BBB Accredited Business since

Busy Bee Movers, Inc.

Phone: (317) 783-2618 View Additional Phone Numbers 6148 S Belmont, Indianapolis, IN 46217 http://www.busybeemovers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Busy Bee Movers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Busy Bee Movers, Inc. include:

  • 12 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Busy Bee Movers, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Busy Bee Movers, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 16, 2008 Business started: 08/19/1990 Business incorporated 01/26/1990 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Indiana Department of Revenue
100 N. Senate Avenue, Gov't Center North, Rm. N105, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.in.gov/dor
Phone Number: (317) 233-4018

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Matthew Burkhart, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matthew Burkhart, President
Business Category

MOVERS

Industry Tips
Contracts Movers

Additional Locations

  • 6148 S Belmont

    Indianapolis, IN 46217 (317) 783-2618

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/26/2015 Delivery Issues
2/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I hired them to move our stuff from two 10X15 storage units to our brand new built house. When the crew arrived to my home they were told to put all boxes into the garage and move bigger items upstairs. There was a three piece sectional that we wanted up in our loft area. The crew told me it would be a tight fit and suggested taking off the railings I said that was fine. I walked to the garage for some boxes and came back and they were moving it up the stairs without taking the railings off. I assumed that they weren't having any issues. I noticed a few scuff marks which isn't a big deal when I can just touch up with paint. After they were done the guys said they just scuffed up some walls and I said no big deal I can handle that. After they left my husband walked up stairs and noticed our banister top was completely tore up. When I called the worker was arguing with me and I told him the owner needed to contact me and hours later he did. He asked me to send him pictures which I did and then in email didn't even have the professionalism to call me back, tried telling me he would credit our account $65 and I said not acceptable this is a brand new house and they broke my banister. I told him I would get an estimate and let him know. I sent him an estimate from a trim company for $250.00 not including painting and I have not received a response. This was Friday that I sent him an email. All I want is for them to pay for the damages to the banister and if need be I will get estimates from a painter as well and take this to small claims court. This company is completly unprofessional and do not abide by their policies of care in moving.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to pay the $250.00 for replacing the wood and trim work on bansiter.

Business Response:

In regards to the move for ****** ******: The crew explained that the sofa would not fit up the stairs but the ******** really wanted it up there . The crew told them it would do damage trying to take it up but the ******** waived their liability for damage. There was some scuffs on the walls but the crew did not see damage done to the bannister when they left. I took $35.00 off the bill for the minor scuffs. Mrs. ****** called me immediately after they left and told me about the bannister. I apologized and talked to the movers and explained that they probably should have just refused to move it upstairs even if the customer insisted. They said they were merely trying to make the customer happy which I understood. I called Mrs. ****** back and offered her an additional $65.00 for a total of $100.00 off her td. She did not think that was enough and was going to get an estimate. Friday evening I got the e-mailed estimate and immediately e-mailed my repairman (who by the way does the repairs for the Franchise *** *** *** * *****) I did not hear back from him until Monday but by that time Mrs ****** already filed this complaint with the BBB. The repairman said he had trouble with his computer lately and that's why he did not respond over the weekend. He said he would make an appointment right away with Mrs. ****** for the repair of the bannister and send me the bill.

Thank you

**** ********

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Four months ago, Busy Bee movers moved furniture to storage while our house was being built. They took apart a leather couch in order to move it. I hired them again to move the furniture from storage to the new house. The parts to couch(along with a mirror) were no where to be found. When I called **** at the main office, he said the lead mover no longer worked there; but he said the driver stated that he gave the pieces to us. The driver also stated that the pieces consisted of just a few bolts. **** said he could replace the bolts. First of all, if the materials were handed to us, it should have been written in the paperwork. If the driver knew what he was talking about, he would have known that there were more than just a few bolts. We have a matching chair and to fix the couch we would need long four long metal sleeves, 4 black clips, 4 pegs and some washers , not just a few bolts. **** said he would try to find the parts. We sent pictures, written descriptions, and sku numbers of the couch and the couch mechanism to **** at the beginning of this week. I have not received any confirmation from him that he received any of this or that he is working on the problem. A courtesy call would have been appreciated and in good-faith. I would accept a repair. However, if he cannot repair the couch , I would seek reasonable replacement. Note: The second group of movers told us it was their policy to replace and tighten screws into the hardware to store until the move was complete . **** said that is a team-by-team decision. It should be a company policy. I have a broken un-usable couch!

Business Response:

We did move Mr and Mrs. ***** 5/18/13 to storage. We moved them again from storage on 9/27/13. At that time it was discovered that the parts were missing. The crew that moved the second time said they normally leave the pieces with the piece but sometimes they also give them to the customer or put in a dresser drawer or someplace like that. In 23 years of business, this has worked fine. I called the driver who moved them the first time and he said he had given the parts back to the customer the day of the move. Mrs. ***** did not deny that.

 

I had explained this to Mrs. ***** and several days later she called back and said she still doesn't know where the pieces were and that I should cover the cost for replacing the missing parts. I offered to do so. Several days later Mrs. ***** called and said the company she bought the couch and recliner from was out of business and I should find the pieces. I told Mrs. ***** that I would file for a claim. She faxed me the receipt for the couch and recliner purchased in 2004. I sent a claim form but have yet to receive it back. I also made efforts of finding parts for the couch and recliner but need the serial numbers from the tags on the 2 pcs of furniture which I requested as well from the ***** but have not received. It's unfortunate that the pieces are still missing but I honestly believe the pieces are somewhere with their belongings like a dresser drawer or nightstand or maybe the customer had put them in a baggie or something? I did find a company that said they carried the parts but they would need the serial numbers in order to get the correct ones.

 

Thank you,

 

**** ********

9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service