our pool installed on Aug 20th. Our pool is a salt water system. we were told to wait 24 hrs before we turned on our NANO (salt water converter for chlorine. We did that Thursday night and it worked...rigth away you could smell the chlorine being generated. Friday morning when I got up there was a light flashing saying WARNING: low amp cell. Since then there is no chlorine smell nor does my pool registar any chlorine in it. I texted the installer several times and then he told me he had never had this kind of problem with his, so he didnt have answers. So on Saturday the 23 of Aug I called Kayak the lady who answered the phone said that the service department is not open on Saturdays and that *** would be in around 11am. I called back around 11:15am and spoke to *** who is incharge of the show homes (which we were picked to be one). We spoke several times. He finally directed me to call Autopilot who is the company that the NANO comes from and he stated that they would get me hooked up with a dealer in Indaina who would come out and look at it. I called Autopilot who is not open on Saturday, so I called back at 9:34 on Monday morning and spoke to ******. He Gave me the name of Pates pool supply and said he was the only dealer near me and told me to call them to come out. That is what I did. They were unable to come out until Friday Aug 29th. They looked over the system and told me that the cord from the NANO to the cell was not working and that they didnt have that kind of cord, so Kayak would need to order it for me. They charged me $130.00 and told me that Kayak should reimburse us. While they were there I called *** at Kayak because I wanted to make sure that was the case. When I told him what was going on he put me on hold and sent me to **** the store manager. **** was not very nice. He asked me who authorized me to call that company. I told him the story several times and he told me that I am to only deal with Kayak. When he kept telling me that I was in the wrong I told him that after spending $27000.00 that we paid for this pool I had no problems calling the news. He asked me if I really wanted to play that card. I asked if he really wanted to push me. He then put me on hold and must have spoke to ***, because when he came back he said lets start all over. Since then we received a new cord. That did not fix the problem. I have now been directed to deal with ***** who is our contact person. Which no one has ever told us that until all this has happened. She has been very nice. The First time I talked to her and told her what happened, she called Autopilot, they told her that Pates was not a dealer. They asked how I got their name . She told them through their company. I had never heard of Pates nor is it anywhere near my house. Then I spoke to her again on Friday she tells me that there is no one within their office that works on the NANO nor have they ever had this happen. I asked her what was next and she told me she had to call their contact person at Autopilot to see what is next. Today I get an email saying she is meeting with their rep from autopilot and he says he will personally come to our house and fix it. You would think being a show home for this company that would go out of their way for service and treat you with respect. Due to this I have had to do several things to keep our water clean that I shouldnt have to if it was running properly.

Desired Settlement: One we would like the problem repaired and two we feel we should be refunded the money we have had to put and then some for all the time and headaches that we have had to deal.

Business Response: The District Manager *** from ******* the manufacture for the system is working to resolve the issue.  He will also be providing a check to the client.  If there are any other issues or concerns client is to call our office, as all issues are being addressed and resolved.  

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Per our agreement with Kayak Pools Midwest, a final payment of $1000 was required upon completion of installation of our pool. Contractors finished installing pool but failed to install safety gate which Kayak Pools Midwest had not provided with the rest of the pool equipment. Contractor and Kayak pools Midwest required $1000 payment before leaving premises even though pool was not complete. Verbal assurances were given that once gate had been delivered to house, a contractor would be out to install it. We have now had the gate at our house for 2 weeks and multiple calls/emails have been ignored and no information provided to us as to when the gate will be installed. A second complaint we have is that Kayak pools Midwest provided us with the wrong specification for the electrical pump to the pool. The incorrect specs were passed along to an electrician who prepared a contract for installation. Upon coming to our house, the electrician informed us that the pump did not meet the specs we had sent and this caused an additional $600 in fees as the electricians had to make multiple trips to our house

Desired Settlement: 1. Schedule installation of the safety gate immediately. 2. Provide compensation for the additional $600 cost of the electrician.

Business Response: The gate was installed yesterday and the liner was fixed.  All issues have been resolved and we have been in constant contact with the client.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Kayak Pools Midwest did come and install the safety gate as requested.  Communication to obtain the safety gate installation, and throughout the pool installation process has been inconsistent and inaccurate at best.  Additionally, Kayak Pools Midwest failed to address the complaint stemming from supplying us with the incorrect electrical specifications and the resulting additional cost that we occurred. Until Kayak Pools Midwest addresses this item, we can not accept their response.

Regards,

******* ****

 

 

Business Response: Spoke with client, all issues are now resolved and he will contact us for anything else they may need.  

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May of 2013 we perched a twelve by twenty four foot above ground pool with an eight by fourteen deck. The pool was finely installed well past the twenty one business days that was promised. The pool was installed on or about July 8, 2013. In Early August I notice that the water level was low in the skimmer. I had to add about four inched or about three hundred gal. water out of my well, we live in the country. I thought it was because of the heat but this process had to be done every two weeks and I noticed a wet area on the South West corner of the pool. **** *** was contacted and advised of what was happening. She advised me to do a bucket test before anyone could come out to patch the lead. This bucket test was done because **** *** had a company come out and check for leaks the sent out two divers and could not find a leak at this time. Even thou I was still adding water about every two weeks from the time the leak was discovered until I winterized the pool in September. The pool was winterized and **** *** was notified in Oct. that the water had stop leaking from the pool at about twelve inches below the skimmer. This water level stayed the same all winter. At that time she told me that Kayak Pools would replace the liner and reimburse me for filling the pool come the spring on 2014. In January of 2014 I called **** *** at 1/317-536-7910 ext *** to find out that **** *** left the Kayak Pools and I was now dealing with *****. I told her of what had taken place and she stated that she would look at the files. Between then and April she was contacted and everything seemed to be going OK. In April she was contacted and asked to call back April 15 with an update. She did not call so no April 17 I called her she still was checking on the issue. I had called her and left a few messages (f1/317-536-7910 ext. *** ) for her to call me and she did not return my calls. So I called 1/317-536-7910 and asked for her I thought she may have been on vacation but she was not, she was in the office. She was asked how things were coming and she stated that the liner had not been placed on order yet. At that point I was upset because they knew of the problem and had not done anything or contacted me to let me know what the delays where I told her that this should have been done some time back. I was and am still upset with what she told me next. I was told to refill the pool and open as normal by shocking it hooking up all lines and putting in the pump and filter. She was asked if Kayak would reimburse me for this added expense. She also stated that because I did not do the BUCKET TEST this is why I had to do the reopening. The divers that tied to find the leak in August would not of been sent out if this test was not run. I took a few pictures of the pools water level and wanted to send them to *****. I was sol upset that when I gave her my email address I reversed my ******* to *******. She called back starting that there was an email failure and if I could give her a good email. That was early around 10 am. I called her back giving her a new email address and tried several times the rest of the day calling her and she did not return any calls or sent me her email address so she could see in the pictures of what I was seeing. We only have gotten two months use out of this pool and if the liner is not replaced.

Desired Settlement: To due what was promised by **** *** and for Kayak Pools to live up to the agreement of there empolyee. It is time to reopen the pool and this needs to be replaced now. If we have to open the pool berfore the linner is replace Kayak Pools needs to pay for increase in my electric bill because of the well water pump having to run longer and all chemicals used to open said pool.

Business Response: A neutral third party conducted a leak detection test on 8/22/13.  The results are follows:  A complete electronic leak detection was performed.  The dual main drains, return, skimmer, light, all seams and depressions in the liner were examined and dye tested.  No leaks were located.  The steps were removed and were dye tested by a second technician, no leak are present in the structure at this time.  The owner was instructed on how to conduct a bucket test to determine the amount of loss from evaporation vs pool loss.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ******


 

 

From: ***** ****** ******************************]
Sent: Monday, May 12, 2014 8:15 AM
To: info
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB of Central Indiana complaint #********.

 

Please reopen the complaint for it has not been resolved. I am still following KAYAK POOLS instructions and they have someone working on this. The problem will not be resolved until the pool is clear so the tech can see the bottom. I have been working on this and have spent over $200.00 and 30 hours of my time to get the pool so they can find the leak.

So please reopen this issue so KAYAK POOLS do not think the problem has been resolved.

  ***** ******

Business Response:

Late last year we had a leak detection company out and that company didn’t find a leak for Mr. ******’s pool.  This year we sent the leak detection company out again and found no leaks in the pool.  The leak detection company is a neutral third party.  (******** **** *********)  Our current understanding is that the water is currently clear and the pool has no leaks.

Thanks,

****** *********

Finance Manager

845 E. 65TH Street

Indianapolis, IN 46220

317.536.7910 ext. ***

Fax: 317.536.6499

www.KayakPoolsMidwest.com

Consumer Response:

As stated by the third party he could not detect a leak at this time and due to all the rain we have had he told me to let him know when I saw water in the area around the pool in the area I saw it last fall. Tis may take loner than I want or Kayak Pools want to spend. The weather has to be warmer so the ground around the pool will have a chance to dry out. At that time we will know yea or nay if there is a leak. I would not of made the complaint if I was not losing water or the area out side the pool was not VERY WET.  This was not from the swimmers. Because it was days between swimming activity.

*****

Business Response: As the neutral third party and our client stated as of now there isn't a leak found and the pool is holding water.  *****, if you have any other issues or concerns that arise please contact us directly so we can assist you further.  

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service