Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Washington National Insurance Company

Phone: (800) 525-7662 11825 N Pennsylvania Street, Carmel, IN 46032 http://www.washingtonnational.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Washington National Insurance Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Washington National Insurance Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 47 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

47 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 17 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 32
Total Closed Complaints 47

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

13 Customer Reviews on Washington National Insurance Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 11
Total Customer Reviews 13

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 08, 2013 Business started: 04/01/1911 in IN Business incorporated 09/30/2010 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Indiana Department of Insurance
311 West Washington Street, Suite 300, Indianapolis IN 46204-2787
http://www.in.gov/idoi/
Phone Number: 317-232-2395
Fax Number: 317-232-5251

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Karen Smith, Consumer Relations Operations Manager Mrs. Barbara Stewart, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Karen Smith, Consumer Relations Operations Manager
Principal: Mrs. Barbara Stewart, President
Business Category

INSURANCE COMPANIES INSURANCE-ACCIDENT & HEALTH INSURANCE-HEALTH INSURANCE-LIFE INSURANCE SERVICES INSURANCE - EMPLOYEE BENEFITS Insurance Agencies and Brokerages (NAICS: 524210)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Washington National Insurance Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 11825 N Pennsylvania Street

    Carmel, IN 46032 (800) 525-7662

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Life insurance policy was bought by my father(******* ***** ****) who has been deceased for 49 years. It was then owned by my mother(***** ****** ****) who has been deceased since 2004. All the pertinent information and forms, death certificates, probated wills,etc have been sent,including a letter from my mother's attorney in Selma, Al. stating that I am the sole beneficiary of their estate. As the policy is on my life, I simply want to change ownership of the policy to myself and cash it out. Despite many calls, the company has made no attempt to contact me or resolve the issue. Every time I call customer service, I speak to a different person and they ask for another piece of information. I am very frustrated with them and their customer service department.

Desired Settlement: contact either me or my attorney by phone or mail

Business Response:

 

RE: Washington National Insurance Company

Customer: **** ** *****

Complaint ID: ********

 

  

Dear Ms. *****:

 

This letter is in response to your correspondence dated and received June 16, 2016, concerning the above-referenced ID number. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter.

 

We have responded directly to Ms. ***** and have answered her concerns.

 

We want to assure you of our continued commitment to provide the best possible customer service. If you have any questions, or if we may be of fut1her assistance, you may contact me directly by calling (317) 817-5311.

 

Sincerely,

 

Angela L. B****

Consumer Relations

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *****

5/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Washington National has been giving me the run around since Feb of 2016 regarding my short term disability claim that I have filed. Not only have they requested everything medical documentation which is irrelevant to me being out on leave but that have asked for paystubs, forms from human resources and the application to be sent over again, to ensure it was filled out correctly (when the application was originally sent, if there was anything that looked suspicious that wouldn't have issued me a policy). They have been finding any excuse not to pay.....the only answers I've been getting is that my policy is still in the contestable period....for 3 months!!! Being out on emergency leave due to surgery for two months is not something someone deliberately plans and then to get this kind of run around from the company is even more frustrating. No problem taking the payment every two weeks. Wouldn't recommend this company to anyone!!!

Desired Settlement: I want whoever is responsible to come to a decision with an explanation.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ******

This letter is in response to your correspondence dated and received in our office May 3, 2016. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter.

 

In your correspondence you requested information regarding the above referenced complainant.  In compliance with state and federal privacy laws, we are required to restrict access to information in our files and may not disclose such information to other persons, except as authorized in writing or otherwise permitted by law. Since at this time we do not have an authorization on file to release information to you, we have communicated directly with Mrs. *******, addressing her concerns.

We want to assure you our continued commitment to provide the best possible customer service. If you have any questions, or if we may provide any further assistance, you may contact out customer service department at 800-541-2254.

Sincerely,

Michael C*******

Consumer Relations

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ******

This letter is in response to your correspondence dated and received in our office May 3, 2016. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter.

 

In your correspondence you requested information regarding the above referenced complainant.  In compliance with state and federal privacy laws, we are required to restrict access to information in our files and may not disclose such information to other persons, except as authorized in writing or otherwise permitted by law. Since at this time we do not have an authorization on file to release information to you, we have communicated directly with Mrs. *******, addressing her concerns.

We want to assure you our continued commitment to provide the best possible customer service. If you have any questions, or if we may provide any further assistance, you may contact out customer service department at 800-541-2254.

Sincerely,

Michael C*******

Consumer Relations

5/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've been insured with this company since 1998, religiously pay my monthly payment without any lap or problem. I read some negatives reviews with this company but ignore them. One day i really need to get my cash value so i can pay my tax but when i call them, they said my account is not existing. I ask them how does it happened, why they are collecting my monthly premiums, they ask all my information including my SSS# but they can't still fiond my account number. I hope you can help me, I just wanna get some money from them and make it straight if in case i die my family can get my insurance without any problem.

Desired Settlement: Just want to have my account existing ang get some cash value that i need, and also send me a valid policy contract.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *****:

This letter is in response to your March 28, 2016 correspondence regarding the above referenced case number. This matter has been referred to my attention for review and response. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.

Keeping policy information secure and private is one of our top priorities. In compliance with state and federal privacy laws, we are required to restrict access to policy information to the owner of the policy. We are allowed to disclose information only as authorized in writing by the policy owner, or as otherwise permitted by law. Because we have not received written authorization from the policy owner to disclose information to you, we cannot provide you any information on the policy. Thus, your request for information will be addressed directly with the policy owner.

Should you have any further questions or need additional information, please contact me directly at (254) 750-****. My email address is R******@texaslife.com.

Sincerely,

  Robbin ******, PCS, FLMJ, AJRC, ARA/cs


Senior Associate/Customer Service Specialist

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear.

That I just found out my policy number is different from the original when I bought this policy.

That when I talked to the representative , requesting to get/withdraw my cash value and he said that he will be sending me the form that I need to fill out and until this day I haven't received the form.

The representative gave me also a website (Allience Company) where I can download the form to change my beneficiary, but unfortunately the policy number that I gave him the second time is not existing. That where I got worried because I just talked to him , and her come saying that my policy is not existing.

i wish that I can get some of my cash value and a copy of my policy with the valid account number.

 

wi


Regards,

****** ****


Business Response:

Dear Ms. *****:

This letter Is In response to your correspondence dated April 15, 2016 regarding the above referenced case ** ******.

Keeping policy Information secure and private Is one of our top priorities. In compliance with state and federal privacy laws, we are required to restrict access to the policy Information to the owner of the policy. We are allowed to disclose Information only as authorized in writing by the policy owner, or as otherwise permitted by law. B cause we have not received written authorization from the policy owner to disclose information to · you, we cannot provide you any Information on the policy. Thus, your request for Information will be addressed directly with the policy owner.

If you have any questions, please call the Client Service Center at the number above, Monday through Friday from 8:00AM to 5:00 PM Central Time.

Sincerely,

Client Servhies

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ****

5/2/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was led to believe I was purchasing Disability Insurance. I was approached by a rep at my work place who assured me I was covered if I was ever injured anywhere. When I received my policy #*** *** *** I was not convinced after reading the policy that it would cover me when I was injured on the job. I called in to Washington National voice my concerns to regarding the policy was reassured that my policy covered all disability's and with that I kept the policy. Fast forward 2 years later when I actually got hurt there changing they're tune saying now I was not covered. This is a form of false advertisement and misleading and it needs to stop!

Desired Settlement: I would like all my premiums of $70.30 dating back to Dec. 2013 to be returned which equals $1985.50. For assuring me I would be covered under all disability's they also said all conversations are recorded so they should have no problem pulling the record of our conversation where I was assured I'd be covered.

Business Response:

RE: Washington National Insurance Company

Consumer:  *** ******

Case Number: ********

Dear BBB of Central Indiana:

This letter is in response to your correspondence dated and received in our office April 4,

2016.  Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter.

In your correspondence you requested information regarding the above referenced complainant.  In compliance with state and federal privacy laws, we are required to restrict access to information in our files and may not disclose such information to other persons, except as authorized in writing or otherwise permitted by law. Since at this time we do not have an authorization on file to release information to you, we have communicated directly with Mr. ****** addressing his concerns.

We want to assure you our continued commitment to provide the best possible customer service.  If you have any questions, or if we may provide any further assistance, you may contact out customer service department at 800-541-2254.

 

Sincerely,

Michael ********

Consumer Relations

4/17/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/18/15 Randy ***** ************* Insurances Salesman) visited with me and my son about signing us up for their supplemental insurance. He misrepresented the policy and gave me bad advice. On 12/8/15 I received my policy and I took it to my accountant, only to find out that the information he gave me was misrepresented and I legally couldn't do it. On 12/11/15 I contacted the company via their fax number listed on the inside of the policy I received, and told them I wanted all of the policies canceled immediately. This was 3 days after I received my policy so I was well within the "Ten Day Option To Surrender" agreement. I know the cancellation was received because I received a call from Randy ***** as well as Dave B (701) 866-2601 (his supervisor), begging me to keep the policies in force. I told them absolutely not, I legally couldn't. On Feb 9th I called to see why the checks had not been sent for the full cancellation. It was at this point they told me they needed signed cancellation documentation. Not once in the surrender instructions does it specify signatures are required. My cancellation was received, if they needed additional documentation, it was their responsibility to let me know. I have everything documented from the faxes, faxes successfully sent, cancellation info, everything. I have sent it 4 times to their company. I would highly recommend everyone to stay clear of this company. I would assume I have some legal leg to stand on but it will cost me more than the $3,071.51 they owe me. Truly a dishonest company!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: The FULL refund that they owe me. They were notified of the cancellation, and all documents have been sent to them.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to your correspondence dated and received March 31, 2016, concerning the above-referenced ID number. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter.

We have responded direct to Mr. *** *******, both by telephone and in writing.

We want to assure you of our continued commitment to provide the best possible customer service. If you have any questions, or if we may be of further assistance, our office can be reached by calling (800) 541-2254.

Sincerely,

Angela ** *****

Consumer Relations

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As a potential customer of Washington National Insurance Company I would still recommend people to be cautious.  I was misled by their sales rep, which caused me to accept a policy erroneously.  Canceling the policy was very painful.  I did exactly what the policy book told me to, but it took me 4 months and tons of documentation to accomplish this.  I was told several times that they would not refund me according to their full refund policy.  Luckily I saved all faxes, emails, and text messages with the company and sales rep. as well as refusing to take no for an answer.

Yes they finally did fulfill their “Ten Day Option to Surrender” policy, but only because I forced their hand.

Regards,


***** *** *******


4/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got this insurance to help me cover expenses should I be out of work for an extended amount of time. I was rear ended in a car accident in October. I was out of work until January. I sent in all my paper work Doctor statement and forms from my employer to them. I also signed form for my doctor to send what ever information that they would need p. This was done around March 8 or 9. I received a letter Saturday stating they are still doing research in order to process my claim. I have done everything that they have asked me to do and I am still getting the run around. Dr. ****** is no longer at the office that I attend. I signed forms for Dr. ***** to release the information needed. I have no control over when the office will send the information nor should they continue to drag their feet.

Desired Settlement: Pay out for the time out of work per policy.

Business Response:

Dear BBB of Central Indiana:

This letter is in response to your correspondence received in our office on March 29,2016, regarding the above-referenced complainant. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter.

Policyholder's information is considered to be confidential; therefore, we require an authorization to release this information to you. We spoke with Ms. ******* on February25, March 8, and April 5, 2016. We also corresponded with her on March 23,2016, advising the required documentation needed to address her concerns.

We want to assure you of our continued commitment to provide the best possible customer service. If you have any questions, or if we niay provide any further assistance, you may contact our customer service department by dialing (800) 541-2254.

Sincerely,

Kimberly ******

Consumer Relations

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* *******

3/14/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They sent me two checks in the amount of $61.80 each. One check is dated 1/6/2016 and the other is 2/19/2016. After placing it into my bank account, I now am being charged a return fee for the check without any notification from this business. Which means, I am not receiving any of the money the checks were written out for and in the end, I am being charged $25 from my bank for them requesting to return the checks. This is my money because my employer was not able to stop the automatic withdraw from my paycheck two months afterwards.

Desired Settlement: I should receive my money back from the two checks that was taken out of my pay check in the amount of $122.60 and an additional $25.00 for the fees that my bank account is being charged due to their mistake. Too bad I can't charge them interest like they would me for each day since I am paying now for their mistake.

Business Response:

Washington National Insurance Company                                                                

PO Box 1916                                                                                                             

Carmel IN  46082-1916

March 3, 2016

BBB of Central Indiana

151 N. Delaware St #2020

Indianapolis, IN 46204

Re: Washington National Insurance Company

        Complainant: **** ******

        Case Number: ********

Dear BBB of Central Indiana:

This letter is in response to your correspondence received in our office on February 25, 2016.  Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter.

In your correspondence you requested information regarding the above referenced complainant.  In compliance with state and federal privacy laws, we are required to restrict access to information in our files and may not disclose such information to other persons, except as authorized in writing or otherwise permitted by law. Therefore, we require an authorization to release this information to you.  We have communicated directly with Ms. ****** addressing her concerns.

We want to assure you our continued commitment to provide the best possible customer service.  If you have any questions, or if we may provide any further assistance, you may contact out customer service department at 800-541-2254.

Sincerely,

                              

Tanya ******

Consumer Relations

2/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Customer Service on 19 Jan 15 at approximately 3:20 P.M. Talked to Monique she couldn't understand me, had to repeat myself 8 - 10 times. I asked to speak to Supervisor. She stated that Supervisor would call me back NO Later than 1 hour. Did not receive phone call. I called the next Monday and finally talked to Tracy ? Now she couldn't understand me either. Tried to explain about changing banks (sent them a VOIDED check) for draft in Dec 15, to start the following Jan. Received letter that "account couldn't be found". She said to call bank and tell them to call her back with account info, she also said that the problem was on bank's side. I called the bank and was told that there was NO Transaction tried, they said to have them (Washington National) to verify routing/account number. My wife called and talked to Shamer (?). THIS rep couldn't understand my wife. She FINALLY GOT IT THROUGH TO HIM on what to do. Person kept talking over us. This INDIVIDUAL had the AUDACITY to ask if WE HAD MONEY IN THE BANK. I tried to find an email address to either Mrs. Barbara Stewart or her representative, but could find none. We spent 56 minutes trying to FIX THEIR mistake. I'm sorry to say this, but all individuals had a heavy accent (Asian?).

Desired Settlement: Have individuals pay attention to inputting CORRECT information. Don't talk over the customer.

Business Response:

Washington National Insurance Company                                                                    

PO Box 1916                                                                                                                          

Carmel IN  46082-1916

January 25, 2016

BBB of Central Indiana

151 N. Delaware St. #2020

Indianapolis, IN 46204

RE: Washington National Insurance Company

            Complainant: ****** *********

            Case Number: ********

Dear BBB of Central Indiana:

This letter is in response to your correspondence dated and received in our office January 21, 2016.  Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter.

In your correspondence you requested information regarding the above referenced complainant.  In compliance with state and federal privacy laws, we are required to restrict access to information in our files and may not disclose such information to other persons, except as authorized in writing or otherwise permitted by law. Therefore, we require an authorization to release this information to you.  We have communicated directly with Mr. ********* addressing his concerns and the issue has been resolved to his satisfaction.

We want to assure you our continued commitment to provide the best possible customer service.  If you have any questions, or if we may provide any further assistance, you may contact our customer service department at 800-541-2254.

Sincerely,

                             

Tanya D*****

Consumer Relations

12/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/27/2015, I was sold a policy by an agent of PMAUSA representing Washington National Insurance. I was told that I had 30 days to review this policy with the option to cancel. A phone call was all that was needed, I called on 9/16/2015 at 4pm and canceled the policy and was told it would be take care of. On 9/28/2015 another payment was withdrawn from my bank account. I contacted a different agent, whom said I had to fax a notice of cancelation, which I did. 9 days later, another payment was taken from my bank account. I had to have my bank put a stop payment on that companies automatic withdrawals. Now with the 4 payment of $137.84, Washington National Insurance, owes me a refund check for $551.36. My emails to the agent have been blocked and returned. I have emailed a 3rd agent with no response.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of the 4 payments of $137.84, Washington National Insurance, owes me a refund check for $551.36.

Business Response: Washington National Insurance Company                                                                
PO Box 1916                                                                                                             
Carmel IN  46082-1916





December 17, 2015


BBB of Central Indiana
151 N. Delaware St. 2020
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2599




RE: Washington National Insurance Company
        Complainant: ***** ********
        Case Number: ********


Dear BBB of Central Indiana:

This letter is in response to your correspondence dated and received in our office December 14, 2015.  Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter.

In your correspondence you requested information regarding the above referenced complainant.  In compliance with state and federal privacy laws, we are required to restrict access to information in our files and may not disclose such information to other persons, except as authorized in writing or otherwise permitted by law. Therefore, we require an authorization to release this information to you.  We have communicated directly with Mr. ******** addressing his concerns.

We want to assure you our continued commitment to provide the best possible customer service.  If you have any questions, or if we may provide any further assistance, you may contact out customer service department at 800-541-2254.



Sincerely,



Tanya D*****
Consumer Relations

11/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A fixed annuity created in 1/16/1987 matured and made payable in 1/20/2014 has not been paid to either the annuity originator nor the beneficiary. Annuity custodian is Washington National Insurance Company, originators are jointly husband and spouse. Originator husband died in 1997. The annuity maturity value is due and payable now, the insurance company offers to pay the death benefit of the originator (a value from 18 years ago) not the maturity value. The company ignores written correspondence from the originator, the company refuses to acknowledge written terms in the contract, the company refused to comply with those terms, the company refuses to send quarterly statements from the annuity account.

Desired Settlement: 1) Comply with written terms of the annuity contract. 2) Send up-to-date annuity account statements. 3) Pay the annuity maturity value FULL AMOUNT.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to your correspondence received November 9, 2015, regarding the above-referenced case number. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter.

We have responded directly to the policy owner regarding this matter.

We want to assure you of our continued commitment to provide the best possible customer service. If you have any questions, or if we may be of further assistance, our office can be reached by calling (800) 621-3724.

Sincerely, 

 

Angela B****

Consumer Relations

 

11/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recived a tax form stating i recived almost $7000 from Washington National Insurance in 2014 i never recived Who got the moey

Desired Settlement: Where is the money i want my $7000

Business Response:

This letter is in response to your correspondence received in our office on October 21, 2015, regarding the above-referenced consumer. Thank you for the opportunity to research this matter.

 

In compliance with state and federal privacy laws, we are requires to restrict access to information in our files and may not disclose such persons, except as authorized in writing or otherwise permitted by law. We will provide a detailed response to the consumer ******* **********. 

We want to assure you of our continued commitment to provide the best possible service. If we may be of further service, please contact our customer service department at (800) 525-7662, extension *****.

Sincerely,

Nina B**** 

Consumer Relations

10/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A guy came in my work sell insurance, i looked at it but decided not to buy it. I have sent two letters and two faxes to cancel my account and yet they are still taking my money on each check. I don't want the survive- just my money

Desired Settlement: Refund the four weeks you've taken and quit drafting out more!

Business Response:

This letter is in response to your correspondence received in our office on September 29, 2015, regarding the above-referenced complainant. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter.

Policyholder's information is considered to be confidential; therefore, we require an authorization to release this information to you. We wrote ***** ***** directly on October 19,2015 addressing his concerns.

We want to assure you of our continued commitment to provide the best possible customer service. If you have an questions, or if we may provide any further assistance, you may contact our customer service department by dialing (800) 541-2254. 

Sincerely,

 

Kimberly H*****

Consumer Relations

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. 

Special thanks to Mrs. Harris for her great work!

Regards,

***** *****

9/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have multiple issues with this company. I have tried everything to make this process of filing claims with them easy. I provide them with all the information the only thing i do not do is cut the check. They are rude inconsiderate and do not pay claims on time. I i have been dealing with this company for over two years and not because i want to because we have a cancer policy and my spouse has cancer. I have been told not call everyday to check on my claims, I have been lied to as to what information is needed, and been told they did not get the information only to call back spoke to someone else and the information is right there. The supervisor i spoke to Jacqueline or customer service reps will tell you anything to get you off of the phone. I am just fed up. We have to live off these claims now that my husband has cancer so i diligently have to make sure that they are paid and paid correctly because this company does not care. I am mortified that we will be dealing with the worst customer service throughout the company until his cancer is in remission. I will be canceling my policy and moving it to a more empathetic company ASAP. I am also going to let everyone at the post office know how they will be treated so when the reps come by to sell them this policy i can share my experience with them.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be treated with respect and empathy from this company. I would also like my claims to be paid on time and expedited. I want to be contacted by someone else besides the Consumer relations who I have contacted via letter and phone and still no resolution.

Business Response: Tell us why here...Washington National Insurance Company                                                                
PO Box 1916                                                                                                             
Carmel IN  46082-1916
 
 
 
 
September 16, 2015
 
 
BBB of Central Indiana
151 N. Delaware St #2020
Indianapolis IN 46204
 
 
 
 
RE: Washington National Insurance Company
        Complainant: ***** ***** ********
        Case Number: ********
 
 
Dear BBB of Central Indiana:
 
This letter is in response to your correspondence dated September 14, 2015 and received in our office September 14, 2015.  Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter.
 
In your correspondence you requested information regarding the above referenced complainant.  In compliance with state and federal privacy laws, we are required to restrict access to information in our files and may not disclose such information to other persons, except as authorized in writing or otherwise permitted by law. Therefore, we require an authorization to release this information to you.  We have communicated directly with Mrs. ******** on several occasions and wish to confirm that this matter has since been resolved.
 
We want to assure you our continued commitment to provide the best possible customer service.  If you have any questions, or if we may provide any further assistance, you may contact our customer service department at 800-541-2254.
 
 
 
Sincerely,
 
                              
Tanya D*****
Consumer Relations

9/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a client of Washington National Insurance Company for a little over 15 years. I have always paid my premium hoping I would never need to use them. On October 25, 2014 I suffered a stroke due to a blood clot that dislodged from a bruise on my leg. I have been in rehab ever since. After 180 days my employer cut my salary to 2/3s normal pay as per contractual obligation. My savings has run out and I can no longer pay my bills such as my mortgage and utilities. I finally had to reach out to Washington National for the help they had always stated would be there. After speaking to the representative that has always been at my employer in order to sign up new members, I was told that I was eligible for help and that submitting a claim was easy. I submitted all the required paperwork including copies of my medical records on June15, 2015. It is now August 4,2015 and have received nothing. I have called numerous times to request info on the claim and told it was being processed and that the company has to do its due diligence before paying a claim. I understand that. Then on another date I was told they were reaching out to some of my doctors in my past to verify this was not an existing condition. I understand that too. However one of the doctors they reached out to sent the paperwork back blank, because he was a proctologist that treated me 5 years ago. A colonoscopy has absolutely nothing to do with a stroke that was caused by a bruise. And if I had a deep tissue bruise for over 5 years i would likely have seen another doctor about it. I called again and told them I submitted the medical records with the claim. They told me they were not allowed to receive medical records from the client. However they have sent me numerous letters requesting that I contact any doctor that has seen me for any ailments in the past 5 years to ask them to send them my medical records. So now instead of going to rehabilitation so that I can get better And return to work I have to sit in a doctors office to beg them to send Washington National any paperwork on me.

Desired Settlement: Payment of claim

Business Response:

















PO Box 1916

Carmel IN 46082-1916

 

 

August 11, 2015

 

***** ******

BBB of Central Indiana

151 N. Delaware Street #2020

Indianapolis, IN 46204-2599

 

 

 

Consumer: ***** ********

BBB ID No.: ********

                           

Dear Ms. ******:

 

This letter is in response to
your correspondence received in our office on August 4, 2015, 2015, regarding
the above-referenced ID number.  Thank
you for allowing us the opportunity to respond to this inquiry.

 

In compliance with state and
federal privacy laws, we are required to restrict access to information in our
files and may not disclose such information to other individuals, except as
authorized in writing or otherwise permitted by law. As such, I have contacted
Mr. ******** directly to provide him with details on the requirements still
needed in order to complete our claim evaluation. I also advised him that he
may contact me directly at any time to obtain updates on this matter.

 

If you have further questions
or need additional assistance, you may contact me directly by dialing 317-817-5595.

 

Sincerely,





Carmen T*****, AIRC, FFSI,
FLMI, FLHC, HIA

Consumer Relations

 

8/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother is 83 years old now, and she lives independently in her own home in Amarillo, Texas. She has a very moderate monthly income (of just under $2,500 per month) from Social Security and from a couple of long-term loans that are being repaid to her. She has no retirement pension. Her monthly expenses are only slightly less than her income, and, when all the bills are paid, she has around $220, as she says, for all the rest (food, gas, cleaning supplies, doggie care, and church tithes). One of the payments my mother makes each month is $82.81 for a long term care policy with the Washington National Insurance Company (WNIC). She has held this Home Health Care Policy (**********) since January 19, 1997, and she has dutifully paid her premium each month for nearly 20 years, even in times when it has been financially challenging for her to do so. Until very recently she had never made any claim for the benefits the policy promises. In March of last year my mother was diagnosed with lymphoma. This is a form of cancer that is relatively treatable with chemotherapy and radiation, and the success rate of the treatment is quite high. The side-effects of the treatment, on the other hand, can be quite debilitating for an octogenarian, and when my mother began to require assistance for a number of personal hygiene and safety matters, I encouraged her to contact a local provider for assistance. She then inquired with Amarillo Home Care Services (AHCS), and they agreed to draft a plan of care, submit it to the insurance company, and begin providing in-house assistance to my mother. On September 11, 2014 a plan of care was completed (see attached) and signed by both my mother and the ACHS agent (****** ******). The plan specifically notes that my mother needed assistance with certain Activities of Daily Living (ADLs): bathing, dressing, and toileting. These annotations are significant because my mothers policy states that she must require assistance in at least two ADLs in order to be eligible for benefits. On October 30, 2014 my mother received notification from WNIC that her eligibility for benefits had been denied. We appealed this decision, but in a letter dated January 7, 2015 the company explained that, after a review by management, it had concluded that my mother was not Functionally Incapacitated or Cognitively Impaired as required by the policy for benefit eligibility, and benefits were again denied. Not having the financial resources to pay for the assistance provided by AHCSs home health aides without support from WNIC, my mother had been forced to cancel all home health care services in October, and she was stuck with the bills for services that she could not pay. She still has an outstanding balance of over $500 with AHCS, and they have told her that they are turning it over to their attorneys now. On January 12, 2015 my mother, who had now been without any in-home support for over two months, had an appointment to see Dr. ********, her regular physician in Amarillo. Dr. ******** immediately recognized my mothers urgent need for assistance at home, and he referred her to Compassion Home Health Care (CHHC). CHHC promptly began to send a home health aide and physical therapists to my mothers house to assist her with the ADLs mentioned previously and to give her some training on how to better look out for herself when she is on her own. The assistance provided by CHHC continued from January 13, 2015 until late April, when my mother was feeling much better, and all of these services, thankfully, were covered by Medicare. In the meantime, my mother and I continued to appeal WNICs denial of benefits. In my letter of January 23, 2015 I noted: Since your refusal to provide the home health care benefits promised in my mothers policy, she has seen Dr. ********, her general practitioner, and he immediately recognized the medical need for assistance with the ADLs noted previously and provided a referral to another home health care provi

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund If the company is not going to provide the benefits it has promised, it should refund the 18 years of premiums my mother has paid.

Business Response:

Thank you for your correspondence from ***** *** *********, on behalf of ***** ** ********, regarding Ms. ********** policy with Washington National Insurance Company.

Under the heading Benefit Provisions, the policy states:

Benefit Eligibility: To be eligible for benefits provided by this policy, you must give us periodic proof, in the form of a certification and assessment from a Doctor (or other proof approved by us) which demonstrates that the covered care, services or other items are necessary because you are: (a) Functionally Incapacitated and cannot perform at least two Activities of Daily Living; or (b) Cognitively Impaired.

The policy defines Cognitive Impairment as follows:

"Cognitive Impairment" means the deterioration or loss in intellectual capacity requiring substantial supervision for protection of self and others; as established by the clinical diagnosis of any licensed practitioner in this state authorized to make such a diagnosis. Such diagnosis shall include the patient's history and physical, neurological, psychological and/or psychiatric evaluations, and laboratory findings.

The policy defines Functional Incapacity as follows:

"Functional Incapacity" means the inability to perform, without human assistance, in two or more of the following Activities of Daily Living. The Activities of Daily Living used to measure Functional Incapacity are:

 

1.      Bathing — the ability to wash oneself by sponge bath; or in either a tub or shower, including the task of getting into or out of the tub or shower.

2.      Continence — the ability to maintain control of bowel or bladder function, or, when unable to maintain control of bowel or bladder function, the ability to perform associated personal hygiene (including caring for catheter or colostomy bag).

3.      Dressing — the ability to put on or take off all items of clothing and any necessary braces, fasteners, or artificial limbs.

4.      Eating — the ability to feed oneself by getting food into the body from a receptacle such as a plate, cup, or table or by a feeding tube or intravenously.

5.      Toileting — the ability to get to and from the toilet, getting on and off the toilet, and performing associated personal hygiene.

6.      Transferring — sufficient mobility to move into or out of a bed, chair, or wheelchair or to move from place to place, either via walking, a wheelchair or other means.

The evidence that we reviewed indicated that Ms. ******** did not meet the definition of Cognitive Impairment .or the definition of Functional Incapacity.

Amarillo Home Care Services provided a Plan of Care with a notation that they would not be providing any help with Activities of Daily Living (ADL's), but would only be performing homemaker services.

We reviewed the Aide Visit Notes that were completed by the caregivers from Amarillo Home Care Services. In the notes for each visit, it was documented that the only services performed were housekeeping and meal preparation, and that no assistance with the policy's Activities of Daily Living was provided. Each day's notes were signed by the caregiver and by Ms. ********.

An in-person assessment visit was conducted on October 5, 2014 by an independent nurse from an outside agency. The nurse's report showed that Ms. ******** required no assistance with any of the policy's specified Activities of Daily Living (ADL's), and that she did not have Cognitive Impairment as defined by the policy.

Ms. ******** subsequently verified by telephone on October 24, 2014 that she did not require assistance with any of the ADL's defined in the policy, and confirmed that she was able to perform them independently.

It was concluded therefore that Ms. ******** was not Functionally Incapacitated or Cognitively Impaired as required by the policy for benefit eligibility. Eligibility is not based on diagnosis. Benefits can only be paid in accordance with the terms and conditions of the policy. She was mailed a letter on October 30; 2014 advising of the denial.

An appeal was received December 20, 2014. Ms. ********** claim was then reviewed by management in a formal Appeals process. After careful review, it was determined that the denial of benefit eligibility would be upheld as she did not meet the policy's stated eligibility requirements.

 

A second appeal was received May 7, 2015, A review of Ms. ********** claim was then conducted by senior management. Benefits can only be approved in accordance with the policy contract. Therefore the denial of Home Health Care benefits was upheld as she did not meet the policy's stated eligibility requirements.

Under the heading Benefit Provisions, the policy states:

Independent Living Benefit: We will pay an Independent Living Benefit to you while this policy is in force. We will pay this benefit if it is determined by your doctor or Care Coordinator that you are having difficulty performing two or more Activities of Daily Living. The Independent Living benefit includes such services as shopping, housekeeping, transportation, and cooking. In no event will the amount of this benefit exceed the Independent Living Benefit Lifetime Maximum shown on the Schedule.

Please be advised that Ms. ********** benefits were considered under the Independent Living Benefit. On March 25, 2015, she was mailed a letter and plan of care advising her benefits were approved for dates of service September 16, 2014 through October 4, 2014. On April 1, 2015, she was issued a benefit payment of $378.00 for dates of service ranging from September 16, 2014 through September 30, 2014.

Enclosed is a copy of the policy, the Explanation of Benefits, medical records used in the

determination, aforementioned correspondence and call log. If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact Ketrina ******, Supervisor, at (317) 566-7494 or fax them to (317) 566­7588.

Sincerely,

 

Jaime ****

Consumer Support Specialist

WASHINGTON NATIONAL INSURANCE COMPANY

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

***** *** *********











Dear Sir:

 

In your reply to our inquiry you noted that we should
respond within 5 business days to the explanation of Washington National Insurance
Company (WNIC) for their denial of benefits to my mother. I currently reside in
China and have been traveling considerably these last few days, but I trust we
have not exceeded our allotted time.

 

For our part, we would be very happy to see our complaint,
WNIC’s response, and our rebuttal of that response posted on the BBB website.
Frankly, we believe that the corporate policies of the company should be
exposed for what they are—fraud—and that there should be some accountability
for the malfeasance and, in this case, the exploitation of the elderly.

 

As I noted previously, my mother is 83 years old now, and she
has held a home health care insurance policy with WNIC for nearly 20 years
(since January of 1997).  Until September
of 2014, when she was diagnosed with lymphoma, my mother had never made a claim
for benefits. However, the side-effects of the treatment (chemotherapy and
radiation) for her cancer were quite debilitating, and my mother, who lives
independently in her own house, began to require assistance with some matters
of personal hygiene and safety (dressing, bathing, toileting, and
transferring). At my encouragement, my mother requested assistance from
Amarillo Home Care Services (AHCS) for some in-house support.

 

The AHCS staff drafted a detailed plan of care for my mother,
one that specifically noted her need for assistance with certain Activities of
Daily Living (ADL): dressing, bathing, and toileting. These annotations are
significant, since WNIC bases eligibility for benefits on the need for
assistance with ADL’s. In October, however, despite my mother’s obvious and
urgent need for assistance, WNIC rejected her claim for benefits.  Our appeal of this rejection was subsequently
denied. Shortly afterwards, my mother’s personal physician recognized her urgent
need for assistance in the house and provided a referral to another home health
care provider, one that is supported by Medicare, and they have been providing
assistance to my mother in the house since their initial assessment of need.

 

I would also like to point out that, despite their
consistent denial of most benefits, WNIC did finally recognize in March of this
year that my mother was eligible for their Independent Living Benefit, and they
paid the lifetime cap of $378, after
which, they told us emphatically, she was no longer eligible for any further
assistance. In her letter of March 25, Melinda ******* noted: “Your claim for
benefits has been reviewed. We have determined that you qualified for benefits
based on the provision in your provision in your policy. You were eligible for
benefits from September 16, 2014.” It is worth noting, however, that the terms
of my mother’s policy with WNIC specify that this Independent Living Benefit
can only be provided “if it is determined by your doctor or Care Coordinator
that you are having difficulty performing two or more Activities of Daily
Living.” To me it seems that the company has here explicitly recognized the
very need that they have in other instances consistently denied.

 

We have now been appealing the company’s denial of benefits
for about ten months, but from the beginning it has consistently delayed,
deferred, and denied our appeals. Perhaps they are simply hoping that if they
wait long enough, my mother will pass on and no longer require any
assistance.  For our part, we have now
recognized that the policy we purchased nearly 20 years ago was a scam and that
we will never see any benefits from WNIC, a shamelessly unscrupulous and corrupt
company preying on the elderly.

 

Best regards,

 

*** ********** *****



Dear Sir:

 

In your reply to our inquiry you noted that we should
respond within 5 business days to the explanation of Washington National Insurance
Company (WNIC) for their denial of benefits to my mother. I currently reside in
China and have been traveling considerably these last few days, but I trust we
have not exceeded our allotted time.

 

For our part, we would be very happy to see our complaint,
WNIC’s response, and our rebuttal of that response posted on the BBB website.
Frankly, we believe that the corporate policies of the company should be
exposed for what they are—fraud—and that there should be some accountability
for the malfeasance and, in this case, the exploitation of the elderly.

 

As I noted previously, my mother is 83 years old now, and she
has held a home health care insurance policy with WNIC for nearly 20 years
(since January of 1997).  Until September
of 2014, when she was diagnosed with lymphoma, my mother had never made a claim
for benefits. However, the side-effects of the treatment (chemotherapy and
radiation) for her cancer were quite debilitating, and my mother, who lives
independently in her own house, began to require assistance with some matters
of personal hygiene and safety (dressing, bathing, toileting, and
transferring). At my encouragement, my mother requested assistance from
Amarillo Home Care Services (AHCS) for some in-house support.

 

The AHCS staff drafted a detailed plan of care for my mother,
one that specifically noted her need for assistance with certain Activities of
Daily Living (ADL): dressing, bathing, and toileting. These annotations are
significant, since WNIC bases eligibility for benefits on the need for
assistance with ADL’s. In October, however, despite my mother’s obvious and
urgent need for assistance, WNIC rejected her claim for benefits.  Our appeal of this rejection was subsequently
denied. Shortly afterwards, my mother’s personal physician recognized her urgent
need for assistance in the house and provided a referral to another home health
care provider, one that is supported by Medicare, and they have been providing
assistance to my mother in the house since their initial assessment of need.

 

I would also like to point out that, despite their
consistent denial of most benefits, WNIC did finally recognize in March of this
year that my mother was eligible for their Independent Living Benefit, and they
paid the lifetime cap of $378, after
which, they told us emphatically, she was no longer eligible for any further
assistance. In her letter of March 25, Melinda ******* noted: “Your claim for
benefits has been reviewed. We have determined that you qualified for benefits
based on the provision in your provision in your policy. You were eligible for
benefits from September 16, 2014.” It is worth noting, however, that the terms
of my mother’s policy with WNIC specify that this Independent Living Benefit
can only be provided “if it is determined by your doctor or Care Coordinator
that you are having difficulty performing two or more Activities of Daily
Living.” To me it seems that the company has here explicitly recognized the
very need that they have in other instances consistently denied.

 

We have now been appealing the company’s denial of benefits
for about ten months, but from the beginning it has consistently delayed,
deferred, and denied our appeals. Perhaps they are simply hoping that if they
wait long enough, my mother will pass on and no longer require any
assistance.  For our part, we have now
recognized that the policy we purchased nearly 20 years ago was a scam and that
we will never see any benefits from WNIC, a shamelessly unscrupulous and
corrupt company preying on the elderly.

 

Best regards,

 

*** ********** *****













Dear Sir:

 

In your reply to our inquiry you noted that we should
respond within 5 business days to the explanation of Washington National Insurance
Company (WNIC) for their denial of benefits to my mother. I currently reside in
China and have been traveling considerably these last few days, but I trust we
have not exceeded our allotted time.

 

For our part, we would be very happy to see our complaint,
WNIC’s response, and our rebuttal of that response posted on the BBB website.
Frankly, we believe that the corporate policies of the company should be
exposed for what they are—fraud—and that there should be some accountability
for the malfeasance and, in this case, the exploitation of the elderly.

 

As I noted previously, my mother is 83 years old now, and she
has held a home health care insurance policy with WNIC for nearly 20 years
(since January of 1997).  Until September
of 2014, when she was diagnosed with lymphoma, my mother had never made a claim
for benefits. However, the side-effects of the treatment (chemotherapy and
radiation) for her cancer were quite debilitating, and my mother, who lives
independently in her own house, began to require assistance with some matters
of personal hygiene and safety (dressing, bathing, toileting, and
transferring). At my encouragement, my mother requested assistance from
Amarillo Home Care Services (AHCS) for some in-house support.

 

The AHCS staff drafted a detailed plan of care for my mother,
one that specifically noted her need for assistance with certain Activities of
Daily Living (ADL): dressing, bathing, and toileting. These annotations are
significant, since WNIC bases eligibility for benefits on the need for
assistance with ADL’s. In October, however, despite my mother’s obvious and
urgent need for assistance, WNIC rejected her claim for benefits.  Our appeal of this rejection was subsequently
denied. Shortly afterwards, my mother’s personal physician recognized her urgent
need for assistance in the house and provided a referral to another home health
care provider, one that is supported by Medicare, and they have been providing
assistance to my mother in the house since their initial assessment of need.

 

I would also like to point out that, despite their
consistent denial of most benefits, WNIC did finally recognize in March of this
year that my mother was eligible for their Independent Living Benefit, and they
paid the lifetime cap of $378, after
which, they told us emphatically, she was no longer eligible for any further
assistance. In her letter of March 25, Melinda ******* noted: “Your claim for
benefits has been reviewed. We have determined that you qualified for benefits
based on the provision in your provision in your policy. You were eligible for
benefits from September 16, 2014.” It is worth noting, however, that the terms
of my mother’s policy with WNIC specify that this Independent Living Benefit
can only be provided “if it is determined by your doctor or Care Coordinator
that you are having difficulty performing two or more Activities of Daily
Living.” To me it seems that the company has here explicitly recognized the
very need that they have in other instances consistently denied.

 

We have now been appealing the company’s denial of benefits
for about ten months, but from the beginning it has consistently delayed,
deferred, and denied our appeals. Perhaps they are simply hoping that if they
wait long enough, my mother will pass on and no longer require any
assistance.  For our part, we have now
recognized that the policy we purchased nearly 20 years ago was a scam and that
we will never see any benefits from WNIC, a shamelessly unscrupulous and corrupt
company preying on the elderly.

 

Best regards,

 

*** ********** *****


5/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I submitted a claim form on 02/28/15 due to surgery for hysterectomy. My claim has not been processed. The doctor/surgeon submitted claim forms in March 2015. The insurance company requested a questionairre be completed by PCP who has no information on hysterectomy and by the surgeon who I saw 02/2015 and medical records. Both doctors submitted paperwork/questionnaire showing I was diagnosed and treated on 03/03/15. I made the PCP aware of my surgery when I went in for a visit during the week of Easter so they have no information regarding my surgery. Also,the questionnaires had nothing to do with my current illness; just questions that would make me ineligible if I were to file a claim again and have any of the illnesses that were listed in the questionnaire which both doctors answered no to all questions regarding pre-existing illnesses. I continue to pay my premium of approximately $108 monthly and they have not paid my claim. I am off on FMLA until May 2,2015.

Desired Settlement: I would like payment for the time that I have been on FMLA

Business Response:

This letter is in response to your correspondence received in our office on April 15, April 27 and May 12, 2015, concerning the above-referenced policy numbers. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter.

Policyholder's information is considered to be confidential; therefore, we require an authorization to release this information to you. We mailed correspondence to ***** ***** on April 21 and May 7, 2015 and spoke to her directly on May 12, 2015, addressing her concerns.

We want to assure you of our continued commitment to provide the best possible customer service. If you have any questions, or if we may provide any further assistance, you may contact our customer service department by dialing (800) 541-2254.

Sincerely,

Kimberly ******

Consumer Relations

1/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello I am ******** * ***** in 2010 a person came for the ****** **** ****** to my job to help people opening a banking account at ****** *****. And I were one of the people. She all so sing me up for life insurance but I never know that she opening a cancer insurance until I ask question at the bank about the life insurance. Then I was told that I have a second which Washington insurance company worth taking money for my account without my knowledge. I never received a letter, a call or a email tell me that I am a member of Washington insurance but the company still taking money for my account. When I was told about this insurance I call and cancel immediately. They told me that I have to send a cancellation letter to the company and I did. I ask how long before the company send my money and I were told its take 27 day before I reiceve a check but on suturday i reicever a letter saying that I will not be refund because I cancel the insurance before 2030 which I didn't no about this company have taking money that I work hard for for 2010 to 2014 I need them to retire so I am asking for your help my policy number is ********* how could I pay for something that I never got a policy on or a letter please help me god bless

Desired Settlement: That I will not revive no money back. The company told for my account and I like to have my money back as soon as I can. I don't need there help there are people the take for you

Business Response:

This letter is in response to your correspondence received in our office on December 3, and December 17, 2014, regarding the above-referenced policy number. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter.

In your correspondence you requested information regarding the above referenced complainant. ******** ** ***** information is considered to be confidential; therefore, we require an authorization to release this information to you. We contacted ******** ** ***** directly on December 17, and December 19, 2014 and addressed her concerns.

We want to assure you of our continued commitment to provide the best possible customer service. If you have any questions, or if we may provide any further assistance, you may contact our customer service department by dialing (800) 541-2254.

Sincerely,

******** ******

Consumer Relations<

11/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I began purchasing a cancer policy in May of 1994, with a return of premium promise in 20 years, which came this past May. About 2 years ago they raised my premium, and sent me a form to fill out so they could up the premium as it was being deducted from my payroll. I sent the form in, they claimed they never got it, and cancelled my policy, about 18 months before they were going to owe me about $8000.00. They have been getting payments by weekly even after they canceled my policy. They refuse to work with me at all. It looks like to me they had a plan to not pay me the money they owe.

Desired Settlement: I want my premium returned to me as promised, or at least part of it.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to your correspondence received in our office October 27, 2014, regarding Mr. ****** policy. Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the inquiry,

Due to privacy restrictions detailed under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (I-EPAA), the policyholder's permission is required prior to divulging any information relating to the policy to a third party. The purpose of these privacy restrictions is to maintain appropriate safeguards to protect the privacy of personal health information and set limits and conditions on the uses and disclosures that may be made of such information without the policyholder's signed authorization.

We are responding directly to Mr. ****** with some options to allow him to keep his policy. We appreciate Mr. ****** taking the time to make us aware of his concerns, We regret that he experienced service that did not meet his expectations. Our associates are trained to assist our valuable policyholders with all of their needs and we look forward to this opportunity to continue improving our service,

If you have any questions or if we may be any further assistance, you may contact our customer service department by calling (800) 541-2254.

Sincerely,

**** ********  Consumer Relations

11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/7/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Death policies were purchased October 15, 1988 for myself and my husband, with a face value of $20,000.00 each. Loans were made against both policies from the cash value accumulated.My husband's loan amount was $5,630.02, his monthly premium was $70.70 that was paid every month on time. We also paid the interest on our loans every year per statements sent requesting the interest. My Husband, ****** ***** expired March 1, 2014 a claim was filed. Washington National Insurance Company sent a check in the amount of $8,387.79. A call was made, a letter sent stating that amount was not the sufficient amount per the policy. Another check was sent in the of $2,816.19, with no explanation, received June 12, 2014; however, there is still a delinquent amount due. A registered letter was sent to Washington National demanding the outstanding balance of $3,166.00, with a follow-up call, was told it takes 20-days to review the request, it has been over 45 days. Washington National Insurance Company is not honoring the contractual agreement of the policy. This is the just cause for filing against the company.

Desired Settlement: To be sent a check in the amount of $3,166.00, the amount that is due from the death benefit of the life insurance policy.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to your correspondence dated and received August 19, 2014, concerning the above-referenced ID Number. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter.

We have responded directly Mrs. ***** regarding her concerns.

We want to assure you of our continued commitment to provide the best possible customer service. If you have any questions, or if we may be of further assistance, you may contact me directly by calling (317) 817-**** or by fax by dialing (317) 817-6543.

Sincerely,

****** ** ***** Consumer Relations

9/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: husband died 12yrs ago. for the 1st time, recvd letter from company requesting copy of death certficate. policy was origianlly thru employer via Conseco of which was bought out by Washington National. sent in husband death certificate and per ltr sd would take 23 business days to process and issue refund and update premium policy. called back 7/31. still not processed over 23 days. called back 8/5/14; still not processed and allegedly 72 hrs to update. called back 8/15/14 told same thing. called back 8/22/14 still nothing yet on each call they would tell me certificate on file, yes we see you want to drop your husband and yes your refund will be processed. all of a sudden i get a ltr dated 8/29 stating they recvd request to cancel my policy. i called and spoke to someone calling themselves ***** tellinh him i did not choose to drop polic only my husband is to be dropped and my premium changed and my refund. i told him i been paying over 30 yrs on policy why would i drop now. he sd another ltr was sent dated June 24th that i never recvd requesting more options. i told him i NEVER recvd any other correspondence from them but the ltr asking for copy of death certificate. NOW IM BEING TOLD I ASKED TO CANCEL POLICY. ON oringial ltr it gave me 2 options. 1 indicating my husband not deceased and the other only option was asking yes i wish to cancel policy for person due to enclosed death certificate. i tols him misleading and this was a bunch of bs that the 2 options given on letter give u no choice but to say cancel the deceased person not the entire policy for everyone. still no refund and i feel they are givingme run around and taking advantage.

Desired Settlement: DO NOT CANCEL MY POLICY AND DROP MY DECEASED HUSBAND AS REQUESTED PER RESAON OF SENDING IN DEATH CERTIFICATE AND SEND ME MY REFUND AND UPDATE POLICY PREMIUM TO RELFECT JUST ME, THE INSURED REMANING ON THE POLICY

Business Response:

This letter is in response to your correspondence dated September 8, 2014, regarding the above-referenced case ID number. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond to this inquiry.

We have recently cross-checked our records of insured individuals using a database administered by the Social Security Administration (SSA). The database contains records of individuals who have been reported as deceased to the SSA. The database is monitored for any records matching our insured's information. A review of records indicated that Mr. **** may have passed away. In an attempt to update our policy records, we sent a letter to our policyholder, dated May 14, 2014. We inadvertently sent the incorrect form letter. We apologize for the confusion created by our correspondence.

On June 24, 2014, we sent revised correspondence advising Mrs. **** that the policy may need to be amended if Mr. **** was deceased. This correspondence provided Mrs. **** with multiple options. One of the options allowed Mrs. **** to change her coverage to an individual policy.

On June 26, 2014, we received Mrs. ****'s response to our initial correspondence, which only allowed her two options. Mrs. **** submitted a copy of the death certificate, requesting us to cancel the policy. Mrs. ****'s subsequent telephone calls indicated that she did not wish to cancel her coverage.

We have contacted Mrs. **** and confirmed that we have processed the refund for the portion of the premium paid for Mr. ****'s coverage since the date of his death. We also confirmed with Mrs. **** that her policy was active. I provided her with my contact information for any future questions related to this matter. We apologize for the delays in processing the refund, and trust that any future interactions Mrs. **** may have with our company will be more to her satisfaction.

We wish to assure you of our continued commitment to provide the best possible service. If you have further questions or need additional assistance, you may contact me directly by dialing 317-817-****.

Sincerely,

****** ******, AIRC, FLHC, FLMI, HIA Consumer Relations

8/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has no accountability for my money that they have. I have over $30,000 invested in this company and I get no financial information from them unless I call and complain on the phone, and that alone takes a good hour. Their representatives lie and say they are in Indiana, but they are actually in Jamaica, and could care less if they help you or not. Over 10 years ago, I took out a loan against my annuity, and it was to be paid off over 10 years. I have never missed a payment, and after 10 years, they say I still owe $7648.45. They are sending me a list of payments made by me, but they say that is going to take 18-20 days! TO MAIL A PIECE OF PAPER??? I can't look up my account online because as the representative, ******, said to me,"We haven't seen any justification in online services yet, but we are looking into it." Seriously?? But I'm suppose to wait 20 days for them to mail me the information!! They are suppose to be mailing me annual statements of this account, but they don't. The last statement I received from them was June 2013, and then only because I complained and called them for it. When I again asked them today, why I'm not receiving statements, they don't have an answer. Plus, I just found out today that this company isn't going by Conseco anymore, it's now Washington National Insurance Co. That was news to me! I am very worried about the money I have invested in this company, and the loan payments that I have made for over 10 years. Please investigate this company and help me to get my money out of there.

Desired Settlement: I want this complaint listed on their site, and I would like help in making them send me future statements, with correct and current information. I would also like help in finding out where the monthly paymens of $250-$300, have been going for 10 years, if I still owe $7648.45.Thank you!

Business Response:

This letter is in response to your correspondence dated and received July 30, 2014, concerning the above-referenced ID Number. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter.

We have responded directly Ms. ***** regarding her concerns.

We want to assure you of our continued commitment to provide the best possible customer service. If you have any questions, or if we may be of further assistance, you may contact me directly by calling (317) 817-5311 or by fax by dialing (317) 817-6543.

Sincerely,

****** ** ** ***** Consumer Relations

7/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a $5000 Whole Life Policy (for my burial) on Jan.22, 1996. The monthly premium is $29.50. I have paid $6,549.00 in monthly premiums so far. I've been told it was illegal to charge someone more than the face value of the policy. I called the insurance co. and talked to a woman named ***** and she said if I wanted to keep the policy I would have to keep paying the $29.50 a month. She said if I cashed it out now I would get $2600.

Desired Settlement: I want to KEEP my policy and I think the ins. co. should re-imburse me for the difference between the face value of the policy and what I've actually paid in. That would be $1549.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to your correspondence dated and received July 7, 2014, concerning the above referenced ID number. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter.

We have been advised that Mr. *********** passed away on July 7, 2014. We have responded to this issue by providing a response to Mr. ***********'s daughter, ******* **** under separate cover.

We want to assure you of our continued commitment to provide the best possible customer service. If you have any questions, or if we may be of further assistance, you may contact me directly by calling (317) 817-**** or by fax by dialing (317) 817-6543.

Sincerely,

****** ** *****

Consumer Relations

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Per phone conversation with this company back in December 2013, we were told that they would stop taking the premium amounts out of their checking account. The amount is $22.30 per month and this has been taken out since December. On June 2, we called and they stated that in order to cancel this policy it needed to be in writing, so a letter was sent. Today, 6/23/14, we called back asking for a reimbursement of the money that was taken out of their account. The total amount is $133.80, and we asked for this amount to be sent back. The person told us no, that can't be done, the cancellation process needed to be done in writing. We were not told this in December, and want that money returned that was taken inappropriately.

Desired Settlement: Want $133.80 refunded.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to your correspondence dated and received on June 23, 2014, regarding the above-referenced policy number. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address this matter.

In your correspondence you requested information regarding the above reference complainant. ****** ** ***** information is considered to be confidential; therefore, we require an authorization to release this information to you. We mailed correspondence directly to Mr. **** on July 2, 2014 addressing his concerns.

We want to assure you of our continued commitment to provide the best possible customer service. If you have any questions, or if we may provide any further assistance, you may contact our customer service department by dialing (800) 541-2254.

Sincerely,

******** ******

Consumer Relations

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Set up direct withdrawal from ********* **** Acct. for ***** *** *********** secondary health insurance 2/25/14. Spoke with ****** 800-541-****. Faxed in Direct withdrawal form to 317-817-5235 2/25/14. Was told to send a check for $344.36 since direct withdrawal may not occur as soon as 3/6/14. Check # **** mailed 2/25/14. 3/11/14 recieved a letter dated 3/3/14 from Wash. Natl. confirming auto draft of $362.58 was set up and would be drafted 3/6/14 which it was. 3/11/114 Spoke with ****** @ 13:10 asking why the difference of $18.22 and was told because ***** would no longer get the discount for paying annually in 1 lump sum. I asked if I should send in the difference of $18.22 and then we would be paid for March and April. She said no. Start getting bills with premium date due 4/1/14 of $372.91. 4/14/14 spoke with *********** 12:53 and was told to do nothing with these bills and that a querie was sent to see what was happening. More bills for $372.91 keep coming. 4/16/14 receive a letter from Wash. Natl. dated 4/4/14 informing that there is a shortage of $18.22 due and to submit within 15 days of the date of the letter and then policy would be paid up to 5/1/14. Impossible since I didn't get the letter until 4/16/14 and it needed to be in by 4/19/14. Mailed check # **** for $18.22 on 4/16/14. 4/25/14 receive a check #******* in the mail for $344.36 from Wash. Natl. . 4/28/14 spoke with ******* @ 8:08 and told to overnight a check for $362.58 to Wash. Natl. c/o ****** **** and then auto withdrawal would resume 5/6/14. Check # **** for $362.58 was overnighted and arrived in Pittsburgh 4/29/14 @ 10:32. 5/5/14 spoke with ******* and she reported that the check that was overnighted had been applied and that policy was paid to 5/1/14. 5/7/14 checked to make sure that auto withdrawal had occured as was scheduled on 3/6/14 but it hadn't. 5/8/14 spoke with ******* 11:43 asking why no auto withdrawal on 5/6/14. Told to send another check to Wash. Natl. c/o ****** **** in Pittsburgh for $372.91 and then supposedly auto withdrawal would occur next month 6/6/14. Said the amount due was $372.91 NOT $362.58 as is documented in 2 letters from Washington National that I am currently looking at. I asked to speak with a supervisor. Waiting to hear from one!

Desired Settlement: All we want is to have auto withdrawal of $362.58 from Citi***** **** for ***** *********** secondary health insurance (**********) on the 6th of every month as was set up 2/25/14 with a letter confirming this from Washington National Insurance dated 3/3/14.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to the correspondence we received on May 8, 2014. Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your inquiry.

In your correspondence you requested policy specific information. Policy specific information is considered to be confidential information; therefore, we require an authorization to release this information to you. In order to insure our client's privacy, we require Ms. *********'s permission before providing the documentation you have requested. Therefore we have responded directly to the complainant regarding this matter.

We want to assure you of our continued commitment to provide our policyholders with the best service possible. If you have any questions or if we may be any further assistance, you may contact our customer service department by dialing (800) 541-2254.

Sincerely,

***** ********

Consumer Relations

5/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: With all my faith and belief, I met with a Washington National insurance agent and discussed my disability policy and needs in the fall of 2013. I had an active policy with NTA Life and Washington National promised a better policy, ease of claims processing, greater benefit, excellent customer service and the list goes on and on. Life happened in January 2014, I was placed on emergency medical leave and filed a claim with Washington National in late January/early February 2014. As of today, April 6, 2014, they have not fully processed my claim nor have I received a payment. I have fax receipts and mail receipts to prove all the required documents have been sent to the company but they make duplicate requests for previously sent material. I strongly believe that this is a strategy to delay claim processing and frustrate customers into walking away exhausted. Furthermore, I am concerned that Washington National doesn't respect all disability categories. I was diagnosed with severe depression, anxiety, high blood pressure and insomnia. My physical health has been severely impacted by these diagnoses. High blood pressure alone causes damage to the arteries and I had to work for several months to gain control of my blood pressure or the consequences can be a stroke or heart attack. I can't afford to deal with high blood pressure complications again because my arteries need to repair and strengthen. Sadly, I am now experiencing issues with my high blood pressure because of the stress caused by Washington National. The organic insomnia has impacted the functionality of my brain, specifically my brain is blocking GAMA which helps regulate sleep patterns. In short, my body is going through numerous physical changes that are both visible and invisible!!! You can't see physical wounds or scars but my depression left me crippled and unable to care for myself or my child. I participated in an outpatient treatment program but my doctors were so concerned that they preferred an inpatient program, however I refused to abandon my child. I am healing slowly but I don't have the energy to continue fighting to receive my due benefits. I regret leaving NTA Life but I truly believe that my decision to sign with Washington National would provide better financial support for my household. NTA Life's benefits were less but I would have received payment within 3 weeks and not 3 months which is the current situation. I don't know how Washington National treats customers with severed limbs, broken bones, bleeding sores, or other physical ailments but I assure you that while my wounds are not visible, I am experiencing similar pains. I need my benefits to survive and I deserve them! I signed up for a STD disability policy and now that I have a STD disability, Washington National isn't holding true to its promises to care for customers. I am so frustrated, stressed out, and becoming ill all over again because of the treatment I've received from this illegitimate company. I am in the healing stages and this type of stress may lead to a relapse but Washington National isn't in the business of caring for people with disabilities, emotionally or financially.

Desired Settlement: I want my STD benefits to be paid fully. Afterwards, I would like to severe ties with this company!!!

Business Response:

This letter is in response to your correspondence received in our office on April 17, 2014, regarding the above insured. Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Due to privacy restrictions detailed under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (H1PAA), the policyholder's permission is required prior to divulging any information relating to the policy to a third party. The purpose of these privacy restrictions is to maintain appropriate safeguards to protect the privacy of personal health information and set limits and conditions on the uses and disclosures that may be made of such information without policyholder authorization.

We are responding to the South Carolina Department of Insurance concerning Ms. **********' inquiry. We have also replied directly to Ms. ********** concerning this issue.

We appreciate Ms ********** taking the time to make us aware of her concerns. One of the goals of Washington National Insurance Company is to offer the highest level of quality customer service to all of our valued policyholders. We regret that she experienced service that did not meet her expectations. Our associates are trained to assist our valuable policyholders with all of their needs and we look forward to this opportunity to continue improving our service.

If you have any questions or if we may be any further assistance, you may contact our customer service department by calling (800) 541-2254.

Sincerely,

**** ******** Consumer Relations

5/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Customer requested to cash out Washington National annuity policy. Customer cooperated with Washington National systems and expectations. Washington National did not respond in a timely fashion, did not undertake the transaction, and instead requested more forms and information after said was already provided.

Desired Settlement: The desired settlement is full cash out value of the annuity policy. This is the only acceptable outcome.

Business Response:

Your letter dated March 31, 2014 regarding the above-referenced matter has been referred to my attention for a response.

In compliance with state and federal privacy laws; we are required to restrict access to policy information to the policy owner. We disclose information only as authorized in writing by the policy owner or as otherwise permitted by law. We have not received written authorization from the policy owner to release information to you; therefore, we will respond directly to the policy owner regarding the issues presented.

Should you have any questions, please contact me directly at 469-242-****.

Sincerely,

****** ******, FLMI, AIRC, PCS, HIA

 Customer Relations Representative

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Washington National is still playing a cruel game of deceit.

***** from Washington National contacted us and indicated that the check that Washington National said was mailed March 13 has not been cashed.  She offered to put a stop payment on that check and re-issue a check and FedEx it.  We accepted this offer.   By following the tracking number, one could see that on Wednesday morning, 4.9.2014, FedEx had been contacted to pick up an overnight letter.  Then at 4:39 pm the same day, the shipment was cancelled by the sender (Washington National).

We tried to contact ***** by phone, leaving a voice message.  No response.

 

Regards,

**** *******

 

 

Business Response:

We are in receipt of your additional inquiry dated April 11, 2014 regarding.the above-referenced matter.

 

As we previously advised, we are required to restrict access to policy information to the policy owner. As we have not received written authorization from the policy owner to release information to you, we will respond directly to the policy owner regarding the issues presented in your letter.

 

Should you have any questions, please contact me directly at 469-242-****.

 

Sincerely,

 

****** ******* ******, FLMI, AIRC, PCS, HIA Customer Relations Representative

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This salesman came to our home on a Friday trying to sell us a cancer policy and wouldn't leave. He was here from around 4:30 until 8. We said we needed time to think about the insurance and would let him know. He said he was just in the area that day and if we would just fill out the application then we would have 30 days to think about it. Just to get rid of him we gave him information to fill our application and a voided check ( I know we shouldn't have) full knowing that we would call back and cancel. The following week we called to cancel. They couldn't find our application in the system by social security, name or birthdate so they figured it would be a problem to cancel. I had previously called the salesman and left a message to cancel and to call me back. He did neither. Later when checking my bank account he had taken the money out of our account and set up automatic payments from the bank. I called back and talked to the same customer service lady named ****** She told us what to do to cancel the insurance and to get the money back. She couldn't find our information in their system, so we had to call the salesman back again. My husband left him a stern warning that he'd better call back and he did. He said he would look up our policy numbers and call us back. We still hadn't received anything in the mail, but he had a policy number for us. I still had ******on the line so I gave her those policy numbers and she found them. We did as she was told and wrote to them saying we wanted them cancelled, the policy numbers and signed and dated the letter. We thought it was taken care of, but then got a 2 bills from them. I called back and the customer service lady told me that they did receive the letter but my husband signed it *******, and the policy said ****, so they were unable to cancel the policy. I asked what we were supposed to do because we didn't know that it was issued under **** because we didn't get the policy in the mail yet. She said to send another letter with the signature **** instead of *******. I find that ridiculous since we put our social and birthdate on the letter that they could identify him, along with the policy numbers. Furthermore the salesman knew we already had a similar policy. He told me so when he came to the door but said his was better and lots of local people were switching. During the presentation I told him that I wasn't sure about something and said I would have to ask the man who sold us our original policy with Platinum, and he said that the man didn't work for Platinum anymore, and he was now working for him. I'm sure that is where he got our name and the information that we already had a cancer policy and with which company. I find that rather unethical.

Desired Settlement: They say they will refund our money when all the proper papers have been filed but will take some time. For a 30 day look and see, this is taking quite a bit of work to undo. I cannot believe they would cash our check so soon. That salesman was not telling the whole story about how the 30 day look and see works. It was difficult to cancel the policy. He was unethical in his practice of taking clients from another company and not calling us back. We want it recorded that we are unhappy with their services and want a refund ASAP.

2/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

13 Customer Reviews on Washington National Insurance Company
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart