Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Roofing, Siding, Gutters, Windows, Doors, Decks, Fencing, Painting, Drywall, Flooring, Kitchens, Baths, Room Additions, Concrete, and Brick.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bob's Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bob's Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Bob's Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 8
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 22, 2008 Business started: 06/19/1985 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Marion County-Department of Code Enforcement
1200 S Madison Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46225
http://www.indy.gov/eGov/City/DCE/Pages/home.aspx
Phone Number: (317) 327-1291

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Bob Clements, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Clements, Owner
Business Category

HOME IMPROVEMENTS MASON CONTRACTORS Painting Contractors PATIO & DECK BUILDERS Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services BATHROOM REMODELING Windows - Installation & Service DOORS FENCE CONTRACTORS WINDOWS DOORS - INSTALLATION FENCE - SALES, SERVICE & CONTRACTORS Contractors - Flooring KITCHEN REMODELING KITCHEN & BATH-DESIGN & REMODELING CONCRETE CONTRACTORS Drywall Contractors Gutters & Downspouts Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
Industry Tips
Contracts Fencing General Contractors Licensing/Registration-Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bob's Construction has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8811 Timberbluff Court

    Indianapolis, IN 46234 (317) 388-8885

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Siding job was not finished outlet box was left hanging out boards were left not caulked. Have been in contact with Steve D**** for months saying they will send someone out to fix now they won't answer e mail or text

Desired Settlement: Just finish the job

Business Response: This matter has already been resolved.

2/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bob construction came to my home to do repair which was water damage they replace front room with drywall and in the progress for plug in the hole is to big the lights switches are to big then they went in the corner outside on same wall took all the stone down busted my foundation still have rotten wood never replaced they put up used siding cut my fence down there is gaps on wall where you can see the outside from the inside the workers are rude and don't care to finish the job and a lot more than I want to list very disappointing experience

Desired Settlement: I just want my house fixed like they said it was going to be in the contract my house has been tore up since june 1st and all I want is my house fixed properly and in a timely manner

4/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July,2013, new fascia was replaced on the eave on front of house. In April, 2014, an approx. 5 foot strip blew off. Have called numerous times and emailed to have it fixed. Have been told someone will come out but no one has and will no longer even respond to messages.

Desired Settlement: I want the missing fascia replaced.

Consumer Response: I received no written warranty. I didn't ask for a free repair, I just wanted it fixed.

Business Response: Good afternoon, thank you for reaching me...I have called Ms ******* to apologize...she did reach me about her call back situation...I did speak to her when she called in and explained that I would get it repaired...I was just trying to save a bit on gas and stop at *****'s house when I was in the area since it was so far from my office area on the westside of town, but, I really haven't had any work in the area of Edinburgh for a while...I called ***** today and spoke to her about coming out in the next couple of days and getting her repair made...it was my mistake and I overlooked getting it completed in a timely manner, but I will be right out to get it completed...thank you for your time...Bob ********* Bob's Construction 317-388-8885

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *******

5/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bob's Construction installed two flat rubber roofs on my dwelling We were given a warranty gurantee on material for 50 years After being installed for for just three years we began experiencing leaks and buckling of the material. After speaking with a representative of the manufactured material we found out that they do not make a 50 year guaranteed product. the best would be 35 years and that was a commercial product not a home roof. We contacted Bob's construction who came to the house with a hostile attitude and denied his company had even done the job. I then showed him the contract and he immediately said "My contracts get stolen all the time." After looking closer at the names etc he decided that his company did indeed do the job. He walked around the roof, and said they would come back and remove some of the shingling and restrech the rubber. The next day two employees came and put two metal strips down and said they had changed their minds about how to fix the roof. We still have a leaking roof to the time of this writing, I have contacted another roofing company and do not want Bob's construction to touch my roof again.

Desired Settlement: A refund would be very desirable

Business Response:

Thank you for making me aware of this complaint. Please review my response below to understand why I feel I do not owe Mr. **** **** a refund.

My company did complete the homeowner's flat roofing in 2010. He did reach me three years later with an issue of a leak. I immediately went to his home to look at his issue. It is procedure for me to ask for his original contract when I arrive so that I can get familiar with the job, as I have several salespeople and complete several hundreds of roofs a year. This was a location that I myself did not sell. I wanted to make sure that I had all the information in front of me. Mr. **** did not understand why I was asking for this information, and I was only explaining to him that my contracts could have been stolen, and different scenarios as to why I needed to see this original information. I did agree that it was one of my salespeople that completed the contract, and the work. I did not say that it was not my company that completed this work.

No one in the industry gives out 50-year warranties on labor and material. My salesman placed this on the contract, but this is not customary, and my salesperson completely made an error in doing so. I did honor the warranty, and I did the repair the week of November 11, 2013. I let Mr. **** know that if he had any more issues to reach me. When the repair was completed the homeowner reached me the very next day to personally thank me, and again told him to call if he had any further issues.

I received your BBB letter in the mail on Saturday April 12, 2014. This is how I have been notified of another issue on Mr. ****'s roof. I did not hear from Mr. **** about any issues since the November 2013 issue. If he had contacted my office, or me I would have went right over. This area had record snowfall this year. This has caused a lot of issues for many flat roofs, not just Mr. ****'s. If Mr. **** had reached me, I would have fixed his problem. He did not reach me.

I understand that I have to warranty the contract that was drawn in my behalf. I cannot do so if I do not know of the problem. Please have Mr. **** reach me when he has issues. I have never refused him servicing, and for this reason, there will be no refunds issued. I completed his roof at a very low price, and gave him a warranty that no company gives out. My company has been nothing but honest and fair with him. He only needs to communicate with me so that I can help him out.

Thank you for your time in this matter.

Sincerely,

*** ********, Owner

Bob's Construction

317-388-8885

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

9 Customer Reviews on Bob's Construction
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart