BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Domestic and military household goods interstate relocations


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wheaton World Wide Moving meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wheaton World Wide Moving include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 48 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

48 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 41
Total Closed Complaints 48

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Wheaton World Wide Moving
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 7
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1945 in IN Business incorporated 09/28/1945 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Indiana Department of Revenue
100 N. Senate Avenue, Gov't Center North, Rm. N105, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.in.gov/dor
Phone Number: (317) 233-4018

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stephen F Burns, Chairman of the Board Mr. Mark Kirschner, CEO Mr. AJ Schneider, Executive Vice President Mr. David Allen, Director Ms. Kathy Kendall, Director, Claims & Consumer Affairs Mr. David Witzerman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen F Burns, Chairman of the Board
Customer Contact: Ms. Kathy Kendall, Director, Claims & Consumer Affairs
Principal: Mr. Mark Kirschner, CEO
Principal: Mr. AJ Schneider, Executive Vice President
Business Category

MOVERS MOVING SUPPLIES MOVING & STORAGE COMPANY RELOCATION SERVICE Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Credit cards
Certified funds
Cashiers checks
Alternate Business Names
Wheaton Van Lines, Inc. Wheaton World Wide
Industry Tips
Contracts Movers

Additional Locations

  • 8010 Castleton Road

    Indianapolis, IN 46250 (800) 248-7962 (800) 932-7799

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/20/2015 Delivery Issues
2/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife, ******, and I have been working with the claims department on Claim #********* with unsatisfactory results. Below is a letter that we sent the VP or Revenue Accounting and Claims, the CEO and the Chairman of the Board. It clearly defines the problems we have had, the false advertising, the poor handling of our personal belongings and our desired outcome! We are writing to you because we moved in September from Northfield, MN to Bend, OR and selected your moving company to move us. We selected you for two reasons. Our realtor recommended you and we were told you were the official movers of the Steinway piano and we have a Steinway B Grand Piano (replacement value $100,000.00). We felt if Steinway trusted you we could trust you. That was very naive of us. We later found out from Steinway that you had not moved anything for them for over 10 years yet “currently” was used in your marketing brochure. We were also told by our Wheaton representative in MN, that a Steinway trained mover would personally oversee the packing and loading in Northfield and then the unpacking and unloading of the Steinway in Bend. This did not happen. Your Wheaton driver and movers did not know what they were doing which we learned when we watched the piano movers who moved our Steinway to Portland for repairs. It took them only two people (Wheaton needed five) to do the job and they took a great deal of care and time in the padding and loading of the Steinway. They did not remove the top from the piano which Wheaton did, exposing the very intricate inner mechanics of the piano. You were very lucky that was not damaged. We bought Full Replacement Value Protection with $0 dollar deductible but never thought we would have to use it. This cost us around a $1,000.00 for $76,000 coverage. Unfortunately, the move was a disaster and we did need it. Almost all of our furniture was damaged including my Steinway. Initially we thought things were relatively ok until after two weeks of unpacking we thoroughly cleaned the house and this included dusting all of the furniture and oiling of the Amish table and chairs. What we found was unbelievable. Over 50 pieces plus two pianos were damaged leaving only a handful (less then 10) that appeared to have survived the move. There was damage everywhere - not just one or two spots of damage per piece but some pieces had well over 50 scratches, dings, gouges, pressed in wood, whole edges scraped, wide long scratches, rungs that were loosened, backs of chairs loosened, areas of many small chips like the piece had been sandblasted - just unreal. We were in disbelief and shock. And the Steinway had a five inch area on an inside edge where the wood had been pressed in almost an inch with remaining inside edges all rough, no longer smooth. The top had little nicks over a large area, the end blocks had dings, one of the pedals had severe scratching on it (left one that I rarely used, the right, damper pedal had normal wear from use). We were heartsick. An end table had a 5 inch gouge on the top that went so deep that raw wood was exposed and this item was supposedly wrapped in a blanket. And that is just one example. We could give you hundreds. We bought only the finest furniture and have had it for many years, some over forty years. Much of which isn’t even available anymore. We have many Ethan Allen pieces including solid cherry pieces from their Georgian Court Line, solid maple pieces, a king size solid brass bed, antique pine pieces, a black stencil chair and Hitchcock chair. We have a beautiful Amish-made natural cherry table (four leaves) with two arm and four side chairs. We have many cherry scandinavian design pieces and a beautiful Howard Miller cherry and mahogany clock. We have additional solid cherry furniture by Pennsylvania House. Nothing we bought was cheap and all was meant to be enjoyed for a life time and passed onto our children. Some pieces were pristine and some had normal wear for their age. In addition, to the damage to our furniture in the move, the wood floors in our Northfield home had been scratched because of the carelessness of the moving crew. This was the first thing claims had to deal with and they seemed to do it cheerfully and quickly but then as we all realized the extent of the damage to our furniture their attitude and treatment of us changed and our anxiety rose. Your claims department has repeatedly told us “no” based on rules that could not possibly work for someone with the extent of our damage. We asked that a Wheaton person come out and look at our damaged furniture but were told “no”. When asked who could repair it for us, we were told we are in IN we do not know anyone in OR. We did not know anyone either. We were entirely on our own and were told to document the damage ourselves. That took hours and hours of time. And when we thought we had got it all, we found more damage. We are not professional, and not trained in doing the job of an adjuster. We still find damage that we had not see before. We got so we were afraid to even look at our furniture. When three of our largest solid cherry furniture and two chairs were loaded to take to Portland last Thursday for repair, we saw two very long deep scratches on the side of our triple dresser and on the back it had been spattered with something - neither of which we had seen before. The movers who picked up this furniture were appalled at the damage, damage which they could not even fathom how it could have happened. Not once did claims tell us that they would work to ensure that our furniture was restored to the condition it was before the move or replace it. They did not even bother to say they were even sorry about it until we asked. We were even told that Wheaton does not guaranteed quality service. We wish Wheaton had told us that before we hired them. It became very apparent that claims only goal was to spend as little as possible to resolve the situation and would use any loop hole to say they were not liable even though they knew the damage was caused by Wheaton. We have had to fight them instead of their working with us. We have spent the last two months on this, thirty hours a week each. We have had to give a key to someone we didn’t even know so they could come into our house and fix things. We have accepted many, many pieces as fixed that are no where near the way they were before. My Steinway spent a month in Portland. What is the current status of our claim. We have accepted most of the pieces as repaired even though most are not back to the condition they were when they were picked up in MN. There are five pieces in Portland which claims has agreed to have repaired by the same people that repaired the Steinway case which we had to fight for when we realized that the current local furniture repair person was not able to repair them. There are two outstanding issues that have not been resolved to our satisfaction - our six Amish chairs and our Ethan Allen Solid Brass King Bed headboard and footboard. Six Amish Chairs The claims people have told us that they will not replace the six Amish-made chairs or pay to have them fixed by the Amish furniture company who made them. Their reasons were 1) we did not list that the backs of the chairs were loose on the claim form even though the chairs and much damage to them were listed and 2) because “this type of damage would not typically be accepted, because the cause of the damage is not from the item being mishandled rather from inherent vice”. We received this latest “no” in an email we received at one minute to 5:00 pm last Friday so we had no ability to speak with them about their current “no” until tomorrow, Monday. They have repeatedly sent emails as they are walking out the door to leave for the day making us wait a day or a weekend to talk to them. We listed the six Amish chairs on an addendum to the Wheaton claim form because no way would all of our pieces, let alone a description of the extensive damage begin to fit on your form. When we expressed to a claims person our concern about getting everything documented, she said just make sure the pieces are all on there with as much of the damage recorded as you can. We were feeling very overwhelmed. We initially saw the dings and scratches on examination of the chairs, saw the cracked rung, the loose rung but missed that the backs of all the side chairs were now loose making the chairs no longer stable. You have to remember the number of pieces we were trying to deal with by ourselves and the overwhelming extent of the damage. The local furniture repair person repaired the dings, gouges and scratches and glued the cracked rung, loose rung and the loose backs as best he could. Since the chairs are natural cherry you can still see the damage and one of the backs he glued is already loose again. One side chair rocks from side to side after the loose rung and the cracked rung was glued. We feel that the chairs are no longer solid or stable and that the appearance of the chairs are compromised. We have not signed off on the chairs as acceptable but the claim people feel that doesn’t matter. I called the Manasses Henry Furniture Company in IN who made this Amish set and talked with ****, the owner, about my concerns with the loose backs and stability of the chairs. He told me: “When repairing chairs it is very difficult to use only glue, and get it to stay the way we make them. On all our chairs we use wedges & a special joint wood sweller.” That is why the back of one of the four side chairs that was glued has already come loose. I also learned from **** that this Amish set is still available and that the whole set, table, two arm and four side chairs would now cost $10,453 including shipping from IN. Additionally, these chairs were solid and stable when they were picked up - if you look at the Wheaton driver’s Household Goods Descriptive Inventory under Condition at Origin not a single chair was documented as loose, gouged, cracked - he only showed rubbed and marred. We feel that the chairs should be repaired by the Manasses Henry Furniture Company by having **** come out here and fix them properly. This would have to include travel expenses and he is currently getting an estimate on the cost of repairs based on pictures we have sent him. Wheaton could also replace the six chairs though the patina on the chairs would be lighter than the table since the wood is natural cherry with only a danish oil finish. (Claims have already refused to replace the whole set so the patina would match.) Both would probably be about the same price. We would prefer that **** from Manasses Henry repair the pieces rather than get new chairs. This way the patina on the table and chairs would match. Ethan Allen Solid Brass Bed We were told by the local furniture repair person that the brass bed was not repairable. There are many chips and scratches on the top horizontal piece of the footboard. This was purchased in 1985 for $2,299 plus tax which in today’s dollar is $5,418. We did talk with a company in Bend, OR that does brass powder coating. The person we spoke with initially told us he could re-coat the bed for about $1,500 - 2,000 but would need pictures to determine a more accurate estimate. When he received the pictures he said he could not repair it because there were too many pieces and the quality too high to make it look like it should. We appreciated his honesty. There are no comparable solid brass beds of the same quality and design as we have. Ethan Allen no longer makes these beds because of the high costs to make them. The closest comparable bed we found is sold by ******* * ******* in NY for almost $6,000.00 but we found none of their designs even close to the look of our bed. Claims told us they found a comparable bed for less than $3,000 but have yet to tell us what they found. Claims first offered us a $500 appearance allowance but in their Friday email raised that to $1,500 but made it sound like this would only be good if we accepted no replacement or fixing of the chairs and signing off saying that Wheaton was blameless. We can not do that. We need to see their comparable bed which we find hard to believe is the quality of our bed which no Wheaton person has seen. We feel the amount they are offering is too low. We also can not sign any document that says Wheaton is blameless. When things are repaired replaced and appropriate appearance allowance given we would be willing to sign a release of any more liability to Wheaton. Wheaton claims that there was no accident in our move but clearly something happened between when our furniture was picked up in MN and when it was delivered in OR. We called the driver to ask him what happen and he immediately became very defensive and said he is just trying to make a living. Joe, our driver is the only one who knows what happened and he is not talking. We need to know what happened and feel we deserve to know. We have been told that we are too particular and too sensitive. We are honest people who only want this nightmare to end and to have our furniture restored to how it was before Wheaton moved and damaged it. We have already conceded on so many pieces and accepted them knowing that the repairs did not bring them back to how they looked before we moved. The long deep pressed in place on the Steinway case is still there much better than before the repairs and from the top it is barely noticeable but I know it is there. There are still some inside rough edges and the scratched brass pedal much better but not what it was. This breaks my heart. We also feel due to the overwhelming extent of the damage and all of the time we have had to put into this furniture nightmare and the anxiety and stress this has cause us that we should get all of our moving expense money back. The only way I can describe what happen is to say it is like all of our furniture was placed in a very large bowl with no padding, shaken around and then thrown into our house. We packed all of our own boxes - over wrapping, double boxing the more fragile figurines, pottery and fine crystal and china. Not one single thing we packed was broken or even chipped. Another puzzling thing - the triple mirror above the triple dresser, which was detached and packed in a mirror box has not a scratch on it. We have already lost so much - pieces we worked hard to buy and many of which have much sentimental value to us. We only bought the best and we took care of it. Moving is anxiety provoking in itself. The way we have been treated and the amount of work that we have had to do has increased this anxiety many fold. We have not slept well for the last two months because of the way our claim has been handled and how we have been made to feel - like we have done something wrong. The only thing we did wrong was to trust Wheaton. We have put our lives on hold for the last two months feeling isolated and alone because we have not been able to settle in and get out and about to find ways to meet people and make Bend, OR our new home. We would like this all resolved within a week so maybe we could enjoy Christmas. We moved here to be closer to our girls in WA and CA. Our first grandchild was born on November 7th to our daughter in CA. We want to be able to focus our time not on this furniture nightmare, but on our girls, their families and this new grandson we have been blessed with. And we want to be able to focus on making a life for ourselves in Bend. In summary we want: - A higher appearance allowance for the brass bed in keeping with a replacement value of $5,418. - Wheaton to pay for the repairs plus travel expenses for **** from Manasses Henry Furniture Company in IN to repair our six Amish natural cherry chairs or replacement of the full set to include the table and six chairs (two arm and four sides) at a cost of $10,453.00 including shipping. - Payment for the repairs plus transportation for five outstanding pieces in need of repair already approved by Wheaton Claims and already picked up by ********** ****** in Portland. - Full refund of our moving cost of $13,474.20. We need your help to get this resolved fairly and quickly. We appreciate your concern and your consideration. We are attaching our claim form and three addendums as well as the quote from Manasses Henry Furniture Company. ****** and ******* ***** Claim #********* ***** **** ******* ***** ****, OR 97701 507-******** ************

Desired Settlement: Repeated from the "In summary we want:" section at the end of the Tell Us About Your Problem section above. In summary we want: - A higher appearance allowance for the brass bed in keeping with a replacement value of $5,418. - Wheaton to pay for the repairs plus travel expenses for **** from Manasses Henry Furniture Company in IN to repair our six Amish natural cherry chairs or replacement of the full set to include the table and six chairs (two arm and four sides) at a cost of $10,453.00 including shipping. - Payment for the repairs plus transportation for five outstanding pieces in need of repair already approved by Wheaton Claims and already picked up by ********** ****** in Portland. - Full refund of our moving cost of $13,474.20. In other words, to pay for fixing the damage and to refund our moving cost!

Business Response:

Your recent complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau has been forwarded to my attention for review and response.

**** ******** Vice President, Claims and Revenue Accounting completed a review of the damage claim and in an effort to bring this to a close our office has agreed to extend the attached offer. If it is agreed upon, we will have a formal claim release form prepared and emailed to you. Upon receipt of the signed claim release our check will be processed.

Cordially,

***** ****

Claims, Manager

Wheaton World Wide Moving<

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We do accept part of the response received by us from Wheaton on December 30, 2014 from **** ******** in an email.  We accept their offer of an additional $1,200.00 on the brass bed bringing the total to $2,700.00, their acceptance of liability for the damaged Amish chairs and a repair amount of $2,500.00 and their offer of an additional amount of $1,300.00 to cover the sealer coat for the blue table and chairs as well as to repair the damage to the rocking horse.


However, we do not agree to drop our request for full refund of the cost of our move given the overwhelming extent of the damage to our furniture and the inability to repair  our furniture to restore to the “same condition”.  The FRVP coverage we purchased with zero deductible up to $76,000.00 stated restore to same condition or replace.  We do not feel we should pay them to damage almost all of our furniture (over 50 pieces, fewer than 10 pieces were not damaged).  We also have some outstanding issues which we need answers to, before we can come to an agreement which were outlined in a letter sent to Wheaton from us on January 1, 2015.   **** ******** from Wheaton has indicated they received our letter and will respond soon.  


We would, however, consider an appearance allowance, instead of a full refund, to live with the fact that most of our pieces could not be repaired to the “same condition” since we sense Wheaton wants the settlement to come under claims for loss and damage and not under transportation.  This amount would have to be acceptable to us.


We do not feel that Wheaton truly understands the extent of the damage to our furniture.  We never saw the pictures sent to the Wheaton claims personnel by the repair person (we asked Wheaton for copies but they refused our request) and a few pictures for each piece could no way show the extent of the damage to the whole piece.  They should have sent someone out to look at the damage.  This has been a nightmare for us.  


Regards,

****** *** ******* *****

Business Response: Dear BBB:

Since Mr. & Mrs. ***** elevated their claim to our VP of Claims, Mr. ******** replied to the customers.  Attached is a copy of that response.


***** *******
Director, Claims & Consumer Affairs
Wheaton World Wide Moving | Bekins Van Lines, Inc. |  Clark & Reid

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am uploading two documents that we have already sent to Wheaton via e-mail.  Those two documents detail why the offer is not acceptable.  We are awaiting their response either through you, the BBB, or directly to us.

Regards,
******* *****

Business Response: Dear BBB:

Attached is the letter that Mr. ******** sent to the ****** in reply to their most recent letter.  

Sincerely,

***** *******
Director, Claims & Consumer Affairs
Wheaton World Wide Moving | Bekins Van Lines, Inc. | Clark & Reid

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Attached is file "******** Response to Wheaton Letter Rejecting our proposed settlement-1.pdf" that details what is lacking in Mr. ********* response to resolve our complaint. 

 Regards,

******* *****

Business Response: Dear BBB:

Attached is the most recent response to the dispute from Mr. & Mrs. *****.  This is the final correspondence regarding this matter.  Wheaton has outlined our position and it is our final review.

Sincerely,
***** ******** Director, Claims & Consumer Affairs
Wheaton World Wide Moving | Bekins Van Lines, Inc. | Clark & Reid

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Thanks for the information.  I appreciate your being able to change the status of the complaint as it is not resolved.  As I noted on the phone, I just did not respond the last time because Wheaton was only providing you with information that we were already receiving.

We are still pursuing other avenues that hopefully will be able to provide a more satisfactory resolution.

Regards,

******* ***

12/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company relocated my household goods from the East Coast to the West Coast. 50% of my furniutre was damaged or completed broken. Also there were many missing boxes including a missing wall bookcase. I have insurance for up to $100k full replacement. The company does not want to acknowledge the missing items nor does not want to reimburse for missing items noted on the claim forms. Instead of replacement value they are offering a reduced price and monies for repairs.

Desired Settlement: I would like full financial reimbursement for all items noted as missing and broken on the claim forms.

Business Response: Dear BBB:

I have received the complaint filed by Ms. ******* ********, # ********.   I have attached a copy of our phone log,  I just spoke with Ms. ******** at 1:29 PM today and told her that I would be reviewing her file with Ms.***** ****, Manager and that we would get back to her today.  Ms. **** is preparing a revised offer of settlement today to e-mail to Ms. ********. 
Sincerely,
 
***** *******Director, Claims & Consumer Affairs
Wheaton World Wide Moving | Bekins Van Lines, Inc, | Clark & Reid

11/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wheaton Worldwide Moving was responsible for shipping my HHG from Port Orchard, WA to Virginia Beach, VA because I was under PCS orders. During this shipment of HHG, their movers managed to damage several of my items that were all recently purchased within the past 18 months and barely used. I submitted my claim online and an auditor came out to the house to look at the damaged goods. I am completely disappointed and disgusted with the way they handled three particular items in my inventory. First is a 50 inch Samsung Smart TV that I purchased as a gift to myself four months after returning from my tour in Afghanistan. The TV was pierced and unusable after it was improperly handled by the company. Wheaton responded by offering me $681.48 for a "like kind" TV they found on amazon.com. I did not purchase a like kind TV online nor do I want anything less than what I originally purchased. In addition to that, that was all it said. They failed to say what kind of TV it was, the quality or the name of it. Second, is a pair of five inch nude pumps that I bought from an Aldo Shoe Store in the Tacoma Mall. I had worn these shoes twice, no more than a total of five hours. The nude pumps are no longer available because they are out of season, but I did show the auditor their equivalent which are called Pietraforte and listed as $104 right now. Wheaton offered me $45. The clutch that matches the shoes is on sale for $90 right now. Finally, I had a queen size bed that was used for my mom when she visited and was going to be her bed when she moves here next summer after her final cancer treatment. I had bulk disposal pick up the bed because I have a small child in the home and did not have any room for it. I have a before picture, the contact information for when it was picked up and the movers information that can all verify that this bed was damaged beyond repair, but because it was not actually seen they are refusing to refund me, although I showed the auditor the exact bed online. They are not willing to do the leg work because they know they will owe me the money for damaging my belongings.

Desired Settlement: Not only do I want an appropriate amount of money to replace my damaged HHG, I want a sincere apology from this company. I have served my country for over 14 years and completed two deployment in support of Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation Enduring Freedom. I have moved from several overseas locations and not once has anything ever been damaged as excessively at it has with this single move.

Business Response:

A copy of your recent Better Business Bureau complaint has been received and forwarded to my attention for review and response.

Ms. *****, I have conducted some Internet research and have found that the TV is still available through Amazon at a price of $681.48 with free shipping. This is the exact replacement for the TV that was damaged in the move.

I have increased the offer for the shoes to $104.00 which is the amount you requested in your email of 10-17-14 to Ms. *****.

The repair firm indicated that the bed could have been repaired had it not been discarded by you prior to his inspection. I have included a repair allowance of $250.00 in our updated offer of settlement.

Ms. *****, I do apologize that you experienced any difficulties with your relocation and that our service did not meet your expectations. Attached is our full and final settlement offer in the amount of $1,910.48.

Please sign the attached release form on the line indicated "Claimant" and return the signed release to my attention.

Since you transferred the headboard to the MCO (Military Claims Office), you will need to contact the DPS "help desk" and have that item reinstated as offer pending or under review so that we can update our offer of $250.00. Once that has been accomplished you will also need to update your acceptance of each item offered in DPS prior to the issuance of the check.

Sincerely,

***** *******,

                  Director; Claims & Consumer Affairs

                   Wheaton World Wide Moving I Bekins Van Lines, Inc. I Clark & Reid


 

 

 

                  

9/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired this company to move cross country and it was a complete disaster. When the movers were unloading our belongings, the driver and one of the movers got into an argument about money, the mover threatened the driver with a gun and the police were called. The mover intentionally dropped our dryer and destroyed it. We feel that under these circumstances, we should be compensated for the dryer. This incident threatened the safety of our family and it is completely unprofessional and uncalled for.

Desired Settlement: $1189, Cost to replace damaged dryer

Business Response:

I understand that you experienced difficulties with your relocation and the delivery personnel. I have also been made aware of the damage that occurred to the dryer. You released your shipment with valuation of $.60 per lb per article thereby limiting the carrier liability to $.60 times the weight of the item or items damaged. Attached is a copy of the bill of lading with your signature confirming your desired valuation.

 

I have also been made aware that you decided to purchase a brand new dryer and did not have the damaged unit inspected to determine if it could be repaired. Although our liability is limited to $.60 per lb per article, the driver did acknowledge the damage and offered to reimburse you for the difference between the repair cost and our allowance at $.60 per lb if you obtained an estimate for the repair. It is my understanding that a claim form has been sent to you; however, we have yet to receive the completed claim form. Upon receipt of the completed claim form you will be notified of the amount of our settlement.

 

Please accept my sincere apologies that you and your family experienced any difficulties with your relocation and that it is necessary for you to file a claim. The concerns that you have expressed with your delivery are not typical of the service that we provide and corrective action has been taken.

 

Sincerely,

  ***** *******

Director, Claims & Consumer Affairs

8/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Wheaton representing Bekins Moving Company to move my possessions from Crown Point Indiana to Middlebury CT. Aside from not reimbursing me for items broken (.60 per pound settlement) which were many, they have a clause which states if they do not inform you of a change in delivery dates or are late delivering items you will be reimbursed for costs incurred from the delay (two days). Wheaton sent a check for $154.00 and will not talk to me or take my calls.

Desired Settlement: Adjustment in moving settlement for costs incurred due to non notification of delivery date change, two date late delivery and living costs de to the late delivery.

Business Response:

A copy of the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau has been forwarded to my attention for review and response.

I have reviewed the claim settlement and must maintain our position for the amounts allowed for the claimed items. You released your shipment for transportation with valuation coverage of $.60 per lb. per article. Attached is a copy of the signed bill of lading confirming your desire to release your shipment at $.60 per lb while waiving the replacement coverage. The standard coverage of $.60 per lb is included in the transportation rate and is at no added cost to the consumer. If replacement coverage was desired, you were provided with the opportunity to sign for and pay for that coverage.

In response to your request for delayed delivery compensation, I forwarded your request to our customer service department and was advised that a check is being issued to you for the 2 day delay. You will be receiving a check for $300.00 within 7 to 10 days.

Please accept my sincere apologies that you experienced any difficulties with your recent relocation. We do strive to provide exceptional service on all relocations. We appreciate that you took the time to voice your concerns.

Sincerely,

 

***** *******

Director Claims & Consumer Affairs

Wheaton World Wide Moving Bekins Van Lines, Inc. I Clark & Reid

 

 

7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Wheaton Worldwide through a local Agent, Aladdin Storage in Santa Rosa CA, to move my belongings from Richmond CA to Sammamish WA. In one of my initial conversations with Aladdin, I asked them when I should have my belongings picked up to have them delivered on or close to June 18th 2014. Aladdin called a Wheaton representative handling my order (***) and asked them when we should arrange this., We were given a pick up date of the June 14th, to arrive on the 18th, and while we were given a window, we were told that this is customary, but we were assured since Wheaton themselves had given us an estimated pickup date to accomplish our June 18th goal. After we committed to the move with Wheaton we were called and notified that there was a delay and our belongings would not arrive until the 25th (The very last available date on the contract) Aladdin had initially picked up and stored 50% of our belongings so we could have our house uncluttered to put it on the Market, when Wheaton delayed their pickup date, Aladdin picked up the rest and also put it in storage with the rest of our other belongings waiting for the Wheaton driver to pick it up. I was there during both pickups by Aladdin and watched them pack up to move everything to storage with the utmost care and professionalism. We sold our house in CA which closed on the June 16th and were expecting to close on our new house in WA on the 17th, because of the delay, we had to sleep on a blow up bed while waiting for our belongings, This would be bad enough, except I have chronic neck pain from Arthritis, another reason for our timing. After we arrived in WA, we decided to take advantage of the 25th arrival date and have new carpet put in a couple of rooms. On the 23rd the Wheaton Driver ***** called and wanted to drop everything off on the 24th, the day we had arranged for the carpet to be installed. We told him that it wasn't possible because of these reasons, and that he should drop off our belongings as we were told, on the 25th. ***** sounded disgruntled and unhappy about it, but agreed to drop things off on the 25th. On the morning of the 25th at around 10:00am our belongings arrived, and were unpacked and placed in our home. During the initial arrival, ***** told me that I should check against the inventoried numbered list Aladdin made when they picked up my belongings. He disappeared to the back of the truck while his co-worker started bringing in some boxes. It was then I started noticing that the numbers were not all matching up with the listed inventory, like they had been swapped out. ( I had originally checked the list with the Aladdin Agent while they were organizing the move to storage and it was perfectly accurate) After about 10 minutes or more, ***** comes out of the back of the truck and starts helping with our belongings. I noticed a couple of scratches and dings on my belongings coming in but not too closely and it wasn't until a set of drawers came in that were broken and beaten up that I started looking through everything carefully. All of our belongings were mistreated and poorly taken care of, everything had a scratches or dings or were completely ruined. According to the Aladdin invoice there are 3-5 boxes missing which we are still trying to determine.The Wheaton driver ***** started snotting on my driveway by holding his nostril and blowing the other one in my yard, after 3 or 4 times and some spitting too, asked him to stop doing it. He said ok and then did it again 5 minutes later and continued with this behaviour until he was done. At the end of the delivery, ***** came in with a small coffee table that had belonged to my Grandmother, and then my mother who passed away very unexpectedly to stage 4 Lung Cancer last year. He showed me where the leg had been broken off and glued, and blamed it on Aladdin (rather ridiculous since the glue was still completely wet and would have dried over the journey from CA). He showed me invoices that he claimed to have written up when he picked my belongings from Aladdin and allegedly viewed the damaged belongings when they were loaded. It is quite obvious that he wrote these up as he was looking at all the damage at the beginning before they were unloaded, the ink was too fresh and I watched Aladdin wrap everything up when they took it. A couple of days have gone by and we have had a chance to go through our belongings to see the extent of the damage. Our brand new custom kingsize wood bed is full of scratches and dings, luckily we can prove this because I took a string of pictures with the Aladdin guys as the bed was being dismantled so that we could put it back together properly. I have a new Kingsize 4" foam topper that is full of holes And dirt with a huge boot print in the middle of it. The Dining room chairs and table that my mother and my wife's mother split for our wedding gift is full of scratches and dings. This is sentimentally irreplaceable as are many other ruined items, I refuse to pay for this service. I hired a company to move my belongings expecting professionalism and experience to take care of my personal property, they did the complete opposite. While I expect everything to be replaced by this insurance, I also believe that they did not honor the contract we signed. My belongings were not ruined due to an unpredictable circumstance or accident, but due to mistreatment and the proper care they advertise they take.

Desired Settlement: I expect to have no charge for a service that was not performed as agreed, and my damaged belongings to be replaced by the extra insurance that I purchased. I want a letter of apology from Wheaton for my personal belongings I will never be able to replace, and I want a written apology from the Wheaton driver ***** for spitting, snotting, lying to me and the general mistreatment of my belongings.

Business Response:

I have attached a claim form so that you can complete the form and return it to this office. Upon receipt of the claim form, the adjuster will assign a repair firm to inspect and/or repair the damages claimed. Please list all items that you wish to claim including the boxes that you mentioned as possibly missing. Our tracing department will conduct a search for the items to determine if any items might have been mis-delivered.

I have also made our dispatch department aware of the driver's conduct at your residence so that he might be counseled about his actions while at a customer's residence.

In response to your request to receive a refund of the charges, the charges for the relocation cannot be refunded. The transportation service was provided regardless of the quality of that service. Federal law requires the carrier to collect all applicable tariff charges and any refund of those charges would be deemed a violation of federal law. Such violations are subject to criminal and civil penalties.

Please accept my sincere apologies that you experienced any difficulties with your relocation and that our service did not meet your expectations.

Sincerely,

Director, Claims & Consumer Affairs

Wheaton World Wide Moving Bekins Van Lines, Inc. I Clark & Reid

Enclosure:         Claim form

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

While Wheaton did indeed provide transportation, they grossly misrepresented themselves as a company who would be professional and take care of my belongings during the transportation process. These belongings were not accidently damaged, were not involved in an accident, but mistreated without any regard for their actual or sentimental value. When on my property, the driver as a representative of Wheaton Worldwide, deliberately lied to me and performed behavior which potentially put my family and neighbors at risk due to the unhygienic nature of his actions. I do not ask Wheaton Worldwide to break the law and reimburse me,  but I expect compensation for the lying, the risk of danger due to improper hygiene, and for the sentimental value that is not replaceable due to deliberate mistreatment of my belongings.

I have received a form to fill out for reimbursement for damages. I paid extra to have my belongings insured against accidental damage (I'm not sure how deliberate damage is handled) but after having read pages full of complaints at Yelp yesterday, I am dubious about proper reimbursement for my belongings.

Regards,

****** ***

 

 

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company moved items from Dayton, OH to Hockessin, DE and upon delivery, several items were severely damaged from this move. Specifically, a heavily damaged antique secretary cabinet worth over $4,500. Cabinet is also missing a plank which has further negatively affected its value. All items transported were insured for a maximum value of $13,200 and company will not pay for insured damage to the cabinet even though the damage falls below maximum coverage. I have several saved emails and voicemails from CEO, ***** **** Wheaton agent in Dayton ensuring that all items, especially cabinet would be shrink wrapped, blanket wrapped and carefully transported to Delaware. Upon delivery, cabinet was not shrink or blanket wrapped and I was told by the drivers that cabinet was unloaded at wrong destination and moved several times to/from truck causing further damage. I have voicemails from the drivers confirming this as well. Origin agent CEO was very rude and belligerent when this information was brought to his attention. I have spoken to Wheaton WW HQ CEO regarding other issues from this moving experience and have been treated rudely by him as well. Upon delivery of items, the contract language "state of the goods received" was crossed out by driver AND signed by driver when I immediately noticed damage to secretary cabinet. Both agent and Wheaton corporate have acted in an unprofessional manner with regard to handling this move and the damaged items.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking full reimbursement from this move due to the extensive damage of this antique cabinet. The appraisal from 1976 values this item at $4500 so asking for full reimbursement from this move of 2064.51 is more than fair. I will gladly sign legal releases for a prompt and full refund.

Business Response:

Per our recent phone conversation and your complaint with the Better Business Bureau we have agreed to assign a 2nd repair firm to inspect the items outlined on your claim form. Upon receipt of the inspection report our office will further review your claim.

Should you have any additional questions please feel free to contact me directly at 800-932-7799 ext. *** or via email at **********@wvIcorp.com

Cordially,

Claims, Manager

Wheaton World Wide Moving

 

5/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During the course of my families move from Colorado to Kansas, we had four pieces of furniture that were broken/damaged: a couch, two end tables and a ottoman. Our contract called for no deductible so we reported the claim to Wheaton. Their local repair partner fixed the two end tables and the ottoman. The couch had stains and torn fabric at the front left corner (very visible). The repair company put a piece of fabric underneath the torn area to fix it which looks horrible. After I complained, Wheaton sent us a check for $100 to close the claim on a couch that cost over $1000; this is not acceptable.

Desired Settlement: I would like the full refund of $1000 on the couch given the torn fabric cannot be repaired and the location of the tear is on the front section (very visible).

Business Response:

Mr. *******, I have reviewed the claim documents and the information that you provided with your claim does not include any supporting documentation for the value claimed for the couch. If you could provide an original purchase receipt or the name of the store where you purchased the couch along with the manufacturer name, I will be happy to review and reconsider our offer of settlement.

The adjuster offered a cash allowance based on the information she received from the repair firm assigned to repair the damage. They stated that you would accept an appearance allowance. Upon receipt of the information, I will review the claim and reply to you directly.

 

Director, Claims & Consumer Affairs

Wheaton World Wide Moving |Bekins Van Lines, Inc.

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
2/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/15/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues