BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Roofing, Siding, Gutters, Windows, Doors, Decks, Fencing, Painting, Drywall, Flooring, Kitchens, Baths, Room Additions, Concrete, and Brick.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bob's Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bob's Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Bob's Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 22, 2008 Business started: 06/19/1985 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Marion County-Department of Code Enforcement
1200 S Madison Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46225
http://www.indy.gov/eGov/City/DCE/Pages/home.aspx
Phone Number: (317) 327-1291

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Bob Clements, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Clements, Owner
Business Category

HOME IMPROVEMENTS MASON CONTRACTORS Painting Contractors PATIO & DECK BUILDERS Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services BATHROOM REMODELING Windows - Installation & Service DOORS FENCE CONTRACTORS WINDOWS DOORS - INSTALLATION Contractors - Flooring KITCHEN REMODELING KITCHEN & BATH-DESIGN & REMODELING CONCRETE CONTRACTORS Drywall Contractors Gutters & Downspouts Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
Industry Tips
Contractors - General Info Contracts Licensing/Registration-Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 8811 Timberbluff Court

    Indianapolis, IN 46234 (317) 388-8885

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bob's Construction installed two flat rubber roofs on my dwelling We were given a warranty gurantee on material for 50 years After being installed for for just three years we began experiencing leaks and buckling of the material. After speaking with a representative of the manufactured material we found out that they do not make a 50 year guaranteed product. the best would be 35 years and that was a commercial product not a home roof. We contacted Bob's construction who came to the house with a hostile attitude and denied his company had even done the job. I then showed him the contract and he immediately said "My contracts get stolen all the time." After looking closer at the names etc he decided that his company did indeed do the job. He walked around the roof, and said they would come back and remove some of the shingling and restrech the rubber. The next day two employees came and put two metal strips down and said they had changed their minds about how to fix the roof. We still have a leaking roof to the time of this writing, I have contacted another roofing company and do not want Bob's construction to touch my roof again.

Desired Settlement: A refund would be very desirable

Business Response:

Thank you for making me aware of this complaint. Please review my response below to understand why I feel I do not owe Mr. **** **** a refund.

My company did complete the homeowner's flat roofing in 2010. He did reach me three years later with an issue of a leak. I immediately went to his home to look at his issue. It is procedure for me to ask for his original contract when I arrive so that I can get familiar with the job, as I have several salespeople and complete several hundreds of roofs a year. This was a location that I myself did not sell. I wanted to make sure that I had all the information in front of me. Mr. **** did not understand why I was asking for this information, and I was only explaining to him that my contracts could have been stolen, and different scenarios as to why I needed to see this original information. I did agree that it was one of my salespeople that completed the contract, and the work. I did not say that it was not my company that completed this work.

No one in the industry gives out 50-year warranties on labor and material. My salesman placed this on the contract, but this is not customary, and my salesperson completely made an error in doing so. I did honor the warranty, and I did the repair the week of November 11, 2013. I let Mr. **** know that if he had any more issues to reach me. When the repair was completed the homeowner reached me the very next day to personally thank me, and again told him to call if he had any further issues.

I received your BBB letter in the mail on Saturday April 12, 2014. This is how I have been notified of another issue on Mr. ****'s roof. I did not hear from Mr. **** about any issues since the November 2013 issue. If he had contacted my office, or me I would have went right over. This area had record snowfall this year. This has caused a lot of issues for many flat roofs, not just Mr. ****'s. If Mr. **** had reached me, I would have fixed his problem. He did not reach me.

I understand that I have to warranty the contract that was drawn in my behalf. I cannot do so if I do not know of the problem. Please have Mr. **** reach me when he has issues. I have never refused him servicing, and for this reason, there will be no refunds issued. I completed his roof at a very low price, and gave him a warranty that no company gives out. My company has been nothing but honest and fair with him. He only needs to communicate with me so that I can help him out.

Thank you for your time in this matter.

Sincerely,

*** ********, Owner

Bob's Construction

317-388-8885

 

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a new roof installed by Bob's Construction in 2010. The first major rainfall that we had, about 12 months later, I had water come into my living room. I called and spoke to **** ******. He came out and looked at the roof and said there was a flashing issue and he would have the guy that ran the roofing crew that did my house come and take a look at it. I never heard anything. 4 months later I called **** again and he did not remember me but said he would get back to me. I few months later I called the office and was told that **** would call me back. This never happened. A month later I emailed the office. Bob left me a voicemail and told me that **** would call me that day. **** did call that day and told me he would be in touch the following Thursday. Three Thursdays cam and went and I never heard anything from ****. Since then I have left 3 voicemail messages with **** on his cell phone at 317-******** and have received no response.

Desired Settlement: I just want the flashing on my roof fixed to prevent further damage to the interior of my home as well as the plaster in the home repaired.

Business Response: Good Afternoon, we are responding to the complaint issue *******...we did complete the roof at Mr. *******'s during 2010...attached is the contract and the invoice from the job completed....we have spoken to Mr. ******* every time he has called...we have not received a call from Mr. ******* lately...we have spoken to Mr. ******* each time he has contacted us...we have tried to reach Mr. ******* since receiving this email...we have had to leave messages with his voicemail, and as of this afternoon, we have not heard back from him...we have no problem coming out looking at the issue...if flashing is the issue, it may have to be at an additional fee, as the contract does not include replacement of the flashing...Mr. ******* said the roof did not leak for one whole year...at the time of the roof replacement the flashing had nothing wrong with it...the flashing areas on roofs are separate from the roof shingle areas...it is not necessary to replace flashing when replacing a roof unless it is needed...if flashing was needed at the time of Mr. ******* roof replacement, the price of the roof would had been increased, and this item would have been stated as being replaced on the contract just like the other items stated...we specify all items on the contract for this very reason...please have the homeowner contact us and we will schedule an appointment to discuss the exact location of the problem, and get the situation taken care of...we understand that Mr. ******* has used the sales person's cell phone number, we would rather him contact the office at 317-388-8885, which is located at the top of the contract and invoice...this phone number is answered at all hours of the day....thank you very much for your time in this matter....Bob's Construction, Bob Clements, Owner

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. **** called me once this was received at their office and had a crew come out and fix the sealing around where the roof hits the house.

 

Regards,

****** *******