Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that International Medical Group, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for International Medical Group, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on International Medical Group, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 06, 2007 Business started: 12/01/1989 in IN Business incorporated 12/11/1989 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Indiana Department of Insurance
311 West Washington Street, Suite 300, Indianapolis IN 46204-2787
http://www.in.gov/idoi/
Phone Number: 317-232-2395
Fax Number: 317-232-5251

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Barwick, President Ms. Carolyn Osborne, Legal Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Carolyn Osborne, Legal Assistant
Related Businesses
International Medical Group, Inc. iTravelInsured.com
Business Category

INSURANCE - TRAVEL INSURANCE-LIFE INSURANCE-MARINE INSURANCE CLAIM PROCESSING SERVICES INSURANCE - EMPLOYEE BENEFITS Direct Health and Medical Insurance Carriers (NAICS: 524114)

Industry Tips
Contracts

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

International Medical Group, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2960 N. Meridian Street

    Indianapolis, IN 46208 (317) 655-4500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/29/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My partner and I traveled to the United States from Australia. We bought the Patriot America Medical Insurance from IMG Global beginning coverage starting 2nd March 2016, and ending 21st March 2016. During the trip I fell ill with Pneumonia. We went to an in-network doctor in Flagstaff, Arizona. I received treatment, and we paid the bill up front. I submitted it to IMG the next day. They took 4 months to even review my claim, and then emailed me asking for details for which they already had. I obliged. They emailed back again asking for more details they already posessed. Next they asked for a privacy release so my partner could talk to them because I was frustrated. They yet again email me saying they have not denied my claim, but simply requested additional information. I obliged with the same information a 3rd time. Currently they are telling me they need more information to "reconsider" my claim, although they told me the claim wasn't denied. It appears clear to me they have no intention of being reasonable, or ever satisfied with the information they receive and use it as a a means to prevent paying claims. It's a very straight forward claim, for which we are clearly entitled to some compensation, and they clearly have enough information to make a decision yet they refuse. They keep asking for an "itemized bill" from the doctors office claiming I haven't supplied them with it. No current practices give the patient an itemized bill, they give you a receipt for services rendered, and a document attached detailing the visit, outcome, procedures, etc. I have supplied this several time but they are using it as a means to avoid payment and being completely unreasonable.

Desired Settlement: I simply wish for them to process my claim and accept the information I have provided, so I can rightfully reclaim the money I am out of pocket because their insurance is not providing us with anything.

Business Response:

If any insured needs another copy of their insurance information, the ability to access the insurance contract, declaration of insurance, and ID cards, submit claims, view claim status, and pre-certify treatment is available by visiting https://myimg.imglobal.com

Eligibility determinations, benefit verifications, coverage decisions, and payment of benefits can be determined only after a complete Proof of Claim is submitted, an opportunity for reasonable investigation and/or review is provided, cooperation is received, and all facts and supporting information, including relevant data, information and medical records are presented in writing.

Eligible Medical Expenses under this insurance previously paid by the insured person at the time of the Company’s favorable adjudication will be reimbursed.  Claim settlements, payments and reimbursements remain subject to the deductible, coinsurance, limits, and all other Terms of this insurance.  Information regarding amounts paid, dates of payment, and medical providers paid can be reviewed within Explanation of Benefit statements communicated to the insured person or accessed at https://myimg.imglobal.com 

1/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The insurance company is provider poor customer service and do have scam business. My health care provider billed the insurance and provided necessary medical records. But the insurance company claims that they don't have sufficient information to make decision and closed the claim. They did this for all claims. Though they don't wait for any medical records. The practice deceiving approach by informing the customer that we are waiting for medical records. After few weeks they close the cliam they didn't receive any documents. This is scam as the provider never received any request for documents. The insurance avoids covering claims by practicing this illegal activity.

Desired Settlement: As business take responsibility for the insurance claim they receive and Practice Legitimate business. Clearly provide details on the outcome of billing claims. It is insurance responsibility to request necessary document from provider and act on the behalf of insured person. But business is scamming insurer by not processing their claims on time and closing it.

Business Response:

The person submitting the complaint does not appear to be the insured person.  An authorization has not been provided by the insured person allowing the release of PHI or PII to third parties.  That form can be accessed via http://www.imglobal.com/pdf_forms/claimform-interactive.doc

Information regarding any amounts paid, dates of payment, and medical providers paid can be reviewed within Explanation of Benefit statements communicated to the Insured Person or accessed at https://myimg.imglobal.com

If the Insured Person disagrees with any decision(s) communicated, the Insured Person may ask the Company to reconsider that decision and supply medical records and opinions to support the appeal.  The Company will then reconsider its decision based on review of any additional documentation and facts and advise the Insured Person of its decision.


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In the response, the business claimed that I am not valid insured person. In fact I am. Their delay of processing  claims and multiple followup with no proper response is not acceptable business standard.

 

Regards,

********** ******


Business Response:

An authorization has not been provided by the insured person allowing the release of PHI or PII to third parties. That form can be accessed via http://www.imglobal.com/pdf_forms/claimforminteractive.doc

Information regarding any amounts paid, dates of payment, and medical providers paid can be reviewed within Explanation of Benefit statements communicated to the Insured Person or accessed at https://myimg.imglobal.com

If the Insured Person disagrees with any decision(s) communicated, the Insured Person may ask the Company in writing to reconsider that decision and supply medical records and opinions to support the appeal. The Company will then reconsider its decision based on review of any
additional documentation and facts and advise the Insured Person of its decision.

1/9/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi - I took IMG Travel insurance when i visited USA in 2013-14. I visited doctor for serious cough. And had 3 visits , x-ray. IMG denied claims from the doctor stating it was pre-existing which is not the case. Even after many follow ups - Issue is not resolved and i am receiving communication from doctor office to pay dues. Looking for assistance to resolve this issue.

Desired Settlement: IMG to pay claims to the doctor office

Business Response: Information regarding amounts paid, dates of payment, and medical providers paid can be reviewed within Explanation of Benefit statements communicated to the Insured Person or accessed at https://myimg.imglobal.com  In the event the Company denies all or part of a claim, the Insured Person has a reasonable opportunity to appeal the denial under which there will be a review of the claim and the determination.  Insured Persons shall have 60 days from the date the denial was mailed to the Insured Person within which to appeal the determination, and have the opportunity to submit written comments, documents, records, and other information relating to the claim.  The Company’s review will take into account all comments, documents, records, and other information submitted by the Insured Person relating to the claim, without regard to whether such information was submitted or considered in the initial claim determination.  Upon receipt of a written appeal, the Company has an opportunity for further reasonable investigation and will respond in writing as soon as reasonably practicable, or within 90 days. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Response received was generic process information and nothing specific to my issue

Regards,

****** **********


Business Response:

An authorization allowing the release of information protected under confidentiality and privacy laws has not been supplied.  If an answer to a specific benefits or coverage question is required for any reason, the Insured Person may submit a written request to the Company, including all pertinent medical information and opinions, and a written reply will be sent by the Company.

 

 


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[I already sent written email few months back on the concern with claims rejected stating pre-existing condition even though it is not. But no action from insurance company. I was told to contact doctor office to discuss further & not with insurance company. I am getting bill dues from Doctor office as claims were rejected]

Regards,

****** **********

Business Response: If the Insured Person disagrees with a decision of the Company, the Insured Person may in writing ask the Company to reconsider the decision and supply medical records and additional documentation to support the appeal. The Company will reconsider its decision based on review of any additional documentation and facts.  The Company will then advise the Insured Person of its decision within a reasonable time frame following receipt of any additional documentation and facts.

10/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, I have opted for Visitors Insurance for my mother from IMG company. I took the insurance for 3 months which has a coverage of $100,000.00 and has zero Deductible. My mother went through couple of health check ups due to the U.S. weather and environment. None of the hospital accepted Visitors health Insurance. Due to which, I have paid all the expenses from my pocket. To reimburse all the expenses, I have filled the insurance claim form and mailed all the proper documentation to IMG. 1. I called them many times and sent emails as well on the status of my claim. But so far, not giving proper response. 2. I have requested for the reason for delay. They don't have any answer. 3. I requested for the contact of next higher level of escalation, They don't have any answer. 4. I also requested for probable ETA for the claim, they don't have any answer. They are simply denying to say answers to the above questions.

Desired Settlement: I would like to share this experience to BBB about this visitor's insurance. As per my knowledge, there is should not be any reason for the delaying the process of the claim. I have spent above $600 for the hospital expenses. I am not a rich person. I need help in this regard.

Business Response: An authorization allowing the release of information protected under privacy and confidentiality laws has not been received from the insured/patient.  It appears a relative of the insured/patient has communicated with your organization.

Eligibility determinations, benefit verifications, final coverage decisions and claim adjudications, and final payments and/or
reimbursements of benefits or claims are determined and adjudicated only after or at the time a proper and complete Proof of Claim is submitted, an opportunity for reasonable investigation and/or review is provided, cooperation is received, and all facts and supporting information, including relevant data, information and medical records when deemed necessary or appropriate by the Company, are presented in writing.  If a definite answer to a specific benefits or coverage question is required for any reason, the Insured Person may submit a written request to the Company, including all pertinent medical records, and a written reply will be sent by the Company to the Insured Person.  Information regarding benefit decisions, amounts paid, dates of payment, and medical providers paid can be reviewed within Explanation of Benefit statements communicated to the Insured Person or accessed at https://myimg.imglobal.com 






Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am the person who bought the insurance for my mother. All the expenses are paid by me. I have submitted claim forms along with a letter which says expenses will be reimbursed on my name in return. All the necessary documentation was sent to IMG. I called many times (even they can check the history as well). I have not got proper response from customer agent. Customer agent says - whole organization wide claims are running behind the schedule and none of the claims they are able to process it. If this is the situation, why are they selling the insurance to the innocent customers.

I want my money back which I paid for the insurance or reimburse the expenses incurred. I have attached the emails proofs.


Regards,

**** ****

9/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a travel insurance from IMG in April of this year from the UK. During my travels to California, I became ill and had intense pain whilst urinating. I called their office number on the card provided and their concierge service provided a number of doctors and hospitals that were affiliated with the insurance provider. None of the doctors called could initially see me so I proceeded to the Hoag hospital. I was seen to and diagnosed with a Urinary Tract Infection. I paid the hospital deductible fee of approx $250.00. I was further advised to see a urologist and made an appointment to see one within the same insurance scheme. I was pain free in about one week. Upon my return to the USA, i noticed statements from the same service providers showing amounts due in excess of $1000.00 I called IMG offices to find out why these bills had not been paid even thought insurance had been purchased. The lady who answered the phone told me that the policy had to lapse for 90 days before they would look at the claim. I mentioned to her that I had purchased TRAVEL insurance and therefore how could there be a clause of 90 days. She further went on to say that had I visited a doctor instead of going to the hospital, they may look at my claim. I feel that IMG is trying to get out of paying a claim by all their legal jargon. Firstly, how can you have a travel insurance that has to lapse for 90 days before a claim can be made. This should be spelt our clearly before our premiums are colllected. Secondly, how can their concierge service refer us to a facility that is NOT covered by IMG. The travel insurance sold seems to be fraudulent and I would appreciate some assistance in settling this matter.

Desired Settlement: I would want IMG to settle the Bills outstanding on poliicy *************

Business Response: Certain items must be submitted by or on behalf of the Insured Person to be considered a complete Proof of Claim eligible for
consideration of coverage (“Proof of Claim”) including but not limited to a duly completed, timely submitted, and signed Claim Form and authorization for release of information. The Insured Person has ninety (90) days from the date a claim is incurred to submit a complete Proof of Claim, and the Company at its option may pend resolution and adjudication of submitted claims and/or may deny coverage: for Proofs of Claim submitted thereafter; for incomplete Proofs of Claim; and/or for failure to submit a Proof of Claim.  The Insured Person has not submitted a duly completed, timely submitted, signed Claim Form or authorization for release of information which is located at http://www.imglobal.com/en/client-resources/claims.aspx

Actual eligibility determinations, benefit verifications, final coverage decisions and claim adjudications, and final payments and/or
reimbursements of benefits or claims can be determined and adjudicated only after or at the time a proper and complete Proof of Claim is submitted, an opportunity for reasonable investigation and/or review is provided, cooperation is received, and all facts and supporting information, including relevant data, information and medical records when deemed necessary or appropriate by the Company, are presented in writing.  If a definite answer to a specific benefits or coverage question is required for any reason, the Insured Person may submit a written request to the Company, including all pertinent medical information and records, and a written reply will be sent by the Company.

If the Insured Person disagrees with a decision of the Company, the Insured Person may in writing ask the Company to reconsider
the decision and supply additional documentation to support the appeal.  The Company will reconsider its decision based on review of the additional documentation and facts, if any.  The Company will advise the Insured Person of its decision within a reasonable time frame
following receipt of additional documentation and facts.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

My original complaint was lodged as a representative from the Insurance company already categorically stated that my claim was not valid for the reasons stated in my original claim.  The company is now changing its stance and stating that a claim form must be submitted.  If this is the case, why was it not communicated earlier.
I shall submit a claim as required but I still require clarification on how the insurance company can sell travel insurance and expect the person to be insured for 90 days before a claim could be submitted.  If I resided in the USA for 90 days then i would NOT require travel insurance.

Regards,

***** *****

8/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother ***** *** was visiting me in California from India late last year. I had bought Travelers Medical insurance for mom to cover for any emergencies during her stay effective Sept 3rd 2014 to Sept 3rd 2015 for a value of 500K. In November mom suddenly fainted, after multiple visits to ER she was admitted into the hospital and was diagnosed late November with a rare form of cancer that required immediate attention. Unable to travel back to India, doctors at Stanford performed surgery to remove the tumor and consequently tried to treat her with chemo. Unfortunately for us what was considered localized and curable quickly spread and my moms health further deteriorated and she passed away July 12th 2015. IMG denied medical coverage for mom quoting her condition to be pre existing. Doctors at stanford treating mom sent multiple appeals as they do not consider her condition to have been pre existing , however IMG denied all claims. In the meantime I had to take personal debt to pay for moms immediate bills that at the moment is upwards of 170K . Stanford doctors office consider my moms case and IMGs denial of coverage to be medical malpractice and suggested I contact Cancer Legal resource center at Stanford. They in turn suggested I reach out to BBB and file complaint.

Desired Settlement: Settle all hospital bills - Washington Hospital Fremont CA and Stanford Hospital Palo Alto CA. My ask of IMG is to pay for my moms hospital bills that they have denied so far - doctors at Stanford hospital support my moms case fully. I also want to be compensated for the personal debt I have incurred for the upfront payments I have had to make inspite of my mom having had medical coverage of 500K.

Business Response: The individual submitting the complaint is not the insured or the patient.  Neither the insured nor the patient have authorized the sharing of information protected under confidentiality and privacy laws with third parties such as your organization.

In the event the Company denies all or part of a claim, the Insured Person has a reasonable opportunity to appeal the denial under which
there will be a review of the claim and the determination.  Insured Persons have the opportunity to submit written comments, documents, records, and other information relating to the claim.  The Company’s review will take into account all comments, documents, records, and other information submitted by the Insured Person relating to the claim, without regard to whether such information was submitted or considered in the initial claim determination.  Upon receipt of a written appeal from the Insured Person, the Company has an opportunity for further reasonable investigation and review, and will respond in writing to the Insured Person as soon as reasonably practicable.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]


This response from IMG is not acceptable.
Two written appeals were made by Stanford hospital to IMG (In January 2015 and March 2015) where the doctors office treating my mom at Stanford hospital has provided all the details of her case and have specifically called out in writing that her condition cannot be considered pre-existing. IMG on both times came back stating they consider my mothers condition is pre-existing. The doctors at Stanford hospital do not agree with IMG's assessment. They are unclear who has done the assessment and on what basis as all the medical records that IMG has are from Stanford and Washington hospital that the Stanford doctors have either generated or assessed. Stanford hospital has provided their full support to my mother and me to raise this situation and our concern to BBB .

The response from IMG is inadequate ( written appeals have been made) and they should re-assess their response to the appeals.
Stanford doctors who have been treating my mother do not agree with IMG response. 



Regards,

******** ***

6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is that International Medical Group (IMG), located in Indianapolis, Indiana, has denied my medical claim saying I had a pre-existing condition that I did not have. I am an American citizen living in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. In October of 2011 I applied for health insurance through Global Medical Insurance (IMG), Insured ID *********, and Certificate #*************. The insurance coverage is for US citizens living abroad. At the time of my application I was given a physical by my physician which was submitted with my application. I was approved for health insurance with the exception of gastro esophageal reflux disease (GERD or heartburn) and I have a $5,000 deductible. I received a letter when I was approved for insurance that anything to do with GERD would not be covered. My coverage has been in effect since then with no interruption. On September 15, 2014 I started having chest and neck pains. I was sent to Medisist Hospital by my physician here in Puerto Vallarta. I was diagnosed with angina. To correct the angina I received angioplasty and a stent was placed in my heart. I was in the hospital for three days and released. The hospital requested a precertification letter from IMG before the procedure and it was received. I submitted a claim to IMG for the amount of $756,239.45 Mexican Pesos or approximately $60,499.16 US Dollars at that time. I received a letter from IMG on January 12, 2015 denying my claim and stating that they would pay only $5,000 on my $60,499.16 medical care because angina was a pre-existing condition. At no time did IMG relate to me that I would not be covered for heart problems. GERD, which they said would not be covered, in no way relates to angina. They are suggesting that anything that could possibly be a pre-existing condition is a pre-existing condition and therefore they are not obliged to pay. This has left me in a position of basically having no medical insurance. No hospital in Puerto Vallarta will take me if I should have problems again because I still owe a lot of money. I am not covered for health insurance at all in the United States. I am sending by US mail along with this letter a copy of my original application for insurance and pre-insurance health exam report, post-angina doctor report indicating that it's not related to GERD and was not a pre-existing condition, a copy of my policy and a copy of the Exclusionary Rider for GERD. Under the policy, IMG is required to pay the full bill, minus the deductible, for anything that was not pre-existing and the doctor’s report clearly states this was not a pre-existing issue. Thank you for your consideration.

Desired Settlement: I would desire that IMG pay my medical claim of $60,499.16, minus the $5,000 deductible.

Business Response: Charges incurred by an Insured Person and directly or indirectly relating to or arising or resulting from or in connection with certain
acts, omissions, events, conditions, charges, consequences, claims, Treatment (including diagnoses, consultations, tests, examinations and evaluations related thereto), services and/or supplies are excluded from coverage, and the Company provides no benefits or reimbursements and has no liability or obligation for any coverage thereof or therefor.  Actual eligibility determinations, benefit verifications, final coverage decisions and claim adjudications, and final payments and/or reimbursements of benefits or claims are determined and adjudicated only after or at the time a proper and complete Proof of Claim is submitted, an opportunity for reasonable
investigation and/or review is provided, cooperation is received, and all facts and supporting information, including relevant data, information and medical records when deemed necessary or appropriate by the Company, are presented in writing.  Appealed claims may be further investigated and/or reviewed.  If a definite answer to a specific benefits or coverage question is requested, the Insured
Person may submit a written request to the Company and include all pertinent medical information prior to and after the insurance contract effective date, and a reply will be sent by the Company.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint until IMG pays my claim as obligated.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Proof of claim was submitted on September 23, 2014 which included bills, doctor’s reports, lab reports and all written information by doctors and hospital both online and by
US mail.  Ample time for investigation was given which was from September 23, 2014 to January 13, 2015.  An appeal was sent arguing that there was no preexisting condition on January 29, 2015 and denied on February 26, 2015.  Another appeal was sent on March 29, 2015 which included a letter from my physician which clearly states I had good
health and no preexisting condition prior to insurance coverage.  This was followed up on April 2, 2015 with the original medical exam results, lab reports and original letter from
physician which were submitted with application for insurance in 2011 clearly stating I was in good health prior to insurance coverage.  An automated reply was received from  IMG on March 29 and April 2, 2015 that my email was received.  There has been no further response from IMG.  At no time did IMG request further
information.   IMG is obligated to pay this claim since there was no preexisting condition.

Regards,
***** *****

Business Response: The individual has sought the assistance of a regulatory agency, therefore, any future responses will be communicated pursuant to that governmental entity's procedures.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Besides my complaint to BBB, I have lodged a complaint with the Indiana Department of Insurance.  Medasist Hospital has agreed to receive a sum that has satisfied their accounts.  However, I paid $19,840 dollars to the hospital and have not been reimbursed for that part of the claim.  I am unsatisfied until that is paid.

Regards,

***** *****

4/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have taken medical insurance policy with IMG for my mom "********* *********" and the policy number is *************. Policy was taken on 8/28/14 and it was effective until 01-Dec-2014. She was not well and we visited ***** ****** **** on 09/23/2014, which is one of the approved clinics as per IMG list. I have attached the proof of it. I received a bill [attached] for $150 from ***** ****** **** today stating that insurance [IMG] company has not responded to them for more than 6 months. Request BBB help and take legal actions against IMG for not paying the clinic Regards, ****

Desired Settlement: IMG has charged me close to $400 for the medical insurance for 3 months and I have paid it. They should have paid the amount which clinic requested, instead they didn't respond for 6 months. I want IMG to settle all the bills sent by clinic.

Business Response: The following items must be submitted by the Insured Person to be considered a complete Proof of Claim eligible for consideration of coverage (“Proof of Claim”): (a) a duly completed, timely submitted, and signed Claim Form and authorization for release of information; (b)
itemized bills and statements of services rendered from all medical providers involved with respect to the claim; and c) receipts for any costs, fees or expenses that have been incurred or paid by the Insured Person with respect to the claim. The Insured Person has 90 days from the date a claim is incurred to submit a complete Proof of Claim.  The Company at its option may pend resolution and adjudication of submitted claims and/or may deny coverage: for Proofs of Claim submitted thereafter; for incomplete Proofs of Claim; and/or for failure to submit a Proof of Claim.  If the Insured Person would like to submit Proof of Claim, instructions and the form are located at
http://www.imglobal.com/pdf_forms/claimform-interactive.doc

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The message give by IMG is just a copy paste from their terms and conditions. This is nothing related to my case.

I have specifically mentioned all the details in my earlier message. The clinic has tried to reach IMG for 6 months and they have not responded !!! Can I have some response to it please ?

Regards,

**** **** *********

Business Response: Certain items must be submitted by the Insured Person to be considered a complete Proof of Claim eligible for consideration of coverage under the insurance (“Proof of Claim”): a duly completed, timely submitted, and signed Claim Form and authorization for release of information.  If the Insured Person would like to submit Proof of Claim, instructions and the form are located at http://www.imglobal.com/pdf_forms/claimform-interactive.doc


2/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While overseas in August, 2013, I purchased a 12 month health insurance policy from IMG that included 2 months of coverage in the US upon return; those were the last 2 months of the policy period. However, 12 months was the maximum permissible duration and I was very explicit with the agent that I needed a longer policy period but I was unsure of my exact return date to the US and therefore when the home coverage should begin. I was told by an IMG agent, via email, that when I renewed the policy the 2 months home coverage would be added on the new policy expiration date. I returned to the US January 14, 2015 and received an email January 15, 2015 informing me that the expiration date of the policy had passed which was surprising because I was expecting the 2 months of US coverage to begin January 15, 2015 since I had renewed repeatedly without lapse as advised by the IMG representative in 2013. What I am being now told by a different IMG representative is that the home coverage actually began several months ago, apparently 2 months before the initial expiration date of July 31, 1014. The IMG representative also admitted that I received incorrect and incomplete information from the initial IMG agent in 2013 but seemingly dismisses that since that agent has since been terminated. Moreover, the IMG agent with whom I have now been communicating is also not clear on the policy details. This agent told me yesterday that had I returned to the US on October 1, 2014 I would have been eligible for the 2 months coverage in the US. But since I repeatedly renewed/extended the policy, it should not have mattered if I returned October 1, 2014 or January 14, 2015 since there was never a lapse in the policy. Basically, my complaint is that I received misleading or not entirely accurate information from IMG when I purchased the policy which led to confusion on my part as to how and when to renew the policy. I did get a renewal notice in July or August 2014 but never did anyone from IMG tell me that to preserve the 2 months of US coverage I needed to renew before June 1, 2014. And just to reiterate, an IMG agent is still presenting me with false information regarding the policy. IMG clearly has the power and responsibility to provide me with a 2 month policy in the US but they choose to blame a terminated agent for my confusion rather than take responsibility for the actions of a representative of their company.

Desired Settlement: If IMG is not going to rework the policy to provide me 2 months of coverage in the US (that I am willing to pay for at the previous rate) then I want a refund for the 2 months in question.

Business Response: Under the Termination of Coverage for Insured Persons section, coverage and benefits under the insurance contract terminates on the earliest of certain dates including but not limited to: (a) the next day following the end of the coverage period for which premium has been fully, timely paid; (b) the termination date shown in the declaration; (c) the date the Insured Person returns to his Home Country; unless extended by (i) or (ii):  (i) if the Insured Person paid premium for at 6 months of continuous coverage under the plan, made the appropriate selection for End of Trip Home country Coverage, and designated 1 extra coverage month on the Application, coverage and benefits under the insurance will terminate on the 30th day after the date the Insured Person returns to his Home Country provided premium has been paid for the full period of coverage including the 30 days of Home Country coverage; or (ii) if the Insured Person has paid premium for at least 12 months of continuous coverage under the plan, made the appropriate selection for End of Trip Home country Coverage, and designated 2 extra coverage months on the application, coverage and benefits under the insurance will terminate on the 60th day after the date the Insured Person returns to his Home Country provided premium has been paid for the full Period of Coverage including the 60 days of Home Country coverage; and/or (d) the date the Insured Person first fails to meet or no longer meets the eligibility requirements set forth in the insurance contract.

If the Insured Person disagrees with a decision, the Insured Person may in writing ask for reconsideration of the decision and supply additional documentation to support the appeal.  The decision will be reconsidered based on submission of any additional documentation and facts.  The Insured Person will be advised of the decision within a reasonable time frame following receipt of any additional documentation and facts.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First of all, I am irate that IMG neeeded 13 business days to respond to my complaint when all they appear to have done is directly quote policy language. IMG has in no way responded to the crux of my complaint which is that an IMG agent gave me incomplete information regarding renewal of my policy and how to preserve the Home Country converage. I have emails of these conversations that I sent to IMG who admitted that their agent gave me incomplete information yet they take no responsibility for this and merely dismiss the agent's bad advice by saying the agent was terminated.

To quote the company's response:

"(ii) if the Insured Person has paid premium for at least 12 months of
continuous coverage under the plan, made the appropriate selection for
End of Trip Home country Coverage, and designated 2 extra coverage
months on the application, coverage and benefits under the insurance
will terminate on the 60th day after the date the Insured Person returns
to his Home Country provided premium has been paid for the full Period
of Coverage including the 60 days of Home Country coverage"

This clearly indicates that the coverage consists of 12 months plus 2 extra coverage months since I did designate the End
of Trip Home Coverage on the application. However, there was no option to designate these extra 2 months of coverage on the online application.  What I was, in fact, presented with on the application was 10 months of out of country coverage then 2 months of home country coverage. To reiterate, there was no option to designate "2 extra coverage months" which would have been 14 months total, not the 12 months that was the only option presented to me at the time of policy purchase.

The company is not even aware of their business practices and has yet to address this in my complaint.
?

Regards,

******** ******

Business Response: The insurance contract cannot be waived, modified or changed except by the express written agreement of the insurance company.

Under the Termination of Coverage for Insured Persons section, coverage and benefits under the insurance contract terminates on the earliest of
certain dates including but not limited to: (a) the next day following the end of the coverage period for which premium has been fully, timely
paid; (b) the termination date shown in the declaration; (c) the date the Insured Person returns to his Home Country; unless extended by (i)
or (ii):  (i) if the Insured Person paid premium for at 6 months of continuous coverage under the plan, made the appropriate selection for
End of Trip Home country Coverage, and designated 1 extra coverage month on the Application, coverage and benefits under the insurance will
terminate on the 30th day after the date the Insured Person returns to his Home Country provided premium has been paid for the full period of
coverage including the 30 days of Home Country coverage; or (ii) if the Insured Person has paid premium for at least 12 months of continuous
coverage under the plan, made the appropriate selection for End of Trip Home country Coverage, and designated 2 extra coverage months on the
application, coverage and benefits under the insurance will terminate on the 60th day after the date the Insured Person returns to his Home
Country provided premium has been paid for the full Period of Coverage including the 60 days of Home Country coverage; and/or (d) the date the
Insured Person first fails to meet or no longer meets the eligibility requirements set forth in the insurance contract.

An authorization allowing the release of information protected under privacy and confidentiality laws has not been received.  If the Insured Person disagrees with a decision, the Insured Person may in writing ask for reconsideration of the decision and supply additional documentation to support the appeal.  The decision will be reconsidered based on submission of any additional documentation and facts.  The Insured Person will be advised of the decision within a reasonable time frame following receipt of any additional documentation and facts.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I seem to be going around in circles with them and wasting time which is precisely what they want in the hopes I will simply abandon this complaint.

I have made several specific complaints regarding their inadequate and incorrect advising on my insurance policy and all they have done to this point is quote policy language which I already knew.

I'm investing significant time with this complaint and getting nothing but useless replies from IMG. How many times do I have to file rebuttal's to IMG's lame responses before I receive specific answers?

The problem is that the policy language was not clear to me at the time I enrolled and I asked an IMG agent for clarification who did not tell me exactly what I needed to do. Moreover, though the policy language states
that it is possible to purchase 12 months of out of country coverage plus 2 months of home country coverage, this, in fact, was not possible when I enrolled in the policy as it was only possible to purchase (via
IMG's website) 1 month of home country coverage for every 5 months of out of country coverage meaning a maximum policy period (including home country coverage) of 12 months. And there was not a renewal notice sent
to me prior to the commencement of the home country coverage as the current policy language seems to indicate. The IMG agent at the time told me to renew before August 1, 2104 to extend the policy and associated home country coverage which is exactly what I did.

The one time IMG partially addressed my complaint (prior to filing with the BB) is below:

"If you are now home in the US you would not eligible for coverage.  To take full advantage of the 2 months of home country coverage selected you would have had to return home 2 months prior to the Expire Date. 
Our Certificate holder service vice president advised that we are not able to make an exception on this policy.  I apologize that this information wasn't presented to you more clearly by Ms. ***** in April and June when you discussed this with her.  She was let go several months ago."
 
IMG had admitted that their agent did not properly advise me yet seem to claim that it is not the company's problem because she was subsequently terminated which is a totally unsatisfactory and unprofessional response.

Regards,

******** ******

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought energency medical insurance from IMG medical group for my monther who was visiting us from Russia this summer. On 07/07/2014 she had an emergency and we had to visit a hospital. She was diagnosed with reactive colitis. We filed the claim with IMG. They were reviewing the claim for 6 months and finally denied it on 01/06/2015. They claim that she had preexisting condition. My mother never had this condition before. But the company denies the claim anyway. This whole insurance must be a scam.

Desired Settlement: We would like the company to fulfill its obligations and pay the claim.

Business Response: The person who submitted the inquiry is not the Insured Person and the Insured Person has not provided written authorization to share with your organization information protected under confidentiality and privacy laws.  Actual eligibility determinations, benefit verifications, final coverage decisions and claim adjudications, and final payments and/or reimbursements of benefits or claims are determined and adjudicated only after or at the time a proper and complete Proof of Claim is submitted, an opportunity for reasonable investigation and/or review is provided, cooperation is received, and all facts and supporting information, including relevant data, information and medical records when deemed necessary or appropriate by the Company, are presented in writing.  If a definite answer to a specific benefits or coverage question is required for any reason, the Insured Person may submit a written request to the Company, including all pertinent medical information, and a written reply will be sent by the Company. In the event the Company denies all or part of a claim, the Insured Person has a reasonable opportunity to appeal the denial under which there will be a review of the claim and the determination.  Insured Persons have 60 days from the date that the notice of denial was mailed within which to appeal the determination, and have the opportunity to submit written comments, documents, records, and other information relating to the claim. The Company’s review will then take into account all comments, documents, records, and other information submitted by the Insured Person relating to the claim, without regard to whether such information was submitted or considered in the initial claim determination.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from the business in a lie. The insured person did sign the authorization for me to contact the company on her behalf.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: The person who submitted the inquiry is not the Insured Person and the Insured Person has not provided written authorization to share the BBB with information protected under confidentiality and privacy laws. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The business refuses to respond to questions. There is no private information that they would need to disclose to BBB. I would like the business to explain to BBB the way they are going to address the issue with the patient whom they refused to cover for no reason. If a good reason exists, I would like it to be in writing. The patient and I would like to see the whole list of "pre-existing conditions" that the company does not cover. Then we would be able to determine if the patient's condition is on the list. The list of conditions is not a private information and should be provided to anybody on demand.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: The person who submitted the inquiry is not the patient nor the Insured Person and neither the patient nor the Insured Person has provided written authorization to share with your organization information protected under confidentiality and privacy laws. 

If a definite answer to a specific benefits or coverage question is required for any reason, the Insured Person may submit a written request to the Company, including all pertinent medical information, and a written reply will be sent by the Company. In the event the Company denies all or part of a claim, the Insured Person has a reasonable opportunity to appeal the denial under which there will be a review of the claim and the determination.  Insured Persons have 60 days from the date that the notice of denial was mailed within which to appeal the determination, and have the opportunity to submit written comments, documents, records, and other information relating to the claim. The Company’s review will then take into account all comments, documents, records, and other information submitted by the Insured Person relating to the claim, without regard to whether such information was submitted or considered in the initial claim determination.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


I do not need a definite answer for a specific covered benefit. I would like to see the list of pre-existing conditions that are not covered by their insurance. Then I would be able to check the list for myself and make sure that my mother's condition which was not covered is on the list. Please send to me the list of non-covered pre-existing conditions.

Regards,

******* *******

1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My firm, ***** ****** has been a customer of IMG for about nine years. This month we didn't receive a bill from them and when my office manager called she was informed that our policy had been cancelled. I then spoke with Mr. David ****** who is apperently their sales manager. Mr. ***** informed me that our policy had not been renewed because we only had one employee covered by them. ***** ****** is an international project management company that supports the U.S. Government and major corporations on a global basis. We are currently in a "lull" for internationally assigned personnel due to the U.S. Budget and as such have seen a temporary decrease in the number of personnel we have working overseas. The reason I am filing this complaint is that while our contract for our group coverage does say that we must maintain a minimum of two employees, IMG never contacted us regarding this cancellation / non-renewal. This has left us with a U.S. Family living in Taiwan that thought they had medical coverage that doesn't .... Mr. ***** initially claimed that IMG informed us "45 days in advace as is required by law ..." but then changed his story stating that it did appear that someone forgot to let us know about their cancelling us. Further, Mr. ***** committed to respond to us with options for new coverage. When that response was received it was simply an application to change the type of coverage ... nothing more. When I asked for cost and coverage information my queries were ignored by Mr. *****. My firm has been a customer for almost a decade. We were even featured by IMG in an article in the New York Times several years ago ... and yet this is how they treat a long-term customer?

Desired Settlement: First, I want a formal apology for their actions from senior management with a committment that Mr. ***** will be appropriately disciplined. Second, I want them to cover any medical costs that were supposed to be covered by the policy we believed we had in place due to their not informing us of the cancellation / non-renewal. Third, I want them to cover the cost of a temporary insurance policy (with the same coverage) through the end of the month, to allow us to find other coverage for our employee and his family in Taiwan.

Business Response: On 1/19/2015 IMG spoke with Mr. ******* ***** and a verbal agreement was reached to resolve the issues.  Mr. ***** advised that he would contact the BBB to close the complaint.

If I can provide additional information, please contact me.

Yours truly,

Carolyn ** *******
Assistant to General Counsel

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *****

12/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am insured by IMG (medical insurance). On Dec 14. 2013 I was hospitalized (********** ******** ********, Blacksburg, VA) with chest pain. This was the only complaint/diagnosis. I --never-- had this condition before. However, the insurance has only paid a portion of the 90% they were supposed to cover by the contract, claiming "pre-existing condition". Again, I never had this condition before.

Desired Settlement: Pay the hospital 90% of the bill (less deductible), as agreed.

Business Response: Actual eligibility determinations, benefit verifications, final coverage decisions and claim adjudications, and final payments and/or reimbursements of benefits or claims are determined and adjudicated only after or at the time a proper and complete Proof of Claim is submitted, an opportunity for reasonable investigation and/or review is provided, cooperation is received, and all facts and supporting information, including relevant data, information and medical records when deemed necessary or appropriate by the Company, are presented in writing. If a definite answer to a specific benefits or coverage question is required for any reason, the Insured Person may submit a written request directly to the Company, including all pertinent medical information, and a written reply will be sent.

In the event the Company denies all or part of a claim, the Insured Person has a reasonable opportunity to appeal the denial under which there will be a review of the claim and the determination. Insured Persons shall have 60 days from the date that the notice of denial was mailed within which to appeal the determination, and have the opportunity to submit written comments, documents, records, and other information relating to the claim. The Company’s review will take into account all comments, documents, records, and other information submitted by the Insured Person relating to the claim, without regard to whether such information was submitted or considered in the initial claim determination.

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: American citizen traveling abroad, I purchased IMG group travel insurance for coverage. Unfortunately, I had an accident and followed all the proper procedures according to the IMG group process. Then I was told that I would have to wait up to 30 business days for the process to be reviewed. So after 30 business days, I called and was told that it is still under review and I would have to wait up to 60 days. A totally different story from what I was told initially and there was no information that I could find on my policy that stated I had to wait up to 60 days. After pushing the issue, staff were cold and told me basically that is the process and that I would have to accept it. Totally amazed at the way they sell their product and handle customer reviews as well as the withholding of information. On top of that, after reviewing numerous complaints found on the internet regarding similar practices by IMG, I am astonished that the BBB is still supporting them. I would be grateful for any help in dealing or making this matter heard by a higher authority in IMG or state representative regarding shocking operating procedures. This is a classic example of insurance companies that want you to pay for their product, but don't want to pay for the service once you need it. Please help me in getting this matter resolved.

Desired Settlement: Pay claim in full

Business Response: In the event of any inquiry, every attempt will be made to help the Insured Person understand the status, scope and extent of available benefits and coverages.  Actual eligibility determinations, benefit verifications, final coverage decisions and claim adjudications, and final payments and/or reimbursements of benefits or claims are determined and adjudicated only after or at the time a proper and complete Proof of Claim is submitted, an opportunity for reasonable investigation and/or review is provided, cooperation is received, and all facts and supporting information, including relevant data, information and medical records when deemed necessary or appropriate by the Company, are presented in writing.  If a definite answer to a specific benefits or coverage question is required for any reason, the Insured Person may submit a written request to the Company, including all pertinent medical information and a statement from the attending Physician, and a written reply will be sent by the Company.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In the claim I made with IMG Global, they originally mentioned that it would take 30 business days, however, after reaching the 30 business days, they then said it would take up to 60 business days.  Upon review of all the documentation, there is no information saying that claims would take an additional 30 days.

So the issue is that, they are not promoting the product correctly and changing the information to suite their business vs. the need of the consumer.  Based on this information, I reject their response and after careful review, there are 1000s of complaints that have been posted on the internet about similar operating practices.

Regards,

****** ** *****

Business Response: Information regarding any amounts paid, dates of payment, and medical providers paid can be reviewed within Explanation of Benefit statements communicated to the Insured Person or accessed at https://myimg.imglobal.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The statement doesn't respond to the original complaint, and in fact just uses a blank statement to not say anything of value to the nature of the original request.  I specifically want to know why they extended the response time on the claim from their stated 30 days to 60 days, when there is clearly no documentation on their site that states that they do this.

Regards,

****** ** *****

Business Response: Actual eligibility determinations, benefit verifications, final coverage decisions and claim adjudications, and final payments and/or reimbursements of benefits or claims are determined and adjudicated only after or at the time a proper and complete Proof of Claim is submitted, an opportunity for reasonable investigation and/or review is provided, cooperation is received, and all facts and supporting information, including relevant data, information and medical records when deemed necessary or appropriate by the Company, are presented in writing.

12/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a health insurance with IMG during last summer for mom who was visiting from overseas. She had pain in the left ankle with swollen feet. She could not step on it and we suspected a crack, dislocation, or poor blood circulation. We contacted IMG to identify the medical facilities which they accept. We took her to the outpatient clinic at the hospital where they performed x-ray and ultrasound and she was discharged after the completion of these tests. Their report indicated spurs at the tendon with no fracture or dislocation. She had to wrap it and rest for few days for the pain to go.We submitted the information that IMG asked for, on time. It took six months for IMG to respond to us about the medical payments. They have very poor customer service and long-waiting for a phone response. Their final notice was that the File closed due to lack of information from another provider. They did not respond to us when we tried to have further details about what further information they are asking for and the identity of the 'other provider'. They simply seem to ignore the whole matter! And we are now faced with repeated mails about payments of the medical bills. We had IMG several times when relatives come to visit from overseas. Fortunately, we didnt have to use their service (or un-service in that matter) before. I guess that it takes only one medical emergency to find out that these people do not actually respond or commit to their insurance policy obligations, or at least explain to their customers what is going on!

Desired Settlement: - Details of the information they are asking for and from whom,- Prompt response and communication with the medical facilities and us,- And, ultimately paying the medical bills as per the insurance agreement.

Business Response: If a definite answer to a specific benefits or coverage question is required for any reason, the Insured Person may submit a written request to the Company, including all pertinent medical information, and a written reply will be sent to the Insured Person.  Actual eligibility determinations, benefit verifications, final coverage decisions and claim adjudications, and final payments and/or reimbursements of benefits or claims can be determined and adjudicated only after or at the time a proper and complete Proof of Claim is submitted, an opportunity for reasonable investigation and/or review is provided, cooperation is received, and all facts and supporting information, including relevant data, information and medical records when deemed necessary or appropriate by the Company, are presented in writing.  The following items must be submitted by or on behalf of the Insured Person to be considered a complete Proof of Claim eligible for consideration of coverage (“Proof of Claim”): (a) a duly completed, timely submitted, signed Claim Form and authorization for release of information; (b) all original itemized bills and statements of services rendered from all medical providers involved with respect to the claim; and (c) all original receipts for any costs, fees or expenses that have been incurred or paid by or on behalf of the Insured Person with respect to the claim, including without limitation all original receipts for any cash and/or credit card payments. The Insured Person has 90 days from the date a claim is incurred to submit a complete Proof of Claim, and the Company at its option may pend resolution and adjudication of submitted claims and/or may deny coverage: for Proofs of Claim submitted thereafter; for incomplete Proofs of Claim; and/or for failure to submit a Proof of Claim.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


The response is a standard generic reply, which assumes that no claim forms or requests have been sent before.

The claim form was sent on 09/08/2014 and a request for information regarding the denial of service was mailed on 10/28/1014.
Both letters were sent in certified mail with receipts.

In response to IMG reply, I downloaded the claim form to send it again in case it was misplaced.
This will be sent in certified mail to IMG, along with the medical report and invoices, on Monday 11/17/2014.
 
No bills were paid to any of the medical providers yet. I’d appreciate if IMG respond by paying these medical bills, or sending a request for any ‘specific’ further details that they may need to finalize this claim. 

Regards,

Elisabete Farrag

Business Response: Final eligibility determinations, coverage decisions, claim appeals, and actual reimbursement or payment of claims or benefits are subject to all Terms of the insurance contract, including without limitation filing a proper, complete Proof of Claim.  Actual eligibility determinations, benefit verifications, final coverage decisions and claim adjudications, and final payments and/or reimbursements of benefits or claims are determined and adjudicated only after or at the time a proper and complete Proof of Claim is submitted, an opportunity for reasonable investigation and/or review is provided, cooperation is received, and all facts and supporting information, including relevant data, information and medical records when deemed necessary or appropriate by the Company, are presented in writing.  The Company at its option may pend resolution and adjudication of submitted claims for incomplete Proofs of Claim. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********.  

The reply is general and does not address the specifics of my claim. However, I will wait  for the business to perform this action and, if it does address my claims, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

********* ******

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on International Medical Group, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart