Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Red Ball Transit Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on American Red Ball Transit Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 15, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1919 Business incorporated 01/03/1939 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Indiana Department of Revenue
100 N. Senate Avenue, Gov't Center North, Rm. N105, Indianapolis IN 46204
Phone Number: 317-615-7350

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Katrina Blackwell, President Mr. Brad Beal, COO Ms. Dottie Eubanks, Manager of Marketing Mr. Richard Higgins, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Katrina Blackwell, President
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
American Red Ball World Wide Movers
Industry Tips
Contracts Movers

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Red Ball Transit Company, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1335 Sadlier Circle East Drive

    Indianapolis, IN 46239 (317) 353-8331

  • P O Box 1127

    Indianapolis, IN 46206


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Red Ball moved my furniture from Cedar City, UT to my current residence in Prescott, AZ. They stored my furniture in Phoenix for a few weeks until my house in Prescott was ready to move into I was told in a climate controlled facility. I have an antique Asian bar that I warned needed to be handled with care as it is a very valuable piece. When I received it, I noted scratches on the black lacquer finish and cracks and bowing of the wood that were not there prior to the move. I submitted a claim for damages, noting that an estimator determined repairs to be $1800-2800 to bring it back to its condition prior to the move. Red Ball has offered to give me $550 to repair this item because they say they will only cover damages that occurred during the move and not those due to climactic conditions. This is not acceptable as I know these damages occurred because they did not pack the item as I instructed the movers and because all my belongings were moved from Phoenix twice. The first time the moving truck came from Phoenix, the movers said they could not get to my house due to weather, so they then drove the truck back the nearly 100 miles to Phoenix. That was an extra stress to the noted piece that was unnecessary. I believe anyone can check the weather prior to making a delivery.

Desired Settlement: I would like Red Ball to either repair the noted furniture piece back to its condition prior to the move or to provide an appropriate settlement amount to be able to return the noted furniture piece to its condition prior to the move.

Business Response:

Ms. *****,


Our claims department has advised that our offer is based on the transit damage that occurred confirmed by an inspection. Any damage due to climate change is not our responsibility and no climate control vehicles were requested or used in transporting this shipment. We intend to stand on the repairs to transit damage and decline the climatic damage. This is corporate account employee and we have spoken to them about our position, they have verbally agreed and we are waiting for a confirmation that they are in agreement before sending our letter to maintain our offer & declination to Ms. *******.  We will provide an update to your office when we have concluded our communication with Ms. *******.


Thank you,

Katrina B********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have never had an issue with this item receiving this type of damage during a move even during winter months.  And, if the movers had listened to my instruction about moving it, it may possibly have not received this damage.  If they are not going to pay for the damage, then I would expect them to replace the item with an in kind piece.

****** *******

Business Response:

We have no additional information that changes the inspection results that the damage was caused over time and not a result of the moving process. Ms. ******* filed an additional claim for damage to a pool table that was not on the original claim and not brought to the attention of the inspector when he was at the residence. There was nothing noted at delivery for this item, we have therefore, declined liability for this item as well.

We regret that the customer is not satisfied with the settlement of the claim, however, we don't have any basis for acceptance of liability.


Katrina B********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I would like a copy of the report made by the claim service on my antique cabinet.  Additionally, the movers who brought the pool table into my house left it upside down and appeared to have decided for themselves that it was unstable.  I had no idea at the time that they had actually damaged the table when they turned it upside down.  It was not until a friend determined the pool table just needed some screws tightened and the ensuing return to upright of the table by another company that the damage could be noted.


****** *******

Business Response:

The inspection report is attached indicating that the new damage to the cabinet that occurred as a result of the move could be repaired for $550 and that the remaining damage was due to climatic issues and not a result of the move.  We continue to offer $600 as previously stated.


While the pool table was not noted as damaged at the time of delivery and the damage would have been visible when the table was upside down, we will make a goodwill offer of $1000.00 for this item. This is based on the estimated cost of repair of $800 to $1000 that our inspection company provided after reviewing the pictures which is also the amount claimed by Ms. *******. 


This offer will be sent to Ms. ******* in an effort to conclude the matter and is the maximum payment we will offer.


Katrina B********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. As long as i receive the official offer and check in the very near future. This situation has contined for way too long already and I think I have been very patient. 



****** *******

6/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Red Ball was hired to move my household belongings from Salem, OR to Sonora, CA. Red Ball hired a driver who brought along a helper to deliver my personal belongings on November 26, 2014. The driver arrived at 10:30 a.m. with a large moving truck. I had previously told the company that the driver would need to bring a small moving truck to get up our driveway. The driver promptly got his large moving truck stuck in the driveway and had to hire a large tow truck to get it out. This took about an hour. Then the driver parked at the bottom of the hill to the driveway and began carrying up our household belonging to the top of the driveway and then up the stairs to the house. Immediately, the driver began to use abusive and derogatory language to me and said he wanted to be in Idaho for Thanksgiving (which was the next day). He was very angry. After unloading for several hours and bringing things up to the house, he decided that he would not be able to unload all the items and still get to Idaho, so he started to unload everything into our garage. He and his assistant worked as fast as they could, throwing boxes back and up as high as they could to get things out of the truck. They threw boxes marked fragile as well as ripped the front and part of the back off a desk because they were working so fast. I asked them to be careful and stop throwing the fragile boxes, but was ignored and got more abusive language. In their haste, they also did not provide the check off list that was apparently necessary for me to determine what was delivered and what was not. At one point, the driver was so angry that he threatened to take the rest of my household belonging with him to Idaho since he wanted to leave and he said he didn't know when he would be back in this area to complete the delivery. I contacted the point person, Chyanne with these details and she apologized for the mishandling of the delivery and promised to rectify the situation as quickly as possible. Over the Thanksgiving weekend we began unpacking our household belongings and found many broken items as well as water damage to our two bookcases, and all of the mechanical foot rests in our two loveseats and sofa not functional. We unpacked all the boxes that were delivered up to the house, taking the boxes to the recycle center so we had room for additional boxes when the new movers arrived on Monday. We also removed the stickers from the furniture not realizing that they would be needed to check off items on the destination inventory which we still did not know about until after the new movers arrived on Monday. After the new movers began to bring up items from the garage, they mentioned a "bingo" sheet that I should have been filling out from the first movers. I told them I never heard of a "bingo" sheet and he showed me what it was. At this point I told him that we had already removed stickers and unpacked all the boxes that were brought up. He told me it was useless to try to fill out the bingo sheet and if he were in my shoes, he would not sign the destination inventory since we did not know what was delivered and what wasn't. He said that it would not affect my damage claim. The second movers noted quite a bit of damage to many of our items as they were moved into the house. After unpacking and in a timely manner, on February 2, 2015 I filed a damage claim with Red Ball in the amount of $14,128 plus taxes and delivery charges that would be charged to me to replace all the items that were broken and/or damaged beyond repair. After a month, Red Ball sent out a representative to look at the damaged items to verify they were damaged in the move and sent out the same representative a second time to see if he could repair the sofa and two loveseats. The representative that was sent out was shocked at the amount of damage and told me he would verify that the damage was done during the move. On April 28, 2015, I received a letter from Dave T***** at Red Ball denying my damage claim due to the fact that I did not sign the destination inventory. Again, I did not sign the destination inventory because Red ***** representatives did not provide the proper check off list to us at the initial time of delivery. It was Red ***** representative who failed to provide proper delivery documentation. It was Red ***** representative who told me that he would not sign the destination inventory due to the failure of the original delivery driver. It was Red ***** representative who said that by not signing the destination inventory that it would not affect my damage claims. Further, if it is shown that Red Ball tells their representatives to say these things to encourage clients not to sign the destination inventory, so they can get out of paying damages, then there is a significant fraud charge in this case as well.

Desired Settlement: Payment in full to replace and/or repair all items damaged by movers as set out on the damage claim provided in February, 2015 in the amount of $14,128, plus taxes and delivery charges.

Business Response: The initial complaint and second notice were sent on May 11 & 12. I have been out of the country and just returned to the office today. I see that a claim was filed in February and closed in April. I will investigate and reply as soon as possible.

Katrina B********

Business Response: I have spoken to our Claims Department and they received a letter from the customer outlining the information that was also contained in the BBB complaint. Based on the information in the customer's letter the claim was re-opened a week ago Monday and we have authorized repairs to items that can be repaired. As soon as the values of the other items are confirmed, we will be in a position to settle the entire claim. We apologize for any inconvenience that was caused by the inaccurate information that we had when the claim was received and will make every effort to complete the process as quickly as possible.

Katrina B********


6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired moving company for a full pack moving service. We have the contract stating that our move would include professional packers that would come to our home to pack all of our belongings in boxes and then professional movers would then load boxes/items/furniture in moving truck. The moving truck showed up with 2 men who move only packed items, no packers showed up. Those 2 men immediately left! We immediately called Red Ball and all they could say was "we will try to get you some help". 6 hrs later the driver of the moving truck brought 2 random unprofessional guys off the street to help pack boxes. My wife and I packed 90% of our house, helped move the items into the truck. The driver of the truck kept making comments about how he wasn't going to be able to get us moved that day and that we should just go ahead and leave our house and he would try to finish the job. We told him we would not leave because we had to get out of our house with all of our stuff that day. The 2 random guys ended up scratching up and damaging our furniture, stole 3 men's watches, got in an argument with the truck driver over money. When the moving truck left, he ran over a post and damaged a curb. We kept calling Red Ball complaining about our experience, we then asked for them to send professional un packers to unpack our boxes at our new home. Red Ball guaranteed there would be unpackers. Well guess what! No unpackers showed up!! My wife unpacked every box! 2 men did show up to bring in the items. The truck driver again started making his comments about how I cut into his pay!!! What!!!??? THIS COMPANY DID NOT DELIVER SERVICES AND ACTED LIKE IT WAS NO BIG DEAL.

Business Response:

We apologize for the service that Mr. ******* received. It was a short notice shipment scheduled to load on a Sunday and it was difficult to arrange for labor to load. Also the origin agent neglected to tell us that the driver would be required to pack.  These circumstances caused most of the problems with the move. We were in communication with the customer but again the Sunday load date also made this difficult. As a result of these problems, we did not charge the *******s for the portion of the packing that we performed and reduced the transportation charges by 30%. This resulted in a total reduction in charges of $1040.50.  We have not received a claim for any damage to the goods or property damage, but will address any claim the customer wishes to file without delay. Mr. ******* has 9 months from the date of delivery to file a claim.  However, we suggest that should the customer choose to file a claim that it be done as soon as possible.

Again we are sorry that the service was not up to the expectations of the customer or up to the standards of the service we typically provide.


******* ********** President

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Coercion in order to extract additional payment from me on a binding agreement of 1505.34 I chose this company to move my household goods from Huber Heights Oh, to N. Fort Myers Fl. My decision was based on 3 facts...Their BBB rating, the fact that the company was owned by a female; and proximity to my home. The estimator, I believe his name was *******, came to my home. I showed him everything that I wanted to moved. This included some items from the shed (gardening tools) and housewares stored in the garage. I also showed him the boxes that I had already packed. Because I did my own packing and subsequently would be carry them as I unpacked them, I packed them lightly. At no time did he tell me how many additional boxes and or tubs I could take. He gave me a binding contract of under 3000 pounds. At 69 years old and this being my first move ever, I had no concept of what 3000 entailed. I relied on his expertise.He advised me that the move would take place the end of May 2013 or the first week of June 2013. Since I did not plan to stay until my grand daughter's birthday on May 18, and mine on May 23, this was satisfactory to me. He wanted to store my household at the warehouse for approximately $350 until the shipping date. I told him this was a deal breaker and I would not pay it. ***** from ******** (******** to tell me my goods would be picked up on May 12th. I asked her at that time if I could take my kitchen table and 6 chairs instead of my full size bed. She said that would be okay as I had a binding contract. When they picked up my goods, the old man from Red Ball was on the phone complaining about me and my move..seemed he felt he wasn't being paid enough to move my stuff. Someone named came from the office and threatened to remove my items from the truck and set them on my driveway unless I paid them another $900. When I told them what ***** said they said I had broken the contract by substituting the table for the bed. I feel I was blackmailed into agreeing to their new "binding quote" of @435.47. I had no choice but to agree. In addition they made me pay with a cashier check before they would make the move. Because they came more than 2 weeks early, my landlord in FL signed for the household goods. Every box was marked with contents and room location. Every thing was piled in my master bedroom. Some items were missing, (pots and pans, linens, garden tools, etc. Others were broken (floor lamp; heirloom coffee table was scratch because wood chairs were pile on it.) I feel this people unfairly took advantage of me. How could I trust them to honor the new "binding contract" when they refused the first one because of the table. I also left items I had intended to take in order to make the change fair to them. I left my sewing machine, canning supplies, pressure cooker, 50 quart electric roast pan, Other pots and pans, hoses and hose reels, flag pool, bird baths, 9 bird feeders and many other items. Unfortunately, the man I exchanged emails with never identified himself as a representative of Country. Unfortunately, I do not have his name because that computer crashed in Oct of 2013 and I have no records of those emails..when I told him about the info I had received from *****, he said he knew no one by that name.

Desired Settlement: I want the addition $900 they charged me. The caused me mental anguish. Imagine sitting in a garage with 3 men staring you down and making treats to unload the truck. As a widow and a senior citizen I felt I had no choice but to pay them the extra money.

Business Response:

I have reviewed Ms. ******’s complaint. This move took place in May of 2013.  There are many emails documenting the change in charges due to the shipment of additional items not originally included in the estimate.  Essentially the number of items shown to the sales representative numbered 68 which included 37 containers and 31 furniture/other items. These items are listed on the attached Shipper Inventory. The original binding estimated weight was 2100 lbs.

The 5 page inventory included 62 cartons, 24 totes/tubs and 62 furniture/other items for a total of 148 items.  This is more than double the items intended to be shipped.  The issue was never the substitution of a table and chairs for a bed, it was about the almost tripled number of cartons and/or totes/tubs and twice the number of furniture/other items that were shipped.  The weight actual weight was 3870 lbs.

The estimate received by Ms. ****** was binding for the weight and services listed on the shipper’s inventory and on the Order for Service, a total of 2,100 lbs.  Any additions and/or changes to those quantities voids the estimate.  That is why an amendment was prepared and signed by Ms. ******.

Under no circumstance do we provide a binding estimate for an unlimited amount of goods to be shipped when the estimate clearly is for a specific maximum weight. I have attached a copy of the email confirmation where Ms. ****** advised that she was shipping more, the amendment she signed agreeing to the revised charges for the additional weight and the original Shipper Inventory showing what she wanted to move. Also attached are the weight tickets, inventory and the original estimate for 2100 lbs.

The booking agent Country Wide and our traffic planner responded to numerous emails during the time of the move explaining this to Ms. ****** that what she added far exceeded the estimate provided.  The shipment delivered on May 17, 2013 and we have received no further correspondence since that time nor has the customer filed any claim for loss or damage.  The nine month time period for filing a claims has expired. 

The shipment documents fully support the charges and the change in weight from the original estimate. We are sorry that Ms. ****** was dissatisfied, however, no refund is in order.



******* *********

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I moved from West Palm Beach, Florida to Roswell, Georgia at the end of July of 2013, To facilitate this move, we hired Ace Moving Company of Palm Beach County, which is an agent of American Red Ball Worldwide Movers. The move from West Palm Beach, FL to Roswell, GA was transitional: the destination house in Roswell was a rental that was to be occupied during the process of purchasing a home. Consequently, only those boxes whose contents were absolutely necessary in the short term were opened. We purchased a house at the end of September, moved our possessions (mostly still boxed) ourselves to our new home (no outside agency was involved), and then began the process of unpacking our belongings. Once all of the boxes were unpacked, we noticed that a number of our belongings were missing. Given that the missing items were of a common theme and would have been packaged together (craft, media, and kitchen items), we concluded that entire boxes were lost during the trip from West Palm Beach to Roswell. The loss of these boxes at the end of the move from West Palm to Roswell was not initially evident for a number of reasons. First, the boxes were inventoried using a double-color tag system that allowed different boxes to have the same number, which made keeping track of the inventory nearly impossible (a number of times my wife and I found unchecked boxes on the inventory sheet, which we were told had been misidentified as some other box). At the end of the moving day we were concerned boxes were missing, but we were basically bullied into signing a receipt-the movers said they would not leave until the form was signed. Secondly, because it was raining during the unloading of the truck, the inventory checking process was exceptionally hurried, making it difficult to keep up with the inventory. The next day we did a series of recounts using a bar code inventory system of our own creation, and we consistently found that we were 5 boxes short. We contacted the moving agent in West Palm Beach to express our concern, and we were told that our inventory must have been in error, that there was no way the boxes could have gone missing during the move. It was not until the boxes were unloaded and contents checked that we became aware without any doubt that items were missing. Since the only time these boxes were out our possession and control was during the move from West Palm Beach, this is the only time they could have possibly been lost. The plausibility of loss during this time is enhanced by the fact that my wife and I never had the opportunity to inspect the moving truck before departure (opening the door to the possibility that the items were never removed), and the fact that the truck was left completely unattended overnight before being unloaded, with the moving crew staying with personal friends in the nearby area (meaning that there was the possibility of theft from the truck). I have filed a claim for loss with American Red Ball Worldwide Movers and this claim has been denied-in a nutshell, we have been told that the missing items cannot be traced (not surprising if they were stolen), and that they must have gone missing during our second move (which is impossible given that we moved ourselves-basically we are being accused of stealing from ourselves). I should point out that we are only making a claim on only a portion of the missing items (craft items that belong to my wife's business) because we have a detailed inventory of our own making that tells us exactly what is missing (no similar inventory lists exist for the kitchen or media items). The inventoried missing items have a replacement value of $700

Desired Settlement: I want my claim settled for the replacement value of the missing items so that they can be replaced.

Business Response:

We have been working on a resolution with the customer since receiving this complaint. Our original denial was based on the shipment having been subsequently moved after we delivered the shipment and the item was not noted as missing at delivery.  We have made a compromise, good faith offer of $500 for the missing box and the customer accepted it on March 7. The check has been issued.

Thank you,

Katrina *********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.


******* *******


3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on American Red Ball Transit Company, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart