Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Azimuth Risk Solutions, LLC

Phone: (317) 644-6291 1 N Pennsylvania Street #200, Indianapolis, IN 46204 http://www.azimuthrisk.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Azimuth Risk Solutions, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Azimuth Risk Solutions, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Azimuth Risk Solutions, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 04, 2010 Business started: 08/11/2008 in IN Business incorporated 08/11/2008 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Indiana Department of Insurance
311 West Washington Street, Suite 300, Indianapolis IN 46204-2787
http://www.in.gov/idoi/
Phone Number: 317-232-2395
Fax Number: 317-232-5251

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Carlos Robinson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Carlos Robinson, President
Business Category

INSURANCE AGENCY INSURANCE-ACCIDENT & HEALTH INSURANCE-LIFE INSURANCE SERVICES Insurance Agencies and Brokerages (NAICS: 524210)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Azimuth Risk Solutions, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1 N Pennsylvania Street #200

    Indianapolis, IN 46204 (317) 644-6291

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company has a contract to provide health insurance, policy includes a provision to pay up to $15,000.00 in benefits from sudden onset of preexisting condition, Azimuth Risk Solutions has not honored it's agreement and refuses to answer emails or phone calls

Desired Settlement: Azimuth Risk Solutions must honor their agreement, failure to do so is fraud.

3/11/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have months of notes, emails and phone records outlining all of my communication with this company regarding customer service problems, administrative problems and failure to pay. First the service being sold is very deceptive, it is sold as health insurance, from a US company, good inside and outside of the US. Nothing in the sales material or advertising would make you think it is anything different. You purchase it thinking you have the same protections from state and federal oversight as any other insurance, but this is not true. When our initial problems got worse with this company I spoke to the State insurance commissioners office and they informed me that what we purchased was not from a licensed or registered insurance company. Because of this the company is not monitored or regulated by US insurance laws or regulations. They also said it was illegal for them to sell insurance to a resident in the state of Iowa because they are not licensed there. Our permanent residence is of course in Iowa but we currently reside in Romania doing volunteer work. Because we listed our Romanian address instead of our Iowa address it became legal for them to sell us this policy. We were completely unaware of the fact that the address we listed made such a huge difference. One address and what they were doing was illegal, a different address and it's completely legal and we are now outside the protection of US laws. This is a problem because they have denied almost all of our claims including those that were first pre-approved by them. We would not have had the procedures done if they were not going to pay for them. We would have lived with the discomfort a little longer until we found a different course of action we could afford. This is exactly why we pay for insurance though, to cover the cost of medical needs. Our doctors submitted the procedures to our insurance and they approved them giving us the confidence that they would be covered. So we had them done and when it came time to pay they changed their mind and said they would not pay after all. Our doctors completely disagree with their decisions and do not understand how they are coming to their stated reasons to deny our claims. I email, and call and then email again trying to get someone to give me answers but I get nothing in response. Our doctors and the hospital have told us to speak to the State insurance commissioners office because what they are doing is wrong. Of course as I already stated this is a dead end. I understand how it is not illegal, but we would not have purchased this if we knew any of this information. It is very deceptive, and has left us with almost $14,000 worth of unpaid medical bills! Another Major problem is that even on the claims they have decided to pay they will not send the correct paperwork to the doctor. I have been told over the phone and in emails that it has been sent only to then speak to the doctor and find out it is all not true. Weeks go by before someone gets back to me, if they get back to me at all. Normally I communicate and get no response so I communicate again and sometimes someone gets back to me but with incorrect or incomplete information. I have now received paperwork saying they are not paying on other claims because the time frame to submit completed paperwork has expired... but no one ever told me they were waiting on completed paperwork from me. It seems to me that because I have expressed my dissatisfaction with the company and the service I have received, this is effecting their decision to pay on our claims, communicate in a professional and timely manner and do the job they were paid to do.

Desired Settlement: I want them to pay on claims they pre-authorized. I want a refund on the premiums I paid because they have not taken care of what they were paid to take care of. I am 8 hours ahead of the US and have therefor spent countless nights on the phone with numerous doctors trying to explain that it's not my fault that my insurance company is not doing their job... instead of sleeping. I paid for professional service and have been treated with anything but professionalism. I want them to make it far more obvious to other people looking to purchase these policies that they are not legal for residents of the United States and if you choose to list a foreign address you are stepping outside the legal protection of the United States Insurance laws, and Azimuth will have the final say in all decisions, right or wrong. I want them to respond to my communications promptly and with correct information. I want them to send doctors the paperwork they need and to give myself and my doctors the answers to our questions. I want an apology and explanation as to why they have failed to do these things and why they lied saying things were taken care of when they were not. Why after saying they would take care of something immediately, was it still not done weeks later?

Business Response: March 10, 2015
 

Dear Mr. *****:

 

We have received notice of your indifference with regards to your claims and the denial of those claims. 
Azimuth has had several email correspondence with you in regards to the denial of those claims.  An appeal was
received in our office December 20, 2014 and it was determined on January 20,2015, all claims were denied properly. 
 

We determine eligibility of each claim received by reviewing all information provided.  Along with the Claim Form and
medical records; past and current, we are able to make a determination is a claim is eligible in majority of the claims
received.  In some chases, we will send the file out for further review by a Doctor and/or Nurse Practitioner.  The claims
on your behalf, we were able to make the determination without sending the file out for further review.  All of the necessary
information to determine if the claims were eligible was in the medical records.  With regards to Mrs. ******’s claims, we did
send the file out for further review to determine eligibility.  With their review of the medical records, we determined the
claims to be ineligible and were denied.

The claims we received for you Mr. ******, noted in your medical records an ongoing problem over the course of 1.5 years.
I must point out that this condition was not noted on your application.  If it had been noted at the time of application, we would
have put a medical rider on this condition excluding treatment for a number of months.  This exclusion would have been a requirement
for us to have approved your application. Conditions that are noted on the application and do not have a medical exclusion are covered
after 24 months of continuous coverage up to $10,000 per Coverage Period.  Since this condition was not previously acknowledged
on your application we denied the claims as pre-existing.

With regards to Mrs. ******’s claims, all of her claims were also related to a treatment for a condition not covered under the policy.  All
of the procedures done were directly or indirectly treatments for this condition.   An appeal was received on January 16, 2015 for Mrs. ******’s d
denied claims and we determined on February 1, 2015 the claims to be ineligible.

To address the legality of our business claim.  Azimuth Risk Solutions, LLC is in the international insurance industry.  We are a Managing Agency
for our insurer, Lloyd's London and the Scheme Administrator for the Meridian Series.  We are providing insurance for those individuals whom reside
outside our their home country.  All of this is clearly provided from our website, brochures and policy wording.

It is unfortunate you do not feel as though you received quality service from Azimuth.  We have responded to your calls, emails and complaints
based on our policies and procedures.  Should you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact us. 


Should you have any additional questions or concerns, please
contact me.

 

Sincerely

 

 

Chantel ** *******

VP Operations

Azimuth Risk Solutions. LLC

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I will go through their email by paragraph by paragraph.

First Paragraph,
"Azimuth has had several email correspondence with you in regards to the denial of those claims."
There have been 3 emails in which my denied claims were mentioned form you and only one of them answered the questions I asked. The one question answered was how to submit an appeal. The other two emails did not address my questions at all which were "What information are you using from our records to come to your conclusion?" One of my biggest complaints is how I have to chase you down to get a response, weeks after I was told it would come. This is not professional or acceptable.


Third Paragraph,
"The claims we received for you Mr. ******, noted in your medical records an ongoing problem over the course of 1.5 years.
I must point out that this condition was not noted on your application."
I have had my insurance with you for TWO years, with no break in service. This is exactly what makes me think you have not paid any attention to or even read my complaints or questions. The condition was not listed on my application because it did not exist 2 years ago when I first got my insurance through you on FEB 13 2013. The problem occurred AFTER this per my medical records which I have already explained to you once in my initial appeal. 


Fourth Paragraph,
"With regards to Mrs. ******’s claims, all of her claims were also related to a treatment for a condition not covered under the policy.  All 
of the procedures done were directly or indirectly treatments for this condition."
Our medical records clearly indicate that my wife's chief complaint is not the one you are claiming the procedures are for. The procedures performed can be done for a myriad of reasons and you are picking one that best suits you, so you don't have to pay and not the reason they were actually performed for. In all of her claims there is one charge for $200 listed that relates to the not-covered condition. We were aware of this and fully expected to pay it. Our Doctor informed us that while they were looking into the chief complaint it was very simple for them to check this other thing as well. Again we knew this would result in a $200 charge that would not be covered but we decided it was worth the $200 to take advantage of the opportunity. 
Secondly during a phone conversation with your office after everything had been denied, I was told ever so rudely, that all the procedures my wife had done were only ever done for one purpose and that purpose was not covered, therefore the claims were denied. This information is incorrect and can be easily confirmed where you will find many reasons to perform the procedures not relating to the one not covered condition. Secondly if your office has it in your system or has decided that these procedures are only done in regards to this one not covered condition, why did you pre-approve them? Either way this does not make sense and I'm confident that every medical professional I have spoke with has not lied to me and that if you were brought before the state insurance commissioners office you would be found at fault.


Fifth Paragraph,
"We are providing insurance for those individuals whom reside outside our their home country.  All of this is clearly provided from our website, brochures and policy wording." But no where are people informed of what this means.... that if they use your insurance, even though you are a US business and they are a US citizen and resident they will not be protected under US insurance laws, standards and regulations. 


Sixth Paragraph,
"It is unfortunate you do not feel as though you received quality service from Azimuth.  We have responded to your calls, emails and complaints
based on our policies and procedures.  Should you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact us."
In the latest email I received from you, you said...
"Should you have any additional questions or concerns, please send your those to our Customer Service email box at service@azimuthrisk.com.  This will ensure all of your emails are responded to within 24 business hours of our our guarantee."
First this is hard to understand, but I take it you are saying that your policy is such that when I email this address someone will respond to me in 24hr. This is a great policy to have but this is a complete joke coming from your office now. Again my major complaints are that you do not get back to me for days and weeks! SO if that is your policy you by no means have responded to my communications according to them. Part of the very reason this is now happening through the BBB is because you DO NOT do precisely that very thing.   


This response addresses only one of my issues and that is the specific reason as to why my claims were denied, which as I suspected is still an insufficient answer. Every single other item has not been addressed including why no one has sent my doctor the needed paperwork.


I have attached my records showing that in no way have they responded to me according to their policies.  

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: Mr. ******

Please contact your providers and request a copy of the medical records that they provided us.  As previously stated our determination was made based on the medical records, claim form, diagnosis and procedure codes.  We will not discuss your or your spouses medical history in a complaint email.  We have addressed your question several times, our decision was made based on our policy guidelines, medical records provided by the hospital and or physicans, the claim form, diagnosis and procedure codes.  Requesting payment for claims that were authorized is not a guarantee of benefits or payment.  This statement is provided to all providers and members when calling in for authorization.  Prior authorization will guarantee there will not be a reduction in benefits for any eligible medical expense.  Eligibility will need to be determined once the medical records, claim form, diagnosis and procedure codes are received.  We understand you are not happy with the decision to deny your claims and appeal.  Unfortunately we will not overturn our previous decisions and pay on claims that are not eligible based on the policy guidelines.

Sincerely
Azimuth Risk Solutions, LLC

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have seen the records and so have the doctors that created them and none of us can see how you are coming to your conclusions. That said, I understand you are going to have the final say in this mater because there is no one who can legally look into your decision process and determine if what you are doing is correct. You are unfortunately for me or anyone else like me, outside the law. 

But what I hope is revealing to everyone involved in this process or any one who looks into it in the future is how you have still not addressed all the other large and still pending customer service and administrative problems. There has not been even the slightest acknowledgment of your failure to communicate to your own standards even though it's completely documented. No acknowledgment or explanation for why when numerous people in your office said they would do something "Right away" it was still not done weeks later! As of this very moment there is still a doctor waiting for the paper you said would be faxed to them months ago, and have since told me you did it. What I hope people gather from this is that professionalism, customer service and concern for paying customers are at the bottom of your priority list and keeping a tight fist on your money is at the top. Even on the claims you have agreed to pay on on you have not done your job, you have not done what you said you would do and were paid to do. You have failed to handle my situation according to your own policies. I have been ignored and have been treated disrespectfully. I want an apology and explanation for your failures and a refund on my premiums because even aside from the denied claims, you have still not done the job I paid you to do. You have not upheld your side of the contract.

Regards,

******* ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Azimuth Risk Solutions, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart