Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Whitehall Animal Country Club, LLC

Phone: (812) 876-1004 8251 W SR 48, Bloomington, IN 47404 http://www.whitehallanimalcountryclub.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Whitehall Animal Country Club, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Whitehall Animal Country Club, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Whitehall Animal Country Club, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 11, 2008 Business started: 04/01/2000 in IN Business incorporated 08/22/2007 in IN
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Sid Martin, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sid Martin, Owner
Business Category

KENNELS & PET BOARDING Pet Grooming Pet Care (except Veterinary) Services (NAICS: 812910)

Industry Tips
Licensing/Registration-Animals

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Whitehall Animal Country Club, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8251 W SR 48

    Bloomington, IN 47404 (812) 876-1004

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We used this business once in the past without much issue. I say that because the first time we brought our dogs there we were billed beyond our original quote and did not have all of our items returned, we over looked that because the dogs seemed to take to the owner. Our dogs happiness and comfort are the most important thing to us. It is important to state that our dogs were dropped off very HAPPY and very HEALTHY. However, this time both of our dogs were picked up by my husband sick, throwing up, coughing, and lethargic. My husband upon picking the dogs up asked if there were any issues and none were reported, he also saw that the dogs had not been fed as instructed and that wet food had been in every dish and not cleaned after feeding. It is unclear to us that neither of the owners noticed a very noticable cough and the constant vomiting by both dogs, it was noticed immediately by my husband. After a very tense overnight the dogs were taken to the vet this morning (10/21/14) and are now both being treated for Kennel Cough, something that they are vaccinated against. All vaccination paperwork was provided to the business by myself to include rabies. It is possible to contract kennel cough with vaccination, but it is not easy. The likelihood is that the conditions in which they were housed caused the issue: lack of heat, lack of disinfectant, cleanliness practices, etc. I spoke to both the owner Mr. ****** and his wife on the phone and via email last night to ask them about the onset of symptoms so that we could seek treatment for the dogs. I received two answers: 1) They seemed fine to me, no issues, and 2) "Well Francois (dog) did throw up once" that we saw. They were asked directly if there were any issues when the dogs were picked up, this could have allowed us to seek treatment that night. We paid $509 for two dogs to be boarded, and another $100 + this morning for treatment, and $$$ for a follow-up due to the severity of the illness in my smaller dog. Unacceptable, outrageous, and unprofessional. The worst thing about this whole issue is that the poor housekeeping and disorganization will affect numerous animals over the next several weeks without addressal. The owners should possibly consider taking some of the high prices they charge and hiring help, since the owner by his own commentary is suffering from an illness that makes things difficult for him.

Desired Settlement: I would like a $509.00 refund, that would satisfy me as I am now having to spend more money out of pocket to treat my dogs and it only seems fair as the conditions in which they were housed caused the illness.

Business Response:

We are sorry to hear that the air pets got sick but we did not cause their illness.

This customer has actually used our services 3 times. 8/30/2013-9/8/2013, 11/6/2013-11/13/2013 & 10/10/2014-10/20/12014. They say they were billed beyond their quote for boarding but the quote died not include the heating surcharge or the half day charge which were at that time listed on Our website, contract and posted in the office. The only thing not returned was 1 toy that had no name on it. The dogs ate well, played enthusiastically and had no issues going to the bathroom. They supplied 4 bowls, 2 for wet food and 2 for dry. Dry food to be accessed throughout the day and wet food to be fed in the evening, so we did follow their instructions as for feeding them. When they would spill their dry food it was immediately vaccumed up and fresh given to them. The only thing that we didn't do was wash their food bowls upon day of pickup. NIEVER was wet food put in with dry. They had fresh water every day. As for cleanliness of our  kennels go, we use Lemon 256 disinfectant cleaner that kills all viruses including parvo and IHIV. Their pets outside run was mopped daily and inside cleaned daily. Since 10/10/2014 we have had heat on in the kennels due to change in weather, we just didn't charge them for it this time. All of this can be verified thru several eye witnesses and our video surveillance system.

On 10/19/2014, the night before the dogs were picked up, we noticed Francois' cough at which time we didn't know if lit was from something that he might have eaten or what the cause was. The next morning both dogs ate their dry food as usual and went out to potty and were not acting lethargic. Dad asked how they did and was told they were very good. It was only after the dad had picked them up that we noticed in the outside corner of their run that Francois had gotten sick. It is common knowledge that if a dog or cat eats or drinks too fast that they will throw up. With that being said a 1 time occurrence does not make us immediately think the pet is sick. In the 15 plus years in business, we have NEVER had kennel cough on our properhy. During the time that their pets were here, we had 24 dogs and 2 cats boarding. We contacted the other owners to check on their pets and found only 1 dog to just have been diagnosed with kennel cough on 11/3/2014, the others dogs are not sick. Looking at the time line and knowing that it can take 3 to 10 days for dogs to show symptoms of kennel cough, their pets could have easily had this illness before coming to our kennel and gave it to the other dog. To reiterate no other dogs are sick including our own 6, 3 of which live at the kennel. As seen by many of our customers our kennels are kept extremely dean at all times and it is noted that there is no odor at all. Most are amazed by how dean we keep our kennels. As for being called Unacceptable, outrageous and unprofessional, we take what we do very seriously. After receiving a phone call from the dogs mom, Shari, we were told that Francois was throwing up and if it got worse that her husband would take him to the vet the next day, we asked her to let us know what she found out. WE didn't her from her so we left 3 messages in 2 days and didn't hear anything back. It wasn't until we got your email that we knew of this complaint.

 

Repsonse to complaint

Here are 4 reviews to read on Google:

A Google User 4 years ago-

We've used their service several times and are always impressed with how clean and well maintained the facility is. Over dog always appears to be well taken care of. I also like that the boarding areas are spacious and allow dogs to see their ...More

 

A Google User 4 years ego

I've boarded dogs here several times, and they always come out cleaner than at other kennels. They seem pretty happy too. The owners really do care about the dogs.

 

A Google User A Google User 3 years ago

This is the cleanest kennel l'sve ever seen, and taking care of dogs is obviously a labor of love for *** & ****** and their staff. We don't think twice about boarding our dogs here. As of this past weekend, I can also highly recommend Lorena ...More

A Google User A Google User 3 years ago

Clean, large kennels, lots of :space for playtime, kind staff, and happy pups. What more could you ask for? I highly recommend the wacc

We do not believe we should reimburse them for the boarding cost, we did provide this service to them and we did not cause their pets to get kennel cough. As for how high our prices are, we are 1 of the Imivest price kennels in Bloomington. And I feel my illness is not a factor in this and shouldn't helve even been mentioned.

Thank you for your time in this matter,

Whitehall Animal Country Club

*** * ******

****** * ******



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Whitehall Animal Country Club, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart