BBB Accredited Business since

Bekins Van Lines, Inc.

Phone: (800) 992-5202 8010 Castleton Road, Indianapolis, IN 46250 http://www.bekins.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bekins Van Lines, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bekins Van Lines, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 55 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

55 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 23 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 7
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 42
Total Closed Complaints 55

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Bekins Van Lines, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 20, 2012 Business started: 11/18/2011 in IN Business incorporated 11/18/2011 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Indiana Department of Revenue
100 N. Senate Avenue, Gov't Center North, Rm. N105, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.in.gov/dor
Phone Number: (317) 233-4018

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stephen F Burns, Chairman of the Board Mr. Mark Kirschner, CEO Ms. Kathy Kendall, Director, Claims & Consumer Affairs
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen F Burns, Chairman of the Board
Customer Contact: Ms. Kathy Kendall, Director, Claims & Consumer Affairs
Principal: Mr. Mark Kirschner, CEO
Business Category

MOVERS

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Credit Card
Industry Tips
Contracts Movers

Additional Locations

  • 8010 Castleton Road

    Indianapolis, IN 46250 (800) 992-5202

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2015 Delivery Issues
7/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/10/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We went with Bekins to move our stuff from LA to NY. NUMBEROUS times I sent messages to *** (the man who gave us the quote) about wanting FULL COVERAGE on our move as we just bought BRAND NEW furniture and wanted it cared for. I was not in town (already left to NY) to supervise the move but my fiance was. Bekins used a "bait and switch" technique on our move, as when my boyfriend was signing off on the stuff they told him that he was just signing to acknowledge they packed the stuff, and actually was signing to waive the full coverage (you couldnt read anything on the contract). When we received our stuff in NY we realized that our BRAND NEW FURNITURE WAS COMPLETELY RUINED!! We have received a "settlement" of $400 that is a complete JOKE and is immediately DENIED. I want a full refund for the $15-20k of furniture that they damaged! Bekins destroyed our stuff and since they used "bait and switch" technique to waive the full coverage. We are going to take them to court (as we have pictures and videos of them loading stuff and admitting that we are just signing off "to acknowledge" what they packed).

Desired Settlement: I want a COMPLETE REFUND for the move for the 20k of damage they caused to our brand new (we have receipts) furniture. Nothing less will be acceptable to us.

Business Response:

The paperwork for your relocation is quite explicit regarding the valuation and the options that are available to the customer. The estimate/ order for service does outline each option and the cost for each of those options. The valuation selection is the customer's choice and they must sign the bill of lading on the day of loading for the valuation coverage. Your bill of lading was signed for $.60 per lb. waiving the replacement coverage.

When you contacted this office and reported that your shipment incurred damage after the move, Ms. ***** ********* explained the valuation coverage that you selected and advised that your claim would be settled at $.60 per lb. Ms. ********* also sent you a copy of the signed bill of lading.

There was no "bait and switch" involved with the signing of the bill of lading. The customer has the responsibility to read the documents prior to signing and to ask questions if the information is not clear. Bekins has not denied the claim we have settled the claim based on the valuation you selected to cover your household goods while in transit.

Bekins' position of settlement is being maintained. I apologize that you experienced any difficulties with the relocation and that it was necessary to file a claim.

 

    Sincerely, 

  ***** *******

    Director, Claims & Consumer Affairs

    Wheaton World Wide Moving / Bekins Van Lines, Inc. / Clark & Reid

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I messaged *** MULTIPLE times (I still have these text messages) very clearly stating that I wanted full coverage, then had to leave town for work when my boyfriend supervised the move. He thought everything was taken care of as far as the coverage, and was told that he was just initialing to acknowledge everything has been packed, which is actually the definition of "bait and switch". Regardless, even at the .60 per pound, our refund for RUINING $20,000 worth of BRAND NEW furniture should have been AT LEAST $6,564 using the dollar amount of the "default coverage" .60 option. YOU RUINED OUR BRAND NEW FURNITURE!! I dont know how else to tell you that! The only reasonable thing we would accept is a FULL REFUND for aboslutely ruining our brand new furniture. We trusted them to take care of our stuff and we were assured that would happen! I want the full amount of my coverage, or there will be legal action taken against you for the FULL AMOUNT of damage that YOU caused!! We have sent some pictures to them showing the damage that they caused. If we are not compensated, we will see them in court. I HIGHLY recommend people NEVER use these people, anyone can contact me for pictures of the damage they caused.
Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: Dear BBB:

We are in receipt of the customer's rejection of our offer.  We have also received a notification from the American Moving & Storage Association that the customer has filed a request for arbitration through AMSA and the National Arbitration Forum.  We will be addressing any future correspondence through AMSA. 

Sincerely,

***** ******** Director, Claims & Consumer Affairs
Wheaton World Wide Moving | Bekins Van Lines, INC. | Clark & Reid

1/26/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted Bekins to relocate us from **** * ****** *** in Chicago to ** ******* ***** ****** **** NC 27517 on 7/30/2014. To start our household items were not delivered until 8/18/14. We suffered significant damage to our wood furniture, are missing items, other items that cannot be repaired because parts significant to the pieces were either lost or stolen. We took out the maximum amount of insurance with a zero deductible from the company. We filed a claim on October 2, 2014 for $8900. The damage was substantiated by Bekins own appraiser and in concurrence with an appraiser that we hired on our own. Despite repeated attempts to speak to the insurance adjuster, we are ignored. When I wrote to the CEO, suddenly we received a lowball settlement of approx $3500. I rejected it stating it didn't cover the damage and missing items. An email was sent stating they would revisit the claim. Now some 6 weeks later nothing from the firm and they do not respond to my inquiries.

Desired Settlement: I want our furniture repaired/restored. I want the items that were delivered missing pieces to be replaced or compensated for. I want this company to act as if they give a **** about customers.

Business Response: Dear BBB:

I have received the complaint.  The customers had contacted our office expressing their displeasure with the settlement offered and we arranged on 1-8-15 to have a conference call with Ms. ********, Mr. *****l, Ms. ***** ******** and ***** *******.  The conference call was scheduled and confirmed for 1-15-15 at 10:00 AM Eastern time.  We did have our call this morning and I, ***** *******, agreed to revisit the offer and to get back with the customers on or before January 21, 2015.  If there is to be a revised offer it will be sent to the customers.  I agreed to reinvestigate the outstanding items.  

At this time we are working together to reach a mutually satisfactory resolution.

Sincerely,

***** *******, Director Claims & Consumer Affairs
Wheaton World Wide Moving | Bekins Van Lines, Inc. | Clark & Reid

1/12/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Mr. ****** ******** ****** ******* to move us from Nashville to The Villages in Florida. They loaded us in Nashville on Thursday May 15, 2014 and delivered and unloaded our household goods on Tuesday May 20, 2014.When we received our goods the following items were missing:- A tote box (which is a plastic storage container)which had the following items inside it:-- 10 short sleeve golf shirts,-- 8 caps,-- 2 flat caps (1 from Singapore and 1 from Australia),-- 2 pictures in frames,-- a Lladro figurine valued at $ 300.00, and-- a brass clock.- A broom.Additionally,- A throw rug was not wrapped up and one end was filthy dirty which cost us $ 40.00 to have cleaned,- A dining room chair (valued at $ 369.00) was broken which cost us $ 50.00 to have repaired,- A 14 by 14 glass table top was broken, and- The hinges that hold the glass doors on our entertainment center were lost.We estimated the total of our losses at $ 1,160.00.We received $ 72.00 in compensation.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) We believe we should receive full settlement for our claim. The moving company should follow up on the missing tote as we believe one of their employees has stolen it, and we believe the company put forth a minimal effort to confront these employees.

Business Response:

A tracer investigation was conducted with all parties involved with your relocation. The connecting customers whose household goods were on the trailer at the same time as your shipment were all contacted and all responses were negative. We also contacted the driver and the agency involved with arranging your relocation, there was nothing located that belonged to your shipment. All inventories were signed off at delivery with no notations to any items believed to be missing at that time.

The amount of the settlement was determined by the valuation you selected to cover your shipment while in transit. Attached is a copy of the bill of lading that was signed by you releasing your shipment with coverage of $.60 per lb. and waiving the replacement value protection coverage. There as no additional fee paid for added coverage. Based on your signature the legal carrier liability was limited to $.60 per lb. Our claim settlement was based on this coverage.

Mr. ******, we do regret that our service provided did not meet your expectations and that it was necessary for you to file a claim. The settlement offered is our full and final settlement.

 

   Sincerely,

 

***** *******Director, Claims & Consumer Affairs

Wheaton World Wide Moving, Bekins Van Lines, Inc, Clark & Reid%

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have documentation about the missing item, and how ***** ******* can say it was never reported is beyond me.  The statement that ***** ******* made in a letter sent to me where she stated "All inventories were signed off at delivery with no notations to items believed to be missing at that time." just further indicates that Bekins  is a very unreliable company, company personnel do not communicate with each other, and the company does not have any regard for their customers.  Also, while I can not prove it I believe one of their employees stolid the item in question.  Further, how they can only pay $ 12.00 towards a $ 50.00 repair bill for a dinning room chair that costs $ 369.00, $ 3.00 towards a $ 30.00 cleaning bill for an oriental rug that was not wrapped up the movers is beyond me.  The BBB needs to keep my complaint on record to make future Bekins customers aware of what a poor performing company they are.

Regards,

***** ******* ******

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/10/2014 Delivery Issues
10/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/19/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I engaged services for a move from IL to NJ. My main contact is **** at **** ****** Movers. The packers came yesterday and today. They were prompt, courteous and professional. Your call center called me twice to confirm that everything was on track for the pack and move. The driver did not show up at my house today. He did not call. Nobody gave me any warning whatsoever. The packers didn't know what was going on. **** didn't know what was going on. You call center didn't know what was going on. Some "agent" called and said the two contradictory things: a) that there was a scheduling mistake and then b) that the driver had mechanical difficulties and was a day behind. WHAT?!?! Now what? This driver **** will maybe pick up my stuff tomorrow, maybe deliver it in 2-4 days (when I'm in South Africa?), maybe make sure that it gets reassembled properly (my wife has to QA this)? Maybe he also pulls a fast one and holds my stuff hostage for $9,000+ for some reason that I can't imagine? None of their executives answer the phones. They don't return voicemails. They don't return emails. Nice way to do business.

Desired Settlement: I want my goods moved safely to my new home immediately. I want any out-of-pocket expenses incurred to be reimbursed. I want the services to be provided to me at Wheaton's cost. I don't want to pay for all of the profit, service, etc. that isn't deserved.

Business Response:

Mr. *****, we do understand your frustration with the delayed loading of your shipment. Mr. ***** *****, Customer Service Director, has been working with you to accomplish the delivery of your shipment. I have been informed that the delivery was accomplished on September 7, 2014 thereby meeting our contractual obligation for the delivery.

Mr. ***** will be negotiating with you regarding the delay claim compensation for the delayed loading of your shipment. The charges for the relocation cannot be refunded as you have requested. The transportation service was provided regardless of the quality of that service. Federal law requires the carrier to collect all applicable tariff charges and any refund of those charges would be deemed a violation of federal law. Such violations are subject to criminal and civil penalties.

Please accept our sincere apologies that some aspects of your relocation did not meet your expectations. Bekins' entire organization is committed to the highest standards of quality service. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your concerns.

Sincerely,

***** *******

Director, Claims & Consumer Affairs<

9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My company, ********** ********** ********* hired Bekins to move me cross country from Washington, DC to San Diego. Bekins movers came to my residence in DC and packed my things, then stored them in San Diego and delivered them to my new residence in San Diego. When my furniture arrived it was literally in pieces. My dresser had been broken down into pieces, my coffee table had been broken into pieces with the wood ripped off the base. My couch the legs had the wood ripped off, the bottom of the leather couch was torn. My suede ottoman chair wood was scratched and the legs were removed and unable to re-attach. My hybrid bicycle's wheel was forcibly removed with incorrect tools and cannot be put back together. My mattress left my apartment in a shabby box and I asked the movers if they were wrapping it in plastic and they said they were at the warehouse. Well, it arrived in San Diego soiled and covered in dirt because it had not been wrapped at all. My bedside table the wood was scratched and the base of the table wood had ripped off. My king size metal frame was broken and the screws on the inside stripped, so it cannot be put back together. My wooden tv stand had been broken into pieces and unable to put back together. This is completely unacceptable and clear negligence from the company and movers. Now they are refusing to replace the items and this is UNACCEPTABLE. The total amount of damaged items is just over $9,000. I demand to get the money in order to replace these items, ASAP. I cannot live without any furniture.

Desired Settlement: Check for $9,000 in order to replace all the above items. I have photos and proof of all damage. We are a corporate account with a lot of opportunity to use movers in the future. The wrong needs to be righted immediately.

Business Response:

A copy of your recent Better Business Bureau complaint has been received in this office and forwarded to my attention for review and response.

 

The claim form was recently received in our office. A repair firm, ***, was assigned to inspect the damage claimed and to report their findings to our corporate office. I have requested that the repair firm expedite their report. Upon receipt of the inspection report and the conclusion of the review of the relocation file, you will be notified of our settlement offer.

 

Ms. ****, please accept my apologies on behalf of Bekins Van Lines, Inc. that our services did not meet with your expectations. Our entire organization is genuinely concerned that all of our customers receive smooth and trouble free relocations. Your comments are extremely helpful to us in our continuing efforts to provide top quality service to our customers. Allow me to assure you that the incidents you have described are isolated ones and not in keeping with the usual quality standards upheld by Bekins Van Lines, Inc.

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact this office.

 

Sincerely,

 

***** *******

Director, Claims & Consumer Affairs


4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2013 Delivery Issues
7/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2013 Delivery Issues
3/3/2013 Delivery Issues
2/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service