BBB Accredited Business since

Zionsville Country Kennel

Phone: (317) 769-6172 5370 S Indianapolis Road, Whitestown, IN 46075

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Zionsville Country Kennel meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Zionsville Country Kennel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Zionsville Country Kennel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 07, 2005 Business started: 04/21/1989 in IN Business under new ownership as of: 12/21/2010 Business incorporated 11/13/2010 in IN
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Debbie Douglas, Co-Owner Mr. Ron Douglas, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Debbie Douglas, Co-Owner
Principal: Mr. Ron Douglas, Co-Owner
Business Category

KENNELS & PET BOARDING Pet Grooming Pet Training Pet Training - Dog PET KENNELING SERVICES Dog Daycare

Alternate Business Names
Industry Tips

Additional Locations

  • 5370 S Indianapolis Road

    Whitestown, IN 46075 (317) 769-6172


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing this complaint due to a policy that was neither relayed verbally nor referenced on the Zionsville Country Kennel company website that resulted in a $60 charge not refunded to me upon the request to cancel services within an acceptable timeframe. Under Policies & FAQ's section on the Zionsville Country Kennel website it clearly states cancellation must be made within 48 hours of your reservation. It does state that during peak boarding periods (ie. Spring Break in this case) that a you may be asked to pre-pay a portion of charges which is why I provided a credit card # for a $60 charge. However when I called to cancel within the required timeline I was told that their policy for cancellation was a non-refundable deposit of $60. She also said they keep the deposit if reservation is cancelled within the same month of the reservation. Again, this is not on the website or on any paperwork received and was never relayed verbally. I have spoken to the manager/owner ****** ******* who did not seem to agree that she should honor the policy clearly posted on her website and return my deposit. I think this is poor business practice and I am not sure but perhaps even illegal? Therefore I felt the need to report her and her business to the better business bureau and to pursue the refund due. Reservation was for 3/27-4/3 Cancellation request was made 3/20 - one week prior to reservation Thank you in advance for your assistance. ******* *******

Business Response: I thought I had already responded to this complaint, but maybe I didn't do it correctly.  I responded on May 1, 2014, based on a letter I received on April 28, 2014. 
The following is my response. 

We have spoken with this customer on at least two (2) different occasions when she irately called the kennel, berating and trying to intimidate me and my employees with false accusations.  She has been totally unreasonable, and has refused to listen and acknowledge her commitment as we tried to explain the situation.   Hopefully your objective input can help resolve the situation. 

First of all, there is no mention of a deposit required or a policy on deposits on the Zionsville Country Kennel Website.  The kennel does not require any deposit during non-peak, non- holiday periods if the reservation is made direct with the kennel, and that is why we have no mention of a deposit on our website.   Our website does however offer customers a link to a 24/7 reservation service through a 3rd party website (Pet Bookings.Com) for reservations during non-peak,  non-holiday periods, including Spring Break.   The Pet Bookings Policies are very clearly explained on their website.  Pet Bookings requires a 10% deposit for their service based on the estimated cost of the reservation, and as mentioned in the complaint and on the Pet Bookings Website, these deposits are fully refundable if the reservation is cancelled through Pet Bookings 48 hours prior to the date reserved.  The estimated cost of this customer’s reservation was $252, and if she had made the reservation through Pet for a non-peak, non-holiday period, and then subsequently cancelled that reservation directly through Pet Bookings, one week prior to the reserved date, her $25.20 deposit would have been refunded with no issue. 

During peak periods and holidays (including Spring Break), we do not use Pet Bookings, and all reservations are taken direct at the kennel.  During these periods, before the reservation is even logged into the system, we inform the customer that a special $60 deposit is required to hold the reservation.  We also explain that this special $60 deposit will be applied toward the cost of boarding, and that it is fully refundable if the reservation is cancelled before the 1st day of the Holiday month.  For Spring Break, this would have been March 1st, 2014. This is a standard industry practice, and easily verified with any other local kennels.  In fact some kennels require 100% non-refundable payment in advance for a reservation during peak periods  and holidays.  The main reason for this practice is that due to demand during this period, we end up recommending other kennels, and  turning customers away once we are fully booked. 

This customer was very upset when I reminded her of her commitment for Spring Break, and refused to listen.  Her complaint alludes to the fact that her reservation was made through Pet Bookings and that the Pet Booking Policy should take precedence over the verbal policy relayed to her when she made her Spring Break reservation and actually paid the $60 deposit.  I apologized and tried to explain that the $60 would only cover a portion of the lost revenue we incurred as a result of her late cancellation, even if we were able to call around and fill the vacancy at that late date.  We have made exceptions to this refund policy in the past where there was an illness, or some extenuating circumstances.  Her only explanation was that the kennel she normally uses was booked when she first called, so she made a reservation with us.  When her normal kennel had an opening, she decided that she would cancel with us and demand a refund.   She only started investigating the Pet Bookings Policy to confuse the situation , after we refused to refund her deposit when she called to cancel her reservation.  This is the sole purpose for the deposit, and I can see no justification in making an exception for her circumstances. 

Thank you in advance for any help you might be able to provide in closing this issue. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


******* *******


I have read the owners response. She must have me confused w another complaint/customer. I only spoke w her once and was not what I would consider to be irrational, intimidating or any of the adjective fillers she mentions in her response. Nor do I have a regular kennel as We just recently moved to the area..& have never even boarded our dog. Her response is long winded and only confirms my complaint which is that there is nothing in writing that makes mention of a non-refundable deposit...& it was never verbally relayed. I filed this complaint because this is the response I receive from the owner as well and was hoping the BBB could confirm that this is unethical business practice and require her to return our deposit. It is not the money it is the principal. When she refused to return the deposit like anything reputable business owner that wants to keep clients for future business and referrals in my opinion would do (especially when it was only $60) it only made me more eager to take the necessary steps to ensure she & her actions are reported to the BBB for other potential clients to be made aware otherwise she just gets away w making up policy at the expense of the customer without any repercussion of this unethical business practice. I truly cannot believe a business owner would write a response like this vs. apologizing for the miscommunication and refunding the deposit. A true testament to the type of why this though time consuming - was my only option.