BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Indiana

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Family Leisure of Indianapolis, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Family Leisure of Indianapolis, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Family Leisure of Indianapolis, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 22, 2008 Business started: 01/31/1985 in IN Business incorporated: 01/31/1985 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Marion County-Department of Code Enforcement
1200 S Madison Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46225
http://www.indy.gov/eGov/City/DCE/Pages/home.aspx
Phone Number: (317) 327-1291

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Andre Prefontaine, Owner Mr. Kevin Prefontaine, Store Manager Mr. Matt Tyner, HR Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andre Prefontaine, Owner
Principal: Mr. Kevin Prefontaine, Store Manager
Principal: Mr. Matt Tyner, HR Manager
Business Category

SPAS & HOT TUBS - DEALERS TABLE TENNIS EQUIPMENT TANNING SALONS EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES Outdoor Kitchens SWIMMING POOL CONTRACTORS, DEALERS, DESIGN PLAYGROUND EQUIPMENT BILLIARD EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES FURNITURE-OUTDOOR HOME THEATER PATIO EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES All Other Miscellaneous Store Retailers (except Tobacco Stores) (NAICS: 453998)

Industry Tips
Contractors - General Info Contracts Licensing/Registration-Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 11811 Pendleton Pike

    Indianapolis, IN 46236 (317) 823-4448

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (317) 823-5207(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We saw a demonstration of the grill at the flower and patio show. We were already in the market for a higher end grill and grill island so went to Family Leisure to get some prices. The grill island was a bit out of our price range but we did want to buy a grill. We looked at several grills but they were really trying to push the Saber grills because it was a new product for them. We were concerned about purchasing a grill without a grill island for fear that it may not fit in one of their prefabricated grill islands. They had no Saber grills on display in a grill island. ****, the salesperson who was supposed to be the expert on the grills, told us that the Saber grill head would fit in any one of the grill islands that they sold and that we could buy the grill now and come back the next year and buy the grill island and pop the Saber right in there. We also told him that we wanted a grill that used natural gas so he sold us a $100 conversion kit and told us we needed to pay a professional to install the conversion kit. We went back in to Family Leisure on April 6, 2014 to purchase the grill island. We were told by a different salesperson that they sold no grill islands that would accommodate our Saber grill head. We then found **** who remembered selling us the grill. He confirmed that they had not grill islands that could accommodate our Sabre grill. I was very upset because that was the only reason I bought the Sabre grill. He said that he didn't know at the time that they had no grill islands for Sabre grills and he apologized for misinforming us. He said he would call their grill island manufacturer to see if they could modify a grill island for us. He also said that if the manufacturer couldn't modify a grill island to fit our Saber grill, he would sell us a grill island that came with a Titan grill and he would give us a discount equal to what we paid for our Saber grill and we could sell or give the Saber grill away. He said that he would call us the next day and let us know. When he called, he said that the manufacturer could not modify a grill island to fit our Sabre grill and he would only discount the new grill island with the Titan grill by only $750 instead of the full price. I wasn't happy with that but I told him we'd think about it. We decided to go back to the store on April 19, 2014 to talk to **** in person and see if we could work out a better solution. **** was not in so I asked if the store manager was there. They told me the store manager was out but the sales manager was in and they called him up. His name was **** and came up with an attitude! I told him that I had already spoken with **** and that I was unhappy with my Saber grill purchase. I told **** that **** and another employee had told us they had not grill islands that would accommodate my Saber grill. **** said he wasn't aware of this so he said he would go and make a phone call. **** came back and said that the store manager said it would be a problem because he had pull with the manufacturer and he would "make it happen." This didn't sit well with me because **** was very condescending when he was talking to me and **** was supposed the grill expert in the store. **** contradicted everything that **** had just told me the week prior. **** had already called the manufacturer and the manufacturer told **** that all of their grill islands were made on an assembly line for certain grills and they didn't make one for my Saber grill.

Desired Settlement: In order to resolve my complaint, I would like to purchase a grill island of my choice that will accommodate my current Saber grill at a deep discount, or I would like to purchase a new grill island and have it discounted to cover the cost of my current Sabre grill. 
 
The only reason I purchased the Saber gril in the first place is because I was given incorrect information by the sales representative. 

