Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jensen's Pools & More, LLC

Phone: (317) 856-0600 7302 Kentucky Avenue, Camby, IN 46113 http://www.jensenspools.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jensen's Pools & More, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Jensen's Pools & More, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jensen's Pools & More, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 29, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1988 in IN Business incorporated 01/24/2008 in IN
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Bob Jensen, Member/Co-Owner Mr. Dave Jensen, Member/Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Jensen, Member/Co-Owner
Principal: Mr. Dave Jensen, Member/Co-Owner
Business Category

SWIMMING POOL CONTRACTORS, DEALERS, DESIGN SWIMMING POOL EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES SWIMMING POOL SERVICE & REPAIR Mattresses All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Industry Tips
Buying a Swimming Pool Contracts General Contractors Licensing/Registration-Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 7302 Kentucky Avenue

    Camby, IN 46113 (317) 856-0600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Owners of J*****'s Pools repeatedly not taking responsibility for their actions which result in costly repairs. We hired them to install an in-ground pool in 2012. In 2013 we had an issue with the pump, they sent out repair person who broke a plastic piece on the pump. When we reported this to Dave J***** (along with a picture of the part), he said "my guy said he didn't leave it like that and I'm going by his word." After arguing over the $15 part, they did end up sending someone out the next day to replace it. (This involved rewiring the pump, then covering with the new plastic piece.) This year the pump stopped working. After three days of not returning voice mails, calls or text messages, Dave finally told us we need to call his brother, Bob. We have told Bob that the pump stopped working because of a wiring problem, the result of the guy who replaced the $15 part in 2013. We sent them pictures to show the faulty wiring, which had just enough contact to allow the pump to run, but has now burned the wires and is no longer functioning. The pump itself came with a one-year warranty (we were told it is out of warranty, therefor our responsibility), but this is a result of their workmanship, not the pump quality. Additionally, we had a liner leak in 2014, just two years after the pool was installed. We paid a scuba diver $500 to locate a leak in the deep end of the pool, found to be caused by gravel left under the liner during installation which had pushed through the liner, with several more coming through. After much arguing, Bob offered to patch the hole at no cost, or a brand new liner at their cost, $500. We had the new liner placed due to the fact that many more holes were expected. It also cost another $480 to fill the pool with water after the new liner was installed. We are extremely frustrated with having to repeatedly pay to fix mistakes on the part of J*****'s Pools. If these were normal wear-and-tear problems, we would not feel this way, but we do expect our in-ground pool to be of a higher quality than this since we paid them over $40,000 for it. We only want them to back up their product and take responsibility for the errors they have made in its installation.

Desired Settlement: Refund $175 for pump, $500 for liner, $480 for water, and $500 for scuba diver to detect leak, all issues caused by J*****'s Pools. Total: $1,655.00

Business Response: The ******* purchased a pool from us in May of 2012 for $38,500. All of the pools we install carry a one year warranty form the completion date. We received a call from the ******* 13 months after we installed their pool saying their pool motor was out. Because it was just past the warranty, we changed the pool motor at no cost. A few days later, they called and said the plastic wire connector was broke. They were unhappy so we sent someone out to fix the connector. In June or July of 2014, the ******* called and said their pool was leaking. I told them to call a leak detection company  and if a seam was bad we would replace the liner. A rock was pushing threw the liner so I offered to change the liner for $500 and for them to replace the water. ( we charge $3500 to change a liner that size). They agreed and we changed the liner in May of 2015. Last week, 6-22-15, two years after we changed the pool motor, the ******* pool motor went out. They said we hooked it up wrong. The motor ran for two years without any issues. To make them happy I sold them a motor at cost. Mrs ***** was not happy. I advised of the one year warranty and that it was not covered. We are trying to work with them but they feel we are not working with them

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am requesting a refund for out-of-pocket expenses which were a direct result of J*****'s poor workmanship. This was not addressed in Bob's response.

Additionally, the broken pump part was reported the day after they sent a repair person, not "a few days later." At that time, it was re-wired incorrectly resulting in its failure. We did not see this until now because that part had to be removed to reveal the wiring problem, found to be the cause of the motor burning out prematurely. Our certified electrician stated that "It looks like a two-year-old wired it."

If the liner seam was found to be the cause of the leak, the MANUFACTURER would have replaced the liner, not J*****'s. Because sloppy workmanship (the liner should have been placed over a smooth surface but indeed had been installed on top of lots of GRAVEL), J*****'s was at fault for the leak and therefor offered the liner at cost. According to the manufacturer, Latham Pool Products, "During the first three years from the date of installation, there shall be no charge to the purchaser for repair or replacement of a defective liner" and the properly installed liner is covered by manufacturer warranty for up to 20 years (three years full and 17 years pro-rated).

Failure for Bob J***** to accept responsibility for his employee's actions has resulted in escalation of this matter, I do not feel it is my financial responsibility to continue to pay for their mistakes.


Regards,

******* *****

Business Response: We have tried to work with Mrs *****. We were past the one year warranty when we changed her pool motor at no charge. We did a liner change for her for $500 + the cost of the water,  when we normally charge $3800 + the cost of the water. She said that we replaced the liner at cost ($500 which she paid) but the liner itself cost us $1850. Not $500 which she thinks is the liner cost.  Her pool motor went out again in the spring of 2015, two years after we replace the last motor and I sold her a new one  at our cost. We try to be fair but she is still not happy.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Jensen's Pools & More, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)