BBB Accredited Business since

John Mitchell Moving/Two Guys & A Truck

Phone: (765) 649-6686 Fax: (765) 649-6705 View Additional Phone Numbers 5730 Martin Luther King Boulevard, Anderson, IN 46013 http://www.jmmovingtwoguys.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that John Mitchell Moving/Two Guys & A Truck meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for John Mitchell Moving/Two Guys & A Truck include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on John Mitchell Moving/Two Guys & A Truck
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 13, 1995 Business started: 04/01/1993 in IN Business incorporated 03/13/1995 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Indiana Department of Revenue
100 N. Senate Avenue, Gov't Center North, Rm. N105, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.in.gov/dor
Phone Number: (317) 233-4018

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Mitchell, President Mrs. L A Reeder, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Mitchell, President
Business Category

MOVERS MOVERS - OFFICE

Industry Tips
Contracts Movers

Additional Locations

  • 5730 Martin Luther King Boulevard

    Anderson, IN 46013 (765) 649-6686 (317) 776-1447

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company in question packed and moved my entire household from Yorktown, Indiana to Lutz, Florida the weekend of 5/18/2013. Upon delivery and unpacking of truck, it was brought to my attention my the driver that they broke a candle holder and immediately credited my account for the approximate replacement price. A lot of my items were left in the garage, as I was unsure of where they would be going in the new home. I noticed within a day or two (before workers made it back to Indiana) that a door to my son's captain's storage bed was broke, a filing cabinet was broken (and completely unusable), as well as my jewelry armiore (full of all my jewelry) was left in the home in Indiana. I immediately contacted the company. I was told they would call the driver and get right back with me. About 2-3 days later, I contacted the company again, speaking with ***. I was again told that they needed to speak with the drivers and they would get back with me when they knew something. Approximately 5 days went by and I again had to contact the company. *** told me that one of the movers does remember the armiore being in the master bedroom, but he did not finish packing that room. She also stated to me that she would have to talk to **** about the broken bed and cabinet and informed me that the cabinet wasn't made of good material so that was not their problem. She also stated that if I could get the armiore back from the new owners the company would ship the armiore to me here in Florida. She also asked for pictures of broken items. I sent that via email to her on 05/27/2013. I never heard back from her and contacted the company again. At this time, **** answered the phone and told me that he had no idea about this situation and informed me that they would not ship the armiore to me regardless what I was previously told. I waited for a couple of days and called *** back. She stated that **** was not in and she did not have an answer about what was going to happen about broken items or armiore (which my mother finally got in her possession). To this day, I have never received a call from the company. I have always had to contact them and they have indeed debited my credit card immediately following move for the price of move which was over $8400. (Mind you, the jewelry armiore has approximately $1000 of jewelry in it and it has been of no concern to them nor my broken furniture)

Desired Settlement: I definitely want the BBB to be aware and other consumers to be aware of this situation. The company prided themselves on being involved with BBB when they gave me original estimate. As well as I would like compensated for my broken furniture (the bed and the cabinet) as well as the cost of having my armiore shipped here fully insured.

Business Response:

This is in response to the above referenced complaint. After talking with the customer, as well as our crew, we concluded that the items that were being reported as damaged were particle­-board furniture items, which do not often fare well on long-distance trips, due to their weak and fragile nature. Regardless, we were willing to pay the required .60 per pound per our customers' request. Several items were unloaded in the garage at the request of the son, who was directing our crew as to placement of the items in Florida. The jewelry armoire was apparently hung on the back of a bedroom door at the Indiana home. It is the responsibility of our customers to ensure that everything they want to move is loaded on the truck. Accordingly, the customer did a final walk-thru before telling the crew they could leave for Florida. We attempted to work with our customer, and her real estate agent, to locate the armoire once it was brought to our attention. I was told to expect a call from the realtor, which was never received. We were considering different options to accommodate our customer, including shipping the armoire to Florida at our expense, in lieu of cash settlement on the damaged furniture. When we did not hear from the realtor, a check was issued for the generous amount of $350. We received this complaint, as well as one submitted thru Angie's List, the following day. We have held payment until resolution of this complaint to ensure satisfaction of both parties.

Thank you.                                              

Office Manager

John Mitchell Moving/Two Guys & A Truck

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

**** ***** 


 

I received the response from **** Mitchell Moving/Two Guys & ATruck. I have since tried calling the company to finalize a resolution to this complaint with no answer and no response to my voicemail left.

In response to their statement, I do not feel that they should not be held accountable for the items broken just because of the material. To be quite honest, l had a whole other bedroom set that is made of the same "particle-board" material, which made the move just fine with no damage, as well as the remainder of my son's bedroom set in which one piece is broke. Also, I had 4 other cabinets/bookshelves that survived the move without damage. So I do not think the company should use the material as an excuse to why there were broken items. As far as the statement that they were willing to pay the required 0.60 per pound, I was never contacted regarding this. This is the first I have heard of this requirement. As far as the jewelry armoire, I contacted the company several times (as mentioned in original complaint), as well as realtor. Messages were left and never received a call back. In reference to theirstatement that they were considering shipping it to me at their cost, I was told that by *** that this was a possibility, but then told by**** that, "No they would not ship the armoire down here. The only way they would bring it is if/when they had a move to this area." I finally, after not having several messages returned, had my mother contact my realtorto get the armoire back, and have since paid to have all the jewelry and armoire shipped to me.

Again, they state that they had issued a *generous" check in the amount of $350 to resolve this issue, but that has been held due to my complaints filed with the BBB and Angie's List. No complaints would have been filed if there had been some communication with me. !tried contacting them, leaving messages with staff, as well as on the answering machine with no response. They left me no choice. As mentioned above, I also tried calling (leaving voicemail message) once receiving their response to the complaint with no answer or response.

I would like to know how they came up with the "generous" amount of $350. It cost me over $100 to ship armoire and jewelry. To replace the filing cabinet will cost about $150. The bed in questioned has since been discontinued and cannot be replaced with exact thing. The cost to replace a side piece of a captains bed (according to where I purchased original bed) is at least $200. This totals $450 and that is if I can get things replaced that cheap. I feel I am owed this plus some for all the hassle and trouble I have been through.

Sincerely,

**** * *****

 

Business Response:

From: * *** ****** [mailto:2guysjmitchell@sbcglobal.net]
Sent: Friday, August 16, 2013 2:41 PM
To: ******* *****
Subject: Resolution

 

********

 

Good afternoon!  Per our conversation yesterday, we have settled the dispute between our company and a customer we recently moved from Indiana to Florida, **** *****.  After researching the claim made by Ms. *****, we agreed to a monetary settlement and paid the agreed amount immediately.

 

Thank you.

 

*** ******
Office Manager

317-776-**** / 765-649-****John Mitchell Moving/
Two Guys & A Truck