Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jones Movers, Inc.

Phone: (317) 353-9217 Fax: (317) 353-9263 361 S Post Road, Indianapolis, IN 46219 http://www.jonesmovers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jones Movers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jones Movers, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jones Movers, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 23, 2007 Business started: 05/19/1965 in IN Business started locally: 12/01/1963 Business incorporated 12/21/1989 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Indiana Department of Revenue
100 N. Senate Avenue, Gov't Center North, Rm. N105, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.in.gov/dor
Phone Number: 317-615-7350

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Candy Jones, Secretary/Treasurer Mr. Joe Jones, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Candy Jones, Secretary/Treasurer
Principal: Mr. Joe Jones, President
Business Category

MOVERS STORAGE UNITS-HOUSEHOLD & COMMERCIAL MOVING & STORAGE COMPANY

Industry Tips
Contracts Movers

Additional Locations

  • 361 S Post Road

    Indianapolis, IN 46219 (317) 353-9217

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Jones Movers to move me. They damaged several items and promised to fix them. I won't go into details about everything they damaged but in particular, they ruined an antique bedroom suit. They promised to fix it to original condition and did not. In fact, the ruined the value of it because they put other parts on it and didn't fix everything they damaged. They also damaged a chair that they had the audacity to say my dog did the damage when they clearly dropped it on the concrete. When I called them back and told them they did not fix everything, they said they did not do all the damage and that's all they were going to do. They also said I could still "enjoy" my antique bedroom suit. Yes, I can still use the bedroom suit but it makes me cringe every time I walk in that room. They broke my stereo and said we will do nothing about that because it's in the contract. There was no contract. I only signed a paper saying they delivered my things. In fact, their own employees are the ones that pointed out most of the damage to me. They also damaged various other things which I didn't even put on the claim form. They took an original piece of the antique vanity which they replaced with a 2x4 because they can't find the original piece and said sorry we can't find it. They act like it's no big deal they ruined a very expensive antique bedroom suit but it is - there is now no value to it.

Desired Settlement: I think they should give me some sort of billing adjustment because I will not give their repair person another chance. He was the person that said my dog did the damage to the chair and that Jones Movers did not do all the damage to my furniture when their own employees said they did. I don't think I should have to pay to get them repaired when I paid them over $1300.00 to move my things and gave them a chance to fix everything.

Business Response:

Ms. ********* did spend about $1300.00 in moving expenses, this however was because she had to move twice.  Her first move was January 16, 2016 and required items being placed in a self-storage facility.  When items are placed in storage they should be protected with disposable furniture pads in order to protect the furniture.  From the information on our bill of lading Ms. ********* did not purchase disposable furniture pads from Jones Movers and didn’t provide our crew with any furniture pads to protect the furniture.

Once the items were placed in the self-storage facility Jones Movers, Inc. has no access or control of the goods.  We also can’t monitor if anyone has accessed the unit looking for items.  We are not saying that Ms. ********* caused these damages herself, but that it is a possibility that if someone went into the unit to look for something, furniture could have been shifted and without the furniture pads damage would have resulted. 

The damaged items were discovered during the move out of the self-storage facility on February 25, 2016.  I never once waivered over saying I would attempt repairs, even though the furniture had been out of Jones Movers control from  January 16, 2016 until February 25, 2016.  I am positive that another company would have not been as generous.

A damage claim form was mailed to Ms. ********* on February 26, 2016. Ms. ********* signed and dated the claim form on March 2, 2016 and returned it regular mail. A furniture repair company was asked to contact her about repairs.  The gentleman that owns this company has been repairing furniture for 27 years, he has worked as a vendor for Jones Movers for over 8 years and we have never had a complaint about his work.  Ms. ********* could not get her schedule to work with the repair company’s schedule, so Jones Movers, Inc. arranged to pick up all the damaged items on a Saturday (3/19/16). 

The crew that picked up her items had her mark all areas with blue tape that she believed Jones Movers, Inc. damaged.  This was done so that the furniture repairman would not miss anything.  The furniture was then brought to our warehouse, where the repairman worked on repairs.  We never promised to return anything to its original condition, this would be impossible as the items had marks from just normal wear and tear that had nothing to do with the items being moved or stored.  I find it hard to believe that Ms. ********* has other damages that she did not “turn in”.  She filled out a claim form with what was damaged, had several days in between filling that out and our pick up of the items.  If she needed to add something the crew was there to accept what she was claiming as damaged.  There was no limit given to her and to what we would accept.

The repair company, which has an A rating on BBB, contacted me while he was making repairs to these items and asked me if I wanted to fix everything she had put blue tape on because several of the areas were not moving damage, but damage caused by a dog.  I told the repair company if she marked it in blue tape to fix it.

The repair company and Jones Movers had the furniture ready for re-delivery to her on March 23, 2016, however, Ms. ********* couldn’t accept delivery until March 26, 2016, so that was the day that the items were redelivered to her.

Ms. ********* did call after the furniture had been redelivered.  She was upset that one of the pieces was sitting lopsided.  She was claiming that a piece was put back on in the wrong spot causing the piece to not sit on the floor correctly.  The repair company attached the piece back into the original holes that were predrilled for this item.  He never drilled any new holes in any of the furniture.  I did offer to come back and get this piece and have the repairman look at it again.  Ms. ********* was to get back to me about this as she wanted her father to look at it first.  I never heard back from Ms. *********. 

Ms. ********* is also claiming that the original backing to a mirror has been replaced, this is possible if the original piece was in bad shape.  This conversation was not going very well as Ms. ********* was hostile and I did tell her that Jones Movers, Inc. had repaired items that we shouldn’t have because some of the damages were caused by a dog.  She vehemently denies this and now says that I am calling her a liar.  I did not intend for her to think that I was calling her a liar, just that someone with 27 years of experience can tell the difference and that Jones Movers, Inc. went above and beyond with the repairs.  Also, the repairman had no way of knowing that Ms. ********* had/has a dog.

I did also tell Ms. ********* that the furniture had not been destroyed or damaged beyond repair and that she was still able to enjoy her furniture.  I also didn’t mean this as an insult, I was trying to get Ms. ********* to see that the areas that she marked had been repaired and that the furniture wasn’t lost to her and that the repairs put the furniture back into the condition they were in prior to her moves.

I did deny any coverage for the stereo that she is claiming as damaged.  Our bill of lading does state that electrical equipment is not covered.  Jones Movers, Inc. has no way of knowing if the piece of electrical equipment worked prior to the move.  In addition, this stereo was not packed in a box, so the client had the crew ship it, store it and ship it again with no packing material to protect it.  We do not cover items that should have been packed and were not.  Ms. ********* did sign a bill of lading for each move and for the pickup of damaged items and the return of damaged items, even though she claims she didn’t in the complaint.

The repair company that repaired her items has stated to me that the repairs he made has in no way ruined or devalued her furniture. 

Unless Ms. ********* would like me to pick up the one item that is sitting wrong and have the repair company look at it, Jones Movers, Inc. feels that we have done everything we can to satisfy this client.

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Jones Movers were the only people in my storage unit - when they put my things in storage on January 16, 2016 and when they moved it out on February 25, 2016.  I had major surgery and wasn't able to lift ANYTHING.  Their own employees that moved my things out of storage said it was their fault and like I said, pointed damages out to me.  Also, I paid for Jones Movers to wrap my stuff which obviously wasn't done.  I told their employees I did not feel comfortable signing anything and they informed me I was only signing that I received my things - it had nothing to do with any damages.  The reason I didn't put everything on the claim form is because the antique bedroom furniture and the chair they claim my dog damaged (which their movers that picked up the furniture sure did know I had a dog) were the most important to me and that I cannot ever replace.  These things are very sentimental to me (which I know doesn't matter to anyone except me) but the point is, they damaged my things that I paid them to wrap (which they did not) and did not repair them properly.  And, any one that is a little familiar with antiques, knows that when they don't have the original pieces, the furniture is devalued.

Regards,

***** *********

Business Response:

Jones Movers, Inc. is agreeable to pick up anything that wasn't repaired to your satisfaction and have repairs attempted again.  A half a roll of shrink wrap was paid for and used.  When moving items to a storage facility the furniture pads are more important them shrink wrap.  Not everything can be shrink wrapped, it will cause condensation on the furniture.  Furniture pads would have prevented damaged.  Please let me know if you are agreeable to have us pick up the piece(s) that you are not happy with and we will try to make this right.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have the print out from the storage facility that shows no one entered my storage unit from January 16, 2016 (when Jones Movers put my belongings in storage) until February 25, 2016 when I hired Jones Movers to move my belongings to my new house.  With the attitude I have gotten from Jones Movers and them calling me a liar and their repair person saying my dog did the damage, I certainly don't trust for them to take anything of mine again.  If their furniture repairman cannot even tell he put the the piece back on the dresser incorrectly and that it is sitting lopsided, why would I give them another chance?  Also, why would I give them another chance when they didn't even tell me they lost an original piece to the vanity?  Their own employee told them he brought the piece to the shop and they lost it or can't find it.  They tried to hide that fact and put a regular unstained 2x4 on it drilling new holes and didn't even tell me!!!!  That should have been my choice as to how I wanted to fix it since they lost the original piece but instead they tried to hide it.  I got the most expensive storage unit that was climate controlled so that my belongings would be safe.  Bottom line is they didn't do what they said they would do.  They were hired and paid to shrink wrap my furniture and they did not.  They were given an opportunity to fix the items and they did not.  They didn't even fix one piece of furniture they took to repair correctly.  In fact, out of the 5 pieces of furniture they did take to repair, NONE were repaired correctly. They did absolutely nothing to the trunk or the bed rails.  The dresser is lopsided.  They lost an original piece to the vanity.  And on the chair they said my dog damaged looks like something an amateur did.  Not happy at all.  I feel like I tried to resolve this issue and gave them an opportunity to repair the furniture and they did not.  At this point, I do not trust they will fix anything correctly and fear they will do further damage to my things.

Regards,

***** *********


Business Response: Jones Movers, Inc. uses a reputable repair company that has been in business for over 25 years.  He isn't an amateur.  This response is the first I have heard of Ms. ********* not being happy with any of the repairs.  I spoke with the repair company yesterday and his labor to look at the dresser that doesn't sit level and make repairs would probably take an hour or less.  His hourly rate is $75.00, I would be happy to give Ms. ********* a $75.00 refund to use toward a repair company of her choice....

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

this is not the first time you've heard of me not being happy with the repairs when in your first response you said I was supposed to get back with you if my dad was going to do it.  You knew I was not happy.  Also I want to point out that that bedroom suit was NEVER used - it was for decoration only so there wasn't any normal wear and tear or whatever it was you said.  I believe you should also reimburse me for the wrap that was supposed to be used that I paid for. 

Regards,
***** *********


Business Response:

Jones Movers, Inc. will reimburse the customer one hour of repair time that our repair company would charge.  This would  be a reimbursement of $75.00.  I am unable to offer anything else at this point and time.  I have honestly tried everything that I know to correct this situation and have no more options.  We can argue this back and forth for weeks and I don't believe that we will find a solution that is acceptable to both Jones Movers, Inc. and Ms. *********.

 

I apologize that she isn't happy, I have tried.  I just don't feel that I can do anything additional to correct the situation.  Something new comes up with each new email and I just have no new options.

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Jones Movers, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)