BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Indiana

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Richmond Guttering Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Richmond Guttering Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Richmond Guttering Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 17, 1997 Business started: 04/01/1987 in IN Business incorporated: 12/17/1997 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Marion County-Department of Code Enforcement
1200 S Madison Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46225
http://www.indy.gov/eGov/City/DCE/Pages/home.aspx
Phone Number: (317) 327-1291

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Richmond, President Mr. Roger Allen, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Richmond, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Windows - Installation & Service SUNROOM & SOLARIUM DESIGN & CONSTRUCTION AWNINGS & CANOPIES FENCE CONTRACTORS WINDOWS - VINYL CONTRACTORS - GENERAL Gutters & Downspouts INSULATION CONTRACTORS Roofing Contractors (NAICS: 238160)

Alternate Business Names
Richmond Contracting Richmond Exteriors Richmond Fencing Richmond Guttering Richmond Insulation Richmond Roofing Richmond Siding Richmond Sunrooms Richmond Windows
Industry Tips
Contractors - General Info Contracts Licensing/Registration-Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 3510 South Keystone Avenue #E

    Indianapolis, IN 46227

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (317) 253-2636(Phone)
  • (317) 784-1214(Phone)
  • (888) 609-5500(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Leakage after new roof was put on. New Roof was completed on 9/22/11. Richmond returned to complete flashing on roof 9/29/11. Richmond came back to make first repairs on roof 10/14/11. We have experienced additional leakage from this new roof. Richmond sent a service representative out on 4/24/14, he looked at damage inside and got on roof. There were a couple shingle he tapped down. I placed a call back to Richmond on 5/28/14 and spoke to ****, asked about the repair of damaged to ceiling and wall. Another service rep came out on 5/29 (******). ****** claimed to be the "fix it guy. He surveyed the interior and the roof, admitted there was damage caused by the roof and he had seem this same damage in South Bend, In. He took pictures and promised to take the info back to Richmond and get it taken care of. We heard nothing back. I called the company back on 6/23 and was instructed by **** to contact my insurance company and have another contractor check the roof.I contacted ***** **** and they sent ******** ******** out on 6/27/14 to survey the roof. The findings by ******** have been provided to Richmond Guttering and we have not been contacted by Richmond yet. Today is 7/16/14 and I am going to contact Richmond again.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the areas properly repaired that are causing leakage in my home. I believe Richmond should also be responsible for the interior damage caused by the leakage.

Business Response: We have been to the house and investigated this issue on several occasions starting last winter when the leak occurred. The leak was a result of an ice dam near the peak of his roof. Ice damming occurred regularly this winter as we had large amounts of snow that remained on roofs for an extended period of time. Ice damming is not caused by faulty workmanship and happens on perfectly installed roofs. Once the snow melts and re-freezes, it then creates a dam that allows water to build up and actually run upwards, into ridge vents, under shingles where it would normally not run. ****** our service technician has been to the residence several times and inspected the roof, ridge vent as well as explaining his findings to the homeowner. We are willing to send ****** out again to do a leak test and demonstrate what we find to the homeowner.

**** ************
Sales Manager
(317) 784-1214

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We appreciate the assistance of the BBB.  However, we have never spoken with **** ************, but have made numerous calls to Richmond Roofing.  The company has sent numerous employees out to view the damage, but repairs obviously have not been made correctly.  The company that ***** **** sent out to review the damage found an area that caused the leakage onto my bedroom floor, that was between the wall of family room and bedroom, and the repair still needs to be made.  The leakage **** speaks of was caused by one of the employees that came out to look for leaks, and it is said by the employee who followed up on the next visit that the previous  employee stepped on a shingle and cracked it causing water to seep under the shingle.  There is water leakage in the front room of my house, 2 places in the downstairs family room, the first being the reason for the repair around the fireplace on 10/14/11, approximately 3 weeks after the new roof was put on.  My bedroom ceiling also has 3 places where there are water spots.  We did as Richmond asked, and ***** **** sent ******** ******** out to check the roof. I have provided this information to the BBB and was asked to send it to ***** ******, Richmond Guttering and to *******, Secretary.  We are afraid to agree with their offer to come out, as we have called over and over, spoke with the secretary and no one will call us back.  There is visible damage to the interior of our home due to more than an ice leak.  All we ask is for someone to follow up that is in authority, and take a look at what ******** ******** has found and the damage to the interior in separate rooms of the house. The Richmond warranty says their workmanship is guaranteed for 5 years.  

Regards,

***** *******

 

 

Business Response: I spoke with Mr. ******* last week and we are scheduled to meet with him this Thursday at 2pm.

**** ************
Sales Manager
****@richmondexteriors.com
(317) 784-1214 x ***

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted this company as I did others for a free estimate to see how much it would cost to make some repairs to my home. The guy showed up eight hours later than he was supposed to and never called to notify me or try to reschedule for another time. When he did show up I never made contact with him because it was a work night for me and I was in the bed. He never left any paper work and I didn't hear from this company any more so I hired another company to do the work. Several weeks later I received a bill for materials that they had taken upon themselves to order without talking to me. I never gave them authorization to order any parts. they claim that they started the job which is totally false. If they had I would have told them that I was not interesting in hiring a company that shows up that late for an appointment. They are threatening to sue for non payment for a job that they were never hired to do.

Desired Settlement: To acknowledge that they were in error for billing me for what should have been a free estimate. To make an adjustment in their billing department showing that I don't owe them anything.

Business Response: I apologize for the confusion and collection notice. We had this listed in our billing system from 2011 and have it marked as a cancelled job after we ordered the materials for the job. For this reason, it was showing in our receivable and collection reports, and in a recent clearing of the books this was turned over to a collection agency. I looked in our past files and did not see a signed contract for this work, so I will be removing this from our books and notifying the collection company this is not an active account or file so you should not hear from them regarding this in the future. I apologize for the issue and am sorry this came up from recently from 2011.

Thanks,
**** ************Richmond Exteriors
Sales Manager
************

2/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service