Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

One America Financial Partners, Inc.

Phone: (317) 285-1111 One American Square, P O Box 368, Indianapolis, IN 46206 http://oneamerica.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that One America Financial Partners, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for One America Financial Partners, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on One America Financial Partners, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 03, 2008 Business started: 12/17/2000 in IN Business incorporated 12/07/2000 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Indiana Department of Insurance
311 West Washington Street, Suite 300, Indianapolis IN 46204-2787
http://www.in.gov/idoi/
Phone Number: 317-232-2395
Fax Number: 317-232-5251

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dayton Molendorp, Chairman, President/CEO Mr. Jay B. Williams, Chief Compliance Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dayton Molendorp, Chairman, President/CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Jay B. Williams, Chief Compliance Officer
Related Businesses
State Life Insurance Company Pioneer Mutual Life Insurance Company OneAmerica Securities, Inc. American United Life Insurance A U L Reinsurance Management Services, LLC
Business Category

INSURANCE-LIFE INSURANCE-LONG TERM CARE ANNUITIES INSURANCE-DISABILITY RETIREMENT PLANNING SERVICE EMPLOYEE BENEFIT PLANS Direct Life Insurance Carriers (NAICS: 524113)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

One America Financial Partners, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • One American Square, P O Box 368

    Indianapolis, IN 46206 (317) 285-1111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have already made a previous negative review about this company but since my issue has still not been resolved, I am making this complaint now. I called One America on 07/01/16 to request disbursement of my account. I was told there was some information they needed to confirm with my previous employer since the information I provided didn't match. Then I had to call them to ask what was going on and I was told that my birthday didn't match (which I was never informed of, even when I withdrew some money on 2014). I faxed them a copy of my driver's license and called back to confirm. Then again I had to wait a few days and I called them ( because NOT once have I received a call back from anyone at this company). I was able to make the request on 07/11/16 and told that I'd be getting my money in 3-5 business days. I was never informed that there was a processing period of 3-5 business days. I called again to ask what was going on and I was told that the process went through on the 14th and check would be mailed out on Friday the 15th (regular standard mail) because according to them they could not send it overnight or direct deposit at all. In the meantime I've been behind on my bills which is why I withdrew this money and all I have heard from these people is that I should just wait , that they are not the post office, and that I would have to 15 business days after they mailed in order to request another check. I have not received my check and was finally informed that they could deliver it via UPS , since I told them I wanted to have a way to keep track of my check, since they were planning on sending it standard mail again. Oh and by the way, I did receive a withdrawal confirmation letter on the mail on the 18th, post dated the 15th. So the letter only took a couple of days to be delivered to my residence. However , the check was never delivered. I gave the representative my UPS information and she said she was going to consult with her supervisor to follow up since she wasn't too familiar with UPS. I asked the representative to call me back to let me know whether they needed any other information or not but to call me back. I didn't get a call back. Thenot I called today, I was told that "they are working it and still has to be sent to disbursement " . I asked to speak with the supervisor this new representative was consulting with bit she said NO that the supervisor told her to talk to me and that this representative would call me back with a tracking number. However, she wasn't sure if it would get done today or until Monday, which she them confirmed then that I may not get my check until Tuesday. I am very upset about this situation , I am going to be the one paying for the overnight fee in order to get my money , which I have been trying to get since my first call on 07/01/16. And all I get from this company is "just wait, there's nothing we can do, and different information from different people". I was never informed they could deliver through UPS until yesterday but yet when I asked before they said no, that they could only deliver standard mail. Please do something about this, I'm sure I am not the only person who has complained. This is horrible customer service, and they do not show any interest in keeping a good record with customers. The number I have been calling is 317-285-1877. Thank you

Desired Settlement: I want my check to be sent today. And for this company to be educated on customer service and receive training on how to do their business in a more professional manner. They did not want to send me ANY written information about when they sent my check out or as a matter of fact, no formal written apology .

Business Response:

RE:   Better Business  Bureau  ID #********

 

Dear Ms. *****,

 

American United  Life Insurance Company® ("AUL"), a OneAmerica company, has received your correspondence dated August  8, 2016 regarding the ahove referenced matter. Thank  you for the opportunity to address the complainant's concerns.

 

While AUL takes this complaint very seriously, privacy laws prevent us from providing the Better Business Bureau with the details relating to this complaint.

 

AUL has investigated this complaint and will be sending a response directly  to the complainant before the end of this week.

 

If you have any further questions regarding this matter, please do not hesitate to contact  me.

 

Respectfully,

 

Janice H***

Paralegal

Corporate Compliance & Market Conduct

317-285+1538

317-285-7659 Fax

Janice.H***@oneamerica.com

6/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I left my job in early May. I asked to withdraw my 401k as I am moving overseas. It has now been 18 business days, and they have still not cashed out my 401k. I've submitted all the forms, and everything was accepted as being correct. When I call to ask where my money is, they act as though they haven't got a clue that I'm cashing out my 401k. I was told the money would finally arrive by today, but when I checked my bank, nothing. I even contacted my bank to double check, they confirmed there is no deposit being processed.

Desired Settlement: I want my 401k withdrawal deposited my account, without any further delays. There is no excuse for their stalling like this.

Business Response: Please see attached.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 1*******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *****

2/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/25/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I want to cash out my life insurance policy. I submitted paperwork back in July. There was a mix up with my account number so I gave them my account still no money. They said they mailed a handwritten check. I waited 7-14 business days to receive no check. I contacted them and they said they have to cancel check to reissue me money. I asked to switch to a different account. They approved to do so saying I would receive my money in 7-14 business days. Money never received. I called them & they mention there is a hold up with my employer & they will get in contact with them to resolve & I should receive my money in another 7 to 14 business days. Never received my money. Called them to find out that they never contacted my employer. I personally made a visit to my employer & they submitted the paperwork. One America says I should receive my money in 24-48hours. I still didn't receive my money. I called back they said whoever I spoke to gave me the wrong information I have to wait another 7-14 business days. Still no money. I called them yet again they tell me the hold up is still with my employer. I contact my employer & they confirmed they contacted them & everything is all set on their end. I called One America back to give them this information. One America representative said she would call the employer personally to resolve & I will need to wait 48hours to resolve. Still no money. I call them back yet again for them to tell me my Social is not matching their files so they cannot release my funds. I was aggravated at this point but asked what I can do to expedite them verifying my SS#. They asked for a copy of my license & ss#. I faxed it over they said wait another 48 hours. Still no money. Called again & now it's a problem with them putting my money in the wrong account. They now have to investigate & it will take some time. I am confused & irritated with this company. I definitely no longer want to do business with them anymore. The sooner I get my money, the sooner I can close ties with them!

Desired Settlement: I just would like my money please.

Business Response:

American United Life Insurance Company® ("AUL"), a OneAmerica company, has received your correspondence dated November 17, 2015 regarding the above referenced ID number.

While we take this complaint very seriously, privacy laws prevent us from providing the Better Business Bureau with the details relating to this complaint.

AUL is currently investigating the matter and will respond directly to the complainant, ******** ******.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact me by email at

Department CorporateConipliancerii)oneamerica .com , by fax at 317-285-7659 or by mail at the address listed below.

Respectfully,

Janice H***

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[I have tried to reach them repeatedly only to get no response.  I have not received any phone call, email, etc from Mrs. H***.  I give AUL the permission to speak directly to me through this complaint.  If there is an issue with this, it is imperative that I be reached at ***** ********.]

Regards,

******** ******

Business Response:

American United Life Insurance Company® ("AUL"), a OneAmerica company, has received your correspondence dated December 7, 2015 regarding the above referenced ID number.

AUL sent a response letter to ******** ****** on November 20, 2015, requesting additional information needed in order to complete our investigation. Upon receipt of your December 7, 2015 correspondence AUL reached out to Mr. ****** by phone that same day and left a message. Mr. ****** has not responded to AUL's letter or phone call. Therefore, AUL is closing the file on this complaint. If Mr. ****** provides additional information, AUL will be happy to re-open the complaint file and perform an investigation.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact me by email at

Department.CorporateCompliance@Oneamerica.com, by fax at 317-285-7659 or by mail at the address listed above.

Respectfully,

Janice H***, AIRC

11/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've been with my job since 2007 and just recently started job so I'm having financial problems and decided to cash out on my 401k. I followed every instruction to get the process done and decided to check on my status a few days later. The lady I talked to tells me everything is done my check amount and tells me my money is going to an account in Philadelphia. Immediately I'm upset I spoke to someone named Ben before I sent over my forms and let him know I didn't have an account to send my funds to he told me to just leave the electronic form out and they would send me a paper check and that's what I did. So to hear that my money was going to account that I've never heard of had me extremely upset so I'll called back a few times after that and still no one could till me what was going on I've also emailed twice directly to One America. So if your using One America for your 401k just be prepared they will definitely mess up your money and not give you a call to let you know what's going on. I'm been waiting since Friday October 23 and now today is Wednesday October 28th and the lady tells me they still haven't responded.

Desired Settlement: I would like someone to contact me and apologize for the inconvenience immediately and tell me what's going on with my hard earned money.

Business Response:

American United Life Insurance Company® ("AUL"), a OneAmerica company, has received your correspondence dated October 28, 2015 regarding the above referenced ID number.

While we take this complaint very seriously, privacy laws prevent us from providing the Better Business Bureau with the details relating to this complaint.

AUL has responded directly to the complainant, ***** *******. AUL has addressed the disputed issues and the complaint has been resolved.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact me by email at

Department CorporateConipliancerii)on ea in eri ca .com  , by fax at 317-285-7659 or by mail at the address listed below.

Respectfully,

Janice ***** AIRC

Paralegal

11/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started a life insurance policy with One America in April of 2013. In August of this year I contacted One America to cancel my policy. I was immediately faxed a form that I filled out and immediately returned. The form was more than 10 pages and had confusing instructions as to what to fill out for different desired actions. I did my best to fill out the appropriate forms and returned it within an hour. About 5 days later, I received a form in the mail for cash surrender. I also received a letter in the envelope stating the original form hadn't been filled out properly so I needed to fill out another cash surrender form. I waited to do so until I could meet with someone who would be able to ensure I properly filled it out this time. I was under the impression that the policy had been canceled but they wouldn't be able to send the money I was owed until the cash surrender form was properly completed. I was eventually able to get the cash surrender form filled out and then I sent it back to One America. Around this same time, I checked my bank statement and realized I was charged two additional payments of ~150 dollars each for September and October. I immediately contacted the company rep(Legacy Strategies) that I signed the initial contract with. I was informed they no longer had my account and was given another number to call. I contacted this new representative(Cheryl) and explained what happened. She told me she would check into it. Cheryl got back to me and got some additional information as to when I contacted One America and who I spoke with. I didn't remember the lady I spoke with at One America. After some digging, Cheryl told me that the issue was that my account was still active until I sent that cash surrender form back. I explained that I told the lady on the phone that I wanted to cancel my account and that she said nothing to indicate my account wasn't canceled at that point. I was then informed that the real issue was the fact I was originally faxed the wrong form so that when I sent the original form back in August it was sent to the wrong department. I asked Cheryl why it was my fault that they gave me the wrong form. She said that One America had screwed up by sending me the wrong form but I sat on the cash surrender form for too long and my account was still active while I waited to meet with someone to fill the form out. I then asked if my phone number and email accounts were listed with my account. She said yes. I asked why they decided to pick the slowest method of delivery to send me time sensitive information. I asked why they didn't call when they realized I was sent the wrong form. I was given no real answer other than they screwed up. I was told by Cheryl that she would try to get my two payments back because One America was at fault. After going through this for two weeks, I was informed that I would get one payment back but the other payment couldn't be returned because I waited too long. I've realized One America has no desire to do what is right so I'm hoping the BBB will. The company was informed of my intent to cancel my policy, sent me the wrong form, withdrew two additional payments and is no refusing to return one of them because I took too long in filling out the additional form they sent. I was under the impression that it wasn't time sensitive because I hadn't heard from the company. They had a phone number and email address that would have contacted me immediately. I run a small family owned business and I understand customers often want refunds when they don't deserve them. However, I have a difficult time understanding how I'm at fault when the whole issue started when they sent me the wrong form. This issue was caused by One America and they are placing the blame on me. I would like to be refunded the payment withdrawn from my bank account in August and I would like this to be kept on One America's page as a warning for potential customers. One America blames the customer for One America's screw ups and then makes the customer jump through hoops to recoup their own hard earned money.

Desired Settlement: I want to be reimbursed for the money that never should have been withdrawn from my account.

Business Response:

American United Life Insurance Company® ("AUL"), a OneAmerica company, has received your correspondence dated October 27, 2015 regarding the above referenced ID number.

While we take this complaint very seriously, privacy laws prevent us from providing the Better Business Bureau with the details relating to this complaint.

AUL has responded directly to the complainant, **** ******. AUL has addressed the disputed issues and the complaint has been resolved.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact me by email at

Department.CorporateCompliance@oneamerica.co,m by fax at 317-285-7659 or by mail at the address listed below.

Respectfully,

 Janice ****, AIRC Paralegal

(317) 285-1538

10/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I n 2007 We cleared a loan that is still showing outstanding. Numerous calls have been placed with responses as: a consultant is looking into it it is in priority status our director is in the process of writing it off. We are being placated and after 6 weeks of lengthy holds no one has contacted us back. I am asking your involvement to get to a responsible party to resolve this.

Desired Settlement: Written verification there is no loan nor interest on the loan and contact be the company

Business Response:

American United Life Insurance Company® ("AUL"), a OneAmerica company, has received your correspondence dated October 14, 2015 regarding the above referenced ID number.

While we take this complaint very seriously, privacy laws prevent us from providing the Better Business Bureau with the details relating to this complaint.

AUL has responded directly to the complainant, ********* ******. AUL has addressed the disputed issues and the complaint has been resolved.

If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me. Respectfully,

Janice ***** AIRC Paralegal

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. 

After 6 weeks and your assistance I was able to get a response and a resolution.

Thank you for your services,

********* ******

4/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently terminated from my job. I've called several times spoke with 5 different customer service reps. They all have given me vaque or different information. I have follwed all of their instructions and still i have made no progress! PEOPLE be aware these companies take your hard earned money quickly and you will have a dog fight to get it back.

Desired Settlement: just want my money!

Business Response:

American United Life Insurance Company& ("AUL"), a OneAmerica company, has received your correspondence dated January 27, 2015 regarding the above referenced ID number.

AUL processed Mr. *******s Separation from Service Distribution Request on January 20, 2015. The funds were released January 22, 2015 for direct deposit and were available in Mr. *******s bank account within three business days. AUL had resolved the matter prior to receiving your correspondence. AUL considers this complaint resolved.

Due to privacy laws AUL is unable to provide the Better Business Bureau with any further information.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me at

1.877.285.7660 x ****, via email at Janice.****@oneamerica.com, or by mail at the address below.

Sincerely,

Janice ***** AIRC

Paralegal

Corporate Compliance & Market Conduct

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They have lied to me four times saying the check for my retirement was in the mail and then almost a month later say it hasn't even been processes.

Desired Settlement: One America should be forced to actually give me my money that I've already earned and filled out paperwork almost two months ago to get and stop lying to people in the process saying the check is in the mail multiple times over multiple weeks. Honestly I think one america should, in addition to giving me my money, compensate me additionally for the extreme stress and hardship I've undergone due to their lies and incompetence. It is likely thAt I will end up losing my children because I cannot afford propane to heat my house and cook food for them and my exHusband will use this to his advantage all because I trusted multiple employees of one america whom told me I should have received the check weeks ago and other wrong dates I should anticipate the check that today they Said had not even processed. Initially I was told by representative ****** on December fifteen that I should receive the check on December nineteen multiple other employees proceeded to lie and give other catalog supposed. Beck receipt December 24,26 & now today they said oh the supervisor that was supposed to sign off on it was on vacation for two weeks so we haven't even started processing this. I sent in my paperwork correctly on November seventeenth and have the documentation to prove it. This company has wasted so much my time, made me spend dAy crying, and now I will probably lose my children. Due to their incompetence I will sue them because this is an utter atrocity!

Business Response:

American United Life Insurance Company° ("AUL"), a OneAmerica company, has received your correspondence dated December 29, 2014 regarding the above referenced ID number.

AUL has provided ******** ********** with a response to the complaint that was submitted to your office. AUL has addressed the disputed issues and the complaint has been resolved.

Due to privacy laws we are not permitted to provide the Better Business Bureau with any further information.

If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

****** ***** AIRC

Paralegal

***********@oneamerica.com

317-285-1538

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on One America Financial Partners, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart