BBB Accredited Business since

International Medical Group, Inc.

Phone: (317) 655-4500 View Additional Phone Numbers 2960 N. Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46208 http://www.imglobal.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that International Medical Group, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for International Medical Group, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on International Medical Group, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 06, 2007 Business started: 12/01/1989 in IN Business incorporated 12/11/1989 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Indiana Department of Insurance
311 West Washington Street, Suite 300, Indianapolis IN 46204-2787
http://www.in.gov/idoi/
Phone Number: 317-232-2395
Fax Number: 317-232-5251

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Carolyn Osborne, Legal Assistant Ms. Tammie Peters
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Carolyn Osborne, Legal Assistant
Related Businesses
International Medical Group, Inc. iTravelInsured.com
Business Category

INSURANCE - TRAVEL INSURANCE-LIFE INSURANCE-MARINE INSURANCE CLAIM PROCESSING SERVICES INSURANCE - EMPLOYEE BENEFITS Direct Health and Medical Insurance Carriers (NAICS: 524114)


Additional Locations

  • 2960 N. Meridian Street

    Indianapolis, IN 46208 (317) 655-4500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have taken medical insurance policy with IMG for my mom "********* *********" and the policy number is *************. Policy was taken on 8/28/14 and it was effective until 01-Dec-2014. She was not well and we visited ***** ****** **** on 09/23/2014, which is one of the approved clinics as per IMG list. I have attached the proof of it. I received a bill [attached] for $150 from ***** ****** **** today stating that insurance [IMG] company has not responded to them for more than 6 months. Request BBB help and take legal actions against IMG for not paying the clinic Regards, ****

Desired Settlement: IMG has charged me close to $400 for the medical insurance for 3 months and I have paid it. They should have paid the amount which clinic requested, instead they didn't respond for 6 months. I want IMG to settle all the bills sent by clinic.

Business Response: The following items must be submitted by the Insured Person to be considered a complete Proof of Claim eligible for consideration of coverage (“Proof of Claim”): (a) a duly completed, timely submitted, and signed Claim Form and authorization for release of information; (b)
itemized bills and statements of services rendered from all medical providers involved with respect to the claim; and c) receipts for any costs, fees or expenses that have been incurred or paid by the Insured Person with respect to the claim. The Insured Person has 90 days from the date a claim is incurred to submit a complete Proof of Claim.  The Company at its option may pend resolution and adjudication of submitted claims and/or may deny coverage: for Proofs of Claim submitted thereafter; for incomplete Proofs of Claim; and/or for failure to submit a Proof of Claim.  If the Insured Person would like to submit Proof of Claim, instructions and the form are located at
http://www.imglobal.com/pdf_forms/claimform-interactive.doc

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The message give by IMG is just a copy paste from their terms and conditions. This is nothing related to my case.

I have specifically mentioned all the details in my earlier message. The clinic has tried to reach IMG for 6 months and they have not responded !!! Can I have some response to it please ?

Regards,

**** **** *********

Business Response: Certain items must be submitted by the Insured Person to be considered a complete Proof of Claim eligible for consideration of coverage under the insurance (“Proof of Claim”): a duly completed, timely submitted, and signed Claim Form and authorization for release of information.  If the Insured Person would like to submit Proof of Claim, instructions and the form are located at http://www.imglobal.com/pdf_forms/claimform-interactive.doc


2/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am insured by IMG (medical insurance). On Dec 14. 2013 I was hospitalized (********** ******** ********, Blacksburg, VA) with chest pain. This was the only complaint/diagnosis. I --never-- had this condition before. However, the insurance has only paid a portion of the 90% they were supposed to cover by the contract, claiming "pre-existing condition". Again, I never had this condition before.

Desired Settlement: Pay the hospital 90% of the bill (less deductible), as agreed.

Business Response: Actual eligibility determinations, benefit verifications, final coverage decisions and claim adjudications, and final payments and/or reimbursements of benefits or claims are determined and adjudicated only after or at the time a proper and complete Proof of Claim is submitted, an opportunity for reasonable investigation and/or review is provided, cooperation is received, and all facts and supporting information, including relevant data, information and medical records when deemed necessary or appropriate by the Company, are presented in writing. If a definite answer to a specific benefits or coverage question is required for any reason, the Insured Person may submit a written request directly to the Company, including all pertinent medical information, and a written reply will be sent.

In the event the Company denies all or part of a claim, the Insured Person has a reasonable opportunity to appeal the denial under which there will be a review of the claim and the determination. Insured Persons shall have 60 days from the date that the notice of denial was mailed within which to appeal the determination, and have the opportunity to submit written comments, documents, records, and other information relating to the claim. The Company’s review will take into account all comments, documents, records, and other information submitted by the Insured Person relating to the claim, without regard to whether such information was submitted or considered in the initial claim determination.

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: American citizen traveling abroad, I purchased IMG group travel insurance for coverage. Unfortunately, I had an accident and followed all the proper procedures according to the IMG group process. Then I was told that I would have to wait up to 30 business days for the process to be reviewed. So after 30 business days, I called and was told that it is still under review and I would have to wait up to 60 days. A totally different story from what I was told initially and there was no information that I could find on my policy that stated I had to wait up to 60 days. After pushing the issue, staff were cold and told me basically that is the process and that I would have to accept it. Totally amazed at the way they sell their product and handle customer reviews as well as the withholding of information. On top of that, after reviewing numerous complaints found on the internet regarding similar practices by IMG, I am astonished that the BBB is still supporting them. I would be grateful for any help in dealing or making this matter heard by a higher authority in IMG or state representative regarding shocking operating procedures. This is a classic example of insurance companies that want you to pay for their product, but don't want to pay for the service once you need it. Please help me in getting this matter resolved.

Desired Settlement: Pay claim in full

Business Response: In the event of any inquiry, every attempt will be made to help the Insured Person understand the status, scope and extent of available benefits and coverages.  Actual eligibility determinations, benefit verifications, final coverage decisions and claim adjudications, and final payments and/or reimbursements of benefits or claims are determined and adjudicated only after or at the time a proper and complete Proof of Claim is submitted, an opportunity for reasonable investigation and/or review is provided, cooperation is received, and all facts and supporting information, including relevant data, information and medical records when deemed necessary or appropriate by the Company, are presented in writing.  If a definite answer to a specific benefits or coverage question is required for any reason, the Insured Person may submit a written request to the Company, including all pertinent medical information and a statement from the attending Physician, and a written reply will be sent by the Company.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In the claim I made with IMG Global, they originally mentioned that it would take 30 business days, however, after reaching the 30 business days, they then said it would take up to 60 business days.  Upon review of all the documentation, there is no information saying that claims would take an additional 30 days.

So the issue is that, they are not promoting the product correctly and changing the information to suite their business vs. the need of the consumer.  Based on this information, I reject their response and after careful review, there are 1000s of complaints that have been posted on the internet about similar operating practices.

Regards,

****** ** *****

Business Response: Information regarding any amounts paid, dates of payment, and medical providers paid can be reviewed within Explanation of Benefit statements communicated to the Insured Person or accessed at https://myimg.imglobal.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The statement doesn't respond to the original complaint, and in fact just uses a blank statement to not say anything of value to the nature of the original request.  I specifically want to know why they extended the response time on the claim from their stated 30 days to 60 days, when there is clearly no documentation on their site that states that they do this.

Regards,

****** ** *****

Business Response: Actual eligibility determinations, benefit verifications, final coverage decisions and claim adjudications, and final payments and/or reimbursements of benefits or claims are determined and adjudicated only after or at the time a proper and complete Proof of Claim is submitted, an opportunity for reasonable investigation and/or review is provided, cooperation is received, and all facts and supporting information, including relevant data, information and medical records when deemed necessary or appropriate by the Company, are presented in writing.

12/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a health insurance with IMG during last summer for mom who was visiting from overseas. She had pain in the left ankle with swollen feet. She could not step on it and we suspected a crack, dislocation, or poor blood circulation. We contacted IMG to identify the medical facilities which they accept. We took her to the outpatient clinic at the hospital where they performed x-ray and ultrasound and she was discharged after the completion of these tests. Their report indicated spurs at the tendon with no fracture or dislocation. She had to wrap it and rest for few days for the pain to go.We submitted the information that IMG asked for, on time. It took six months for IMG to respond to us about the medical payments. They have very poor customer service and long-waiting for a phone response. Their final notice was that the File closed due to lack of information from another provider. They did not respond to us when we tried to have further details about what further information they are asking for and the identity of the 'other provider'. They simply seem to ignore the whole matter! And we are now faced with repeated mails about payments of the medical bills. We had IMG several times when relatives come to visit from overseas. Fortunately, we didnt have to use their service (or un-service in that matter) before. I guess that it takes only one medical emergency to find out that these people do not actually respond or commit to their insurance policy obligations, or at least explain to their customers what is going on!

Desired Settlement: - Details of the information they are asking for and from whom,- Prompt response and communication with the medical facilities and us,- And, ultimately paying the medical bills as per the insurance agreement.

Business Response: If a definite answer to a specific benefits or coverage question is required for any reason, the Insured Person may submit a written request to the Company, including all pertinent medical information, and a written reply will be sent to the Insured Person.  Actual eligibility determinations, benefit verifications, final coverage decisions and claim adjudications, and final payments and/or reimbursements of benefits or claims can be determined and adjudicated only after or at the time a proper and complete Proof of Claim is submitted, an opportunity for reasonable investigation and/or review is provided, cooperation is received, and all facts and supporting information, including relevant data, information and medical records when deemed necessary or appropriate by the Company, are presented in writing.  The following items must be submitted by or on behalf of the Insured Person to be considered a complete Proof of Claim eligible for consideration of coverage (“Proof of Claim”): (a) a duly completed, timely submitted, signed Claim Form and authorization for release of information; (b) all original itemized bills and statements of services rendered from all medical providers involved with respect to the claim; and (c) all original receipts for any costs, fees or expenses that have been incurred or paid by or on behalf of the Insured Person with respect to the claim, including without limitation all original receipts for any cash and/or credit card payments. The Insured Person has 90 days from the date a claim is incurred to submit a complete Proof of Claim, and the Company at its option may pend resolution and adjudication of submitted claims and/or may deny coverage: for Proofs of Claim submitted thereafter; for incomplete Proofs of Claim; and/or for failure to submit a Proof of Claim.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


The response is a standard generic reply, which assumes that no claim forms or requests have been sent before.

The claim form was sent on 09/08/2014 and a request for information regarding the denial of service was mailed on 10/28/1014.
Both letters were sent in certified mail with receipts.

In response to IMG reply, I downloaded the claim form to send it again in case it was misplaced.
This will be sent in certified mail to IMG, along with the medical report and invoices, on Monday 11/17/2014.
 
No bills were paid to any of the medical providers yet. I’d appreciate if IMG respond by paying these medical bills, or sending a request for any ‘specific’ further details that they may need to finalize this claim. 

Regards,

Elisabete Farrag

Business Response: Final eligibility determinations, coverage decisions, claim appeals, and actual reimbursement or payment of claims or benefits are subject to all Terms of the insurance contract, including without limitation filing a proper, complete Proof of Claim.  Actual eligibility determinations, benefit verifications, final coverage decisions and claim adjudications, and final payments and/or reimbursements of benefits or claims are determined and adjudicated only after or at the time a proper and complete Proof of Claim is submitted, an opportunity for reasonable investigation and/or review is provided, cooperation is received, and all facts and supporting information, including relevant data, information and medical records when deemed necessary or appropriate by the Company, are presented in writing.  The Company at its option may pend resolution and adjudication of submitted claims for incomplete Proofs of Claim. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********.  

The reply is general and does not address the specifics of my claim. However, I will wait  for the business to perform this action and, if it does address my claims, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

********* ******

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service