Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Family Leisure of Indianapolis, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Family Leisure of Indianapolis, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Family Leisure of Indianapolis, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 22, 2008 Business started: 01/31/1985 in IN Business incorporated 01/31/1985 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Marion County-Department of Code Enforcement
1200 S Madison Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46225
http://www.indy.gov/eGov/City/DCE/Pages/home.aspx
Phone Number: (317) 327-1291

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Andre Prefontaine, Owner Mr. Kevin Prefontaine, Store Manager Mr. Matt Tyner, HR Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andre Prefontaine, Owner
Principal: Mr. Kevin Prefontaine, Store Manager
Principal: Mr. Matt Tyner, HR Manager
Business Category

SPAS & HOT TUBS - DEALERS TABLE TENNIS EQUIPMENT TANNING SALONS EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES Outdoor Kitchens SWIMMING POOL CONTRACTORS, DEALERS, DESIGN PLAYGROUND EQUIPMENT BILLIARD EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES FURNITURE-OUTDOOR HOME THEATER PATIO EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES All Other Miscellaneous Store Retailers (except Tobacco Stores) (NAICS: 453998)

Industry Tips
Contracts General Contractors Licensing/Registration-Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 11811 Pendleton Pike

    Indianapolis, IN 46236 (317) 823-4448

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a pool table from family leisure of Indianapolis. The sales person told me that it would be about a week (invoice said 2 - 3 weeks) for the table to be delivered to the store and at that time he would call me to set up an appointment to have it installed. At the end of 3 weeks I called them to find out that the table had yet to ship and that they would call me when it had. I ask for a definitive date and they would not give me one. Another week pasted and only after threating to cancel my order were they able to schedule a date for the install. On the install date. 3 installers showed up at my house only to inform me that they had forgot the tools they needed to install the pool table. So 2 stayed behind to get started. You could tell that neither of the two had a clue as to what they were doing. One even saying we have never installed a table like this before. As they were unpacking the parts they found that 2 of the side rails where damaged. Having large scratches down the length of the rails. When the 3rd person showed back up, he informed me that they would go ahead and do the install and would replace the damaged parts once that were delivered. He said that this usually takes about a week. When he brought in the tools they planned to use to build the table, you could tell this was not their full time job. The tools looks like they had seen a lot of outside use, and not something you would use to install a pool table, but I assumed that they knew what they were doing and that Family leisure would not send non-professionals. My first opportunity to use the table reviled many flaws with the table and how it was installed. This was a three piece slate and the slates were not level or in line with each other. The felt was starting to bubble up around the pockets. The rails were not square and in some places as much as ½ inch out. This was the last straw for me and I called the store to ask for a refund. The person I spoke with let me know that this was the first he’d heard of it and talked me in to giving them a 2nd chance to make it right. They would send a team of installers to my house, break the table down completely and rebuild it. I agreed. When the installers arrived at my house they ask me to show them what the problems were. I did and they informed me that they would not be able to replace the rails because they didn’t have the parts and they didn’t even know they were to pick them up, but they could go ahead and fix the other problems. When they started they simply loosened up the rails and started tightening up the felt. I ask what they were doing and if they intended on breaking down the table completely and they said no they didn’t need to. At that point I call the store and told the sales person that the deal was off that that I wanted a full refund. He agreed and I ask the installers to remove the table. The installers received a phone call shortly thereafter. I assume from the store telling them to proceed. They broke the table down and remove it from my home. I ask when I could expect my refund and they said 1 -3 business days. We are now on the 4th business day and I have yet to receive my refund.

Desired Settlement: nothing short of a full refund.

Business Response: On 08/25/2015 Family Leisure of Indianapolis, Inc. refunded $2,673.93 to the original credit card used to place the order on 07/06/2015.  This transaction settled on our end at midnight on 08/25/2015.  Depending on the bank policy of the cardholder, this credit may not appear immediately.  Most banks state once a credit is received they have as much as 3 to 5 business days to post the transaction.  We cannot control the cardholders policies for credits.  It is a fact that we processed the credit in full on 08/25/2015, per our verbal agreement with *** *****.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* And although the amount of time and effort it has taken to resolve this issue is unacceptable, the refund was made on 8/28/15 and this matter can be considered closed.   

Regards,

*** *****

5/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We saw a demonstration of the grill at the flower and patio show. We were already in the market for a higher end grill and grill island so went to Family Leisure to get some prices. The grill island was a bit out of our price range but we did want to buy a grill. We looked at several grills but they were really trying to push the Saber grills because it was a new product for them. We were concerned about purchasing a grill without a grill island for fear that it may not fit in one of their prefabricated grill islands. They had no Saber grills on display in a grill island. ****, the salesperson who was supposed to be the expert on the grills, told us that the Saber grill head would fit in any one of the grill islands that they sold and that we could buy the grill now and come back the next year and buy the grill island and pop the Saber right in there. We also told him that we wanted a grill that used natural gas so he sold us a $100 conversion kit and told us we needed to pay a professional to install the conversion kit. We went back in to Family Leisure on April 6, 2014 to purchase the grill island. We were told by a different salesperson that they sold no grill islands that would accommodate our Saber grill head. We then found **** who remembered selling us the grill. He confirmed that they had not grill islands that could accommodate our Sabre grill. I was very upset because that was the only reason I bought the Sabre grill. He said that he didn't know at the time that they had no grill islands for Sabre grills and he apologized for misinforming us. He said he would call their grill island manufacturer to see if they could modify a grill island for us. He also said that if the manufacturer couldn't modify a grill island to fit our Saber grill, he would sell us a grill island that came with a Titan grill and he would give us a discount equal to what we paid for our Saber grill and we could sell or give the Saber grill away. He said that he would call us the next day and let us know. When he called, he said that the manufacturer could not modify a grill island to fit our Sabre grill and he would only discount the new grill island with the Titan grill by only $750 instead of the full price. I wasn't happy with that but I told him we'd think about it. We decided to go back to the store on April 19, 2014 to talk to **** in person and see if we could work out a better solution. **** was not in so I asked if the store manager was there. They told me the store manager was out but the sales manager was in and they called him up. His name was **** and came up with an attitude! I told him that I had already spoken with **** and that I was unhappy with my Saber grill purchase. I told **** that **** and another employee had told us they had not grill islands that would accommodate my Saber grill. **** said he wasn't aware of this so he said he would go and make a phone call. **** came back and said that the store manager said it would be a problem because he had pull with the manufacturer and he would "make it happen." This didn't sit well with me because **** was very condescending when he was talking to me and **** was supposed the grill expert in the store. **** contradicted everything that **** had just told me the week prior. **** had already called the manufacturer and the manufacturer told **** that all of their grill islands were made on an assembly line for certain grills and they didn't make one for my Saber grill.

Desired Settlement: In order to resolve my complaint, I would like to purchase a grill island of my choice that will accommodate my current Saber grill at a deep discount, or I would like to purchase a new grill island and have it discounted to cover the cost of my current Sabre grill. 
 
The only reason I purchased the Saber gril in the first place is because I was given incorrect information by the sales representative. 

Business Response:

This reply is from ***** *********** (************@familyleisure.com)

Here is the email that I sent directly to Mr. ***** (ID ********).  This was the same offer that **** was attempting to offer while he was in our showroom.


*******,

Hello!  I received your letter from the BBB and I had been brought up to speed by **** ******* a day prior about your visit to our showroom.  First off, I am sorry about your overall experience with us.  We work hard to provide high quality items and back it with knowledge and great customer service.  We’ve obviously failed you in a couple of those areas.

Yes, **** misspoke when he originally sold you the grill.  The Saber grills need to be purchased as “cart models” or as “built-in models” at the time of sale.  At the time **** sold you your grill he assumed (which he should have never done) that Saber grills worked like our other lines and the cart and base could easily be separated when it was time to add the grill head to an island.  I promise you it wasn’t malicious and that he wasn’t simply trying to “get the sale”.  He truly believed and understood it to be a simple process.  However, if he handled things the way that you stated that he did then that is unacceptable on his part.

When **** called me and explained that you were in the store and what your situation was b/c of what **** had promised, I told **** we’d “make it happen”.  I told him to make it right and that we’d make it work regardless of what we needed to do with the grill heads.  **** then conveyed to you that we’d make it happen.  Of course I only have his version of what transpired after that but I did have him physically walk me through exactly what he recalled, every island he mentioned or showed you and every response after each one.  I believe he was just as upset and rattled as you may have been after the two of you interacted.

I understand your frustration and I can’t undo what caused it but here is where we are at now.  I’d be happy to have you select any one of our main series kitchen islands (this was the only series we had back when you bought your saber with cart).  We’ve got over a dozen designs in that series and every one of the grill head cut outs can be modified at the point of production to properly accommodate a Saber grill head.  We would simply take the cost of the island (as if it were already equipped with a Saber 670 grill head) and deduct $1299.  The $1299 price deduction would cover the entire cost of a new Saber 670 built-in.  You paid $1675 for yours with a cart.  Of course the cart would not be needed as I’m sure you are aware of.  I’d be happy to take your existing grill head (without the cart) and provide you with a brand new 670 grill head with your island.

A few points to cover;

  1. I’m not sure why anyone on the staff would state that “none” of our islands would accommodate the Saber grill head but I think I’m picking up how it may have gotten lost in translation or improperly explained.  Yes, there are several islands that do not take a Saber grill head.  Those would be competitor’s islands like the Bull islands.  These islands will of course only take a Bull grill head.  The only other grouping of islands that will not take a Saber are the “Select Series” islands but those didn’t exist last year when you bought your grill anyway so you wouldn’t have been able to consider one of those to begin with.  That series is premade and it only takes the 3 burner Titan grills (on the first 3 models) and the 4 burner Titan grills on the rest of the line-up.

     

  2. When the staff states that an island “won’t take” a Saber grill they mean one of two things; either they are referring to your exact grill (which we now know cannot be separated from the base at a later point to be used as a built in) or they are stating that it’s an island with pre-cut or a predetermined grill head opening that cannot be modified.  So it’s not that they are mixing words or attempting to be shady it’s just not being properly explained.

     3. Once you select a kitchen island from us, no matter which model or line, we’d need to then order it in and that takes approx. four weeks from order date to install, which is the quickest turn around in the industry.  We do not have kitchen islands sitting in back that would accommodate all of our grill heads.  That just wouldn’t be possible, I’m sure this makes sense to you hearing it stated this way.  I just wanted to touch on this point as **** stated that you were upset that it couldn’t happen immediately.

In fairness (and probably deservedly so) you were pretty frustrated and/or upset when **** was trying to explain everything that we could or couldn’t do but he was (or should have been anyway) trying to explain and covey all of your options.  It was my call to offer to “make it happen” mainly to neutralize the fact that you were stuck on what **** said about being able to convert it.  So I simply tried to make that a non-issue so everyone could move forward in this process.

I’d be more than happy to speak with you in person or over the phone if you’d like.  If you’d like to meet with me directly to look at all of your options in regards to islands I’d be happy to do that as well, just let me know.

Again, sorry about the frustration that we’ve caused you but I’m confident we can make it up to you!

Thanks,

****************
President - Family Leisure Indy
p. 317.826.****
f. 317.823.9501
************@familyleisure.com
11811 Pendleton Pike
Indianapolis, Indiana 46236

image001

12/4/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Family Leisure of Indianapolis, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)