Business Response:

This reply is from ***** *********** (************@familyleisure.com)

Here is the email that I sent directly to Mr. ***** (ID ********).  This was the same offer that **** was attempting to offer while he was in our showroom.


*******,

Hello!  I received your letter from the BBB and I had been brought up to speed by **** ******* a day prior about your visit to our showroom.  First off, I am sorry about your overall experience with us.  We work hard to provide high quality items and back it with knowledge and great customer service.  We’ve obviously failed you in a couple of those areas.

Yes, **** misspoke when he originally sold you the grill.  The Saber grills need to be purchased as “cart models” or as “built-in models” at the time of sale.  At the time **** sold you your grill he assumed (which he should have never done) that Saber grills worked like our other lines and the cart and base could easily be separated when it was time to add the grill head to an island.  I promise you it wasn’t malicious and that he wasn’t simply trying to “get the sale”.  He truly believed and understood it to be a simple process.  However, if he handled things the way that you stated that he did then that is unacceptable on his part.

When **** called me and explained that you were in the store and what your situation was b/c of what **** had promised, I told **** we’d “make it happen”.  I told him to make it right and that we’d make it work regardless of what we needed to do with the grill heads.  **** then conveyed to you that we’d make it happen.  Of course I only have his version of what transpired after that but I did have him physically walk me through exactly what he recalled, every island he mentioned or showed you and every response after each one.  I believe he was just as upset and rattled as you may have been after the two of you interacted.

I understand your frustration and I can’t undo what caused it but here is where we are at now.  I’d be happy to have you select any one of our main series kitchen islands (this was the only series we had back when you bought your saber with cart).  We’ve got over a dozen designs in that series and every one of the grill head cut outs can be modified at the point of production to properly accommodate a Saber grill head.  We would simply take the cost of the island (as if it were already equipped with a Saber 670 grill head) and deduct $1299.  The $1299 price deduction would cover the entire cost of a new Saber 670 built-in.  You paid $1675 for yours with a cart.  Of course the cart would not be needed as I’m sure you are aware of.  I’d be happy to take your existing grill head (without the cart) and provide you with a brand new 670 grill head with your island.

A few points to cover;

  1. I’m not sure why anyone on the staff would state that “none” of our islands would accommodate the Saber grill head but I think I’m picking up how it may have gotten lost in translation or improperly explained.  Yes, there are several islands that do not take a Saber grill head.  Those would be competitor’s islands like the Bull islands.  These islands will of course only take a Bull grill head.  The only other grouping of islands that will not take a Saber are the “Select Series” islands but those didn’t exist last year when you bought your grill anyway so you wouldn’t have been able to consider one of those to begin with.  That series is premade and it only takes the 3 burner Titan grills (on the first 3 models) and the 4 burner Titan grills on the rest of the line-up.

     

  2. When the staff states that an island “won’t take” a Saber grill they mean one of two things; either they are referring to your exact grill (which we now know cannot be separated from the base at a later point to be used as a built in) or they are stating that it’s an island with pre-cut or a predetermined grill head opening that cannot be modified.  So it’s not that they are mixing words or attempting to be shady it’s just not being properly explained.

     3. Once you select a kitchen island from us, no matter which model or line, we’d need to then order it in and that takes approx. four weeks from order date to install, which is the quickest turn around in the industry.  We do not have kitchen islands sitting in back that would accommodate all of our grill heads.  That just wouldn’t be possible, I’m sure this makes sense to you hearing it stated this way.  I just wanted to touch on this point as **** stated that you were upset that it couldn’t happen immediately.

In fairness (and probably deservedly so) you were pretty frustrated and/or upset when **** was trying to explain everything that we could or couldn’t do but he was (or should have been anyway) trying to explain and covey all of your options.  It was my call to offer to “make it happen” mainly to neutralize the fact that you were stuck on what **** said about being able to convert it.  So I simply tried to make that a non-issue so everyone could move forward in this process.

I’d be more than happy to speak with you in person or over the phone if you’d like.  If you’d like to meet with me directly to look at all of your options in regards to islands I’d be happy to do that as well, just let me know.

Again, sorry about the frustration that we’ve caused you but I’m confident we can make it up to you!

Thanks,

****************
President - Family Leisure Indy
p. 317.826.****
f. 317.823.9501
************@familyleisure.com
11811 Pendleton Pike
Indianapolis, Indiana 46236

image001

12/4/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues